Rumour.

Fair play to him negotiating a 3 year deal at the age of 32. I wouldn’t imagine Hibs would have offered more than a year, if indeed they were contenders.

Wouldn't outlay any money for a year contract either.
At his stage, to spend money we need a first team regular for a couple seasons.

Simon would be a steady addition, but the more you think about it, the less it would really make sense if we're trying to go forward.

One plus one contract for a small fee would have been good business for Hibs, he'd be an experienced squad option, fairly well-rounded if a bit technically limited.

3 year deal for six figures on starting xi wages would've been daft, in the way that JDH's long deal was daft. No idea if there was any enquiry from Hibs, but I can't imagine for one second there was any interest in the sort of terms Dundee offered.

Good for him though.

I think if we really wanted him, he’d be a Hibs player right now.

I think the circumstances obviously weren’t right regards his age, length of contract and he still had a year left at Ross Countu so that would have cost a few bob.

I still think Murray would have been a very good signing but he’d be a squad player coming off the bench last 30 minutes of a game.

He’ll be a super signing for Dundee, I only hope we can get someone in that’s levels above what Murray is.

Dundee win the race , shows we are a pub team with no ambition , I loved SM last year he was a pest and scored goals. Here we go again with another sad season , so much for the investment ! Still at least some people can stand now great stuff .
Aye ok 🤪
You been on the methadone pehs 🤣

I’m sure Gray spoke about ‘a marquee signing forward’ or something along they lines last week, that was never going to be SM he isn’t marquee in any way.
Hope Gray’s not falling into the company line of giving us hope then everything falls flat. Must say this transfer window has been a nightmare, goalie and central defence may have been addressed but mid and forwards are the same shit, sorry but if we start the season with this squad, l fear for SDG and our place in the premier, hope l am completely wrong

That's interesting that it looks a nightmare to you! I have found it pretty good so far with two big centre backs and the new goalie. They've all played pretty well in preseason, and I actually thought our midfield and attack were alright before, we were just conceding loads of goals! We've managed to score quite a few in preseason. How would you feel about the window if we got a promising striker?

Give me a creative midfielder and a proven striker and l think we can improve over last season, hopefully that requirement is being addressed as we speak

Aye. Think we scored the most goals outwith the old firm just shipped in goals.

So we've started addressing problems and getting rid of all the right players, and that's a nightmare to you?

Sounds like a promising start to our business to me tbh.

That’s mental stats
Especially since gunts had the heed who scored a barrow load, showed how poor they really were as well, without him they would’ve been down with us

Without him they would have struggled no doubt. Hopefully he leaves this window.

My hero as a kid
Me him and someone in my display 🥰
I remember him at Easter Road with Aberdeen long before he became a Hibs player. In the shed wi a Bouncers Dad and he ripped the pish oot Jim for most of the second half. It must have got tae him because he came behind the goals at full time looking for Oweny , he was raging.:gigglle:

We are probably around 31 years to the day that we signed him. What a terrific signing he proved to be.
My favourite ever Hibs keeper. Maybe Goram was better, but always liked Leighton.

Seem to remember him coming back to Easter Road after he left to go back to Aberdeen. If my memory serves me correctly he shook hands with all the Hibs players before the game. A gentleman

Dundee win the race , shows we are a pub team with no ambition , I loved SM last year he was a pest and scored goals. Here we go again with another sad season , so much for the investment ! Still at least some people can stand now great stuff .
His family lives in Dundee and he wanted to "go home" by all accounts. If Hibs didn't bid then Dundee didn't win any race and it shows absolutely nothing of the sort.

Yep and I've just expressed an opinion,
No player is a target. To say so is utter bollocks. I'm tired of folk attempting to make out we are some unique support base that has targets for no reason. Every club in the world has supporters who have opinions whether positive or negative on individual players. We are no different. I'd never boo a player wearing our strip. IMO Rocky is an honest pro who gives 100% each game. Sadly IMO he's not good enough if we want to be a top 3 club. Furthermore, IMO Jair is a player who doesn't give 100%. And he's nowhere near good enough to be at Hibs.

Clearly, the fit wasn’t right. In that case we right not to progress.
I doubt any interest we had would have been dropped quite early, before we put in a serious bid.
The lad wanted to finish his career at his boyhood team, and they were prepared to give him a long term deal to keep him and his family secure, and a regular starting spot.
Hibs couldn't fulfil any of these criteria so as you succinctly put it, the fit wasn't right.

I should have just 'liked' your post.
:coffee1:

hibeesbounce

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%