Puppy Help

Sauzee's Teeth

I Was There And Went Radge
My fiance and I got a puppy yesterday, his name is Reilly and he is 8 weeks old and is a cross between a Springer Spaniel & a Labrador.

He is already partially house trained because the breeder had taught him to do the toilet on newpapers he'd laid on the floor and had laid them next to the back door so he did the toilet outside too. He seems very used to the crate/cage we have for him to sleep in already (only one night so far though).

We can't take him for walks for another 2 weeks as he's just had his booster jag.

I've had one dog before, but he was around 1 years old by the time I was born, so I didn't really train him. So has anyone got any tips on how to train him or just some generally helpful hints?

Dogs get excited when you enter a room and tend to jump upat people looking for affection. When he does this keep upright, don't bend down and respond, turn your back to him and keep turning away until he stops jumping up and hss calmed down. Then go down and greet him. He'll soon learn that by not going radge and jumping up, he gets the attention he wants. After that, he won't knock over any guests who come to visit either. Oh and tell any visitors to do the same.

Also, if you want to train him off the leash, take him to a big wide open space, with no distractions like other dogs or people, have a pocket full of small treats that he loves, and give him a small amount before you let him off. As soon as he's off, call him back and give him a treat and make a big fuss telling him how good he is. Next time let him go a wee bit further and again call him back etc. Keep doing this a little at a time and he'll associate coming back when told with a treat and lots of praise.

Once you have mastered all that you can graduate from your Spaniel/Lab onto an Irish Setter, then you'll really have your work cut out.:rollfloor

Dogs get excited when you enter a room and tend to jump upat people looking for affection. When he does this keep upright, don't bend down and respond, turn your back to him and keep turning away until he stops jumping up and hss calmed down. Then go down and greet him. He'll soon learn that by not going radge and jumping up, he gets the attention he wants. After that, he won't knock over any guests who come to visit either. Oh and tell any visitors to do the same.

Also, if you want to train him off the leash, take him to a big wide open space, with no distractions like other dogs or people, have a pocket full of small treats that he loves, and give him a small amount before you let him off. As soon as he's off, call him back and give him a treat and make a big fuss telling him how good he is. Next time let him go a wee bit further and again call him back etc. Keep doing this a little at a time and he'll associate coming back when told with a treat and lots of praise.

Once you have mastered all that you can graduate from your Spaniel/Lab onto an Irish Setter, then you'll really have your work cut out.:rollfloor

Thanks Beagle. :thumbgrin

The breeder mentioned that he didn't like people picking his dogs up when they were pups because they just get used to it. I'll certainly do the 'ignore until he calms down a bit' routine though, because he is very very excitable :giggle:

We live in Musselburgh so there is a fair bit of open spaces nearby so once we've taken him for a few walks we'll decide whether or not to let him off the leash and if we do, we'll use your method.

Thanks again.

My fiance and I got a puppy yesterday, his name is Reilly and he is 8 weeks old and is a cross between a Springer Spaniel & a Labrador.

He is already partially house trained because the breeder had taught him to do the toilet on newpapers he'd laid on the floor and had laid them next to the back door so he did the toilet outside too. He seems very used to the crate/cage we have for him to sleep in already (only one night so far though).

We can't take him for walks for another 2 weeks as he's just had his booster jag.

I've had one dog before, but he was around 1 years old by the time I was born, so I didn't really train him. So has anyone got any tips on how to train him or just some generally helpful hints?

If you have a garden and don't have any other animals (foxes or cats) coming into it I would suggest getting rid of news papers. We breed dogs and show them,news papers are great for puppy mess but how ever I always recommend to new dog owners to start how they mean to go on.The pup has went into a new home so it's best to make changes now as it can be harder as they get older it is difficult for a breeder to toilet train 6 pups who just want to play and eat everything in sight,so if it is possible to take him out do so on a lead around the garden let him sniff about but don't let him eat anything( leaves,twigs )praise him when he the does toilet and use a word for him to recognise he's to do his business ( i.e. toilet) that's the word I use and find males much easier and quicker to train.we have an 12 year old dog who will still respond to this command as when it's cold,wet and dark you just want them to hurry up.
I say to people to think of the pup as a toddler running about without a nappy limit his freedom in house as they will go and pee in a corner and most of all don't leave anything like shoes that he can chew lying around.

I hope this helps,:thumbgrin

If you have a garden and don't have any other animals (foxes or cats) coming into it I would suggest getting rid of news papers. We breed dogs and show them,news papers are great for puppy mess but how ever I always recommend to new dog owners to start how they mean to go on.The pup has went into a new home so it's best to make changes now as it can be harder as they get older it is difficult for a breeder to toilet train 6 pups who just want to play and eat everything in sight,so if it is possible to take him out do so on a lead around the garden let him sniff about but don't let him eat anything( leaves,twigs )praise him when he the does toilet and use a word for him to recognise he's to do his business ( i.e. toilet) that's the word I use and find males much easier and quicker to train.we have an 12 year old dog who will still respond to this command as when it's cold,wet and dark you just want them to hurry up.
I say to people to think of the pup as a toddler running about without a nappy limit his freedom in house as they will go and pee in a corner and most of all don't leave anything like shoes that he can chew lying around.

I hope this helps,:thumbgrin

Yeah we are planning on getting him to go outside instead of on the newspapers ASAP. The only thing with that though is that we live in a brand new house and we don't yet have turf in the back garden, so at the moment it is only a slab path and soil. So I think we'll introduce him to that over the next couple of days on a lead so he doesn't eat any soil or stones lying about. We should be getting grass very shortly so hopefully it shouldn't be an issue for too long.

We got him from a breeder in Fauldhouse, incidentally!

:coffee:The breeder gets 1st jag at about 7 to 71/2 weeks then you get the second one done at 10 to 10 1/2 weeks old and it's 2 weeks after second jag before he can be walked in public place's ,so if he's 8 week's you have another 4 weeks to wait before walking him.

Yeah we are planning on getting him to go outside instead of on the newspapers ASAP. The only thing with that though is that we live in a brand new house and we don't yet have turf in the back garden, so at the moment it is only a slab path and soil. So I think we'll introduce him to that over the next couple of days on a lead so he doesn't eat any soil or stones lying about. We should be getting grass very shortly so hopefully it shouldn't be an issue for too long.

Another Fauldhouse link? Rapidly becoming the centre of the Bounce universe these days

Another Fauldhouse link? Rapidly becoming the centre of the Bounce universe up here

If you take your dug on holiday, especially to Korea, dinnae use the local dog walkers. We did and never saw our dog again till tea time.:rascal:

Was it from a very nice lady with a dodgy looking husband. He would be staggering around in the background shouting something like "You nicked my bars ya bass" or something similar. If so I think I might know them :giggle:

That could fuckin anyone up here Dub. There's a high percentage of bammers

dunno who that would be :hmmm:

The best trick when training a puppy is the "power of the biscuit" they all greedy wee munters and will do anything for food. Lots of treats and lots of praise and cuddles.....just like training a good woman :worthy

i agree with most other things that senga de bounce has said, I am now off to pick up some puppy poo :doh