• Welcome to the Bounce

A Place Full Of Radges!

billy1310

Hi,
Just wanted to introduce myself...names Billy & originally from East Whitburn but after a stint in the army I ended up living down in Wigan. Joined the forum as I need some info as 6 lads coming up to Edinburgh & hoping to get a game in during our visit. Where's best place to post the thread for info??

Welcome Billy, and may I say, what a brilliant name. 😁
So you live down south and have a Wigan address? Live and let live I say. 😉

Welcome Billy, and may I say, what a brilliant name. 😁
So you live down south and have a Wigan address? Live and let live I say. 😉
I've been a Wigan Athletic fan since moving there in 1987....we've currently got your old boss Shaun Maloney as our manager with a nice wee 4 nil win today

Bit of an up and doon team over the years. Has Maloney improved them?

I spent 2 nights in Wigan in the 1970s. Don't expect its changed much - it hadn't in the previous 50 years 😆

Bit of an up and doon team over the years. Has Maloney improved them?
We've been dealt a few dodgy hands with our previous 2 owners...Dave Whelan owned us for years, got us to the premiership, an FA Cup & a small European tour....sold us to some Hong Kong 'gangsters' who in turn almost bankrupt us n ended up in Administration, then bought by some so called Bahrainian oil owner who after less than 2 years failed to pay wages / tax man etc & almost a 2nd Administration before a local Billionaire ( Danson) bought us but has no plans to splash the cash & we're to be more sustainable which means we're pretty average..
Maloney has the fans divided...some dire stuff at times & tinkering for the sake of it.

Used to go to asda in Wigan in the 60s, bet you get good meat & potato pies at the chippy

We've been dealt a few dodgy hands with our previous 2 owners...Dave Whelan owned us for years, got us to the premiership, an FA Cup & a small European tour....sold us to some Hong Kong 'gangsters' who in turn almost bankrupt us n ended up in Administration, then bought by some so called Bahrainian oil owner who after less than 2 years failed to pay wages / tax man etc & almost a 2nd Administration before a local Billionaire ( Danson) bought us but has no plans to splash the cash & we're to be more sustainable which means we're pretty average..
Maloney has the fans divided...some dire stuff at times & tinkering for the sake of it.
Aye, he was like that wi Hibs.

I went to a game at Wigan once and had the hospitality experience with a season ticket holder and his family. It was great! Reminded me of a Working Mens club with a couple of comics compering proceedings. Friendly sort of place. It was a Premiership game between Wigan and Watford. The stadium seemed to have a lot more about Wigan rugby team in it than the football club.

Glad u liked it...friendly bunch down here. As to rugby being bigger....nah they only have one big game a season, rest of season is 9K or less

Reactions: Stu
Welcome Billy, sorry if I came across as an unhelpful wido the other day.