Scotland Squad Announced

He's fkn wirish.
Just in case you never seen it CG, thicko gunt Ewen Cameron done an 'Ante Niemi'

Speaking on STV’s Radio Football Show, host Ewen Cameron highlighted McGrath as a standout player, but baffingly said that the 13-capped Republic of Ireland International should be ‘knocking on the door’ of Scotland manager Steve Clarke to get into the squad for the World Cup next summer.

Hanley shouldn't be anywhere near the squad, Clarke is a useless prick. We should be trying fringe players, not the Hanley, Dykes and Adams of the world. Give players like McBurnie and Gauld 90 minutes.

Reactions: Dub
Hanley shouldn't be anywhere near the squad, Clarke is a useless prick. We should be trying fringe players, not the Hanley, Dykes and Adams of the world. Give players like McBurnie and Gauld 90 minutes.

I disagree. The time for trying fringe players has gone, this is very much about team building and getting some momentum for the World Cup. He’s got one gamble in there, Curtis, we don’t have any real wingers besides Ganon-Doak so that makes sense.

Are the likes of Welsh or Halkett really significantly better than Hanley? Wouldn’t say so, and neither has the level of international experience he does, so why bother with them. McBurnie and Gauld have both had chances, they didn’t take them, turning back to those guys doesn’t seem to be the answer.

All being fit, Steve Clarke could name his squad right now and most of us could guess what it is. Some will say that’s a problem in itself, but the reality is there’s not some unearthed gem out there who’s deserving of a shot. Mulligan would have had a case, but he’s injured.

Just in case you never seen it CG, thicko gunt Ewen Cameron done an 'Ante Niemi'

Speaking on STV’s Radio Football Show, host Ewen Cameron highlighted McGrath as a standout player, but baffingly said that the 13-capped Republic of Ireland International should be ‘knocking on the door’ of Scotland manager Steve Clarke to get into the squad for the World Cup next summer.
🙄. Just like Annti Niemi is Finnished.

Did anyone see Clarke interview ? He was basically saying offer me a contract before the World Cup or I am off as soon as we are home.
Would be funny if they relieved him of his duties beforehand. He did come over as a right arrogant prick.

Clarke will go as soon as the World Cup is over.
Seven years in the job....He knows his time is up, hence he has not been offered a new deal.
IMO he has been a very good manager for Scotland, and if he somehow guides us through the group stages in the US he will be Scotland's most
successful manager of all time.

Space for another ex Hun in Nathan Patterson.
65 games in 5 years
16 games in the last 2 years with 6 this season.

Is he really that good he couldn't be left out in favour of someone that's actually been playing every week?

Team today...
Scotland XI: Gunn, Patterson, Robertson (c), McTominay, McGinn, Dykes, Hendry, Ferguson, Conway, McLean, McKenna.

Subs: Kelly, Bain, Hanley, Tierney, Gilmour, Adams, Christie, Miller, Souttar, McCrorie, Hyam, Hirst, Ralston, Irving, Curtis.

Aren't international friendlies just wonderful ?
Why people actually pay money to watch friendlies has always mystified me.
IMO international caps should not be given for friendlies.
Bit harsh GM no?
Get the point but if I think of you play for the national team, you get a cap.
I agree regarding the sterile nature of these games however it is still a decent way of introducing players to international football.

First half was eye bleeding. Fortunately Japanese cannie shoot! Need to take mair chances. Dykes is a target man, use him! Their Doan, lucky not to be sent off.

We struggle to score goals and today we struggled to score goals

A bit reality isn’t a bad thing

Haven’t won a home friendly in ten years. If you cannae win friendlies against decent sides, you’re no going to win when it matters

Got to hope we beat Haiti by enough to qualify as a best third placed team

Crossover percentage of "Get tae f***, Clarke!" lobby and "Gray out!" agitators🤔?
😆
I'm fairly sure I've not watched a Scotland game since the Uruguay debacle in Neza - so what do I know? - but I doubt we'll qualify for 3 of the next 4 tournaments under Naismith😕.
Alex Neil is unlikely to want the gig (I know he's from Airdrie, but not even a Smellie from Airdrie could be that stupid - or that much of a masochist)

We struggle to score goals and today we struggled to score goals

A bit reality isn’t a bad thing

Haven’t won a home friendly in ten years. If you cannae win friendlies against decent sides, you’re no going to win when it matters

Got to hope we beat Haiti by enough to qualify as a best third placed team
Whilst I agree with most of that, however I would always discount friendly matches at any level which are basically warm up games/training sessions.
England, who are reckoned to be one of the favourites to win the World Cup, struggled badly against Uruguay in Friday night's friendly at Wembley.

Scotland will definitely need to beat Haiti in Boston, if we don't we'd be as well getting the next plane home.

Morocco should suit Clarke's Scotland team with the way they are set up, however I agree it's going to be tough going especially with the heat there at that time of year.

The Moroccans are a very good team though, so it will be a backs to the wall job, as will the Brazil game which, thankfully, is our last one in the group.
If we beat Haiti and get a draw against Morocco it will be two great results and will give us a fighting chance of getting through to the knock-out stages.

Whilst I agree with most of that, however I would always discount friendly matches at any level which are basically warm up games/training sessions.
England, who are reckoned to be one of the favourites to win the World Cup, struggled badly against Uruguay in Friday nights's friendly at Wembley.

Scotland will definitely need to beat Haiti in Boston, if we don't we'd be as well getting the next plane home.

Morocco should suit Clarke's Scotland team with the way they are set up, however I agree it's going to be tough going especially with the heat there at that time of year.

The Moroccans are a very good team though, so it will be a backs to the wall job, as will the Brazil game which thankfully is our last one in the group.
If we beat Haiti and get a draw against Morocco it will be two great results and will give us a fighting chance of getting through to the knock out stages.
I think I would be right in concluding that you love friendly international matches, no? :6::52:

Was shocked at criticism of Foden for England has he got a Scottish granny? Looked poor from the little I saw.

Haiti are about the worst-off, undertrodden and ill-starred country in the real world so could this be our hill to die on...

The Morrocans have been on form eventually re-wresting the Afr Nations Cup from Senegal. They have good players with international nous at top level and I rate them especially from what I hear from Morrocans her.

Brazil are a funny lot of late - a few big losses in Sth Am tourneys and more and more prone to the big star airs. So you never quite know...

But yeah, in the main you got it spot on again.