Poppy Fascism

Findlayhibby

Yes folks it's that time of year again when everyone has to toe the line and wear a poppy and shut your mouth if you thought the first world war was one of the biggest waste of human life in History.If you say anything against wearing the poppy you're lower than a leper,a junkie,and your a coward to boot.Just come off a site on facebook called something like Old Football Photos and got all sorts of flack for sarcastically saying 'I thought it was Heart of Midlothian who had won the War?' a lot of people not happy.Got into an argument with a Jambo about Connolly,and was told I should be following Rod Petries' example and lay a reath at their memorial.Can't wait on November 12th.

I wudnae even bother getting intae a Poppy argument....yer no allowed tae have an opinion.The Poppy camp have the moral high ground, in their opinion, and love to shout doon anybody that raises a dissenting voice.They are cut from the same cloth as those who egged on youngfellas to their deaths in the first place.They are very likely to be be HELP FOR HEROES junkies, too. So just ignore them, keep dancing, and let it all pass....it'll definitely all be over by Xmas.

If you’re on Twitter,just mute the word Poppy and it saves you having to read the same tedious arguements every Oct-Nov.....

Virtue signalling. Last 10-15 years it seems to have got a whole lot worse and has gone way beyond silent, dignified rememberence into something more grotesque.

I'll wear a poppy. Not going to judge anyone who doesn't. Personal choice. Great Grandad died in 1st ww, Other relatives that obviously i didn't meet in both major wars. But also I would wanna pay respect to the more recent conflicts. I might not agree whether we should have went to war or not, but I would still pay respects for those who died or where injured

Is it fair to say the poppy has been politicised in the last 20 years?

Maybe it was before and I was young and oblivious.

I don’t care if people wear a poppy or not, but, I hope they reflect on the loss of life at the anniversary. And I think with the exception of a few outright radges everyone does, in different ways.

I still find the numbers of young people sent to their deaths truly staggering and profoundly sad.

I wear one , as I feel it is my only chance to show I do give a thought to those who have paid the ultimate sacrifice .
The fact a lot of these people were sent to their death by maniac politicians is a different subject altogether for me.

I wear one , as I feel it is my only chance to show I do give a thought to those who have paid the ultimate sacrifice .
The fact a lot of these people were sent to their death by maniac politicians is a different subject altogether for me.

All that needs to be said IMO. I can and do wear a poppy without feeling that I support any wars or warmongerers.

If approached by anyone selling poppies over many decades. I have said no thank you. Have not been attacked yet for saying so. Likewise I have never battered anyone wearing one. This Facebook/Twitter malarky must be some gig. That's all.

Used to wear one for my grandads as was only for ww1 & 2 but not anymore as it’s been totally hijacked. Can’t support any wars since and Westminster should pay for injured veterans and civilians killed or injured by military.

If I wear a poppy it will be a white one. Both my granddads fought the Germans and my old man fought in Korea during his national service but to me, the poppy has been hijacked by the right wing and politicised.

And the Huns and diet Huns ‘taking ownership’ of the whole event. Kinda sours it all a bit.

I hate what this has become about.

Brought up believing it was about remembering the sacrifices of the people.
Not supporting what caused it.

Doesn't bother me if you're into it or not, but arguing for either side sours everything about it.

And the Huns and diet Huns ‘taking ownership’ of the whole event. Kinda sours it all a bit.
Hearts hijacking of " we won the war " really does leave a bad taste. It was , in my memory , a day when the clubs came together , put all trivial football rivalries aside , and respectfully remembered the huge sacrifices made by so many .
They show no dignity in the matter now . It seemed to change around the mad vlad era? It really is them at their " diets" finest.

I hate what this has become about.

Brought up believing it was about remembering the sacrifices of the people.
Not supporting what caused it.

Doesn't bother me if you're into it or not, but arguing for either side sours everything about it.

I dinnae, I find the wholé thing a pile of Hunnish shite. Poppy fascism indeed.

Poppy wearing is to commerate and remember the people from all wars who gave there lives so we could stand on the slopes of Easter Road and cheer on Hibs and not bayernmunchen Berlin.I have no problems with people who do not want to commerate or wear a Poppy.

St Paulis don't cheer on Berlin.The truth being that the British Legion met Hitler, Himmler Goering and other leading Nazis in 1935 and were shown a good time by their hosts.So the poppy could have been as much a part of German history as it ever was in the Uk.

Don't talk nonsense.How were these people to know in 1935 Germany was to invade Poland in 1939 and start WW2.
The following year 1936 the rest of world were at the Berlin Olympics hosted by the Nazi party.

1936,Hitler and Mussolini were supplying planes to Franco to rain bombs down on Madrid and Guernica.The writing was on the wall since 1923.Anyone who says they didn't know Hitler and Mussolini were fascists is lying.Mussoloni had already occupied Abyssinia in 1923.