State Pension, They're Gonni Means Test It

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
Copied from Twitter

Ministers last week rushed an amendment through the Commons, allowing it to look into the bank account of everybody claiming State Pension. Their only reason was that it might be useful one day. The only change which could make it useful would be to means test the State Pension

Copied from Twitter

Ministers last week rushed an amendment through the Commons, allowing it to look into the bank account of everybody claiming State Pension. Their only reason was that it might be useful one day. The only change which could make it useful would be to means test the State Pension
This wouldn’t be surprising, the Tories have wanted to do this for years.

Sounds like it. They'll probably eventually get removed or reduced for folk with private pensions or other means.

Per a number of previous threads, they're gonna go away or at least get hugely shrunk. It basically has to happen.

It's just makes other things worse though. They'll need to do more and more to make people save for their own private pension...which will make buying or renting a house more and more difficult.

Two weeks today i hit 66. Up to the Bairns for my tea with the wee vultures.

My birthday usually costs me a fortune to be fair.

Tea is already sorted. Giant Yorkshire and all the trimmings inside said Yorkshire.

Very nice are said bairns gonna get you one a giant slipper to put both yer feet in.

Nice work if you can get it 👍
Always get the work. Folk want their living rooms/ bedrooms etc decorated.

Work at my own pace. Any major jobs I'll pass on to my mate. I'm too auld for scaffolding/ three part ladder work

My grandsons birthday is Boxing Day, used tae try and give him pressies on two separate days when he was a bairn. He's 22 this year so just gets 2 cards and money in each which I have no doubt, he opens both on Christmas Day. Dear time of the year this is, apart from grandson my youngest lassie was born on the 29th of December, my youngest laddie, the 31st. My oldest laddie is January 17 and he was 2 weeks late. I have recently stopped sleeping in the hut during the month of March.:coffee1:

And when you hit pension age you can complain about everything.

Cannae wait to tell Derek next door to stop parking his car 10' from my hoose

And when you hit pension age you can complain about everything.

Cannae wait to tell Derek next door to stop parking his car 10' from my hoose
My missus thinks she disnae have tae wait until she hits pension age. As long as I have she thinks she can. Believe it or not she's already telt our neebur no tae park his van outside our windae. He's no done it since she telt him... wise laddie. :gigglle:

Is that Slims laddie? Your in the same culdi aren't you?

I'll launch a letter complaining about your missus complaining about something I've nowt to complain about.

I think

Naw Slims laddie stays up beside my laddie. Slims hoose is across from mine though. Its up for sale.

No seen Slim for yonks. He was trying to stay if the beer the last i heard.

Aye, wisnae well a while back but fully recovered now. Spoke tae him day before I went into Western. He's selling the hoose and buying a taxi. Up for sale for just over 300K. Four bedrooms, too big for me now and the bairns wid all be trying tae move back in :gigglle:

That's what's good about the prefab. Naebody likes staying here because it's cauld.

😁

All the big shots in pension’s etc would never allow this. Worked 47 years in building game now can no longer able. Pension due April 65 I hope.

Yep only folk sitting on their arses in offices with nice cushy jobs and pensions could come up with the rises in pension age.

Imagine being in your late 60's carrying bags of plaster or sheets of plasterboard up 3 flights of stairs.

That's what make politicians clueless windbags. Most have never done a manual day's work lifting and carrying.

Most of my mates in their 50's and 60's all suffer from knee, hip and back ailments.

I would agree with office workers working until they are 80 though 😉

Yep only folk sitting on their arses in offices with nice cushy jobs and pensions could come up with the rises in pension age.

Imagine being in your late 60's carrying bags of plaster or sheets of plasterboard up 3 flights of stairs.

That's what make politicians clueless windbags. Most have never done a manual day's work lifting and carrying.

Most of my mates in their 50's and 60's all suffer from knee, hip and back ailments.

You're not wrong - except for the last bit!

It’s cos there’s no money though Jimmy. I mean I agree in principle, but the welfare state was based on four workers for every dependent ( pensioners, kids, the sick ).

That ratio is is now less than 3 to 1 and dropping, and propped up pretty much entirely by immigration for the last 50 years.

Not enough folk had sprogs; I suspect mostly those in the more salubrious offices, right enough.

You should be ok I hope. Kids now, they haven’t a sniff.

It’s cos there’s no money though Jimmy. I mean I agree in principle, but the welfare state was based on four workers for every dependent ( pensioners, kids, the sick ).

That ratio is is now less than 3 to 1 and dropping, and propped up pretty much entirely by immigration for the last 50 years.

Not enough folk had sprogs; I suspect mostly those in the more salubrious offices, right enough.
Yep you are spot on. And immigration is needed.

But it's a hard sell. Communities in the North of England have changed forever.

I'll probably no be around when the total collapse of everything on these islands takes place.

Bit then what is an acceptable retirement age?

Physical work is beyond most folk when the hit their mid 60's. Especially in the building trade.

Employers want youngsters they can bully into doing work they won't do themselves.

Fuck knows mate. I just know that two Tuesdays from now I'm getting a decent scran and getting bladdered.

Got a text from the DWP telling me to expect a letter about my pension arriving soon.

When the money i have goes I'll just need to cut my cloth accordingly.

But one thing is for certain. Those who sit and pass laws will be alright. Snouts in the trough and a golden pension when they get kicked out because they are crap at what they do.

Got a text from the DWP telling me to expect a letter about my pension arriving soon.
Mibbes different because its Christmas Jimmy but you will get 2 weeks money at the end of December. Then your first full pension on the nearest whatever day your pension is due, tae the 1st of February. Last 2 digits of your national insurance number tells you what day you will get it.
00 to 19 Monday
20 to 39 Tuesday
40 to 59 Wednesday
60 to 99 Thursday
80 to 99 Friday

Be a Wednesday for me then. The monthly payments must be a new thing are they not?

My dad's used to be weekly

Nae wonder some of the auld yins are toiling.

At least weekly you knew where your shekels were going.

Every four weeks rather than calendar monthly though.
Ah right.

So it's just a case of getting direct debits etc and working around every 4 weeks.

I suppose you get used to it after the initial phase.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Every four weeks rather than calendar monthly though.
Every 28 days (same as DLA, ESA etc.) and, as usual, brought forward if the date falls on a weekend or public holiday. If your finances are fragile you could do what I do when the payments come in mid month. I transfer direct debit money into my savings account until the direct debit is due and then transfer it back to the current account (being retired this has become one of my hobbies and helps to keep the old grey matter busy).

So i filled in the first letter i received.

In it i told them that i was divorced and that i had lived and worked in Jersey.

Today i received another 7 page letter.

It's saying I've never married and could i send the form back about where i had worked abroad.

These fuckers do my nut in.

Something as simple as answering the questions asked seems to cause confusion....

IMG_20231207_123040.jpg

So i filled in the first letter i received.

In it i told them that i was divorced and that i had lived and worked in Jersey.

Today i received another 7 page letter.

It's saying I've never married and could i send the form back about where i had worked abroad.

These fuckers do my nut in.

Something as simple as answering the questions asked seems to cause confusion....

View attachment 12630
I'm not going to read back in the thread. Have you been on the phone to them?

I never got the 6 month (till pension age) letter inviting me to apply for my pension. I couldn't get the website to work for me so I phoned them.

A very helpful lady asked if I had 20 minutes to spare. All sorted and a couple of letters confirming everything a few days later.

Sounds you're maybe a wee bit more complicated than me but speaking it over with an expert might sort out what they think they're missing and for you to be sure what they need.

I'm not going to read back in the thread. Have you been on the phone to them?

I never got the 6 month (till pension age) letter inviting me to apply for my pension. I couldn't get the website to work for me so I phoned them.

A very helpful lady asked if I had 20 minutes to spare. All sorted and a couple of letters confirming everything a few days later.

Sounds you're maybe a wee bit more complicated than me but speaking it over with an expert might sort out what they think they're missing and for you to be sure what they need.
Cheers Jack. I have some phone numbers on the letter I just got.

When they asked about working abroad i put down Jersey because you didn't pay tax over there. Just social security at 4% i think it was.

I'll need to phone because I'm no sure if Jersey is classed as abroad.

Phoned up Wolverhampton which was pretty much a waste of time.

The lad kept asking me what i wanted him to do.

Phoned Jersey States and got the social security number.

Get this sent today. Hopefully that is it.