Noisey F$#*ING Neighbours

MSG_07

I had a new family move in above me at the tail end of last year but all of sudden kids seem to have arrived out of the blue and with it the noise has started. Six people crammed into a 2 bedroom flat it seems.

I've been up to talk to them only to find they don't speak a word of English. I then posted a letter, surprisingly got an acknowledgement back apologising and blaming no school for the children's mischief as they labelled it. So they understood some of what I was trying to tell them but the noise continues... They've done nothing other than acknowledge they're in the wrong and continue on as if they have no responsibility as parents.

The problem I have is I work from home and I'm having to listen to kids running along the floor constantly for most of the day and evening. It's starting to impact my work as I can't concentrate on even the simple tasks when I have excessive noise in the background. Oh but that's just kids and normal household noise. Definitely not, you're taught at school and by decent parents not to run indoors. A constant barrage of banging, thumping and clomping around with loud conversations. If I'm lucky I might get an hour from 6pm and then they're back to life causing noise until midnight or past then in some cases.

My only option seems to be reporting this to the council and trying to find out who the landlord is but I have no idea how to do the latter. I've been recording the noise while my ceiling shakes above me. I have a 120w guitar amp I'm tempted to crank up to max but I fear I'll never get out of this situation if I did that. And of course I'm the one that'd be billed as the bad guy in this...

Unfortunately it's not an option for me just to up and move. I own my home but it sure as hell doesn't feel like it. Anyone have any similar experiences and how was it resolved in the end? Thanks.

When the kids go to bed make lots of noise, play loud sweary music during the day. The will soon be down to talk.

Yesssss up until 1 min before 11. So as not causing a disturbance.. then tunes on at 7am, speaker taped to ceiling.

Start with....

Have you asked them who their landlord is? You could make up some crap excuse about a common repair or stair cleaning.

Have you tried a Google search on your address? I'm looking for a house just now and do a search on any prospective address. You'd be surprised at the old, some really old, adverts that are not removed. You might find the rent advert for the house in question and therefore the landlord.

A cost option might be doing a search at Meadowbank House, Registers of Scotland I think it's called. I'm not sure how much it is.

Have you asked them who their landlord is? You could make up some crap excuse about a common repair or stair cleaning.

Have you tried a Google search on your address? I'm looking for a house just now and do a search on any prospective address. You'd be surprised at the old, some really old, adverts that are not removed. You might find the rent advert for the house in question and therefore the landlord.

A cost option might be doing a search at Meadowbank House, Registers of Scotland I think it's called. I'm not sure how much it is.
Yeah first question I asked was are you renting. Do you pay rent. No response other thank a blank look on the mugs of the people that answered. I'm 99.9% certain they are renting. No for sale signs up recently. I know who the owner is I just don't have any contact details for her.

The Google search was the first thing I tried. Usually there is a posting of the old property ad and absolutely nothing comes back. I'm assuming it's been done privately.

I've contacted the factor to see if they can contact the owner and I've just sent the council a message.

Sod having to put up with this indefinitely, still clunking around above me at this time. At least some of these posts have given me a chuckle.

Sorely tempted if I could get away with it... :22:

When do the children return to school, maybe it will be quieter then?

Noise-cancelling headphones?

I would just keep on at them every time the noise is above acceptable. Phone the council and the police, keep at it , they will send someone round.
It may be that the landlord is not totally legit in their practices, hence why their was no official to let trail. Good luck, sounds a nightmare .

I would just keep on at them every time the noise is above acceptable. Phone the council and the police, keep at it , they will send someone round.
It may be that the landlord is not totally legit in their practices, hence why their was no official to let trail. Good luck, sounds a nightmare .
Thanks for your advice. The last time I went up they didn't answer the door but I could hear them talking in their hall. I phoned the police 101 line and they were useless. The adviser was a patronising twat to put it mildly palming it off as standard household noise and kids will be kids. Yeah thank you, will update on here when I hear from the council.

Alot louder than the mic on my phone has picked up. A small sample of what I'm dealing with.

• Voice 009_sd.mp3
    1.5 MB
Sorely tempted if I could get away with it... :22:
Fanny below my daughter was giving her grief. I didnae need the baseball bat but suffice to say she’s never heard a sound of him since I ‘spoke’ tae him. 😉

Massive pain in the arse

I sympathise with the OP

South Lanarkshire has a 24/7 noise complaint team. They turn up with recording devices. Did that when I moaned about a hoose across the road

Alot louder than the mic on my phone has picked up. A small sample of what I'm dealing with.
That was loud mate.... but I had tae turn my telly tae 30 tae hear it :giggley:

I think I'll be using my sound bar and woofer more definitely haha.

Thanks for your advice. The last time I went up they didn't answer the door but I could hear them talking in their hall. I phoned the police 101 line and they were useless. The adviser was a patronising twat to put it mildly palming it off as standard household noise and kids will be kids. Yeah thank you, will update on here when I hear from the council.
Next time you phone, go down the its.destroying my mental health, I'm afraid I might do something stupid to myself of them. Lay it on thick, nobody should have to live under they circumstances.

I'm absolutely appalled by the level of response from the council from an individual that considers themselves a 'team leader'. I'm not going to profess to being the best at communication but I feel I presented my case pretty well. The council have ducked and dived to avoid the matter as much as possible trying to send me to 101 and the factor who are not the landlord. The council tried to infer I'm providing duff evidence - they can't hear it on their computer and that they can't use it as evidence anyway as "it could have been taken it from anywhere". Yes because I have absolutely nothing better to do with my time... I might upload some of the responses later in time.

Next time you phone, go down the its.destroying my mental health, I'm afraid I might do something stupid to myself of them. Lay it on thick, nobody should have to live under they circumstances.
Even if they send police no doubt the noise would miraculously have stopped by time they arrive 2 hours later and I'm accused of stomping my feet on the floor to gain attention with recordings which are not trustworthy.

Maybe the sight of the polis at their door will be enough to smarten up their act. You can also show the police you are a decent sort, don't want to waste there time but your at your wits end. I hate to add to your worries, but it's not going to get better itself. Im just saying what I would do. If you keep at the authorities, they will want it sorted, and if it's on record it is effecting your mental health, then they will have to do something.

How about inviting the adult male for a beer and watch a game at some point, all neighbourly like.
No doubt the carry-on upstairs will carry on and he can hear it for himself.
If that doesn't work, slap him about the heid or some such.

Say they're being racist and its affecting your mental health
The polis will be there before you've put the phone doon

How about inviting the adult male for a beer and watch a game at some point, all neighbourly like.
No doubt the carry-on upstairs will carry on and he can hear it for himself.
If that doesn't work, slap him about the heid or some such.
A. They don't speak English and B. They are Asian and possibly Muslim so no beer or alcohol period. Yeah if I could get away with that mate haha.

Say they have a Kodi Box or IPTV installed and MI5, the CIA, KGB and Mossad will be round there pronto to scoop them up. In all seriousness though, a mate of mine is experiencing a very similar situation and has been for well over a year. The neighbours downstairs from him have had parties pretty consistently through lock down with music playing until the early hrs. Mattresses and furniture being dumped in the communal garden etc etc Just general scumbags. The police came out last week (they have been out countless times to the same person) and i heard the recording my mate sent me which was pretty just the neighbour telling the police to fook off and that he wasn't scared of them. So off the police went and the music started up again !!!!!

I've noticed a real decline in his mental health which i am sure mine would too if i was in the same situation. He has been trying to get a move through the council as i think it would be easier to move him than the neighbour as i'm led to believe the process of evicting a tenant is a lengthy process and most likely a costly one at that too.

Say they have a Kodi Box or IPTV installed and MI5, the CIA, KGB and Mossad will be round there pronto to scoop them up. In all seriousness though, a mate of mine is experiencing a very similar situation and has been for well over a year. The neighbours downstairs from him have had parties pretty consistently through lock down with music playing until the early hrs. Mattresses and furniture being dumped in the communal garden etc etc Just general scumbags. The police came out last week (they have been out countless times to the same person) and i heard the recording my mate sent me which was pretty just the neighbour telling the police to fook off and that he wasn't scared of them. So off the police went and the music started up again !!!!!

I've noticed a real decline in his mental health which i am sure mine would too if i was in the same situation. He has been trying to get a move through the council as i think it would be easier to move him than the neighbour as i'm led to believe the process of evicting a tenant is a lengthy process and most likely a costly one at that too.

I know this might not seem the easiest solution but have you considered moving? You shouldn't have to, of course, but in a few months time you'd be sorted. Might be better than putting up with it until they move out.

A. They don't speak English and B. They are Asian and possibly Muslim so no beer or alcohol period. Yeah if I could get away with that mate haha.
And C we are in the middle of a pandemic

I know this might not seem the easiest solution but have you considered moving? You shouldn't have to, of course, but in a few months time you'd be sorted. Might be better than putting up with it until they move out.
I have actually been thinking about it but like you said I shouldn't be forced out of my own home. I need to get a couple of things done decoration wise so wouldn't want to rush into a sale and chop my own nose off so to speak.

Surprisingly it's not been as bad today. I've managed to get hold of the landlord and he seems to have taken on board the situation. He told him me he'd speak to my neighbours plus get the flooring checked. Now I'm kind of unsure whether to continue pressuring the council. I don't know if the landlord will be good to his word or not. Their noise team have been extremely difficult to deal with. Why have a specialist department in place who are completely reluctant to get involved.

Edinburgh council used to be really good at dealing with noise complaints, from my experience at least. When I stayed on St John's Road the Subway over the road used to take deliveries at really unsociable hours presumably because it was the only time such a busy road would be relatively quiet. They used to make a total racket so I contacted the noise department and they sorted things fairly quickly, even received an apologetic phone call from the Subway manager! Appreciate it's probably easier for them to get a result with commercial premises than private tenants. Hope you get your issue resolved amicably mate.

I was there yesterday, the service was a disgrace. You got that number handy?

This, I'm afraid may be the only solution.
I had a downstairs neighbour who worked offshore and the two weeks at home was simply hellish.
Loud music all hours, giving his missus a thumping, kids screaming.
I was lucky in that I knew one of the local councillors and got a move relatively quickly, but it was bloody awful while it lasted.
This was in a council property which did make it slightly easier.
And it was 35 years ago, when councils still actually gave a shit.

This, I'm afraid may be the only solution.
I had a downstairs neighbour who worked offshore and the two weeks at home was simply hellish.
Loud music all hours, giving his missus a thumping, kids screaming.
I was lucky in that I knew one of the local councillors and got a move relatively quickly, but it was bloody awful while it lasted.
This was in a council property which did make it slightly easier.
And it was 35 years ago, when councils still actually gave a shit.
Yeah I'm losing the will a bit here. Constant back and forth above me even if it's not kids running. It's like they all have fire ants in their pants. The flooring needs seen to as it squeaks. Too many people staying in the flat although I appreciate rent is high for folk.

It will ruin your whole existence man.
We used to take off for weekends in the caravan just to get peace. At a time when money was tight( for us)
Not good having to live like that.

It will ruin your whole existence man.
We used to take off for weekends in the caravan just to get peace. At a time when money was tight( for us)
Not good having to live like that.
I can escape at the weekend but sadly no caravan. I'm at home all week trying to work. It's quite different for me as my last neighbour rarely made any noise.

So it now transpires that the landlord is not even registered and the council are now offering to move it on a stage. Really undecided what to do as the landlord told me he'd speak to them and check out the floor. Noise back to being as bad as ever today.

I can escape at the weekend but sadly no caravan. I'm at home all week trying to work. It's quite different for me as my last neighbour rarely made any noise.

So it now transpires that the landlord is not even registered and the council are now offering to move it on a stage. Really undecided what to do as the landlord told me he'd speak to them and check out the floor. Noise back to being as bad as ever today.
I had it in Aberdeen with a neighbour coming in late on and having parties went on for months eventually I chapped the door first thing in the morning after a party to explain the situation.

Get the landlord into your gaffe tomorrow so they hear it and give him a back stop 24 hours to get the problem resolved or get it taken further.
Don’t put your health out for someone else.

Don’t expect any alterations to the floor will make a difference. It would be horrendously expensive and no chance the owner will do anything.
If there wasn’t a problem with previous occupants it ain’t the floor that’s the issue.

I had it in Aberdeen with a neighbour coming in late on and having parties went on for months eventually I chapped the door first thing in the morning after a party to explain the situation.

Get the landlord into your gaffe tomorrow so they hear it and give him a back stop 24 hours to get the problem resolved or get it taken further.
Don’t put your health out for someone else.
Sounds a nightmare. Maybe I should be thankful I don't have loud music to contend with. If the neighbour was understanding and apologetic great. The reaction I got was pretty much we have kids screw you and as we can't string a sentence of English together we'll pretend this never happened and continue on.

Some people either just don't understand or don't care that when you live in a flat sound travels. Oh I've sent him some sound recordings. I think I will push it forward tomorrow as I'm not sitting waiting on a landlord deciding when he's going to act I've decided. Thanks that's definitely some good advice mate.
Don’t expect any alterations to the floor will make a difference. It would be horrendously expensive and no chance the owner will do anything.
If there wasn’t a problem with previous occupants it ain’t the floor that’s the issue.
The flooring above has been an issue (floor joists need tightened I think) for a while but a bit different having one person who barely moved in the past as oppose to a big family who won't stay still. Like you said it may not make that much difference overall and cost will likely be a barrier. The more I think about it I think I probably will need to sell up. Will only end up with something similar or worse above me should this family leave.

Sounds a nightmare. Maybe I should be thankful I don't have loud music to contend with. If the neighbour was understanding and apologetic great. The reaction I got was pretty much we have kids screw you and as we can't string a sentence of English together we'll pretend this never happened and continue on.

Some people either just don't understand or don't care that when you live in a flat sound travels. Oh I've sent him some sound recordings. I think I will push it forward tomorrow as I'm not sitting waiting on a landlord deciding when he's going to act I've decided. Thanks that's definitely some good advice mate.

The flooring above has been an issue (floor joists need tightened I think) for a while but a bit different having one person who barely moved in the past as oppose to a big family who won't stay still. Like you said it may not make that much difference overall and cost will likely be a barrier. The more I think about it I think I probably will need to sell up. Will only end up with something similar or worse above me should this family leave.
You might as well start banging about at this time of night, see if you can wake the bairns up.

How are you getting on today?

So the fact the landlord may be unregistered seems to have stirred the councils interest in the matter and they've passed it to a case worker but there's a backlog at the moment. It hasn't been as bad the past couple of days. When I'm home I guess I'll keep trying to record evidence to support my case.

This thread has been viewed 12351 times.