SNP ignoring Scots

Cannae see Fraser Nelson looking for a hoose in a council scheme anytime soon Archie.

He and others can throw out any figures they want to but it doesn't help in the here and now.
It doesn't help the social housing issue, but there's a lot been thrown out here about immigration, so it's important that there is accurate information. To my mind the issue is a chronic failure to build social housing coupled with an obsession with student housing, buy to lets and Air B and Bs.

The only thing I know Jack is that neither myself or my lassie will ever get a council hoose.

Even when the twin died my lassie was told that she would need to go into homeless accommodation first before they could be considered for a council hoose.
As shite as that situation is if I'm reading this correctly it's homeless people who are getting the council housing over people already in council housing?

I know lots of folk who bought houses out to rent and that was going to be their pension.

The housing crisis is not going to be eased in my lifetime.

But I do think folk who have lived here all their days should get first dibs on social housing.

Be a link housing 2 bed house in West Lothian available from Tuesday.
The previous tenant had to move to a nursing home after a 79yr tenancy which must be a record

As shite as that situation is if I'm reading this correctly it's homeless people who are getting the council housing over people already in council housing?
No sure what you mean there. Folk already in council hooses are not homeless.

Folk in homeless accommodation get or used to get three offers if houses which could be anywhere in Edinburgh.

If they refused them they went off the list.

Now I can see where some will think a council hoose is a council hoose so suck it up.

But myself and my lassie have always lived in the Moredun/Gracemount area.

We have no links to other areas. I can get to my lassies in less than 15 mins if needed.

I couldn't get to hers from Muirhoose if needed in a hurry.

When I lived over in Jersey the folk who stayed i Jersey State accomodation had to give up their 2/3 bedroom houses and downsize when their bairns got aulder.

That way families could then get the bigger hooses.

Might be offered smaller accommodation if they applied to downsize, as is the case in many councils and housing associations in Scotland, but they wouldn't be forced to move.

In Jersey they had to move Doc.

Saying that it WAS 1994 when I was there.

Generally, private homeowners cannot be forced to downsize by law. However, social housing tenants or individuals who inherit a tenancy or property under specific local council rules may face pressure or legal action to move to a smaller home if they under-occupy the space

They did when I lived over there. So there. 😤

Generally, private homeowners cannot be forced to downsize by law. However, social housing tenants or individuals who inherit a tenancy or property under specific local council rules may face pressure or legal action to move to a smaller home if they under-occupy the space

So, not downsizing when kids move, but inheriting a larger property than needed.
:54:

There was chatter about this under Cameron's government. The argument broadly was that social housing was a benefit, so why give people a benefit when they no longer need it? It quietly died. I suspect the image of forcing pensioners to move was too toxic. Also, there needed to be supply of smaller houses, which wasn't there.

This wouldn't have covered Scotland, though we would have been free to apply it had we wished (unlikely).

There was chatter about this under Cameron's government. The argument broadly was that social housing was a benefit, so why give people a benefit when they no longer need it? It quietly died. I suspect the image of forcing pensioners to move was too toxic. Also, there needed to be supply of smaller houses, which wasn't there.

This wouldn't have covered Scotland, though we would have been free to apply it had we wished (unlikely).

Aye pictures of pensioners who were being dragged out by robocops would not have went down well at all.

Winter evictions of OAPs, chucking them out of neighbourhoods where they have social contacts around them into strange territory might have proved a jolly jape for the Tory extremists but possibly not so appealing to more decent and reasonable folk....... or the voters.

Winter evictions of OAPs, chucking them out of neighbourhoods where they have social contacts around them into strange territory might have proved a jolly jape for the Tory extremists but possibly not so appealing to more decent and reasonable folk..... or the voters.
Oi wait a min.

Did a lot of the remain zealots not want another vote because most of the noble leave voters would have died off by now?

Would we be in the EU? According to unionists at the time our membership would have been revoked
Hard to say. I think the EU would have wanted to give England a bloody nose so it may have 'relaxed' it's rules a wee bit.

Apparently homeless asylum seekers who have their asylum claims approved are being moved to the top of the council house waiting list in Edinburgh.
Surely cannae be true when youve got local families like EH17 who have been bidding for years.
Fuckin shitebags if its happening
Nothing to do with the SNP then as Edinburgh is a labour controlled council.

The SNP’s 2012 law change compelling councils to house all unintentionally homeless people, including single men, has been blamed for Edinburgh’s migrant homelessness crisis.

Nicola Sturgeon’s 2022 rule change to scrap the need for a “local connection” in order to receive a council home also contributed to the issue.

The SNP’s 2012 law change compelling councils to house all unintentionally homeless people, including single men, has been blamed for Edinburgh’s migrant homelessness crisis.

Nicola Sturgeon’s 2022 rule change to scrap the need for a “local connection” in order to receive a council home also contributed to the issue.
It's still the labour council who decides who gets what house though not the SNP.

Well no one is getting a council hoose in Edinburgh as bidding has been suspended.

Only housing association available.

And I would say it's the housing department who makes the decision who gets a council hoose.

Simply meaning the homeless or those in homeless hostels will always be a priority when a house becomes available.
Unfortunately that's just the way it is.
Have you tried to see if someone wants a house swap?

Simply meaning the homeless or those in homeless hostels will always be a priority when a house becomes available.
Unfortunately that's just the way it is.
Have you tried to see if someone wants a house swap?
Both me and my lassie are in private rentals so a council hoose is out of reach.

But the point is that those in homeless accomodation should take priority over someone given leave to remain in the country.

Both me and my lassie are in private rentals so a council hoose is out of reach.

But the point is that those in homeless accomodation should take priority over someone given leave to remain in the country.
Ah sorry my mistake I thought you were already in council housing and looking to move.

There an empty dancer housing association hoose up from me been lying empty now for nearly 3 years.

One level hoose with a garden. I've tried to find out who actually owns the place but it's a 'nowt to do with us' scenario.

This is more common than you might think.

My working hypothesis is that the rent is paid by housing benefit while the tenant lives elsewhere.

It doesn't help the social housing issue, but there's a lot been thrown out here about immigration, so it's important that there is accurate information. To my mind the issue is a chronic failure to build social housing coupled with an obsession with student housing, buy to lets and Air B and Bs.

100%