Pies

egb_hibs

I'm not a regular consumer of pies - though a steak pie supper is my alternative order if Im no in the mood for a fish from the chippy. A mate is a far more serious player and has a bee in his bonnet on the subject; if we are ever eating in a pub he is given to ask 'are your pies, pies?' versus a bowl of stew with a puff pastry lid. Tbf, he's not wrong, there's a lot of it about - subsitute a foil tray for a bowl when buying out a shop.

Anyway, this week I was reminded of the glory of a good pie. Went to the lake district for a couple of days walking and stopped at the chippy in biggar where I had the best pie supper I've ever had out a chippy. I was even moved to go back in and tell them as much once id scranned it outside. And also stop there on the way hame.

Down there I had two magnificent examples of English short crust, one night wi huge chunks of beef in it, the next a finer diced meat and carrot filling, which was even better. And full pies an aw, fully compliant with my mate's specifications.

Back in edinburgh, if you are ever passing through oxgangs - and if he is still open which he wasnt last time I did - the bald baker's kebab pie is majestic.

Any pie tips, particularly where to get a top notch on for making at hame. The supermarket ones are generally a bit meh imo.

I'm not a regular consumer of pies - though a steak pie supper is my alternative order if Im no in the mood for a fish from the chippy. A mate is a far more serious player and has a bee in his bonnet on the subject; if we are ever eating in a pub he is given to ask 'are your pies, pies?' versus a bowl of stew with a puff pastry lid. Tbf, he's not wrong, there's a lot of it about - subsitute a foil tray for a bowl when buying out a shop.

Anyway, this week I was reminded of the glory of a good pie. Went to the lake district for a couple of days walking and stopped at the chippy in biggar where I had the best pie supper I've ever had out a chippy. I was even moved to go back in and tell them as much once id scranned it outside. And also stop there on the way hame.

Down there I had two magnificent examples of English short crust, one night wi huge chunks of beef in it, the next a finer diced meat and carrot filling, which was even better. And full pies an aw, fully compliant with my mate's specifications.

Back in edinburgh, if you are ever passing through oxgangs - and if he is still open which he wasnt last time I did - the bald baker's kebab pie is majestic.

Any pie tips, particularly where to get a top notch on for making at hame. The supermarket ones are generally a bit meh imo.
We’ve started trying different pies from local butchers , quite a few award winners in the area . No point in recommending them though, doubt you would come to the kirkcaldy area to buy one 🤣

My Mum was a shite cook. Think Wendy Craig in Butterflies. The Fray Bentos steak and kidney pies always turned out well though.
The fact they are often ridiculed as awful will give you some idea of our diet as kids.
One thing I cannae abide is kidney in a steak pie. It's up there with cinnamon in an apple pie for ruining a good scoff.

My Mum was a shite cook. Think Wendy Craig in Butterflies. The Fray Bentos steak and kidney pies always turned out well though.
The fact they are often ridiculed as awful will give you some idea of our diet as kids.
I’m the only one in my family who likes steak and kidney pies/ puddings. When I suggest getting one the response is 🤮

One thing I cannae abide is kidney in a steak pie. It's up there with cinnamon in an apple pie for ruining a good scoff.
Yea both these things you mention put a lot of people off. I don't mind them but can't stand even the smallest bit of squid in a 'seafood' dish.
Unless you get squid pies my apologies for derailing the thread so early 🥴

My old mum used to boil everything to within an inch of its life. I suspect remaining nutrional content was at trace levels.

Tbf to her she was quite adventurous for the 70s but just didn't quite get it. So for example, spaghetti bolognese was the same mince we got with tatties but with spaghetti. Ditto chilli con carne - mince and rice (and kidney beans tbf).

That might be the most egregious thing I've seen posted on here!

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

My old mum used to boil everything to within an inch of its life. I suspect remaining nutrional content was at trace levels.

Tbf to her she was quite adventurous for the 70s but just didn't quite get it. So for example, spaghetti bolognese was the same mince we got with tatties but with spaghetti. Ditto chilli con carne - mince and rice (and kidney beans tbf).
Not only was mine a bad cook but she also hated cooking. Enter the pressure cooker!! Easy for her, a soggy tasteless experience for the rest of us.

That might be the most egregious thing I've seen posted on here!

I'm a live and let live kinda guy. If your deviancies dinnae hurt anyone else, theyre your look out.

The problem is when this moves out of private space and into the public domain, and cooks start catering to these things, and thus inflicting them on others. :huffy:

I'm down in Biggar on Monday for a wee job so I'll maybe get a pie to scran coming up the road.

The pie shops in Nitten and Dalkeith get good write ups. This is about the Nitten one......

The "Pie Shop" in Newtongrange, which is likely Pastel's Facebook page, offers a variety of pies including diamond award-winning macaroni and gold award-winning steak, black pudding, and peppercorn sauce pies. They also have family steak pies, lemon drizzle muffins, and pistachio Dubai brownies. Additionally, Taylor's Butchers has a menu including pork pies, bridge pies, large pork pies, and various pasties and quiches.
The Dean Tavern offers a kids menu, garlic bread, and pizza options, as well as pasta dishes.

I liked the taste of Fray Bentos tinned pies but getting the pastry better than soggy always defeated me.
Kidney,liver and heart get a bad press in Scotland, not sure why when sweetbreads are widely liked and the ingredients of a haggis (which I eat often) make a lot of non-Scots quite queasy. I only had kidney in a pie but an ox heart was one of my favourite meals and like liver it makes fab gravy. As a nipper who was always "starving" I ate pretty much everything Mum made. She made a mean toad in the hole, all types of stew (never heard of a casserole until I my early 20s). Cabbage (greens) and all other veg went down a treat while a lot of my pals would leave it (or hide it).
Most of this is explained by a childhood where if your family had two pennies to rub together you were middle class snobs.
So IMO a lot of food choices are made as a child although my younger brother would not eat any veg of any type even under pain of a clipped ear. He is now a vegan - go figure.

Interestingly, when I was in the States, pies only ever mean fruit pies or desserts of some sort. Meat pies don't seem to be a thing. Maybe some of our US Bouncers can clarify? 🤷‍♂️

They call the savoury ones pot pies no?

That's just not on. Stupid name to call a pie.

I'm going to ask my mate who lives in Virginia if that is the case.

Message sent. Hopefully he has kept enough Moredun schemie language that he agrees our way of asking for pies is correct.

Mick said there are no purveyors of our pies anymore. I told him I'm having pie and beans for my tea and he called me a cvnt 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Did see this though......

Screenshot_20250425_114133_Chrome.jpg

I have a guilty secret where pies are concerned.

I quite like those Fray Bentos pies that come in a tin that's almost impossible to get into.

They're not my favourite, oh no, but I like one once in a while, despite the fact that they are almost meat-less.

I actually had to change the batteries on my can opener once, mid-attack, the opener was labouring so hard to get at the flaky goodness inside.

Speaking of Fray Bentos pies if any yous watch this 3 parter about the Millenium Dome robbery you will see a use for said pies that is ingenious.

The Diamond Heist

I have a guilty secret where pies are concerned.

I quite like those Fray Bentos pies that come in a tin that's almost impossible to get into.

They're not my favourite, oh no, but I like one once in a while, despite the fact that they are almost meat-less.

I actually had to change the batteries on my can opener once, mid-attack, the opener was labouring so hard to get at the flaky goodness inside.
Aye, not had one in decades but used to be a regular feed over 50 years ago, , together with Vesta Curry or Chow Mein, Campbell's Meatballs, or frozen Kidneys in Gravy.

Not all at the one time, but lipsmacking fare all the same.

There’s 2 chippy’s in Biggar, both excellent

Our local butcher won steak pie of the year award a few years back. They are indeed delicious but since the Señora has gone veggie, they are no longer an option.
😞

The pies in Lancashire and Yorkshire are different class………..if you want interesting reviews of Pies go on Rate my Takeaway, down to earth, honest reviews.

Aha. So c'mon eegie which one was it before I'm forced to eat two pies 😒.

Our local butcher won steak pie of the year award a few years back. They are indeed delicious but since the Señora has gone veggie, they are no longer an option.
😞

Boooooo that's no right mate.

😞

Did you get salt n sauce with it? Or just scranned it as it was?