Scotland v Belgium

Saw quite a few Belgies wandering the city centre of Glasgow tonight 'bravely' wearing their colours.
As I said to my Bouncer colleague: Fair few Belgians over for the game, eh.
Ahhh, he replied, I wondered why so many Partick fans were out and about !

*In order to spare Roy from embarrassment I won't give his Bounce name away ?

We are getting scudded good and proper.

Bookmark this: I’m 45. In my lifetime, a) no one outside of the Bigots will ever win the league, and b) Scotland will not qualify for a tournament.

We are getting scudded good and proper.

Bookmark this: I’m 45. In my lifetime, a) no one outside of the Bigots will ever win the league, and b) Scotland will not qualify for a tournament.

That's the spirit!*

* agree on both points.

As long as we play Charlie Mulgrew we will always struggle, we must have better than him.
Our defence is pathetic.
Grim watching, we flatter to deceive at times, we are worse than it appears!

Got it on the radio, for now. Not sure how much more I can stand.....

I flipped over after the third, currently watching Northern Ireland run rings around Germany... WTF

These are probably the best team in Europe now, so this is probably about par rather than embarrassing and any way, don't you have a free swing at the play-offs irrespective of what happens in the group?

A semi final and a neutral venue final if they win , two leg matches in semi I believe teams involved , Bulgaria , Norway and Serbia ?

Thought it was Finland we’d face in the semi but if it’s one of them we’re probably fucked! Serbia would definitely pump us

Literally no positives to take from tonight, second best to everything all over the park, and now resorted to diving. Appreciate these aren’t the games Clarke will be judged on, however Russia was. Watched this in a Sports Bar in Doha, nearly a tenner a pint FFS ??

Looks like Scotland Bulgaria in qualifying game now that'll be hard aswell

A lesson. We are pish.

Well it wasn't a win...but...

We're starting to feature a plan, a settled squad, and a settled formation. I think half a dozen games in together we aren't going to finish second, but, we should be able to give Bulgaria a game in front of a full house at Hampden.

Scotland have to use the formality of the remaining matches in the group as a preparation for the play-offs, which is our only possible route to the Euros and in reality has been since we lost the opening match in Kazakstan. Clarke, like all Scotland managers, is severely limited in his options by the sheer lack of genuine international class players he has available to him, but he must try to build some sort of foundation in the remaining games in which to build upon. For a start Griffiths and Christie should be first choice selections. I would look to get Steven Fletcher back into the international fold. Where we are really struggling though is defensively...and I mean the whole team not just the back four. With such a paucity of defensive talent as well as no reliable goalscorer available, we have to look to protect the defence as much as possible. No idea who is available, but it's Clarke's job to find players who can even just give us 90 minutes of heart and endeavour, and at least show some appetite for international football even if technically they are not up to it. Just get some proper organisation and get players in the last third who actually have a semblance of a record at any level of scoring goals on even a semi-reliable basis.

I agree with the lack of class players, however, Reverend I.M. Jolly , before and after the game, widnae motivate me. The Sportscene mob are on now. Not impressive analysis, however compared with the Dodds/Ferguson/Bonnar/ Preston on Sportsound week in week out, they sound like fitba gurus.

sadly I don't even watch Scotland games anymore...don't need the depression

Scotland have never been a good team at international level,our record in tournaments is all you need to look at.
Some great individual players though.

Scotland have never been a good team at international level,our record in tournaments is all you need to look at.
Some great individual players though.
In 1984 I stood in the old Mount Florida end at Hampden and watched the best Scotland team I have ever seen outplay and gub the then European Champions Spain 3-1. A Scotland team full of top class internationalists like Dalglish, Souness, Johnston, Cooper, McStay, Miller, McLeish etc. They were magnificent that night, absolutely fantastic. The decline in standards at international level in Scotland since the 80's has been unreal. Maybe we just had a golden period as a nation from 1974 to 1998 but within that 24 year period Scotland only failed to qualify for one World Cup in the USA in 1994 and regularly qualified for the Euros as well. In 1974 we were desperately unlucky to go out of the World Cup having been unbeaten in the three matches we played one of which was against the then world champions Brazil. In 1982 we went out despite scoring 8 goals in the three games we played.

Yes, I would agree that Scotland have never been a top drawer international team, and more often than not have tended to flop at most tournaments, but in my lifetime we have had some superb teams and some world class players. We have plummeted massively on the international stage since the 80's. The decline in interest in the national team has sharply declined as well, standards have crashed, what the hell has gone wrong with the game in this country ? It can't be the usual suspects of the Old Firm...they have always been by far the biggest two clubs in the country and the SFA and the league have always pandered to them...this was the case even back in the day when we were producing great teams and world class players. It's much much deeper than that, and worthy of a separate debate.

In 1984 I stood in the old Mount Florida end at Hampden and watched the best Scotland team I have ever seen outplay and gub the then European Champions Spain 3-1. A Scotland team full of top class internationalists like Dalglish, Souness, Johnston, Cooper, McStay, Miller, McLeish etc. They were magnificent that night, absolutely fantastic. The decline in standards at international level in Scotland since the 80's has been unreal. Maybe we just had a golden period as a nation from 1974 to 1998 but within that 24 year period Scotland only failed to qualify for one World Cup in the USA in 1994 and regularly qualified for the Euros as well. In 1974 we were desperately unlucky to go out of the World Cup having been unbeaten in the three matches we played one of which was against the then world champions Brazil. In 1982 we went out despite scoring 8 goals in the three games we played.

Yes, I would agree that Scotland have never been a top drawer international team, and more often than not have tended to flop at most tournaments, but in my lifetime we have had some superb teams and some world class players. We have plummeted massively on the international stage since the 80's. The decline in interest in the national team has sharply declined as well, standards have crashed, what the hell has gone wrong with the game in this country ? It can't be the usual suspects of the Old Firm...they have always been by far the biggest two clubs in the country and the SFA and the league have always pandered to them...this was the case even back in the day when we were producing great teams and world class players. It's much much deeper than that, and worthy of a separate debate.
The other countries have progressed,it looks like we’ve regressed.
As much as I think Kris Boyd is a plum,thought he was spot on with his comments after the game.
New plan needed.