The attitude of gratitude

egb_hibs

Yes, to pre-empt the obvious, I’m a few pints deep. Still, it’s nice in all aspects of life to occasionally reflect on what we have rather than what rankles us.

With that in mind, my appreciation goes to

(Actually before that, the looming disaster with any such thing is you always forget folk so apologies in advance, like I say I’m a few pints deep and ultimately I value everyone here):

- Gordon whose kicked me up and down for 20+ years but I consider an ‘actual’, like irl dudes, friend
- 1875, Jamie, Zab and other admins for keeping the show on the road with a light touch, and being good cnuts themselves
- Findlay for being my favourite Cnut much though he probably doesn’t buy it, though it still hurts me not to be able to call him Moaty as he will always be in my heart
- Greenmachine for being the man - and more specifically the Catholic - I’d like to grow up to be, and who helps me understand football
- EGers for being EGers
- Sancho and Aggie for making me feel that the world isn’t completely mad
- Jimmy for being one of the main engines of the place and always interesting or amusing or both together
- Smurf for so many things over the years, as well as an example of how to grow from ban happy guardianista into something more nuanced. Britain needs to do a Smurf
- Jack for being a caustic fucker who never gives me an inch, but the minute it’s not a battle, ie advice, swaps out to having your back; how the game should be played
- Billy for the jokes, the patter and more
- Archie, for the details even if I sometimes disagree on woods and trees
- BK for setting benchmarks in cantankerousness I can but dream of, but also showing a wee Edinburgh laddie can escape the predestination of this miserable Calvinist cowp (I’m hoping someone sees what I did there)
- Burbank and Barney for the letters from America,
- Paignton and others for the letters from our future, ie contemporary Saxon land
- Henry - has he fucked off again - even though he’s taken the city boy route from evilly funny to hug a hoody puffter; Keith Joseph to DavCam as it were
- Davy, our war corespondent and all round good egg…just don’t become what you oppose D
- Daz and other old skool lads; to quote big Jock; they’re there and they’re always there
- Haarlem for the existentialism and one of the few people to really throw me - when he accused me, so dismissive of the sixth form Dawkins claptrap of yesteryear, of being too preoccupied with what is objectively and verifiably true. I’m still thrown, doesn’t happen often for good or ill
- Beagle for reminding me acab. Only joking fella
- two headed boy and Southfield for lots of little things
- Jack K - he gone anaw - for finding me a good song for the first time in a decade
- Ryan, who seems to think I’m gunning for him when I think I have more time for him than most, and think that while he’s a bit misguided, is no more so than half the tenured professors in British humanities. And I mean that, and I wish he’d see it and change course.

And Hattie and cabbage and ribs and all the new people I’m still getting to know. And most of all to the glaringly obvious ones I’ve missed. Thanks to you all.

You cnuts.

Thanks ya bassa - nearly 23 years I've been here but you never noticed. :))
And there we are, proves my point. The opposite is of course true.

I’m going to prove it to you and hope it doesn’t sound weird. I can’t remember why but fucking ages ago I mind looking through the guest book at St Pats and seeing a message and thinking…I bet that’s Stu. I can’t mind why, maybe it mentioned Nottingham or something. And maybe I’m just wrong. (It was definitely ‘a’ Stu as signed, I wasn’t just smoking crack).

Anyway even if it wasnt, you were in my head, eons ago.

Sorry Stu.

And there we are, proves my point. The opposite is of course true.

I’m going to prove it to you and hope it doesn’t sound weird. I can’t remember why but fucking ages ago I mind looking through the guest book at St Pats and seeing a message and thinking…I bet that’s Stu. I can’t mind why, maybe it mentioned Nottingham or something. And maybe I’m just wrong. (It was definitely ‘a’ Stu as signed, I wasn’t just smoking crack).

Anyway even if it wasnt, you were in my head, eons ago.

Sorry Stu.
Haha! No worries mate. It maybe was me. I hope you've had a great night!

I feel bad now. Memory is for shit but I don’t forget people and I’m annoyed I missed you especially as I count you among the old skool.

Along with Jinty, SoulbamRab, Burbanklilywhite, Frenchie, and of course Proccie and latterly Peevemore, who lit this place up and sadly won’t do again. I don’t forget peope.

But that said, I’m going to feel even worse forgetting someone from that list, but Stu.. a front end failure not a back end one, as we IT weasels might have it. Sorry.

I feel bad now. Memory is for shit but I don’t forget people and I’m annoyed I missed you especially as I count you among the old skool.

Along with Jinty, SoulbamRab, Burbanklilywhite, Frenchie, and of course Proccie and latterly Peevemore, who lit this place up and sadly won’t do again. I don’t forget peope.

But that said, I’m going to feel even worse forgetting someone from that list, but Stu.. a front end failure not a back end one, as we IT weasels might have it. Sorry.
Just kidding mate, I would fare well worse than you, that's for sure. The names you mention there bring back some fond memories. I know I speak for you too when I say how much they are missed. Vive le Bounce and all those who have contributed.

Aw aye. I'm stuck away Doon in the engine room? Nae sun loungers for me 😮‍💨

Still the Little France three made it. (Me and Stu are currently looking to take Billy's refugee status and send him hame to Gracemount. Crimes against comedy is our reason) 😉

One guy I remember from my younger days used to kick the living daylights of me as I was a tad more skilful than him. Taught me a great lesson in not showing off. Thanks stevie you absolutely bampot. A jambo too but hard to dislike as he was hard as nails but a daftie.

One of the things that I’m grateful for, is the realization that you don’t learn anything from people who share your views.

I don’t need anyone to validate how I think; I know I think, I’m much more interested in how you think especially if it’s different to how I think.

I’ve loved that about the bounce.

We should do a meet up.

One of the things that I’m grateful for, is the realization that you don’t learn anything from people who share your views.

I don’t need anyone to validate how I think; I know I think, I’m much more interested in how you think especially if it’s different to how I think.

We should do a meet up.
Fuck me another howler of a miss. My G failing to deliver on XG, B. Soz

Yes, to pre-empt the obvious, I’m a few pints deep. Still, it’s nice in all aspects of life to occasionally reflect on what we have rather than what rankles us.

With that in mind, my appreciation goes to

(Actually before that, the looming disaster with any such thing is you always forget folk so apologies in advance, like I say I’m a few pints deep and ultimately I value everyone here):

- Gordon whose kicked me up and down for 20+ years but I consider an ‘actual’, like irl dudes, friend
- 1875, Jamie, Zab and other admins for keeping the show on the road with a light touch, and being good cnuts themselves
- Findlay for being my favourite Cnut much though he probably doesn’t buy it, though it still hurts me not to be able to call him Moaty as he will always be in my heart
- Greenmachine for being the man - and more specifically the Catholic - I’d like to grow up to be, and who helps me understand football
- EGers for being EGers
- Sancho and Aggie for making me feel that the world isn’t completely mad
- Jimmy for being one of the main engines of the place and always interesting or amusing or both together
- Smurf for so many things over the years, as well as an example of how to grow from ban happy guardianista into something more nuanced. Britain needs to do a Smurf
- Jack for being a caustic fucker who never gives me an inch, but the minute it’s not a battle, ie advice, swaps out to having your back; how the game should be played
- Billy for the jokes, the patter and more
- Archie, for the details even if I sometimes disagree on woods and trees
- BK for setting benchmarks in cantankerousness I can but dream of, but also showing a wee Edinburgh laddie can escape the predestination of this miserable Calvinist cowp (I’m hoping someone sees what I did there)
- Burbank and Barney for the letters from America,
- Paignton and others for the letters from our future, ie contemporary Saxon land
- Henry - has he fucked off again - even though he’s taken the city boy route from evilly funny to hug a hoody puffter; Keith Joseph to DavCam as it were
- Davy, our war corespondent and all round good egg…just don’t become what you oppose D
- Daz and other old skool lads; to quote big Jock; they’re there and they’re always there
- Haarlem for the existentialism and one of the few people to really throw me - when he accused me, so dismissive of the sixth form Dawkins claptrap of yesteryear, of being too preoccupied with what is objectively and verifiably true. I’m still thrown, doesn’t happen often for good or ill
- Beagle for reminding me acab. Only joking fella
- two headed boy and Southfield for lots of little things
- Jack K - he gone anaw - for finding me a good song for the first time in a decade
- Ryan, who seems to think I’m gunning for him when I think I have more time for him than most, and think that while he’s a bit misguided, is no more so than half the tenured professors in British humanities. And I mean that, and I wish he’d see it and change course.

And Hattie and cabbage and ribs and all the new people I’m still getting to know. And most of all to the glaringly obvious ones I’ve missed. Thanks to you all.

You cnuts.
As I'm fond of telling my mates, youse are all cvnts. But good cvnts.
By the way, when you get drunk and maudlin, nothing beats a bit of TW.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Fuck me another howler of a miss. My G failing to deliver on XG, B. Soz

I read it as covered by admins, and I think another thing I’m grateful for in the bounce is to be less precious about things.

I think the thrust of the post was more important than any minor detail.

We should do a meet up.
Take a gun with you. I’ll give it 5 minutes before you feel the need to shoot him 🤣

We should do a meet up.
Great post. Sums up my feelings about the Bounce too. It’s healthy to have your beliefs challenged and interrogate your own opinions on different issues. Seeing things from a different perspective is good even if you ultimately reject that view. Who knows? Sometimes your views might be changed. 🤷‍♂️

Mines have certainly changed as I hurtle towards retirement. Seems most folk in their 60s views the world very differently than even 10 years before. Dont worry anywhere near as much as I used to and find positives a lot easier to come by.