recommend me a suit

gun ainm

old one seems to have shrunk in the wash :hmmm so i am looking for a new suit

any recommendations for retailers that offer something a wee bit stylish in an non businessman way that will come in under 300ish?

looking at the usual suspects on-line its all so unappealing

Marks and Spencers, no one makes a decent suit at a decent price like Marks. I like the cut of the Colleczione range, ideal for the 'broadening' man.

Go to slaters menswear on George street, my mum was in there last week buying a few things for my granddad and she couldn't fault the staff and service.

Also price wise was reasonable compared to other shops she had looked in

any recommendations for retailers that offer something a wee bit stylish in an non businessman way that will come in under 300ish?

You could always try going for a made to measure, at least you will be able to add your own detail to an extent anyway and a pick of colour and fabric...

This lot start from around the 280.00 mark.

http://www.asuitthatfits.com/shop/index.php?option=com_jombok&task=dobooking&Itemid=0&selectedProperty=1231&uid=0&orderlist=0

Marks and Spencers, no one makes a decent suit at a decent price like Marks. I like the cut of the Colleczione range, ideal for the 'broadening' man.

And for the best price .. head for the M&S outlets at either Meadowbank or Livingston. :wink:

Only if you're getting proper M&S stock that's out of season / overstock / whatever. If you get the stuff that's specifically made for the outlet the price is commensurate with the quality!

My current suit is a Colleczione one. Really nice. Was about 250 about 10 years ago. Still going strong. Luckily with that line, it's pretty classic Italian style so not really gonna go out of fashion.

Fancy a fine tailored suit one day. Will get my tax bill out the way first...

cheers for the responses - the M&S ones dont seem too bad if maybe a bit 'safe' but difficult to judge online, i'll have a look there and around and about when i am down over winterval :lookaround:

would love to be able to afford a tweed suit in a non-traditional cut so I may well look into the hand made route if I can source some decent cloth up here.....

cheers for the responses - the M&S ones dont seem too bad if maybe a bit 'safe' but difficult to judge online, i'll have a look there and around and about when i am down over winterval :lookaround:

would love to be able to afford a tweed suit in a non-traditional cut so I may well look into the hand made route if I can source some decent cloth up here.....

The Italian line in M&S is classic rather than 'safe'.
I have a rather nice three piece in silver grey for business.
A tweed non traditional suit would be perfect for job interviews.

As long as you were applying to be Dr Who.

When I was a young, lithe thing, a Next suit was remarkably good value. They are not too forgiving, though, for the new beer sculpted physique. I don't know you, so this advice may be too little, too late.

Have a chip!

My pal is designer at Walker Slater in Victoria St, was just looking a couple weeks ago. I reckon you can get a suit for under 500. Closer to 350 if no extras like waistcoat etc.

Tweed Jacket, Suit, Tailoring Specialists - Walker Slater

Interesting they look pretty decent online - think I'll pop in next time I'm down - good shout! :applause:

I too am considering a visit after that. And I too would also recommend m&s who recently - not sure if still in the range - had some tweed suits in there pricier saville row collection. What they also have is tweed jackets fir 99 squid, which answer all your Tory boy / Michael foot / geography teacher / aging casual needs depending on what you pair them with.

There are a few companies doing cut price bepsoke by using Indian/Polish/Hong Kong/Nepali tailors to make the suit abroad. They tend to be 500+ for anything really complete (e.g. working cuffs and the like).

How about signing with BrandAlley. I get updated emails once a month and coincidentally got the latest one this morning.

They've got a couple of suits made by Hardy Aimes, he was a top designer back in the 60's made suits for all the top actors and the likes.

Anyway, as said there are a couple of classic cuts (100% wool) priced at 275.00 down from 675.00 a fantastic saving of 60%.

EDIT: Link below.

http://www.brandalley.co.uk/private-sales/hardy-amies/1234679.html

anyone got any winter footwear recommendations?

been having a wee scout about for decent shoes / boots with no joy so far.

I havenae had a bought suit since I was married in 1974 so cannae help gun......I now have a 'suit' comprising of Matalan troosers and a quality jaiket that I inherited from my deceased step father who died several years ago. As it happens identical shade and he was erm...portly. Worn predominately on occasions that the person I was visiting wouldnae give a monkey's how I dressed as they were deid.

Mcarther glen in Livingston has a couple of decent shops, it's like a fast flood establishment in and out in twenty mins and very cheap!

Diamonds clubs or spades, as long as it's no fuckin Hearts!:rascal:

Cannae beat a good pair of Timberland imo

Timbies or Cats are decent boots for casual :shock: wear.
I've got Timbies for summer boots, and Cats for winter.......

Clarks also do a decent pair of boots with gore-tex which keeps the old tootsies dry when it's really bogging.
As already posted, there are several outlets at McArthur Glen which will see your feet clad in the best of gear for minimal outlay.
Just avoid Schuh - Cats in there 110 yet in the shop around the corner same pair 59

:approve:

I havenae had a bought suit since I was married in 1974 so cannae help gun......I now have a 'suit' comprising of Matalan troosers and a quality jaiket that I inherited from my deceased step father who died several years ago. As it happens identical shade and he was erm...portly. Worn predominately on occasions that the person I was visiting wouldnae give a monkey's how I dressed as they were deid.

I heard the last time you went for a suit you asked the boy in the shop if he had one off the peg that would fit you, and he replied If I have I'm sacking the feckin tailor

:smug:tbutchert

I heard the last time you went for a suit you asked the boy in the shop if he had one off the peg that would fit you, and he replied If I have I'm sacking the feckin tailor

:smug:tbutchert

Never mind the quality feel the width ya @@$@. Upside I have made a fair few bob selling my auld string vests tae the Icelandic fishing fleet.

update - never did get that suit - made do with an existing pair of trousers with a dark grey tweed jacket which was fine however am down for a fuineral today in Edinburgh and took a gander over to walker slater yesterday while i had some time to kill in town - ended up coming away with a lovely 2 piece tweed suit cut in a modern style (the martin) for £360 and just wanted to say many thanks to @Brainwrong :worthy. The guys in there were mega helpful during fitting, great experience. i'd recommend.

Really glad that worked out for you :) I had been considering tweed a wee bit back then but, I don't think I'm really cut out for it. I think I'd look like a right fud! I've had two suits since this original thread, not including my pretty dated M&S effort. Bought an L.K.Bennet one (George St) in 2014, pretty sure [MENTION=83]zondervan[/MENTION] recommended them to me. Really loved this suit and their value for money is amazing. It was a definite step up from M&S but the cost wasn't much more. Then, tail end of last year, had a crazy amount of funerals coming up (4 this year so far) so went for a new one. I went back to LKBennets but they didn't have what I wanted. I'm kinda glad as, via two other shops on George St, it led me to Hackett. This felt like another step up. Was able to get a pretty bespoke service for an off the hanger suit. A wee bit more expensive but the fit was that wee bit better than L.K.Bennet too so, you get what you pay for, I suppose.

When I can justify it, I'll go full bespoke. Until then, Hackett is the best suit & service I've had, yet.