Noises in the attic

Not had a problem sleeping recently, and able to sleep a bit longer without my wort commune.

Not tonight though, my wife thinks she can hear noises in the attic. Scratching.

I can’t hear it, as I’m aware on the rare occasions there is quiet in my house, I have a perpetual low pitched wine in my ears.

Live in a bungalow, anyone any experience of unwanted neighbours like mice or squirrels or birds?

I’ll put traps down in the morning, had a minor mice issue the last couple of months.

Not had a problem sleeping recently, and able to sleep a bit longer without my work commune.

Not tonight though, my wife thinks she can hear noises in the attic. Scratching.

I can’t hear it, as I’m aware on the rare occasions there is quiet in my house, I have a perpetual low pitched wine in my ears.

Live in a bungalow, anyone any experience of unwanted neighbours like mice or squirrels or birds?

I’ll put traps down in the morning, had a minor mice issue the last couple of months.

Get a wee house cat / kitten Bobby. Meeses to pieces. It works amigo.

Sonic mouse repellents worked for us.

Could be bats or birds though.

As what big G said. Mr cat means no vemin.
My cat is called Paddy( Stanton). A Rolls Royce of a cat.

As what big G said. Mr cat means no vemin.
My cat is called Paddy( Stanton). A Rolls Royce of a cat.
You had a lion?

Not had a problem sleeping recently, and able to sleep a bit longer without my work commune.

It's the nesting season could be birds in the eaves

Could be yer local spurrgies nesting as Paignton says.
If you're on the edges of town it could be field mice( unlikely at this time of year).
They are frequent visitors to us in winter.
Or it could be ordinary meeces. They need eradicated. Sonic thingy works well apparently.
Oh.....
And welcome to the world of Tinnitus.
It gets worse, Bobby.
Sorry.

I had a magpie chick stuck down my chimney, my wife heard scratching noises, I heard nothing. Pigeon also. Fire place blocked off so had to dismantle the thing to get them out. Oh aye I'm corn beef, has its values.

Could be anything.

1589883508831.png

Squirrel's love attics

Get a wee house cat / kitten Bobby. Meeses to pieces. It works amigo.

No if your Ruby Plushberry. (Casa Emeralds resident mogg). She has a strictly live and let live policy. The lazy fat *&*^.

Could be Freddy Kruger.

haha or Frank Cotton

Is that Dot's hubby?

Could be anything.

Don't want to think why he has adopted that position.....maybe he's just a Squatter, and not the sort to soil your attic

View attachment 2652

Better keep his arse away from that glass wool insulation or P&G will be hearing more than a low pitched whine.

Thanks for all the helpful input - it turns out it was a mouse. Probably not just one, but first one caught.

I got cheap traps from screwfix, and they don't miss! Top tip is put bread with a bit of peanut butter for bait.

We'll see how many more we have tomorrow morning.

Thanks for all the helpful input - it turns out it was a mouse. Probably not just one, but first one caught.

I got cheap traps from screwfix, and they don't miss! Top tip is put bread with a bit of peanut butter for bait.

We'll see how many more we have tomorrow morning.

2-0 to the good guys. Quite unusual in my experience to catch two so quickly - possibly means there's a few or they are starving.

ferrero rocher and burnt sausage are the best baits, lived in many old flats in town over the years and used all sorts of traps (bought, plus home made) and found these to work with deadly accuracy. I then got a cat and i have never seen a mouse since, the cost in cat food was almost equal to the boxes of ferrero and burnt sausages!

I’d rather keep the monster in the attic than a cat.

Maybe squirrels?

We had female squirrels in our loft a few years ago.

Maybe squirrels?
Keep up lads.
It was Pixie and Dixie. ( Google it, Manders)
So far.
P& G will be hoping they were celibate.

ferrero rocher and burnt sausage are the best baits, lived in many old flats in town over the years and used all sorts of traps (bought, plus home made) and found these to work with deadly accuracy. I then got a cat and i have never seen a mouse since, the cost in cat food was almost equal to the boxes of ferrero and burnt sausages!

How fukking posh are you that you use Fererro Rocher as bait :gigglle:

I assume you're using humane traps and not the ones that bludgeon the wee bastards when they are caught.

I’d rather keep the monster in the attic than a cat.

Mice tend to piss alot as well, so they might feel at home :grinning-smiley-045:
How fukking posh are you that you use Fererro Rocher as bait :gigglle:

Unwanted christmas presents, fucking hate the things.

You only need a wee bit to catch the bastards. Re-using the bait worked, as long as the victims pals didnt take advantage of the heroic act of activating the spring :grinning-smiley-045:

I assume you're using humane traps and not the ones that bludgeon the wee bastards when they are caught.

Let me find a dictionary definition of humane. Ok, I think our definitions of humane may be different.

Squirrel's love attics
I momentarily forgot which thread I'd clicked into there, landing on this post as my first unread did *not* immediately help to clarify. Could it be one about Martin Boyle's property portfolio? Favourite bands? Niche porn?

Best sentence ever typed. :gigglle:

Billy lad, how did ye ken? :44:

?yi ken what am gonni say Emmy ?
There wis nae nuts.

maybe they looked like yon squirrel in sponge bob?

Noooooooooooooo!

There wis nae nuts.

Too late.

Let me find a dictionary definition of humane. Ok, I think our definitions of humane may be different.

OK you've got me there. I should have said non lethal traps.

For anyone wanting a non lethal trap apparently a glass milk bottle is the way to go.

Pop your smelly bait in it, lay it on its side and build a wee ramp up to the bottle opening - something like a lolly pop stick.

Greedy bugger mouse 1 goes up the ramp and into the bottle. Because its wee claws canny get a grip on the glass it can't escape and squeals in mouse language "help get me oota here!". Mouse 2, 3, etc go and see what the fuss is all about, climb the ramp and into the bottle! They can't get out either.

In the morning do what you like with a half bottle of mices. My Granny flung them out the window.- she was on the 4th floor ! In these days treating vermin in a humane way would have been laughed at!

My girlfriend had squirrels in her attic last year.
Fucking nightmare! Wee *&*^ will chew through anything and everything.

I had to find any and every hole, fill them with brillo pads or steel wool and silicone.
They kept coming back and looking for other ways in. Once they've decided they're set, either kept finding or making new ways in.
She's moved so no idea if they got back.

Her landlord was a scumbag and done some very shocking things in his attempts.. all very illegal stuff, but she was too feared to report it.

So be glad it was just a mouse ?

OK you've got me there. I should have said non lethal traps.

I wasnt using non lethal traps, but I might try the milk bottle. Still 2-0 for those that are interested. No sign last night.

This thread has been viewed 3328 times.