Remember the Edinburgh Common Repairs scandal

A complete scam eh
This bit -
- “"Our contractors' costs include important factors like management, welfare, insurance, and other expenses, so residents' quotes may not be directly comparable to the council's.”
So “normal contractors don’t have management (someone to organise the job) or welfare or the best bit, “insurance” or other expenses 🙈🙈
Normal contractors must just turn up without specifying the job, ordering gear, welfare, have any insurance, no organisation, no tools or labour… or any kind of scaffolding 🤪 but the job gets done.
🤣🤣🤣🤣

A complete scam eh
This bit -
- “"Our contractors' costs include important factors like management, welfare, insurance, and other expenses, so residents' quotes may not be directly comparable to the council's.”
So “normal contractors don’t have management (someone to organise the job) or welfare or the best bit, “insurance” or other expenses 🙈🙈
Normal contractors must just turn up without specifying the job, ordering gear, welfare, have any insurance, no organisation, no tools or labour… or any kind of scaffolding 🤪 but the job gets done.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
its disgusting.

Edinburgh Council are still at it.

You may have seen, on your regular trips to Easter Road, many of the houses have had scaffolding around them.

They're all ex council houses but now a mix. The council has decided they all need a bit of TLC, roofing replaced, exterior walls, internal stairs etc.

From what I'm seeing the average cost per flat is £30-40,000. Some owner/occupiers appear to get around £10,000 as a grant.

There's some dodgy shit about the council pushing this through on all tenements and I'll not go into that.

My point is, on this occasion, the City of Edinburgh Council is charging a 20% premium to owner/occupiers for a management fee!

You may have seen, on your regular trips to Easter Road, many of the houses have had scaffolding around them.

They're all ex council houses but now a mix. The council has decided they all need a bit of TLC, roofing replaced, exterior walls, internal stairs etc.

From what I'm seeing the average cost per flat is £30-40,000. Some owner/occupiers appear to get around £10,000 as a grant.

There's some dodgy shit about the council pushing this through on all tenements and I'll not go into that.

My point is, on this occasion, the City of Edinburgh Council is charging a 20% premium to owner/occupiers for a management fee!
A go fund me for a top Solicitor to go over this would be a good idea..
blatant scam by the council

A big part of the con was house owners who rented property's out and lived abroad themselves.

They wouldn't answer calls to get work done. Then the compulsory work orders came in.

Corrupt to the core. O enof the catylyists to this expose was when a scaffolding company based on station road at Gilmerton had scaffolding erected at a building which had not been put out to tender yet.

Corrupt as fuck. I mind the council inspectors getting envelopes and bottles of booze back in the day from the firm I served my time with.

We got away with liberties on the council housing schemes

A big part of the con was house owners who rented property's out and lived abroad themselves.

They wouldn't answer calls to get work done. Then the compulsory work orders came in.

Corrupt to the core. O enof the catylyists to this expose was when a scaffolding company based on station road at Gilmerton had scaffolding erected at a building which had not been put out to tender yet.

Corrupt as fuck. I mind the council inspectors getting envelopes and bottles of booze back in the day from the firm I served my time with.

We got away with liberties on the council housing schemes
pure greed everywhere Jimmy. The poorest of us get fucked over the most. Has it ever been different I wonder. Depressing stuff.

Cannae mind Jimmy, ken he got the tin pail for it.
Invoiced his mate (council gadgie down south) for work that wasnt ever done, lots and lots…. Dodgy character, hence why he annually changes the name of his firm, a right cvnt he is as well

Aye that was it Stu. I heard he's a fanny as well. Had a yard up Mayfield Road tae. No in the toon much so not sure if he's still going.

Changed names few times. 24HOUR Roofing is the one I remember.
Skyline
Just like the gunts skyline restaurant with stunning views of the castle 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Yeah the flag pole and the top stone of a tower
🤣🤣🤣 well he can be a skyline roofer eh, gunt family

The council tried this on years ago with an old pal of mine called Bruce. The original quote for repairs was around £3k per person quickly rising to about £40k per person. Now, Bruce had a friend who was a clerk of works who took a look at the job and advised Bruce that the original quote was about right so Bruce took the council to talk over it and I think went to court which resulted in a load of council staff being fired, some may have even been jailed.

Good. They were corrupt fuckers mate. Private owned houses were seen as cash cows.

Reactions: Dub
The council tried this on years ago with an old pal of mine called Bruce. The original quote for repairs was around £3k per person quickly rising to about £40k per person. Now, Bruce had a friend who was a clerk of works who took a look at the job and advised Bruce that the original quote was about right so Bruce took the council to talk over it and I think went to court which resulted in a load of council staff being fired, some may have even been jailed.

Nobody ever faced criminal charges for the common repairs - they were brilliant at hiding the evidence

The ones jailed worked on non domestic properties

Reactions: Dub