state propaganda ministry sacks man for committing thought crime he wasn't aware of

egb_hibs

BBC punt old dj in Devon who played 80+ year old version of 'the sun has got his hat on' not realising it contained use of what is now known as 'the n word'.

The fascist bastards have since offered the old duffer his job back, but claiming the episode has aggravated his stress disorder (adding to the whole zeitgeisty nature of the story) he has told them to stuff it.

Say what you like about clarkson, but the kind of mindset on display here is infinitely more sinister and also dangerous through its institutionalisation.

How long can the BBC be tolerated?

BBC News - BBC Radio Devon DJ David Lowe loses job over racist word

Yeah but a (I've used an racist word) racist can call a fellow (I've used an racist word) racist, a (I've used an racist word) racist as a friendly greeting? As in.....

"Yo (I've used an racist word) racist, how it hangin` man?"

Just don`t be the white guy that says it?

Where on the BBC does it mention those "Niggers" that state.........

"Yo Whitey/White-boy/Snowflake" etc. is this ever mentioned?:dunno:

Nah, me neither Whitey, fuck the corrupt BB fucking C! :pf:

Yeah but a (I've used an racist word) racist can call a fellow (I've used an racist word) racist, a (I've used an racist word) racist as a friendly greeting? As in.....

"Yo (I've used an racist word) racist, how it hangin` man?"

Just don`t be the white guy that says it?

Where on the BBC does it mention those "Niggers" that state.........

"Yo Whitey/White-boy/Snowflake" etc. is this ever mentioned?:dunno:

Nah, me neither Whitey, $#@! the corrupt BB $#@!ing C! :pf:

No. They use Nigga, which is different. (I've used an racist word) racist is considered as an insult even when a black guy uses it to another one.

The UK is a scary place.

Europes left establishment is flailing back towards its fascist roots - panic at the unravelling of the post war socio-economic settlement, rising anxiety at the disastrous consequences of its own social ideas, gnawing existential doubt as its populations erode... All of these are driving recourses back to core prejudices and authoritarianism.

Deeply scary it is indeed. What is scariest of all is the US is lurching onto the same path.

No. They use Nigga, which is different. (I've used an racist word) racist is considered as an insult even when a black guy uses it to another one.

That's a load of self justifying tosh on their part.

Europes left establishment is flailing back towards its fascist roots - panic at the unravelling of the post war socio-economic settlement, rising anxiety at the disastrous consequences of its own social ideas, gnawing existential doubt as its populations erode... All of these are driving recourses back to core prejudices and authoritarianism.

Deeply scary it is indeed. What is scariest of all is the US is lurching onto the same path.

That's a load of self justifying tosh on their part.

Spot on :applause:

Here we go again with another debate over appropriate language. I read that article earlier and it seems one person complained so the DJ guy offered to do an on-air apology explaining the error or 'fall on his sword'. The BBC decided to keep schtum on-air and accepted the guy should resign. Once they found out the rest of the press were going to get wind of it the shat themselves over the prospect of the negative publicity and offered him his job back which he then refused as he was stressed oot by then. Sounds like his lawyer is going to have the Beeb over a barrel.

Sorry man, I don`t buy that shit.

I hear (I've used an racist word)`s refer to themselves as (I've used an racist word)`s, and compare skin colour, with the lightest calling the "Loser" a black (I've used an racist word) bastard.

I refer you to Pennywell shopping centre if you don`t believe me.

Also, where does your point connect to them ripping our colour? And yes they fucking do...... :coffee:

Yours, Snowflake.

I've been told that Asians refer to Westerners (white folk) as 'Goreys'(sp?). No idea what it means but it's their derogatory, racist, term for us. Not that it bothers me in the slightest.

They use the term "Lunn" when giving you your change, and Puddy (sp) both refer to the male and female genitalia.

I pulled a "(I've used an racist word)" on this and he was horrified that I would know. I called him a racist kanute and dropped my shopping.

I can name the shop if you wish. He went whitey with fear when pulled up.

Sorry man, I don`t buy that $#@!.

I hear (I've used an racist word)`s refer to themselves as (I've used an racist word)`s, and compare skin colour, with the lightest calling the "Loser" a black (I've used an racist word) $#@!.

I refer you to Pennywell shopping centre if you don`t believe me.

Also, where does your point connect to them ripping our colour? And yes they $#@!ing do...... :coffee:

Yours, Snowflake.

I was making no point about Asians or anyone ripping colour. I was merely pointing out there is a difference between nigga and (I've used an racist word) racist.

Always happy to help out a cracker.

They use the term "Lunn" when giving you your change, and Puddy (sp) both refer to the male and female genitalia.

I pulled a "(I've used an racist word)" on this and he was horrified that I would know. I called him a racist kanute and dropped my shopping.

Thing is, I don't know what is meant by those terms. I've been called a great many things whilst doing my job but apparently I should expect to be called names for doing my job so my normal retort is, 'It's MISTER Wanker to you ya fud!' That usually takes the wind out of most folks sails

I was making no point about Asians or anyone ripping colour. I was merely pointing out there is a difference between nigga and (I've used an racist word) racist.

I don't pretend to any knowledge on this but it seems like the same kind of pish as retrospective invented acronyms to give the likes of crip a higher meaning.

No doubt the niggas spelling goes back further than Nwa, the first time I saw it, but these kinds of chaps were calling each other the n word before that. Again I'm no expert on Americana accents but those usage used to sound indistinguishable from an er spelling, and sometimes a still do - though I would grant that on records the a spelling can indeed be picked out these days

Chris rock has this bang to rights

So someone can possibly be prosecuted by way of puncuation now? You have to be shitting me.

So, I can stand up in court and say...... "I said Nigga, M`Lud?"

And expect to walk away?

Ask our resident Officer about that.

Always happy to help a Kanga. :coffee:

Thing is, I don't know what is meant by those terms. I've been called a great many things whilst doing my job but apparently I should expect to be called names for doing my job so my normal retort is, 'It's MISTER Wanker to you ya fud!' That usually takes the wind out of most folks sails

Lunn is a cock.

Puddy, or poody is a vaginal insult. Aimed at the size of your Mums. I worked for Asians when I was a kid. I learnt a lot.

Especially around Christmas they would use these terms. And still do.

It`s very common, but ripping them up for it is great fun. :wink:

I don't pretend to any knowledge on this but it seems like the same kind of pish as retrospective invented acronyms to give the likes of crip a higher meaning.

No doubt the niggas spelling goes back further than Nwa, the first time I saw it, but these kinds of chaps were calling each other the n word before that. Again I'm no expert on Americana accents but those usage used to sound indistinguishable from an er spelling, and sometimes a still do - though I would grant that on records the a spelling can indeed be picked out these days

Chris rock has this bang to rights

I've always understood -a/-er as being a sort of second definition in the dictionary - you can pick out the connotations when you hear them.

Other than discussion of language and quoting lyrics white people should pretty much stay well away from either.

I've always understood -a/-er as being a sort of second definition in the dictionary - you can pick out the connotations when you hear them.

Other than discussion of language and quoting lyrics white people should pretty much stay well away from either.

Everybody should stay away from either. People shouldn't be sacked for playing a record containing a word they didn't know it contained.

These things I hold to be true.

This happened to me too and I pulled him up and he bricked it.
There's a handful of words that get thrown at you and you never know.

Pudu/Puddy and Lunn as you say.
Cuda is another which is calling someone a dog, given as a strong insult. (not meaning ugly)
Gorey/Gora is an insult for white people. Can't remember the word for black people.
Penchod means wanker.

I had a handful of Asian friends when I was younger and they told me all this stuff. Surprising how many are actually racist towards us, but you'll never get anywhere accusing them.

Cuda is another which is calling someone a dog, given as a strong insult. (not meaning ugly)
Gorey/Gora is an insult for white people. Can't remember the word for black people.
Penchod means wanker.

I had a handful of Asian friends when I was younger and they told me all this stuff. Surprising how many are actually racist towards us, but you'll never get anywhere accusing them.

The guy who owns the shop at my mums called me a gora no long ago. Soon as I looked back at him he knew I knew what he had said. I simply called him a benchod and walk out only to then go in a week later and be told I was barred. Cheeky bastard.

4.3 billion people are Asian. I'm pretty sure that only a tiny percentage of them would understand any of the terms mentioned above.

Everybody should stay away from either. People shouldn't be sacked for playing a record containing a word they didn't know it contained.

An 80 year old DJ should know what he's playing ... having played the tunes for decades. I don't believe for a minute he never knew. Forgotten maybe.

There's also a case to answer by the producers of the show who should have been aware of his playlist.

I'm no DJ or musical guru but when songs come on, even really ancient ones I'm singing word for word! (mostly in my head though much to everyone's relief!!)

Working in the broadcasting industry, even the same company, he should also have been aware of the fuss over Clarkson and been on heightened alert.

The auld, already stressed out, guy is probably losing his marbles rather than being a twat. He probably should have gone a while ago.

Penchod means $#@!.

Why is it surprising?

4.3 billion people are Asian. I'm pretty sure that only a tiny percentage of them would understand any of the terms mentioned above.
Yeah, but theyre only using 'Asian' because political correctness has mangled our language, thought and especially precision. These terms will of course be found among Urdu speakers, while other Asians will have their own derogatory terms for us

Here is an extensive list - along with ones from other parts of the world:

http://www.rsdb.org/race/whites

An 80 year old DJ should know what he's playing ... having played the tunes for decades. I don't believe for a minute he never knew. Forgotten maybe.

There's also a case to answer by the producers of the show who should have been aware of his playlist.

I'm no DJ or musical guru but when songs come on, even really ancient ones I'm singing word for word! (mostly in my head though much to everyone's relief!!)

Working in the broadcasting industry, even the same company, he should also have been aware of the fuss over Clarkson and been on heightened alert.

The auld, already stressed out, guy is probably losing his marbles rather than being a $#@!. He probably should have gone a while ago.
He's 68 - it's the record that's over 80. He explains the situation here - like any good citizen he had immediately denounced himself upon realising his error; http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/05/11/bbc-david-lowe-n-word_n_5304238.html

I'm not sure what is to be gained by forgotten versus didn't know, anyway Jack; 1. Either way it would mean a lack of intent and 2. It doesn't matter anyway - in the realm of thought crime, innocence is no defence.

As you say, he's old and insufficiently vibrant. Take him to the glue factory.

He's 68 - it's the record that's over 80. He explains the situation here - like any good citizen he had immediately denounced himself upon realising his error; http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/05/11/bbc-david-lowe-n-word_n_5304238.html

I'm not sure what is to be gained by forgotten versus didn't know, anyway Jack; 1. Either way it would mean a lack of intent and 2. It doesn't matter anyway - in the realm of thought crime, innocence is no defence.

As you say, he's old and insufficiently vibrant. Take him to the glue factory.

That's me off to the glue factory as well :-/ confusing headlines and content!

Yeah, but theyre only using 'Asian' because political correctness has mangled our language, thought and especially precision. These terms will of course be found among Urdu speakers, while other Asians will have their own derogatory terms for us

Here is an extensive list - along with ones from other parts of the world:

The Racial Slur Database

Really? You reckon people are scared to use the term Pakistani for fear of being not PC?

Referring to a specific group of Asians as Asian is much less PC than simply calling them by their nationality. How can that be the fault of the "PC brigade" who, I'm sure would encourage the latter?

at face value youre right but it would have been clear to him what the BBC policy was on playing records with 'controversial' lyrics was - you don't work at the BBC without getting umpteen guidance notes and training events on subjects such as this. Content is tracked very thoroughly -In short it was his job to work under that guidance and know the content of what he was playing. I'd imagine its the failure to do so that is the issue here? I'd be very surprised if it was truly inadvertent.

that's not to say i agree with the BBC's policy but as an employee you abide or leave surely? the age of the DJ is surely inconsequential?

Should probably have specified.
The terms I said were all from people originally from Pakistan, although there were folk from Bangladesh and India who knew the same.

Really? You reckon people are scared to use the term Pakistani for fear of being not PC?

Referring to a specific group of Asians as Asian is much less PC than simply calling them by their nationality. How can that be the fault of the "PC brigade" who, I'm sure would encourage the latter?

Yes I do think they are. They may after all grossly offend an Indian, Bangladeshi, afghan etc with their insensitive ignorance of language or dialect. Asian is indeed the approved term as far as I can see - though it may have changed last week so as to cow us all again.

at face value youre right but it would have been clear to him what the BBC policy was on playing records with 'controversial' lyrics was - you don't work at the BBC without getting umpteen guidance notes and training events on subjects such as this. Content is tracked very thoroughly -In short it was his job to work under that guidance and know the content of what he was playing. I'd imagine its the failure to do so that is the issue here? I'd be very surprised if it was truly inadvertent.

that's not to say i agree with the BBC's policy but as an employee you abide or leave surely? the age of the DJ is surely inconsequential?

So a dj needs to prepare for every show by playing every record in advance? If such bureaucracy is required id think it more appropriate for a function managing the library of
Records used. And they should be under corporate governance, under directors.
So basically the whole power structure should go for such a
Heinous crime.

Yes I do think they are. They may after all grossly offend an Indian, Bangladeshi, afghan etc with their insensitive ignorance of language or dialect. Asian is indeed the approved term as far as I can see - though it may have changed last week so as to cow us all again.

So a dj needs to prepare for every show by playing every record in advance? If such bureaucracy is required id think it more appropriate for a function managing the library of
Records used. And they should be under corporate governance, under directors.
So basically the whole power structure should go for such a
Heinous crime.

If you have no idea what's on your records, you're no dj. Slightly tongue in cheek response there, man. However, what kinda defense is 'Ah didnae ken what wiz on the record'?

More importantly though; I will walk into Compton this week and enquire as to the distinction and pronounciation of the terribly awkward n!gger/n!gga conundrum. I may perhaps enquires as to the etymology too.

If you have no idea what's on your records, you're no dj. Slightly tongue in cheek response there, man. However, what kinda defense is 'Ah didnae ken what wiz on the record'?

More importantly though; I will walk into Compton this week and enquire as to the distinction and pronounciation of the terribly awkward n!gger/n!gga conundrum. I may perhaps enquires as to the etymology too.

I guess it somewhat easier for dance music dj to know all the lyrics in his set!

As far as I am aware radio stations play from an approved database of tracks or play list.

The fact this 80 year old track was played suggests to me this was sneaked in on a card and played, a sacking on so many levels, or as I suggested previously the producers blah blah ...

Touch. Almost. I play all kinds of music. I know all the lyrics to 'Come To My Party' by Keith Harris & Orville. Fully vetted prior to spinning that hot shizz.

Does Radio 1 play songs with the 'n' word?

As far as I am aware radio stations play from an approved database of tracks or play list.

The fact this 80 year old track was played suggests to me this was sneaked in on a card and played, a sacking on so many levels, or as I suggested previously the producers blah blah ...

usually it's a bit of A and a bit of B. Daytime radio everywhere rarely deviates from playlists or software assistance; specialist shows tend to have a lot more DJs own (whether its John Peel or Annie Mac or matey boy from Devon here). It's also clearly reported in most of the stories about this that it's 'from his private collection' so, yeah.

As an aside, when I was doing FM radio I never did a show where I didn't double check every record for language and intro/outro points, both as a compliance thing and a professional pride thing. I was doing that as a hobbyist; if you're a professional at a state broadcaster there's absolutely no excuse to do anything else.

I've seen a few things suggested his 'offer of an unreserved apology' was not exactly unreserved - certainly lots of 'PC gone mad, can't even say wog these days' coming from him since - and the beeb's comment that the disciplinary meeting "could have been better handled" sounds about right to me: he comes in, acts like a prick, offers to resign if it's that big a deal, gets caught off guard when it's accepted, news story ensues.

usually it's a bit of A and a bit of B. Daytime radio everywhere rarely deviates from playlists or software assistance; specialist shows tend to have a lot more DJs own (whether its John Peel or Annie Mac or matey boy from Devon here). It's also clearly reported in most of the stories about this that it's 'from his private collection' so, yeah.

As an aside, when I was doing FM radio I never did a show where I didn't double check every record for language and intro/outro points, both as a compliance thing and a professional pride thing. I was doing that as a hobbyist; if you're a professional at a state broadcaster there's absolutely no excuse to do anything else.

I've seen a few things suggested his 'offer of an unreserved apology' was not exactly unreserved - certainly lots of 'PC gone mad, can't even say wog these days' coming from him since - and the beeb's comment that the disciplinary meeting "could have been better handled" sounds about right to me: he comes in, acts like a prick, offers to resign if it's that big a deal, gets caught off guard when it's accepted, news story ensues.
I haven't seen anything like that? Can you direct me to something?

As it stands, I find your comments disturbing, Jacks too. Compare and contrast to the Clarkson hysteria. You guys are missing the greater evil by far, possibly even condoning it.

As before, this fascistic pc is a far graver problem than your clarkson sorts, and your reaction to the two things is tellingly upside down. In fact pc, and the wider strain of authoritarian 'progressive' thought of which it is a contemporary manifestation, are historically worse than real racism (indeed have produced the worst forms of racism, culminating in you know who).

Get it sorted.

amazingly I have known that happy wee ditty all my life without being aware of the use of the N word at 1.03 absolutely mental the things you find

Which makes you as racist as the DJ.

In a more enlightened world, the likes of FT would have you in a reeducation gulag.

I don't disagree with you Eegie I mthink it was a gross overreaction, unless you have a keen eye for the lyric and lets face it, the song is no work of poetry then you probably wouldn't know the N word was in it.

Ah but you are bringing sanity into it O'D. This story is about the crazed progress of contemporary fascism.

Right I've just been on YouTube and no surprise the 1932 version is top choice, complete with ******.

I was hard pushed though to find another version with the original wording and this song has as many covers as an Eskimos bed! Including the not so wonderful Jonathan King in the 1980s.

The offending verse is either skipped completely, the word inaudible or replaced by negro. Its neither wonder no one on here has heard it sung with that word in it.

Going back to databases of music this DJ must have been hard pushed to pick just about the only offending version, if it was on it in the first place.