egb_hibs
Spot on.This is probably what a Marr-less Smiths would sound like. How the quiff bearing guitarist believes his playing is worthy of a guitar face is beyond me. Yawn inducing stuff.
The other thing is if you look at the list you provide, the 'shot' is smaller each time. Oasis were a pale shadow of the Stone Roses, the Libertines positively anaemic compared to Oasis and Arctic Monkeys are as thin as ant piss.British rock is so limp-wristed just now its unreal.
Every half decade a band comes along and gives the whole music scene a testosterone shot for a couple of year (Roses, Oasis, Libertines, Monkeys) but can't see where the next one's coming from at all.
The other thing is if you look at the list you provide, the 'shot' is smaller each time. Oasis were a pale shadow of the Stone Roses, the Libertines positively anaemic compared to Oasis and Arctic Monkeys are as thin as ant piss.
Still, there is hope, once the tory cuts kick in the pop fops will have some material to work with; part of the reason things have been so shit for the last decade or so is that they've had nothing to say given labour were in power.
Che Guevara posters will, as we speak, be getting taped to the walls of private school common rooms up and down the nation.Sound pretty much like they've been cloned from the arse of one or more of the Smiths to me.
Are we going to regress into punk style music again EGB?
Spot on.
Marr was of course the only redeeming quality of the Smiths, and I think this lot are indeed like a Marrless smiths.
Look, I can accept the hard left politics, and the pape baiting, but this...this is just wrong.That'll be why Marr has been such a success since splitting with Morrisey...
The first and third Smiths LPs are two of the finest rock albums ever recorded. Ever. Lyrically unmatched for wit and punch. (The other two LPs have their moments as well.)
Morrisey has made a couple of decent solo albums since then but nothing near the heights of The Smiths.
God bless Manchester.

Trust me dude, it'll keep till you get home. Just a new (I presume) bunch of whey faced drips taking their cue from der schmidts.This discussion is REALLY annoyin me as I cannae get yachoob at work and it's no' working on my phone so I've nae idea wh#s the subject of everykant's ire.
Please tell me.
On what I do know, I think the Roses are the only passible band in Proccie's list (sorry Proccie). Oasis I hated at the time but looking back on it they were a decent band. I always like champagne super nova but for reasons other than it being a good song (a time / a place).
Libertines, Arctic Monkeys are absolute drivel in my opinion.
The first and third Smiths LPs are two of the finest rock albums ever recorded. Ever. Lyrically unmatched for wit and punch. (The other two LPs have their moments as well.)
Agreed.
I dunno where you found this "band" from egb but they are as much like The Smiths as Hibs are like FC Barcelona.
Agree about the bass. BH must have a cloth ear, this lot are a karaoke Smiths. Even the name 'Chapel Club' evokes Morrissey's Tatchell-esque interest in 'lads clubs'That's not true, they are a blantant rip off of the Smiths (vocals) and 'style' of even the guitarist and also New Order in there bass wise. Standard i.e. dull drums. And, why are there two guitarists?
Agree about the bass. BH must have a cloth ear, this lot are a karaoke Smiths. Even the name 'Chapel Club' evokes Morrissey's Tatchell-esque interest in 'lads clubs'
Regards the two guitarists - my guess is the specky nerdy one plays the music and the foppish one with the ludicrous quiff is their for the homoerotic angle.
There hasnt been a decent guitar band since Northside. Infact all good guitar bands come from the North West of England.
Libertines, Artic Monkeys, Kasabian et al are pish.
Dunno about that, Charlatans?Still churning out decent albums.I loved Northside.
the charlatans latest album is absolute crap.
There hasnt been a decent guitar band since Northside. Infact all good guitar bands come from the North West of England.
Libertines, Artic Monkeys, Kasabian et al are pish.
the charlatans latest album is absolute crap.
I can't agree with any of the content of this post. I take it you are referring to this below average pop band?
[video=youtube;1DYONIpKGtI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DYONIpKGtI[/video]
Wonder where I've heard that riff before...
It's more than a feeling
(More than a feeling)
When I hear that old song they used to play
(More than a feeling)
I begin dreaming
(More than a feeling)
'Til I see Marianne walk away
I see my Marianne walkin' away
More lyrics: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/b/boston/#share
And also:
[video=youtube;vQAfkYJdbrM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQAfkYJdbrM[/video]
Except this is a belter tune :Sparkle_Cool:

Good tune, not the same riff though. Must try harder BW![]()
I disagree. This and the Manics new one have probably been my most enjoyed albums this week.