Sudan

egb_hibs

“Remember when we said that Black Lives Matter? We didn’t mean it. That much is clear now, as the world watches a war that is killing tens of thousands, that has displaced more than 10 million and which is threatening to devour 13 million more through famine – and barely gives it a glance”

[…]

“Take the testimony of one of those many millions who has fled Sudan for neighbouring Chad, a young woman called Maryam Suleiman. She told the New York Times about the day that the Rapid Support Forces, the rebadged version of the Janjaweed – the Arab militia guilty of the Darfur slaughter two decades ago – stormed into her village. The gunmen lined up the men and the boys as their leader declared: “We don’t want to see any Black people. We don’t even want to see black trash bags.” He then promptly shot a black donkey, signalling his intent. After that, the RSF men set about executing all Black males over the age of 10, including Maryam’s five brothers, and some younger ones too. A day-old baby boy was thrown to the ground and killed, and a male toddler chucked into a pond to drown. And then, “they raped many, many girls”. They called them “slaves” and told them: “There is no place for you Black people in Sudan.”

[…]

“Could it be that the western progressive does not quite know who to root for? Both the RSF and the Sudanese Armed Forces, or SAF, are guilty of appalling crimes and there’s no simple, comfortingly familiar narrative structure into which this conflict can be slotted. Many on today’s left have organised the world, past and present, into two neat categories. There are the oppressed and there are the oppressors, there are the colonised and the colonisers”

[…]

“The people of Sudan should not have to apologise for the fact that their tragedy does not fit the storybook version of morality that so many seem to hanker for. It is us who should apologise to them, for ignoring them in their desperation – and for pretending we ever cared.”

Well, quite.

Same story for countless people all over the world, and far less dramatically for black populations devastated by the progressive triumphs in the west.

None of it matters, and no one gives a fck when it isn’t useful ammo for a political agenda, or worse, is an irritant to one.

Looks like it doesn’t even matter that these janjaweed *&*^ are slaughtering and raping black Muslims as well as Christians. Not much ‘community’ outrage on behalf of the former, that I can see, as with Syria, as with China, as with Yemen etc etc. The latter can of course go whistle as they can everywhere else.

“Remember when we said that Black Lives Matter? We didn’t mean it. That much is clear now, as the world watches a war that is killing tens of thousands, that has displaced more than 10 million and which is threatening to devour 13 million more through famine – and barely gives it a glance”

[…]

“Take the testimony of one of those many millions who has fled Sudan for neighbouring Chad, a young woman called Maryam Suleiman. She told the New York Times about the day that the Rapid Support Forces, the rebadged version of the Janjaweed – the Arab militia guilty of the Darfur slaughter two decades ago – stormed into her village. The gunmen lined up the men and the boys as their leader declared: “We don’t want to see any Black people. We don’t even want to see black trash bags.” He then promptly shot a black donkey, signalling his intent. After that, the RSF men set about executing all Black males over the age of 10, including Maryam’s five brothers, and some younger ones too. A day-old baby boy was thrown to the ground and killed, and a male toddler chucked into a pond to drown. And then, “they raped many, many girls”. They called them “slaves” and told them: “There is no place for you Black people in Sudan.”

[…]

“Could it be that the western progressive does not quite know who to root for? Both the RSF and the Sudanese Armed Forces, or SAF, are guilty of appalling crimes and there’s no simple, comfortingly familiar narrative structure into which this conflict can be slotted. Many on today’s left have organised the world, past and present, into two neat categories. There are the oppressed and there are the oppressors, there are the colonised and the colonisers”

[…]

“The people of Sudan should not have to apologise for the fact that their tragedy does not fit the storybook version of morality that so many seem to hanker for. It is us who should apologise to them, for ignoring them in their desperation – and for pretending we ever cared.”

Well, quite.

Same story for countless people all over the world, and far less dramatically for black populations devastated by the progressive triumphs in the west.

None of it matters, and no one gives a fck when it isn’t useful ammo for a political agenda, or worse, is an irritant to one.

Looks like it doesn’t even matter that these janjaweed *&*^ are slaughtering and raping black Muslims as well as Christians. Not much ‘community’ outrage on behalf of the former, that I can see, as with Syria, as with China, as with Yemen etc etc. The latter can of course go whistle as they can everywhere else.
Theres been shit going on there for ages. Who gies a fuckin shit that muslims as well as christians are getting slaughtered. What fuckin difference does their idotic religions make?.

They are men, women and children. Theyre human beings. What a lot of piss and wind about black lives matter and the slaughter in Sudan.

Weird as fuck take on things.

You are spot on.
BLM was purely lip and knee service.
It was a trend . A shameful piece of propaganda. A game of let's pretend.

Sudan sounds pretty fucked up , that's a horrendous tale from the young woman.

Theres been shit going on there for ages. Who gies a fuckin shit that muslims as well as christians are getting slaughtered. What fuckin difference does their idotic religions make?.
Setting your prejudices to one side, I agree there should in principle be no difference.

But given we are asked to believe that North Africans, Bangladeshis, Arabs and so on, are somehow compelled by solidarity with co religionists in respect of other conflicts - and moreover we are asked to accept this as legitimate whereas folk going tonto about fellow Christians on the other side of the world, or indeed fellow whatevers, would be considered bams - it is relevant to reactions or lack of them.

What is also relevant is it’s an integral part of the conflict, which is mainly Arabs slaughtering black Christians; but these events make clear it’s not just jihadism but - quelle surprise - base racism that animates these hoods. Something only white people are capable of, according to some. The same ones that…see below.
They are men, women and children. Theyre human beings. What a lot of piss and wind about black lives matter and the slaughter in Sudan.

Weird as fuck take on things.
Given the stuff you parrot elsewhere, despite being neither a Nazi, Islamist, nor lefty choon, I find this a little ironic.

I think the authors whole point is that such parroted rhetoric is, as you put it, piss and wind. Again, as you put it, actual human beings - men, women, children - don’t matter, just grist to ideological mills. If they’re useful to that, ‘we care’, if they’re not…

Or maybe I’m wrong and there’ll be tens of thousands on the street denouncing ‘jihadis’ for the next year. Not holding my breath mind.

You are spot on.
BLM was purely lip and knee service.
It was a trend . A shameful piece of propaganda. A game of let's pretend.

Sudan sounds pretty fucked up , that's a horrendous tale from the young woman.
Just to be clear, I’m quoting the article, except for my comments on the end. But I agree with it, and with you.

Like most agendas BLM only matters when it suits.

It's easier keeping African nations down,as Africa is the most resource rich continent on earth.

Imagine we actually gave them fair price,and plentiful work.

I fully expect tae see thousands of Muslims protesting across Europe and the Middle East against the barbarous behaviour of fellow Muslims.
I'll no' haud ma breath

Like most agendas BLM only matters when it suits.

It's easier keeping African nations down,as Africa is the most resource rich continent on earth.

Imagine we actually gave them fair price,and plentiful work.
Africa is increasingly run by China.

Well indeed: which one is the axis of resistance here, I need to make a banner?

Setting your prejudices to one side, I agree there should in principle be no difference.

But given we are asked to believe that North Africans, Bangladeshis, Arabs and so on, are somehow compelled by solidarity with co religionists in respect of other conflicts - and moreover we are asked to accept this as legitimate whereas folk going tonto about fellow Christians on the other side of the world, or indeed fellow whatevers, would be considered bams - it is relevant to reactions or lack of them.

What is also relevant is it’s an integral part of the conflict, which is mainly Arabs slaughtering black Christians; but these events make clear it’s not just jihadism but - quelle surprise - base racism that animates these hoods. Something only white people are capable of, according to some. The same ones that…see below.

Given the stuff you parrot elsewhere, despite being neither a Nazi, Islamist, nor lefty choon, I find this a little ironic.

I think the authors whole point is that such parroted rhetoric is, as you put it, piss and wind. Again, as you put it, actual human beings - men, women, children - don’t matter, just grist to ideological mills. If they’re useful to that, ‘we care’, if they’re not…

Or maybe I’m wrong and there’ll be tens of thousands on the street denouncing ‘jihadis’ for the next year. Not holding my breath mind.
perhaps you could set YOUR prejudices to one side Mr Rhetoric.

Not holding my breath mind.

Youre actors change, your story remains the same.

[…]

[…]

[…]

Well, quite.

Jonathan Freedland is a really excellent writer. And his piece is really powerful. But to twist that into an attack on Black Lives Matter (on the basis of his rhetorical point) is startling.

Black Lives Matter was a response to how a community was policed and, in the US context, an additional strand was the application of 'stand your ground' laws.

Now you often try to link BLM to any issue concerning people of colour because you really didn't like BLM. So if something else is happening then BLM was wrong.

But surely you can see beyond the rhetorical flourish that addressing a systemic policing issue is very different to intervening in a complex civil war?

By your logic people who held vigils for Sarah Everard were hypocrites because they don't hold vigils for every rape victim around the world?

I suspect you don't accept there is systemic racism in the West, which might explain why you are regularly beating the drum against BLM and anti racism actions.

Which prejudices am I demonstrating ?
Youre actually saying you dont have prejudice in your posts? Stop it. What prejudices did i display likes?, you know, "putting my prejudices aside" ? Do tell. Is it that i pointed theyre human beings first and foremost, and that what fucking difference does it make which idiotic belief system they were told to adhere to? That prejudice?

Its really worse that its christians AND muslims being saughtered eh. That seems to be quite important to you or why make it in the first place. Like, is the alternative its less bad if it was one or the other?

Actually, nae need tae reply tbh. Im not arsed.

Youre actually saying you dont have prejudice in your posts? Stop it. What prejudices did i display likes?, you know, "putting my prejudices aside" ? Do tell. Is it that i pointed theyre human beings first and foremost, and that what fucking difference does it make which idiotic belief system they were told to adhere to? That prejudice?

Its really worse that its christians AND muslims being saughtered eh. That seems to be quite important to you or why make it in the first place. Like, is the alternative its less bad if it was one or the other?

Actually, nae need tae reply tbh. Im not arsed.
You seem to have taken to replying to different points than were made.

The point is this; the Sudan conflict has been characterised by Arabs slaughtering Christian blacks. You wouldn’t expect any protests about that.

But they’re slaughtering Muslim blacks at all - and still not a peep. As there isn’t about Yemen, China, Syria and the rest. And yet we are expected to believe that very large and prolonged concern about other cases, is simply the Ummah rallying round. so quite evidently, it isn’t the fully story. And indeed it’s the same with the wider crowd an all.

That was the point, not your wholly invented stuff above.

Getting truly horrific over there, so much so the blood stained ground can be seen from space.

Ethnic cleansing, 500k kids starved to death, some sources believe civilian murder rate is now five figures per day.

Not a unique evil, not even in Sudan where they did it all before some years back, but grim nonetheless.

To think it was a bastion of African civilisation from ancient times through to its Christian medieval period, which managed to hold off the peace lovers for near 800 years.

Getting truly horrific over there, so much so the blood stained ground can be seen from space.
Had to check that as I thought "that cannae be true" Confirmed by multiple sources. 😮
The next human extinction sized asteroid is sorely needed to return this beautiful planet to nature.

The bbc news report on this last night got my wife and I a bit emotional. Absolutely heartbreaking.

Thoughts on why it doesn't get covered much? Lots of reasons it looks like; conflict there has been ongoing for pretty much decades, lots of military coups, not much western geopolitical interest, journalists get targeted so not as much good info/intel coming out? I did learn from the article though that there is a bit of proxy backing going on, Egypt versus UAE? Didn't know that so will do a bit of googling..

If only the hard left could find a narrative of involvement of Uncle Sam....
Cannie be much in the way of oil or rare minerals there or the shermans would be right in there ‘liberating’ the place as they do.

Just been reading about the slaughter at the maternity hospital. 460 dead apparently.

But I think Beagle is correct. There is nothing there that any other big country needs.

So from what I can make out this is two different militaries fighting it out and not a religion based one.

You have the official army and an insurgent army. But the scale of atrocities seems massive.

So from what I can make out this is two different militaries fighting it out and not a religion based one.

You have the official army and an insurgent army. But the scale of atrocities seems massive.
Afaik you have Arabs who previously butchered black Christians, now butchering black muslims. The former are now largely in South Sudan which broke off after prior rounds of carnage.

Well that's on one level, add in 101 tribal dimensions on the top.

Cannie be much in the way of oil or rare minerals there or the shermans would be right in there ‘liberating’ the place as they do.
Gold. Metals. Oil. 45% of the arable land in the Arab world.

I think China has cornered the oil market though, as part of its wider colonialism in Africa.

There's a wider pattern of islamism pushing south in africa, to Western disinterest. Even when its other muslims on the end of it. No jews, no news, as they say.

Not Sudan, but then we don't need a hundred page thread on every slaughterhouse in the world: I note Trump is turning up the heat on Nigeria. Hopefully this will in time include it's enablers such as the UK.

Quite a few African countries are a shitshow, alot of big country backers to certain insurgent groups from the likes of Russia, China, US and the saudis making a mess in another part of the world.

Mozambique

Suggestions that more folk have been killed in the last week in Sudan than over the course of the Gaza conflict. I haven't noticed much outpouring of grief and rage or new political parties starting up. Perhaps black Muslims don't matter to the kindly ones?

This is actually a good article from the grauniad for a change.

It appears the non Arab population that are getting slaughtered....

Blood spilled in Sudan can be seen from space. Nobody can feign ignorance about what’s going on | Nesrine Malik
Yup. Not even just Christians now. In fact mostly not as they're already dead or holed up in breakaway South Sudan.

So you would think the endlessly concerned might now be concerned as it turns into plain old racist slaughter.

Well the lassie who wrote the article is one of those snooty smug folk usually.

I would think she closes her eyes when speaking to someone like they would do with a child.

She's actually born in Sudan I think. This is from her wiki page. And yep she is top tier guardianista 🤣🤣🤣

We Need New Stories is a non-fiction book written by journalist and author Nesrine Malik in 2019.

It discusses "toxic myths" on matters such as freedom of speech, political correctness, racial and identity politics, and national myths (particularly in relation to the United Kingdom and the United States, and how these impact decision-making), discussing and how these concepts have been misrepresented – often to oppose progressive causes – and encouraging readers to question accepted norms.

Suggestions that more folk have been killed in the last week in Sudan than over the course of the Gaza conflict. I haven't noticed much outpouring of grief and rage or new political parties starting up. Perhaps black Muslims don't matter to the kindly ones?
Probably because any protests against the killing would be seen as being anti Arab Muslims which widnae sit well with the gays and trans for Palestine mob

She's actually born in Sudan I think. This is from her wiki page. And yep she is top tier guardianista 🤣🤣🤣

We Need New Stories is a non-fiction book written by journalist and author Nesrine Malik in 2019.

It discusses "toxic myths" on matters such as freedom of speech, political correctness, racial and identity politics, and national myths (particularly in relation to the United Kingdom and the United States, and how these impact decision-making), discussing and how these concepts have been misrepresented – often to oppose progressive causes – and encouraging readers to question accepted norms.
Yup. Sudanese Arab. A child of privilege whose ancestors are statistically a lot more likely to have profitted from black slavery than the brits she berates for it. Her immediate family's servants were still referred to using the local term for slave.

Still, credit where it is due for raising the issue though I suspect she is writing for an audience that won't care much given it's dreadlocks not sidelocks here.

No seen a lot of noise being made by the atheists for islam folk regarding the slaughter in Sudan.