Neuralink

Investing in every bit of sci-fi shite going will be this guys downfall.

Someone's going to get seriously hurt or worse I reckon.

Investing in every bit of sci-fi shite going will be this guys downfall.

Someone's going to get seriously hurt or worse I reckon.
Yup.

A lot of the adulation he use to get has faded since he started noising up the woke crowd, but I never got it. A reckless man child I think. Clever, yes. Innovative, yes. Wise, not so much.

Elon Musk is a funny character.

He says and does alot of good things BUT...I don't trust a man that wants to create Cyborgs.

He effectively wants to end humanity.

Plus he was married(I believe),and has kids with...A High Priestess of the Satanic Temple.

Elon Musk is a funny character.

He says and does alot of good things BUT...I don't trust a man that wants to create Cyborgs.

He effectively wants to end humanity.

Plus he was married(I believe),and has kids with...A High Priestess of the Satanic Temple.
No the Satanic Temple doon by Tesco??

And me!

On the rest , I think Ryan is correct about the ‘transhumanists’, they’re bonkers.
If technology can rid of disease Im all for it.
(mind, baby jesus will be ok about it. He's already given his seal of approval if you think about it)

Mon the robots! Wee chip in Rockys heid which will allow him to think and play like hes Maldini.... whats no tae like?

Even if that was the case, is it really a big deal?

As I understand it, Satanism isn't worship of a literal devil but more a flamboyant rejection of Christianity and The Satanic Temple is a largely secular organisation set up as a protest to perceived erosion of the separation of church and state in American politics.

I'm certainly more perturbed by ego driven billionaire tech bros than celebrity atheist goths.

Leaving aside the cyborg stuff, this technology does have potential to make a lot of people's lives better. I'm thinking MND and Parkinsons. But as with any tech advance it has the potential to make things worse. It's how that risk is managed that is critical - that and who manages the risk.

Spot on

I dinnae understand what this chip does but if it helps with the treatment of people with these horrible diseases, kick on Elon.

Stuff like restoring sight to blind people (which Musk states as an aim I think), kick on. Attempting to integrate cognitive function with smartphones and, in due course, probably social media directly - not so much.

The risk cannot really be managed outside brute force approaches like disallowing procedures. A half open gate is an open gate. The law is already hopelessly out moded by tech advance. And then there is the ‘if we don’t do it Russia and China’ will argument, which on one hand is bullshit and on the other absolutely true.

Even if that was the case, is it really a big deal?

As I understand it, Satanism isn't worship of a literal devil but more a flamboyant rejection of Christianity and The Satanic Temple is a largely secular organisation set up as a protest to perceived erosion of the separation of church and state in American politics.

I'm certainly more perturbed by ego driven billionaire tech bros than celebrity atheist goths.
I thought this was pure Ryan fantasy in this case, but the daft celebrity blue hairs involved in this nonsense are really stupid (I know, it’s not news is it).

It may all be a pose to them, but more deranged fans can be led into dark stuff, which may be one contributor to goths vying with rap fans for the highest body count. I mean outside blue haired circles, this is more commonly the preserve of neo Nazis, specifically of the genodicalist camp, serial killer fantasists and some actual serial killers, murderous Latin gangs, organised sex abuse (if of a somewhat more pedestrian sort than Ryan imagines the worlds leaders are part of), might is right and fuck the weak philosophers, Russian architects of world domination plans Putin now seem to be enacting and so on. Even from an entirely atheist stand point, it’s still not a terribly smart idea to adopt the trappings of the concept of absolute evil to make a point; I mean would it be a good idea to promote Nazism ‘ironically’ to protest liberalism?

Even for the celebrities themselves it’s sometimes all good fun until Marilyn Manson turns out to be a wrong un not even hiding in plain sight, but having made a performance out of role playing similar for decades !

Stuff like restoring sight to blind people (which Musk states as an aim I think), kick on. Attempting to integrate cognitive function with smartphones and, in due course, probably social media directly - not so much.

The risk cannot really be managed outside brute force approaches like disallowing procedures. A half open gate is an open gate. The law is already hopelessly out moded by tech advance. And then there is the ‘if we don’t do it Russia and China’ will argument, which on one hand is bullshit and on the other absolutely true.
You know how it is eegie, tech gets made first, usage policy later.

Keeps security checkers in a job.

It will all come about I think, it generally does. And we usually fail at pre-safeguarding and muddle along with very human workarounds until ctritical.

But with AI also in the mix for all these things from now on, it's gonna up the ante in some way.

I thought this was pure Ryan fantasy in this case, but the daft celebrity blue hairs involved in this nonsense are really stupid (I know, it’s not news is it).

It may all be a pose to them, but more deranged fans can be led into dark stuff, which may be one contributor to goths vying with rap fans for the highest body count. I mean outside blue haired circles, this is more commonly the preserve of neo Nazis, specifically of the genodicalist camp, serial killer fantasists and some actual serial killers, murderous Latin gangs, organised sex abuse (if of a somewhat more pedestrian sort than Ryan imagines the worlds leaders are part of), might is right and fuck the weak philosophers, Russian architects of world domination plans Putin now seem to be enacting and so on. Even from an entirely atheist stand point, it’s still not a terribly smart idea to adopt the trappings of the concept of absolute evil to make a point; I mean would it be a good idea to promote Nazism ‘ironically’ to protest liberalism?

Even for the celebrities themselves it’s sometimes all good fun until Marilyn Manson turns out to be a wrong un not even hiding in plain sight, but having made a performance out of role playing similar for decades !

I don't know @egb_hibs, are you not being a bit pearl clutchy here?

Have you read the Satanic Bible? I did when I was younger. It's not really about evil. It's mostly moral philosophy on autonomy and self improvement using the Devil and God as metaphors from what I recall. It's silly rubbish. I'd doubt it would influence the list of nasty folk you've mentioned.

I accept I'm coming at this from the perspective of a non-believer who finds the whole concept of a devil pretty daft in the first place mind you.

I don't know @egb_hibs, are you not being a bit pearl clutchy here?
No. All the things I listed are actual things, while being involved in American goth and some of these pathologies is a predictor for school shootings and other fun and games.
Have you read the Satanic Bible? I did when I was younger. It's not really about evil. It's mostly moral philosophy on autonomy and self improvement using the Devil and God as metaphors from what I recall. It's silly rubbish. I'd doubt it would influence the list of nasty folk you've mentioned.

I accept I'm coming at this from the perspective of a non-believer who finds the whole concept of a devil pretty daft in the first place mind you.
So you read a book with that name written by one of these types, I’m guessing fairly recently. What does that mean other than some Californian type has written a self help book dressed up in mystical hoopla?

You don’t have to be a believer to comprehend that playing with the concept of evil is unwise. At minimum if someone has taken labels and symbols and stuck them onto something really quite unrelated, then a quota of dupes are gonna start there, hit google, and end up in other places completely.

Anyway, it’s all very silly, but it’s certainly a long way from what Ryan imagines I suspect. Those that do the devils work, literally or figuratively, on the big stage will more usually be doing it from their venality and base instincts, not because they dance round bonfires at midnight.

You know how it is eegie, tech gets made first, usage policy later.

Keeps security checkers in a job.

It will all come about I think, it generally does. And we usually fail at pre-safeguarding and muddle along with very human workarounds until ctritical.

But with AI also in the mix for all these things from now on, it's gonna up the ante in some way.
If humanity ever needs en epitaph for a self inflicted Armageddon, I suspect the most appropriate would be:

We did it, because it could be done.