Scotland....

LEGENDARY RADGE
Doing pretty well. Slivka has barely got a mention right enough.

Great result tonight.

Plenty Scottish football fans including Hibs don't support the national team from what I can gather, very strange behaviour.

I used to go to games at Hampden. And went to Wembley a couple of times. I'm not that bothered these days, but I watched on Tv and supported from my settee.

Can't quite understand those Scots who eschew their homeland and support another nation. Weirdos.

Great result, could have been more? Should now come down to a crunch, must-win, game against Slovakia at Hampden as to who ends up in the playoff spot.

Was there 3 hibbys on the pitch around 85 minutes when SJM came on?

Used to go to loads of Scotland games during the late 70's and throughout the 80's at Hampden. I'm a Scotland fan as well as a Hibs fan, and despite the fact I don't go to any of the internationals any more I always want to see the national team do well. Great result tonight but IMO the damage has been done already in this campaign particularly that terrible defensive mistake right at the end of the game against England which handed them a draw on a plate. Two minutes from one of the greatest victories in decades and you go and do that...

You have to win your home games in any qualifying campaign, something Scotland always seem incapable of doing....and IMO this failing is what is going to cost us yet again.

It was a great performance. We were in charge throughout and, from when Armstrong scored, there was only likely to be one winner.

We just dug ourselves into something of a hole earlier in the campaign. When push comes to shove, we need to expect that both us and England will win on Monday and that means that we, essentially, need to win the rest of our games in order to have a chance of getting over the line. The problem is that we keep doing this to ourselves - no breathing room. The last campaign was the same when it boiled down to beating Poland and we couldn't quite get there.

Who knows? Maybe the twenty year mark is a long enough wilderness for international tournaments.

There's quality in this Scotland side.

Great result, could have been more? Should now come down to a crunch, must-win, game against Slovakia at Hampden as to who ends up in the playoff spot.

Was there 3 hibbys on the pitch around 85 minutes when SJM came on?

Naw Slivka went off before McGinn came on Kev... and Leigh was off by then tae

I have ALWAYS supported the Scotland national team through thick and thin, from Ally's Tartan Army to pathetic Potter and even the incompetent Bertie Vogts. Superb result, good performance and the deserved putting to bed of a stuffy and poor Lithuanian outfit. I'm happy for Gordon Strachan - would have hated to see him fail at this stage. Some good individual performances though Leigh had a quiet game for him. Nice to see SJM get a run out. Stunning goal from Robertson, who has come back from serious injury. Slivka had a few good touches but was beaten by the physicality of this team. We just need to cure a few defensive frailties as Lithuania should have really scored.

Footnote: I was at the recent Scotland England game at Hampden, after having re-mortgaged my house to pay for the tickets. After Leigh scored that 2nd goal was worth every penny of the money and more.

Good performance last night. Lithuania aren't up to much but to win so convincingly away is a good thing. We have managed to drag ourselves back into contention after a shocking start. The job is still a big one. We want England to beat both Slo's & us to win our last 2 games home & away. (Beating Malta on Mon too obvs) Then pray to the God's that we get a kind draw in the play-offs. Tough, but at least we have given us a shot at it.

I would be going to the home game against Slovakia as the atmos will be electric but, alas, I'll be watching from afar in Wales.

Well done Scotland and well done oor neebs. Still in it.

Not pretty but job done against an eye-bleeding side. Their goalie made a few good saves. Thank you for the favour Engurland....

I went along to Hampden tonight, Scotland have some very good players (mostly Celtic players and one for Liverpool) and a couple of real duffers.

I've missed both games because I've happened to have been places without Sky (wtf) but I suppose that's the only positive to Celtc being so dominant, and having a reasonable Scottish core of players.

Forrest is poor, Morrison is shite, Phillips is not much better. I was baffled why Morrison came on instead of SJM for McArthur.

Big Jessie Breeks in goal is steady, Robertson and Tierney are very good players, Scott Brown is Scott Brown and Sparky is great to watch. Surprisingly Berra done pretty well, and its a pity Mulgrew is getting on a bit, although Malta didnae have much up front.

Forrest has never impressed me in a Scotland jersey (have seen him have the occasional good game for the dodgers). Don't know why we persist with him

Forrest is poor, Morrison is shite, Phillips is not much better. I was baffled why Morrison came on instead of SJM for McArthur.

Big Jessie Breeks in goal is steady, Robertson and Tierney are very good players, Scott Brown is Scott Brown and Sparky is great to watch. Surprisingly Berra done pretty well, and its a pity Mulgrew is getting on a bit, although Malta didnae have much up front.

Can't comment on the last two matches having missed them, but I think Morrison is OK. Forrest seems to have missed the boat in developing, but he's still got time I guess. Don't anything about Phillips tbh. I think Armstrong could be a good player too, and the full backs are both tremendous, Tierney especially...he could play for any team in the world in a few years I think?

I think trust from the manager is a problem with SJM, much like Griffiths went thru with Strachan too. Riordan also. No doubt John will be a regular for Scotland in a couple of years time.

Just had to win tonight...flicker of hope still there.

I know why you say it’s a “flicker” but, after the start we had, I think most people would bite your hand off for the position we’re now in – win our last two games, and we’re in the playoffs. That’s it. Goal difference doesn’t matter, other results don’t matter, England don’t matter.

It does make you wonder what might have been, though, given that this was a duff group. Had we beaten Lithuania and England at Hampden, as we should have, and not capitulated so badly away to Slovakia and grabbed, say, a point… We’d still be in the hunt for winning the group, with a playoff berth probably assured by this point. Instead, the entire campaign boils down to two matches that Scotland are capable of winning because there’s no more quality in either the Slovenian or Slovak teams.

The funny thing is that no side is going to settle for a point. Slovakia will be happier with a draw at Hampden than Scotland will (it’ll end our campaign, really), but they can’t guarantee Slovenia won’t beat England because the English aren’t much cop. Slovenia need to beat England and then us to qualify, so they’ll be going all out. Scotland obviously also need two victories, so we won’t be looking to sit in very much.

There’s no doubt the Slovaks are in the box seat. They’re a point in front, and have Malta in the last game. But if Scotland can beat them at Hampden, you’d have to fancy us to go to Slovenia and really get tore in.

As for the players:

Can anyone (and I do mean anyone) tell me what the point in James Forrest is? He’s our Owen Hargreaves. He’s a thoroughly ordinary footballer, even in his position and role, yet seems to be a first pick. I get that Strachan wants to build that club feeling in the national side, but it must surely be time to look past Forrest.

He’s never an international standard player.

I missed Armstrong, he is a player.

Plenty tickets available online for the Slovakia game. Indeed half both the east and west stand and the top deck of the south stand are not even on sale yet?

I see the Scotland U21's beat Holland 2-0 yesterday.Burke & Mallan were the scorers. Good stuff. :thumbgrin

_97682236_group.jpg

By the way the Dutch had a guy playing for them called Denzil Dumfries. Denzil Dumfries! What a handle :Sparkle_Cool:

I know why you say it’s a “flicker” but, after the start we had, I think most people would bite your hand off for the position we’re now in – win our last two games, and we’re in the playoffs. That’s it. Goal difference doesn’t matter, other results don’t matter, England don’t matter.

It does make you wonder what might have been, though, given that this was a duff group. Had we beaten Lithuania and England at Hampden, as we should have, and not capitulated so badly away to Slovakia and grabbed, say, a point… We’d still be in the hunt for winning the group, with a playoff berth probably assured by this point. Instead, the entire campaign boils down to two matches that Scotland are capable of winning because there’s no more quality in either the Slovenian or Slovak teams.

The funny thing is that no side is going to settle for a point. Slovakia will be happier with a draw at Hampden than Scotland will (it’ll end our campaign, really), but they can’t guarantee Slovenia won’t beat England because the English aren’t much cop. Slovenia need to beat England and then us to qualify, so they’ll be going all out. Scotland obviously also need two victories, so we won’t be looking to sit in very much.

There’s no doubt the Slovaks are in the box seat. They’re a point in front, and have Malta in the last game. But if Scotland can beat them at Hampden, you’d have to fancy us to go to Slovenia and really get tore in.

As for the players:

Can anyone (and I do mean anyone) tell me what the point in James Forrest is? He’s our Owen Hargreaves. He’s a thoroughly ordinary footballer, even in his position and role, yet seems to be a first pick. I get that Strachan wants to build that club feeling in the national side, but it must surely be time to look past Forrest.

He’s never an international standard player.

Almost always Scotland fail in qualifying campaigns because of our home results. IMO in WC and Euro qualifying campaigns you absolutely 100% have to win all your home matches if you want to progress to a finals. Scotland flop at Hampden constantly, and that's why I am none too confident about us beating Slovakia. Drawing with Lithuania at home was terrible result and chucking away two points in the last minute against England was even worse as far as I am concerned. England have got better players than us but IMO are overrated and having got ourselves into a 2-1 lead with two brilliant free-kicks from Griffiths to concede in the way we did in the last minute just beggared belief. I really hope Scotland can win these last two game and get into the play-offs but I really have my doubts.

We have a few players who are genuine international standard but many in the squad are not. That's not Strachan's fault as unlike a club manager he cannot go into the transfer market and get in better players, he has to go with what is available to him. Celtic are totally dominant in Scotland and should therefore provide the bulk of the national team. I can't understand for the life of me why the second best team in the country's players are ignored completely, but that's Strachan for you. Scotland, as has been the case for years now, are most vulnerable in the centre of defence. We have not had a truly international class centre back since Richard Gough and Colin Hendry. We also lack a proper big centre-forward who can lead the line and get goals. Griffiths is easily our best striker. I think the only reason Forrest is played so much is that he is probably our only natural winger. I agree though he isn't international class just like most of his team mates.

I hope we just give it a massive go in these two games, but in reality I think the damage has already been done and it will be too big an ask for this team.

I see the Scotland U21's beat Holland 2-0 yesterday.Burke & Mallan were the scorers. Good stuff. :thumbgrin

_97682236_group.jpg

By the way the Dutch had a guy playing for them called Denzil Dumfries. Denzil Dumfries! What a handle :Sparkle_Cool:

One for [MENTION=337]tricky[/MENTION] who has a lengthy list of players with Scottish places in their names.

Have bought a ticket for the Slovakia game.

Ticket: £40
"Handling charge": £2
Booking fee: £3
Visa debit fee: £3

Total: £48, including nearly 25% of the face value in charges.

They really do take the piss, like.

Those charges are taking the piss, Handling Charge and VISA Debit payment fee especially.

Just goes to show what a great deal we get with Hibs, particularly the non season ticket holders.

Aye there's wee hiccups now and again but think of the constant negativity on here and elsewhere if the same charges applied!

Or to put it another way, 'exactly 20% of the face value in charges'.

:giggle:

Still feckin ridiculous mind - Jack's right - we get a good deal at Hibs in comparison to these rip-off merchants.

I bought an Adult and Kid ticket,£40 for both with a Visa debit.
£3.00 booking fee and £2 postage.

I saw the Visa charge but didn't get charged it :hmmm

Just goes to show what a great deal we get with Hibs, particularly the non season ticket holders.

Aye there's wee hiccups now and again but think of the constant negativity on here and elsewhere if the same charges applied!

I said the very same to SKII the other day after dealing with both Hibs and the SFA for tickets this week. I bought tickets for the Slovakia game, had to pay adult prices for my 17 year old who is still at at school, and all the fees Aggie mentioned. My tickets for Saints away were fee free and seats were added to and switched to get us all together, with a smile too!

Hibs win hands down not only with no hidden booking fees, fair postage costs, free use of flippin debit cards, but also with Kids being considered Kids right up to the age of 18 (The SFA and many other clubs in the Premier League charge 16's and over an adult price), the very fair pricing of season tickets for young children and the excellent pricing for students in further and higher education. All on interest free credit if bought early enough.

To think they have had to put up a protective screen for staff inside the ticket office too.

Regards

Rod Pe......1875

To think they have had to put up a protective screen for staff inside the ticket office

Really? Because of folk getting irate? That's absolutely ridiculous.

PS we drink in the Queens Park Cafe pre-match

Really? Because of folk getting irate? That's absolutely ridiculous.

Pretty sad eh.

There's a lot of arseholes around so I guess the odds are that some of them are Hibs fans.