The Angiolini Inquiry | Frenchman's Cowshed | HibeesBounce

The Angiolini Inquiry

Keepitgreen

Hanover Frederick Castle Radge
Been surprised there’s no thread on the Angiolini Inquiry findings yet, given how much chat theres been in this parish about women’s safety, and protection from sexual abuse. It's very much been a recurring theme, and is clearly an issue very close to a lot of hearts here..

Got some time on my hands so let's get the baw rolling. As you'd expect, this stuff is grim. Four years after part 1 first exposed the scale of police failures, part 2 shows how much still hasn’t been fixed. A few of the headline findings fae across both reports:

Catastrophic vetting failures and no consistent national system even now
Polis officers with histories of domestic abuse or sexual allegations still slipping through
Over a quarter of police forces with nae basic policy for handling sexual-offence reports
Misconduct systems still slow, inconsistent, and too often protecting the wrong folk
Supervision failures and poor leadership meaning red flags get missed
Cultures of misogyny, ‘banter’, fear and silence still letting predators operate (quelle suprise on that one)

Angiolini lays out serious recommendations; stronger vetting and re-vetting, real whistleblower protections, consistent misconduct rules, proper data-sharing, early-intervention schemes (Project Vigilant, Operation Soteria are worth a google), and leadership that actually treats VAWG as a polis priority rather than a slogan.

She doesnae just put the burden on policing either. There’s big stuff in there for the public; education on consent and misogyny, safer public spaces, better bystander reporting routes, stronger support services for survivors, proper safeguarding in schools and unis, and a call for workplaces and communities to challenge toxic attitudes.

Feels like this should be right at the centre of the ‘how do we protect women?’ chat folk keep wanting to have. So let's do it!

Interested in thoughts on:

Which recommendations seem realistic?
Which ones feel like moonshots? (This is my usual bugbear with inquiries like this, the recommendations can sound like completley unrealistic guff, or kicked intae the longest grass possible)
What gaps do folk still see in UK policing culture?
What changes would actually make women safer in real life, no just in headline patter?

Plenty in the report is wild, and long overdue. Curious what folk make of it.

It will all start in schools. Bairns need told what is right and what is wrong.

The t'interweb of course plays a massive part in this. Parents need to step in and see what their bairns are watching and listening to.

The bizzies should have course be full on when lassies make a complaint.

The bizzies should not be able to police themselves. Too many will help cover their mates arses.

And when a complaint is upheld then don't piss around with the sentences handed down by the courts.

It will all start in schools. Bairns need told what is right and what is wrong.

The t'interweb of course plays a massive part in this. Parents need to step in and see what their bairns are watching and listening to.

The bizzies should have course be full on when lassies make a complaint.

The bizzies should not be able to police themselves. Too many will help cover their mates arses.

And when a complaint is upheld then don't piss around with the sentences handed down by the courts.
Aye those are all great points chief. Schools and homes definitely have a part to play; half the attitudes that Angiolini flags start long before folk ever reach the workplace or the polis. Early education and parents actually checking what their bairns are consuming online could make a massive dent shirley. Though I'm still trying to thnk through what parts of that could actually look like in practice.

And 100% on the bizzies not policing themselves. The report’s brutal on how often folk closed ranks or ignored warnings. That culture needs ripped out root and branch if the recommendations are going to mean anything.

On the sentencing side,I do agree, but the inquiry’s pretty clear the bigger failures happen a lot earlier in the chain. Reporting, vetting, supervision, and proper investigation. If those bits work, courts can actually do their job. Without that, lassies are failed long before a judge ever sees the case, if at all.

She doesnae just put the burden on policing either. There’s big stuff in there for the public; education on consent and misogyny, safer public spaces, better bystander reporting routes, stronger support services for survivors, proper safeguarding in schools and unis, and a call for workplaces and communities to challenge toxic attitudes.
While they may help with young lads who picked up this weirdy choking thing (for example), I have my doubts these sort of things influence people intent on rape and murder.

Some of the excessive stuff arguably already present seems more in danger of making normal young men and women scared of each other, I suspect while meaning not a jot to homicidal rapists.

Fuck knows what you do about the latter mind.

While they may help with young lads who picked up this weirdy choking thing (for example), I have my doubts these sort of things influence people intent on rape and murder.

Some of the excessive stuff arguably already present seems more in danger of making normal young men and women scared of each other, I suspect while meaning not a jot to homicidal rapists.

Fuck knows what you do about the latter mind.
As much as I get what you're saying, the stuff about education, consent and safeguarding isnae aimed at the tiny number of folk intent on rape or murder. The Inquiry’s pretty clear that nothing in any policy toolkit is magic against that level of pathology.

The public-facing bits are more about shifting the environment the rest of us live in; fewer lassies getting dismissed when they report things early, fewer folk brushing off indecent exposure as nothing, better spotting of patterns, fewer workplaces letting creeps operate, that kinda thing. You cannae stop a true predator with a poster campaign, but you can make it harder for the folk who get away with lower-level stuff for years. That’s where most of the harm actually sits.

So aye, the homicidal cases are a different universe entirely. That’s why the polis reforms matter; spotting the early red flags before it ever gets near that point.

I read once that child murder incidence is the same as it was 50 years ago, proportionately and all things being equal.

The point it was relative to was, the more safe you make children and the greater vigilance on adults around them, the more sophisticated means those who are intent on causing harm go to.

I think what people want to know is how such a mysogynistic psychopath got into the police, and then flourished. I wonder.