Rishi Sunak blocks Scotland’s gender recognition legislation

RanelaghHibs

For the first time since devolution passed the UK government has used Section 35 to block a bill (Gender Recognition bill) passed in the Scottish parliament from being submitted for royal ascent.

Alister Quis...sorry..Jack while ripping the top off it explained that the decision was taken due to what was perceived as a possible "adverse impact" on UK-wide equalities law.

No matter what side of the Gender Recognition debate someone is, surely they can see the doors being opened here for further blocks in the future?

For the first time since devolution passed the UK government has used Section 35 to block a bill (Gender Recognition bill) passed in the Scottish parliament from being submitted for royal ascent.

Alister Quis...sorry..Jack while ripping the top off it explained that the decision was taken due to what was perceived as a possible "adverse impact" on UK-wide equalities law.

No matter what side of the Gender Recognition debate someone is, surely they can see the doors being opened here for further blocks in the future?
I dinnae even ken what gender recognition legislation is… and I probably Dinnae want tae.
Oh and Alister Jack is a cvnt.

Scottish Government knew what it was doing here. UK Government walked into their trap. However, I'm not so sure Scottish Government picked the right issue....
I think it's the other way around to be honest. Both governments planned similar legislation, the tories then pulled back and went full culture war but the Scottish government kept going with it. They're desperate and trying to find wedge issues, trans rights, trade union rights , right to protest etc

Through their relentless pursuit of the culture wars, the Tories are playing divide and conquer. Scottish government shouldn't have pursued this with such gusto as it's an issue that splits their support, despite most not really understanding the legislation. It's brought out the worst in the independence support.

Regardless, it's pretty outrageous that Alister Jack can stop a piece of legislation as easily as this after it was voted for by such a large majority with cross party support.

I expect it'll go to court. We should all be concerned about the consequences for devolution.

Thank God for that.

Children are so innocent,and are easily manipulated by weird people.

There can be irreparable damage too Children that participate in the madness.

I've heard many accounts.
Manipulated by weird people like you.

I believe in God! Who do you believe in?

• Screenshot_2023-01-16-23-17-37-967_com.android.chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_2023-01-16-23-17-37-967_com.android.chrome.jpg
    188.2 KB · Views: 42
It was debated and it was passed.Going against it is undemocratic.It makes a mockery of devolution and the Scottish Parliement.
Do you believe we have democracy????

Did you vote in Fishy Rishi? Bill Gates? Or Dr Evil(Klaus Schwab?)

You are seriously deluded.

I could vote for Jack Ross at 16,even consent to sex, but I'm not allowed to chose what sex I want to be?

There's a reason why archaeologists find bones thousands of years later,and can determine what sex they were....Cause your delusional!

It's written in your DNA.

Doesn't matter what your deep fried brain is saying.

Can men get pregnant?

There's a reason why archaeologists find bones thousands of years later,and can determine what sex they were....Cause your delusional!

Can men get pregnant?
Don't remember DNA being mentioned in the bible.If you studied anything to do with genetics you would also know there can be more variables than simply XoXo or XoYo.

Personally I think it will affect so few people it won't affect anyone other than a tiny wee number in a positive way. No-one else will notice.

Those objecting won't notice any change to their lifestyle.

Any perceived indiscretions could happen now and could be dealt with under current laws. Nothing in that respect is going to change.

Can men get pregnant?
Pretty sure the legislation does not suggest people can change sex.

If someone wants to live their life as the opposite sex, I can't see the issue. Yeah, they can't actually change sex, but who gives a shit, let them get on with it, don't be a dick (or fanny).

A common argument seems to be that men will pretend to be women in order to abuse women or that trans-men using women's spaces is an issue. They seem to forget that it's already illegal to pretend to be a woman to abuse women, and that trans-men already use women's spaces.

Objections seem to be based on people either presuming the legislation is something that it isn't, or good old-fashioned bigotry.

Don't remember DNA being mentioned in the bible.If you studied anything to do with genetics you would also know there can be more variables than simply XoXo or XoYo.
Every single thing has history...including bones.

You cant deny Science!

You made that science up too!
You find me a peer reviewed paper on that garbage.

You are a completely different object than a woman.

Menstruation and Child birth is something only XX has that.

You can challenge that on 10 years olds Biology.

I will not be back on this subject again. 😁

Or drink in a pub or go in a bookies? But you can decide what gender you want to be mate?

Objections seem to be based on people either presuming the legislation is something that it isn't, or good old-fashioned bigotry.
I think there's more to it than that but the folk who are passionate about it on both sides are so ludicrously aggressive and polarised I'm fucked if I can figure out what it is, despite trying umpteen times.

I think there's actually a chance that there's a good case for the Tories blocking this due to the way it intersects with UK wide equality laws. I don't know enough about that either though but I know the Tories are c**ts so I'll get my pitchfork out for them anyway.

Pretty sure the legislation does not suggest people can change sex.

If someone wants to live their life as the opposite sex, I can't see the issue. Yeah, they can't actually change sex, but who gives a shit, let them get on with it, don't be a dick (or fanny).

A common argument seems to be that men will pretend to be women in order to abuse women or that trans-men using women's spaces is an issue. They seem to forget that it's already illegal to pretend to be a woman to abuse women, and that trans-men already use women's spaces.

I didn't read your comment before I wrote.

I don't care who people sleep with...(providing it's legal)

Look up the definition on MAP

The cabal have been pushing agendas for years...only now people notice it.

Why do you think tunnels connect most major cities in the world?

You can actually go Scotland to Turkey.

Grow a set of balls now...or forever hold your peace in regard to your human rights!

Wake up now....Or it will be gone!

My Grandfather was a Commando in the Second World War....He wouldn't of put up with this shit!

Over and out...sorry.

I don't care who people sleep with...

I dinnae like Turkey, is there a tunnel to chicken?

I don't care who people sleep with...

Grow a set of balls now...or forever hold your peace in regard to your human rights!

Wake up now....Or it will be gone!

My Grandfather was a Commando in the Second World War....He wouldn't of put up with this shit!

Over and out...sorry.
I liked it better when you were only infesting the covid thread with ill informed bollocks that some clown on the internet was feeding into your feeble little unquestioning brain.

And then asking moaty for a peer reviewed paper :lauff:

I think there's more to it than that but the folk who are passionate about it on both sides are so ludicrously aggressive and polarised I'm fucked if I can figure out what it is, despite trying umpteen times.

I think there's actually a chance that there's a good case for the Tories blocking this due to the way it intersects with UK wide equality laws. I don't know enough about that either though but I know the Tories are c**ts so I'll get my pitchfork out for them anyway.
The debate has been an absolute shambles on both sides. My summary probably is simplistic.

Any case for the sect 35 is purely technical I reckon. Some Tory was being interviewed on Radio Scotland this morning and couldn't name a single real life situation where the act would affect things south of the border. Despite being pressed on the matter, all she managed was to mumble something about single sex prisons, which was swiftly put to bed by the interviewer as a non-issue.

Scotland votes overwhelmingly to remain in the EU - The SNP abide by the UK as it is a Reserved area.
Brexit is completed despite the original Scottish vote and years of opposition - The SNP abide.
Pandemic - Borders are a Reserved area the SNP abides and does not close them.
Numerous knockbacks from Westminster over a Section 30 and other attempts to get the powers to hold a referendum on independence, the SNP abides.
The Gender Recognition Reform (Scotland) Bill, from day one, some 4 or 5 years ago, the SNP were told that their plans would impact on equality laws which are a Reserved area. The SNP do not care, they carry on with the creation of the bill. Now that it has gone through the Scottish Parliament the current constitutional set up of the United Kingdom sees Westminster saying hold on this impacts on reserved UK law you don't have the powers to do this as you were told from the very start.

Regardless of your opinion on the GRR Bill, either in principle or in terms of the actual bill itself which I feel are two very different things having read the bill, the SNP choosing this topic and this time to directly break the Devolved/Reserved framework of devolution is utterly baffling to the extent the cynic in me can only assume they see some kind of personal gain in the whole exercise.

Another thing I found interesting, public polls on the topic have shown 2/3s of Scots opposed to the bill yet the SNP/Greens have put it through and crashed head first into Reserved law despite it being way down their manifesto and not even specifically mentioned in the SNPs case just covered by "do more for equality" general stuff. Meanwhile Independence polls have swung either side of 50/50 for years but the supposedly pro-Independence majority in Holyrood have done nothing to directly take on Reserved laws.

Some more Maggie for you Smurf, I am very sorry.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.