Scotland v Hungary

How do folk think this is going to go tonight ?
Would love to see Scotland getting through to the knock-out stages of a tourney for the first time ever.
Fans deserve it, and so do the players and Steve Clarke who has worked hard to make an average/competent squad of players the best of it's sum of parts. I like Clarke. He is my type of manager...clearly hates all the media flannel that goes with the job, and just wants to get on with it. A no nonsense football man.

Have to say though it's this type of game that always concerns me with this Scotland team. It's a must-win game in which we are going to have to go out there, create chances and score goals. That doesn't really suit us.
Tierney being out is a huge blow.
I'd be tempted to bring James Forrest into the team. An experienced player who can also score goals.
Shankland might be brought on later on, but his style doesn't really suit this team. He needs chances created for him in the box, and if there are chances, he should score them.

Really hope we win, but I fear it could be a draw and another glorious failure.

Feels like '78 all over again,going into the final group match , needing to score a certain amount of goals to go through I'm fed up with the glorious failure type of attitude that we seem to suffer from , I'd really love to see us do it , but as always in this sickening feeling that I have seen this movie before

We just need a win to go through.

I read this interesting article about Hungary a couple of days. Explains the background to their re-emergence of their club and national team.
I'm sure EGB_Hibs and the others that live in the political threads have something to say about it

It seems crazy to me that we could go through with two points (with other results going in our favour) and yet in '74, we won one, drew two and failed to progress. Anyway, I hope we get the win.

It's easier to qualify now than ever before.
Back in '74 only 2 qualified from the groups and there was a duffer in each group. The formula was a big win against the duffers and Scotland only took 2 of them and couldn't beat the other 2. The draw against Yugoslavia was a great result but a very poor Brasil were there for the taking but qualification was really lost against Zaire.

It's easier to qualify now than ever before.
Back in '74 only 2 qualified from the groups and there was a duffer in each group. The formula was a big win against the duffers and Scotland only took 2 of them and couldn't beat the other 2. The draw against Yugoslavia was a great result but a very poor Brasil were there for the taking but qualification was really lost against Zaire.
It was indeed....especially as Yugoslavia put nine past them.

Bookies make Hungary marginal favourites

The implied probability of a Scotland win is around 39%

Seems about right.

First goal is going to be vital.

So the odds are against us, but it’s close enough to be doable.

Cautious optimism is the order of the day.

That Hungary themselves still have a chance of qualifying could make for an eventful game. A draw isn't much use to either team. A Scotland win would be wonderful but history tells me not to get carried away and so, I'm afraid, I wouldn't be tipping
scotland for the win tonight. Fingers crossed though.

2-1 Scotland. Go two up then hang on as it's never easy.

Also had a dream Grant Hanley scored.

I’ve seen Gunts elsewhere on social media saying they’re going to watch the Germany v Switzerland match if Clarke doesn’t pick Shanklandstein or Forrest in the starting lineup.
Loyalties eh? 🙄

I’ve seen Gunts elsewhere on social media saying they’re going to watch the Germany v Switzerland match if Clarke doesn’t pick Shanklandstein or Forrest in the starting lineup.
Loyalties eh? 🙄
these idiots wanted mcginn dropped for shankland 👀 shows there lack of brains… mcginn in his natural position and first name on team sheet.
Foreheed would be a waste of s jersey at this level..
I’d personally play christie where he’s played Mcginn and put mcginn in natural position and leave out Mcgregor

The best we can put out. Hungary apparently have a young English boy who plays for Barnsley in their midfield the night so cannae be that strong. Mibbs.
Callum Styles, he's been on loan tae Sunderland last season.

Loyalties eh? 🙄
Aye. Steve Clarkes a useless alkie who got lucky. They have joined their hun cousins on that one.

Forgetting Shankland has been fucking pish for Scotland every game he's played including Gibraltar and Adams is EPL standard.

Bunch of dicks.

these idiots wanted mcginn dropped for shankland 👀 shows there lack of brains… mcginn in his natural position and first name on team sheet.
Foreheed would be a waste of s jersey at this level..
I’d personally play christie where he’s played Mcginn and put mcginn in natural position and leave out Mcgregor
I would do all the same too, great calls. McGregor shows at this level why he is never EPL standard, same as when he's in the CL.

Are we playing Hungary or Aberdeen? Hammer throwing bassas who love to play act.

Get intae them Scotland!!!!

Not one fukkimg shot on target ffs

Hungary look at least dangerous at times, we haven't done enough so far.

Must win game and we turn a performance like that.Boring and uninspired.Clarke is such a negative manager.

Hungary are dirty bastards. McGregor is shite at this level.
We are playing far too narrow. Need to get down the sides
Get mcgregor off, Mcginn and mctominay drop back a bit and out christie..
This is dire, Gilmour gets ball and has zero options.
Wtf is Clarke thinking

Adam’s is murder.
That was a brutal watch . I’d put Forest on, he might at least run at them and beat a man . And Lego heid can’t be any worse than Adams.

On this showing we are going back on de plane hame 😆

Why is mcginn playing where he is and Adams. Pish. Giving away needless free kicks. Get tefal heed on and get mcginn into central midfield ffs Clarke ya boring bastard

Watching the disallowed German goal got chopped off for a free kick in lead up to goal.
If the ref didn’t give a free kick in general play, VAR has no input, yet it disallowed goal fir a free kick that the ref never gave,
🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️

Hungarian faking being kicked in the face, another stamping, VAR nowhere to be seen (assuming they are even allowed to point such things out to the ref), but on the other hand 47 minutes played and we've had ZERO shots, not just shots on target but no attempts on goal at all.