Richard Leonard quits

Right wingers who had their chicken coup earlier will be jostling. I wish that West Lothian's Neil Findlay, was not standing down in May. The frontrunners are a hopeless bunch of Blairites and one Murray clone.

Who realistically is there? Everyone has had a shot.

Well there is the hapless Jackie Baillie and Anas Sanwar who will be in the mix I guess. Starmers choice will be Murray's mate the Stewart's Mellville College educated, well coiffeured Daniel Johnson

This political musical chairs will not improve until the Labour Party in Scotland and Nationally recognises the utter foolishness of opposing Scotland’s inalienable democratic right to self-determination.

These ladies and gentlemen should never forget that Labour was severely punished by the working class for getting into bed with the Tories and Lib Dems in 2014, as part of the ‘Better Together’ campaign.

This political musical chairs will not improve until the Labour Party in Scotland and Nationally recognises the utter foolishness of opposing Scotland’s inalienable democratic right to self-determination.

These ladies and gentlemen should never forget that Labour was severely punished by the working class for getting into bed with the Tories and Lib Dems in 2014, as part of the ‘Better Together’ campaign.

Absolutely - there is no conflict of position in both supporting the Scottish peoples democratic right and being for a No vote when it comes about. They can surely see this?

It has always baffled me too.

Stepped down for personal reasons my arse. Seems Starmer was summoned to a meeting with party donors yesterday and was telt “Get Leonard tae fuck or we’re pulling your funding”. Dick was then telt by Starmer to go.

Which party donors, Trade Union or Starmers new best pal Big Business ones?

Veered from Brexit vote and didn’t back it as it’s not good for Scotland, made English masters look stupid and wasn’t going to survive so was forced out, now we will get some Unionist who will tell us how great it is and so on.

Wasn’t told which ones but I’d take a guess at Starmers buddies.
Your spot on amigo. Just read this.....

Evolve Politics write: According to The Times, Starmer last night held talks with potential donors – including the multi-millionaire businessman and former Labour donor Willie Haughey, as well as Robert Latham, the lawyer who gave £100k to Starmer’s leadership campaign.

During the call, it is alleged that potential donors told Starmer and Rayner in no uncertain terms that they would not be handing over any cash to the party as long as Mr Leonard – who is widely considered to be on the left of the party and was a political ally of Jeremy Corbyn – remained in his post as leader of Scottish Labour.

Labour have not commented as to whether Mr Leonard was pressured into resigning.

Jump!....Starmer, how high?

Best of luck Leeann at Queens Park. Willie Haughey is the main donor

Whoever takes over has no chance. If you are a Yes voter as most now are then you'll not vote Labour. And if you are No then you're quite likely to vote Tory.

Labour have tried a right wing leader in Murphy and a left wing leader in Leonard.

Both were useless as naebody is interested in what they've got to say.

Your spot on amigo. Just read this.....

Evolve Politics write: According to The Times, Starmer last night held talks with potential donors – including the multi-millionaire businessman and former Labour donor Willie Haughey, as well as Robert Latham, the lawyer who gave £100k to Starmer’s leadership campaign.

During the call, it is alleged that potential donors told Starmer and Rayner in no uncertain terms that they would not be handing over any cash to the party as long as Mr Leonard – who is widely considered to be on the left of the party and was a political ally of Jeremy Corbyn – remained in his post as leader of Scottish Labour.

Labour have not commented as to whether Mr Leonard was pressured into resigning.

Jump!....Starmer, how high?

Best of luck Leeann at Queens Park. Willie Haughey is the main donor

Haughey bought a mate out of his City Refrigeration business for over a million quid a few years ago.

Whoever takes over has no chance. If you are a Yes voter as most now are then you'll not vote Labour. And if you are No then you're quite likely to vote Tory.

Labour have tried a right wing leader in Murphy and a left wing leader in Leonard.

Both were useless as naebody is interested in what they've got to say.
Bit simplistic and unbalanced mate if you don't mind me saying. Did your advanced years make you forget the long list of Labour right wingers like Jack McConnell, who was the boss man in 2007, when Labour lost its majority, soon to be fired into the Lords to become Baron McConnell of Glenscorrowdale,FFS or Wendy Alexander or Henry McLeish or Kasia Dugdale or Johann(Branch Office) Lamont or Ian Gray. Each and everyone of them by the way participated to their everlasting shame one way or other in the catastrophic Better Together campaign.
Leonard was uninspiring, though I voted for him given the alternative. One thing for sure the parlous condition of the Party in Scotland happened over many years, not the past 3 years.

Haughey bought a mate out of his City Refrigeration business for over a million quid a few years ago.

He has a personal fortune estimated as £240m, his City Facilities Management employs 12,000 worldwide with a £600m turnover. Another one made a Baron by Labour.

Rumours are Gordon Brown is lined up... Tell you what politics in Scotland would get very interesting....

Could never take to Leonard. That ridiculous bobbing like a budgie when he made a speech wound me up. Neil Findlay I have a lot of time for.
An honest guy for a Smelly.

Robin Cook ....... if only there was another Robin coming up.

Always got decent horse racing tips from Robin.

Rumours are Gordon Brown is lined up... Tell you what politics in Scotland would get very interesting....
Nothing would surprise me with Sir Starmer at the wheel. Some bloke on another thread said he heard Blair on Radio 4 pontificating. How that fucker is given house room on MSM is baffling. However an interesting thing for me was that after his rubbish theories, he was asked if invited by Sir Starmer to return to Government in some way he just gave that daft giggle. Never said no. Just two days ago Starmer was giving his live press conference regarding Covid, which I watched. One of the Journos asked two Covid questions and one as to whether he would welcome Blair into his inner circle. Starmer did not answer the question about Blair. Coincidence?

Could never take to Leonard. That ridiculous bobbing like a budgie when he made a speech wound me up. Neil Findlay I have a lot of time for.
An honest guy for a Smelly.

Robin Cook ..... if only there was another Robin coming up.

Always got decent horse racing tips from Robin.

The very same Findlay knows the score. He has seen Starmer and his hand picked Blairite General Secretary conducting a Stalinist purge of left wing members for many months now.
Worth the one minute watch of him telling it as it is, if only for the unique straplined Live from Fauldhoose.
Has he been tipped off by his friendly ex polis, next door neighbour?

He has a personal fortune estimated as £240m, his City Facilities Management employs 12,000 worldwide with a £600m turnover. Another one made a Baron by Labour.

My mate started up as City Refridgeration back in the early 90’s. John Clark ex Dundee Utd worked for him for a spell. Had another couple of mates that worked for him too. After he sold he moved to Tenerife and still lives there.

Final nail in a firmly nailed up coffin that, I reckon. Federalism aye? Right Broon...

I hope it's true as politics is boring in Scotland. The media not even interested that our First Minister appears to have wanted to send her mentor into jail....

I think it's the public who don't care. The media have given it loads of time and space but perhaps its a reflection of the public lack of trust in a biased media that the story isn't getting any traction.

Yup even today we have Scottish Conservatives playing dirty politics with the media and anti snp rhetoric after asking for information to be released and then complaining about it and asking for resignations for said information being released, Scottish people aren't buttoned up backwards and are well aware of the dirty crap thats going on.

Leonard not the only Scottish Senior Official that that was bullied out by English Leadership.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I'm more a pink man myself than brown. ?

Sadly, though the Evening News discontinued it! ?
Ah, the choice between the easy pink and the tight broon. Not sure if the protagonists from when I first heard that comment are on here but I still pish myself about it nearly 30 years later.