Samsung vs topkapi

egb_hibs

Everybody prolly has their own local favourite but surely at one time or another most of us have been forced to choose between these two neighbouring goliaths of the city centre kebab scene.

They've always loomed large in my life. My best pal, no longer with us and who left an unfillable hole in my heart was a conissieur and dedicated patron of both. I remember the calculus involved in which was the safer bet after getting thrown out of zenatec and knowing the chaps you'd been juking with would be soon to follow. Never mind the lccal toll cross loons who fortunately I knew.

Anyway I have sampled both in recent months after a long hiatus.

Topkapi seem to have swung towards some suspiciously 'artisanal' type flat bread and worringly organic looking sauce. Samsung have stuck with old skool radioactive waste barely contained by your trad pitta. And this obviously secures my own traditionalist vote.

To which mast does the rest of the shed tie it's colours?

Never heard of either.
But anyone who advertises 'artisan bread' is a ****.
Same goes for anyone who consumes dictionaries and thesauri (nice one eh) yet can't spell connoisseur.

Not typed on my Vaio.

Kebab Mahal shits all over both of them. Also does awesome curries. End of discussion.

As a younger man I favoured Samsuns. Utter filth

Samsuns have branched out and they are at Drylaw shops now. Looks smart with a sit-in cafe bit. Ooooh!

Not had a kebab oot it though, but I did have a hamburger roll once......and it was funkin BOWF!

I'll stick with Javits.

Wise.

I used to live in Gardners Crescent, how lucky was I?

Topkapi was the doner of choice although 50p more expensive. After a night out getting back before 3 am was a must.

That was back in the mid 1980s. I went back a couple of years ago, what a disappointment; polystyrene container, crap bread, all salad and hardly any meat, tepid sauce and really expensive!

A couple of years ago there was the 'Best' kebab shop just down from the Happy Castle. Not so long ago it shut and opened a couple of doors down and called itself the 'Best' kebab shop - all was well.

Then months and months later the original shop reopened and called itself the 'Original Best' kebab shop!

So now there's two, one on either side of what used to be the Dalmeny.

Thank goodness they did open the other one as I fell out with the Best over portion sizes, I never thought their chilli sauce was up to much.

The Original Best is much better ... at the moment!

i was a frequenter of both establishments in the mid-80s to early 90s

samsuns did the better pizza i thought and topkapi was better for kebabs though i didnae really care what i got oot of either of them (both places pakoras and sauce tasted the same) and am sure topkapi was open later intae the mornin compared tae samsuns

the staff in each of them were sound enough though the topkapi boys seemed a better crack though i did tend tae be in there when i was pished mair than in samsuns

they were also pretty lively venues as they were maistly used by drunken hungry males who had failed tae pull a bird that night so testosterone anger levels were usually fairly high and the topkapi had an inordinant amount of hertz kants customers as it was the last stop of civilisation before they tramps went hame :boxing:

or there was either darios pizza at the foot of lothian road, you had tae wait ages for yer scran but it did taste mighty fine

Darios was a favourite of mine, but normally for a sit-down scran.

Because it had the 5am drinks licence, you could stumble out the clubs at 3am, order a pizza and a litre of house white.

This kept you going until 5am before continuing at either the Penny Black, the Old Salt or the Red Lion at the proper end of the city.

I didn't do this every weekend, but maybe one a month!

efes just up the road did braw pizzas back in our day - no idea what their kebabs were like but i favoured the pizza as an after pub delicacy. I do remember being in samsung late after the captain fantastic (John O) derby at the piggery, the dude behind the counter was obviously a hibby an all giving the gunts it tight - happy daze

Everybody prolly has their own local favourite but surely at one time or another most of us have been forced to choose between these two neighbouring goliaths of the city centre kebab scene.

They've always loomed large in my life. My best pal, no longer with us and who left an unfillable hole in my heart was a conissieur and dedicated patron of both. I remember the calculus involved in which was the safer bet after getting thrown out of zenatec and knowing the chaps you'd been juking with would be soon to follow. Never mind the lccal toll cross loons who fortunately I knew.

Anyway I have sampled both in recent months after a long hiatus.

Topkapi seem to have swung towards some suspiciously 'artisanal' type flat bread and worringly organic looking sauce. Samsung have stuck with old skool radioactive waste barely contained by your trad pitta. And this obviously secures my own traditionalist vote.

To which mast does the rest of the shed tie it's colours?

Topkapi all the way back in the day [mid 70s sadly] Topkapi was the main man in town and as [MENTION=5474]jockney green[/MENTION] said, it could be a bit lively on a Friday/Saturday night but the keeebabs were braw. I've had a Samsun kebab in the last couple of years which was pretty good.

I used to live in Gardners Crescent, how lucky was I?

Topkapi was the doner of choice although 50p more expensive. After a night out getting back before 3 am was a must.

That was back in the mid 1980s. I went back a couple of years ago, what a disappointment; polystyrene container, crap bread, all salad and hardly any meat, tepid sauce and really expensive!

A couple of years ago there was the 'Best' kebab shop just down from the Happy Castle. Not so long ago it shut and opened a couple of doors down and called itself the 'Best' kebab shop - all was well.

Then months and months later the original shop reopened and called itself the 'Original Best' kebab shop!

So now there's two, one on either side of what used to be the Dalmeny.

Thank goodness they did open the other one as I fell out with the Best over portion sizes, I never thought their chilli sauce was up to much.

The Original Best is much better ... at the moment!

The worst kebab I've ever had in my puff was from there Jack. I'll never by another one and if I am in the vicinity and feel peckish I'll probably cut out the middle man and throw six quid straight in to one of the many bins around there.

Sure I got in a drunken argument with the proprietors of Samsun last time I was in, stormed out leaving my kebab unpaid for, no idea what the dispute was over :Embarassed:

Had a late sit down meal at Pizza Paradise next to Whistle Binkies not so long ago, was awful!

Marmaris over the Southside used to be excellent tophat These days I'm a 'Madras Cottage' man :thumbgrin

Topkapi is a joke of a place imo. Found a bit glass, yes glass, in ma doner yin night!
Kebab Mahal as Aggie says

Never heard of either.
what? what?

Unacceptable behaviour,

Kebab Mahal $#@!s all over both of them. Also does awesome curries. End of discussion.

Kebab mahal is more a curry shop, and yes is quality, but everyone will have their favourites - I like gun ainms shout of efes too. However I tried to keep this to the two city centre legends, the Oxford and Cambridge of kebabism that every body would have frequented.

Except, it seems, Shrink. The fraud. :coffee:

When I read the title to this thread before I opened it I thought there was a new mobile phone maker trying to rival Samsung! :giggle:

I never could get its name right. For most of the 80s I thought it was Samson.

Never eaten a kebab, never will.

Racist philistine :huffy

Kebab mahal is more a curry shop, and yes is quality, but everyone will have their favourites - I like gun ainms shout of efes too. However I tried to keep this to the two city centre legends, the Oxford and Cambridge of kebabism that every body would have frequented.

In that case, I'd have to say Topkapi would be the one I most frequented, but I probably haven't been there in ten years or more!

After a recent holiday to Cyprus and getting pretty pished, my fiance (who used to work out there) took us to somewhere called Yummy Yummy for some post bevvy scran. She insisted I try the halloumi and lountza filled pitta with chilli sauce and mayonnaise and it's the first and only time I've ever fell in love with what's essentially just a ham and cheese toastie. Just superb.

Javits is the business and proud winner of Scotland' Best Kebab 2014. Their donner kebab pizza is a thing of absolute genius. That with a bag of their freshly cooked chips sloshing about in brown sauce would be my death row meal.

Closer to town I can't believe no one has mentioned Best Kebab House, the original one which is no longer in the original shop, not the Original Best Kebab House in the original shop. That will make sense to a few folk. Their kebabs are 9/10 but the presence of THOSE tatties in the shop makes this a 10/10 establishment. Get both the salad and chilli sauce on them. The stuff of dreams.

They two shops egb is on about are a bit west of town for my liking - it was the chippy's at top of Leith Walk that were the man who hadn't pulled's saviour of a night out.

Having grown up in Tollcross I was a regular frequenter of both of these fine establishments, often on the same night as invariably in our group there will have been a split of who preferred where. I agree with Jockney Green in that the better kebabs were at Topkapi but the better Pizza was at Samsun. Also as Samsun had a smaller queueing area it could get pretty cramped in there so if it was raining that was another reason to hit Topkapi.

Like many on here, I haven't had a kebab in at least 10 years.

Sorry Jack missed that, impeccable taste.

Probably Jubilee that started seagulls rumour - used to be top takeaway in North Edinburgh until javits upped its game and became one of the best in the city. Should see it on a Saturday night it's like a Vegas casino.

Sorry Jack missed that, impeccable taste.

Probably Jubilee that started seagulls rumour - used to be top takeaway in North Edinburgh until javits upped its game and became one of the best in the city. Should see it on a Saturday night it's like a Vegas casino.

I mentioned it as well :tuttut:although to be fair I did say it was shit :coffee:

I mentioned it as well :tuttut:although to be fair I did say it was $#@! :coffee:
Just reread your posts. It's confusing but the Original Best Kebab House isn't the original Best Kebab House. The chancers that took over the old premises have lured your good self in on false pretences, looks absolutely awful - complete charlatans. I'm not racist but when I passed that one the other day it was white guys serving. Ignore that shop and go to the Turkish boys few doors down, definitely buy some tatties. Jack needs to kiss and make up with Best Kebab House pronto, the shop closest to Harp looks minging.

Tended to favour Topkapi if only because it looks more like a kebab shop than a generic fast food outlet. No idea if that made any difference to the quality of the cuisine.

Just reread your posts. It's confusing but the Original Best Kebab House isn't the original Best Kebab House. The chancers that took over the old premises have lured your good self in on false pretences, looks absolutely awful - complete charlatans. I'm not racist but when I passed that one the other day it was white guys serving. Ignore that shop and go to the Turkish boys few doors down, definitely buy some tatties. Jack needs to kiss and make up with Best Kebab House pronto, the shop closest to Harp looks minging.

Roast Tatties,a bit chicken and the night 16 hame,the perfect end to a Leith night out though you run the risk of leaving it on the bus if you resist the temptation to munch it before Granton Sq :-D

I mentioned it as well :tuttut:although to be fair I did say it was shit :coffee:

No such things as seagulls anyway you know :tuttut:
If you want a kebab go to Turkey , totally different thing over there :bbb:

Never been to Javits though it looks great when I've driven past and the menu I've just looked at online is spectacular.

Pity I'm not likely to be in the area at kebab o'clock. I may need to make a special pilgrimage one night.

All these folk who haven't had a kebab in years need to sit down and figure out where their lives took a wrong turn . It needn't be something consigned to the past with 4am finishes at ra discotech - the egb jnrs love nothing better than being taken to some growling kebab shop for their tea. If their mother is out for the night it's a guaranteed winner and respite from her right-on attitudes to healthy eating

It's a complete myth that kebabs are solely for drunkards, they're absolutely sublime when hungover too.

If the thought of donner meat turns you off surely even Scottish Slimmers would recommend a chicken kebab - grilled lean meat, salad and carbs. It's the ultimate.

My favourite back in the day was shish but I have actually got less healthy rather than more in this respect and am on a doner kick these days. Probably heresy but Imho best kebabs are the doners you get abroad with all the scraps of lamb jammed together like some of the chicken doners you get here

Might still be there, it might no, but there was a kebab shop in Nicholson Square, Kebab Mahal I think it was. Me and a mate got chased out it one night by 3 foreign gentlemen with big fuckoff knifes after my mate tried tae chat up, what I can only guess was, their sister. Went in a good year after and got telt tae bolt or else.
say what you like about kebab meat but it must give you a good memory.:giggle:
Theres a Javits in Gilmerton, I'll have tae give that a bash.
By the way, did you know that Kylie Minogues favourite meal is a kebab? :rascal:

Might still be there, it might no, but there was a kebab shop in Nicholson Square, Kebab Mahal I think it was. Me and a mate got chased out it one night by 3 foreign gentlemen with big fuckoff knifes after my mate tried tae chat up, what I can only guess was, their sister. Went in a good year after and got telt tae bolt or else.
say what you like about kebab meat but it must give you a good memory.:giggle:
Theres a Javits in Gilmerton, I'll have tae give that a bash.
By the way, did you know that Kylie Minogues favourite meal is a kebab? :rascal:
NO! BILL! NOO NOOO NOOO! No the Jason Doner Van joke!!!

Sheeeeeesh! :wink:

Never been to Javits though it looks great when I've driven past and the menu I've just looked at online is spectacular.

Pity I'm not likely to be in the area at kebab o'clock. I may need to make a special pilgrimage one night.

All these folk who haven't had a kebab in years need to sit down and figure out where their lives took a wrong turn . It needn't be something consigned to the past with 4am finishes at ra discotech - the egb jnrs love nothing better than being taken to some growling kebab shop for their tea. If their mother is out for the night it's a guaranteed winner and respite from her right-on attitudes to healthy eating

At least on these nights you get to wear the trousers :giggle:

"Look kids, I don't care what your mother thinks" :lookaround:

Topaki has to have been my favourite, no idea what the kebabs tasted like but I pulled in there early one morning!

At least on these nights you get to wear the trousers :giggle:

"Look kids, I don't care what your mother thinks" :lookaround:

I'm under no illusions as to my place in the chain of command.

Nor are the kids. :coffee:

Ahh now we're getting to the nub of things,Mrs EGB is obviously a pc,pinko liberal,so [MENTION=101]egb_hibs[/MENTION] comes on here to rant about all things right on cause he's too feart in the hoose.

Pussy whipped like the rest of us.

Ahh now we're getting to the nub of things,Mrs EGB is obviously a pc,pinko liberal,so [MENTION=101]egb_hibs[/MENTION] comes on here to rant about all things right on cause he's too feart in the hoose.

Pussy whipped like the rest of us.

certainly whupped like the rest, but mrs egb makes me look like gandhi :raisehat:

Javits is the business and proud winner of Scotland' Best Kebab 2014. Their donner kebab pizza is a thing of absolute genius. That with a bag of their freshly cooked chips sloshing about in brown sauce would be my death row meal.

Closer to town I can't believe no one has mentioned Best Kebab House, the original one which is no longer in the original shop, not the Original Best Kebab House in the original shop. That will make sense to a few folk. Their kebabs are 9/10 but the presence of THOSE tatties in the shop makes this a 10/10 establishment. Get both the salad and chilli sauce on them. The stuff of dreams.

They two shops egb is on about are a bit west of town for my liking - it was the chippy's at top of Leith Walk that were the man who hadn't pulled's saviour of a night out.

ahh.. the tatties and sauce from Best Kebab, tip top scran.

I mind a thread last year but was there a definitive answer - is there anywhere can you buy authentic kebab shop chilli sauce?

I'm under no illusions as to my place in the chain of command.

Nor are the kids. :coffee:

If you have any pets there too, you've as much chance of becoming he cat, as Shrink has waking up in a dry bed!