Rum

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
Read an article last week that said when it comes to spiced rum there's two type of people in the world - those that love it and those that like it.

I'm firmly in the love category. Having a baby, most Saturday night's are usually in the house nowadays and rarely drink a beer anymore - always a rum. Every month or so buy myself a different bottle. Had Kraken, Havana Club Anejo Especial, Morgan's Spice, Captain Morgan Black Label, Sailor Jerry, Bacardi Oakheart, Bacardi Carta Oro and Cockspur. Loved them all but Jerry's the favourite. Always with plenty ice, couple of fresh bits of lime and coke or occasionally ginger beer.

Any other other connoisseurs of the sugar cane delight? Any recommendations of spiced rum I've not tried yet?

Only problem with having a taste for rum is you're out of sync with boys drinking pints in a round. Plus costs £3.50 in a pub served shitter than one I'd pour in my house with a smaller measure in a worse glass - save them for end when I'm bagged up.

Big intae rum. Plenty of squeezed line is a must. Kraken is very good and will for for Appleton estate if in a mainstream bar. Love a matusalem. So smooth, over ice.

Straight? Everything I've tasted been absolutely bogging without a mixer.

My brother, when he was able to, drank Morgans spice with cream soda.
Was never tempted masel. Vodka soda and lime is my drink of choice, and apart from my recent visit tae Dublin, where I partook in a keg or two of Guinness, has replaced the pints I used tae drink.

Pretty sure Brainwrong drinks rum ahead of beer. I'm partial to the occasional one but I'll usually veer towards a whiskey or bourbon and Coke for a short.

Love my rum, though cant drink it straight. There is one from India which is tremendous, always bring some bottles back. It has a very caramel taste and sells for about £3 over there, but around £17 last I looked here. You can buy online. There is a pud in Tollcross called Cloisters which served it last time I was there. Anyway it is called Old Monk...try it, you won't be dissapointed. Black Joe is pretty good too.

old monk rum - Google Search

Old Monk - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Love my rum, though cant drink it straight. There is one from India which is tremendous, always bring some bottles back. It has a very caramel taste and sells for about £3 over there, but around £17 last I looked here. You can buy online. There is a pud in Tollcross called Cloisters which served it last time I was there. Anyway it is called Old Monk...try it, you won't be dissapointed. Black Joe is pretty good too.

Wiki mentions a better seller called McDowells...also pretty good but not as good as the monk in my opinion. Probably outsells monk because it sells for around £2.50 over there and 50p is a lot of a difference amongst the poor

sorry I veered off your question as it aint a spiced rum but well worth trying

Rum topped up with Coke and Guiness.

Addictive.

I'm sure it had a name but I couldn't recall when I regained consciousness.

Havana 7 year old with one lump of ice and a wedge of lime :thumbgrin Just the way [MENTION=436]Gareth[/MENTION]s dad likes it :Sparkle_Cool:

Bet you Gareth couldn't wait to be 8 year old.

This thread may be the subject of some interest, so the less we mention Dub or Forza the better.

Captain Blackbeard. Tastes like an alcoholic coke float.

That's the fella.

Lovely stuff, but it wrecks your teeth.

Not the sugar in the Coke, it's bartering them off the furniture when you keel over.

I remember the days when the choice of rum in most pubs up here was Watson's or Black Heart - Bacardi was regarded as a poof's drink. :ura:

My wife drank Bacardi and she's no a poof.... his husband on the other hand:lookaround:

Kraken is superb , got bottle of Havana club here my brother in law brought me back from Cuba . Intend trying different rums when i hit the Caribbean in Feb

I gave up on spiced rum when they changed the recipie to Sailor Jerry's a few years ago. It used to be so much tastier.

Captain Blackbeard. Tastes like an alcoholic coke float.

You've promoted him [in drink cocktail world at least], it's just a blackbeard. He'll be captain one day though if he keeps his nose clean :wink:

Bet you Gareth couldn't wait to be 8 year old.

This thread may be the subject of some interest, so the less we mention Dub or Forza the better.

That's the fella.

Lovely stuff, but it wrecks your teeth.

Not the sugar in the Coke, it's bartering them off the furniture when you keel over.

Some folk will buy anything :tuttut:

That made me smile mr shrink sir.
I'm partial to a rum meeself. Good rum its a bit of a travesty to mix with anything. Small amount of ice and a squeeze of lime.
My favourites are Barcelo, Flor de Cana and Appletons.
Bacardi shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as some of these rums. Its the grants whisky to the best malts.

:rollfloor qualitee dubbles.... however if big dave did enjoy a cinzano and lemonade, nae @@$@ in CC's would say anything, the big corn fed mule that he is :rascal:

What the hell is cinzano??? And why does [MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION] always pick on me?

Proccie, try Diplomatico Reserva for a rum that requires no mixer. The guy in Lupe Pinto's at Tollcross recommended it to me and it's absolutely lovely stuff. Plantation Barbados 5 Year Old Grand Reserve is also delicious and can be drunk straight. They're both a bit pricier than standard rums (about £28-£30 normally) but well worth it. Chairman's Reserve from St Lucia is a decent entry-level sipping rum and Sainsbury's do it for £20. There's a spiced version of it as well but it's a bit harder to get hold of. Nothing quite like a nice drop of quality rum on a cold, dark, winter evening.

Hibadelic is correct, rum is usually my first choice peeve.

But, not any of that spiced pish, always dark. I love the expensive shite too, the rums Gareth lists are tidy as fuck, got into Barcelo when I was in Madrid and always drink it when in Spain now, Appletons is a great one to try straight.

However, my favourite, over all the others, expensive an all is OVD. The first rum I ever had and still my favourite.

Sailor Jerry is no bad in ginger beer, shite in Coke. Kraken is OK in Coke but really, the spiced rums are too sweet already to go with yet more sweetness (Coke).

Give me Pussers, OVD and Lambs over spiced any day of the week.

Cheers for the recommendations lads. Think I'll ask the Mrs to get me one of these nice sipping ones for birthday instead of a litre of the supermarket fodder.

Spiced with coke is pretty sweet but with a couple of limes and plenty ice, so you're only putting a wee dash of cola in, it goes down well.

Probably sacrilege to the connoisseurs but goes lovely with Dr Pepper too.

Sailor Jerry & ginger beer is superb.

Kraken, as has been said, is crackin'.

Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk