Music Playlist Recommendations For Spotify

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
Since going premium on Spotify I've been going playlist daft. Got loads of different genres but some are getting stale cos haven't added to them for ages. Can you offer suggestions please for following categories. The spotify database is pretty extensive so chuck in the obscurities.

50's ROCK N ROLL
Got all the obvious artists like Chuck Berry, Little Richard and Elvis.

50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES
More pop orientated 50s stuff and pre-Beatles 60s stuff. Especially like girl groups of this period.

90s BRITPOP
Got quite an extensive playlist but bet there's a few one hit wonders I'm missing.

DISCO
Know all the big hits but probably hundreds of crackers I haven't heard.

FUNKY SOUL
Sly & The Family Stone, Bobby Womack, James Brown type stuff.

FUNKY HOUSE
Love the dance music they used to play at Mercado around 2000-2003 but was too busy enjoying myself to remember names of tunes. Junior Jack, Tim deLuxe, Kings of Tomorrow all had hits with this style of house.

HIP HOP
Old school or non gangster like Jurassic 5.

MANCHESTER
Artists or bands from Manchester area.

MOTOWN
Or soul not necessarily on the label but with similar sound.

NORTHERN SOUL
Know there's a few experts on here.

SKA
Original ska or 80s 2Tone.

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS
Poppy uk punky tunes like the above Teenage Kicks, Into The Valley, Going Underground etc.

Cheers guys.

HIP HOP

Ugly Duckling, Blackalicious, Souls Of Mischief, A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul, EPMD, Eric B & Rakim, Mos Def & Talib Kweli, Slum Village, ANYTHING that J Dilla has touched, Pete Rock & CL Smooth, Main Source, KMD, Masta Ace, BDP, KRS-One, pretty much the entire StonesThrow back catalogue,

MANCHESTER

Northside.

Since going premium on Spotify I've been going playlist daft. Got loads of different genres but some are getting stale cos haven't added to them for ages. Can you offer suggestions please for following categories. The spotify database is pretty extensive so chuck in the obscurities.

50's ROCK N ROLL
Eddie Cochrane

50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES
More pop orientated 50s stuff and pre-Beatles 60s stuff. Especially like girl groups of this period.
PP Arnold

90s BRITPOP
Got quite an extensive playlist but bet there's a few one hit wonders I'm missing.
pass

DISCO
Moroder, and more Moroder.

FUNKY SOUL
Isaac Hayes

FUNKY HOUSE
Love the dance music they used to play at Mercado around 2000-2003 but was too busy enjoying myself to remember names of tunes. Junior Jack, Tim deLuxe, Kings of Tomorrow all had hits with this style of house.
Same as you, never really knew what most of the tracks were!

HIP HOP
Roxanne Shante, Schooly D (is gangsta, but before gangsta), mantronix, krs one, grandmaster flash / melle mel, Afrika Bambatta

MANCHESTER
Paris Angels, Northside, New Fast Automatic Daffodils, bridewell taxis (leeds), mock turtles, Botany 5 (embra), sugar bullet (embra - not really the same sound but sort of that era), flowered up (lahndahn) - first album is one of the best things from that era despite comedy single It's on being pretty much all they're remembered for.

MOTOWN
sam and dave

NORTHERN SOUL
pass

SKA
Maytals, Specials, Slickers, Desmond Dekker, Jimmy Cliff, Bodysnatchers, Specials, Selector, Specials and, the Specials

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS
Poppy uk punky tunes like the above Teenage Kicks, Into The Valley, Going Underground etc.
Eddie and the Hot Rods, Do Anything you Wanna Do

Cheers guys.
Joy Division live recordings - much more punk than the doomy indie of their records (which sumner and hook hate). Will help explain why they are one of the best bands ever, if records haven't grabbed you.

Look for Les Bains Douches in particular, and within that Disorder. Also look for No Love Lost with artist as Warsaw.

50's ROCK N ROLL/50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES

big bopper - chantilly lace
bobby darin - splish splash
bobby lewis - tossin' and turnin'
danny & the juniors - at the hop
the trashmen - surfin' bird
the wanderers soundtrack album, every track is a belter

90s BRITPOP

supergrass - i should coco (album)
pulp - his n' hers & different class (both albums)

DISCO

the world is full of married men - soundtrack album worth a listen

FUNKY SOUL

james brown - in a jungle groove (album)
war - why cant we be friends (album)
funk inc. - chicken licken (album)
isaac hayes - the look of love
blaxploitation volumes 1-4, compilation albums of maist popular stuff

HIP HOP

de la soul - 3 feet high and rising (album)
doug e fresh - oh my god (album)
guru - jazzmatazz vol.1 (album)
boogie down productions - by all means necessary (album)
digital underground - humpty dance

MANCHESTER

james - stripmining (album) village fire (EP)
black grape - great when yer straight (album)
king of the slums - dandelions (album)
stone roses - second coming (album)
happy mondays - squirrel and G man (album)

MOTOWN/NORTHERN SOUL

i could bore you rigid wi a list but as a starter for ten check oot the double CD soundtrack of the film northern soul there is plenty on them

also ( i cannae help it :surp@)

the capitols - dont say maybe baby
kiki dee - magic carpet ride
august & deneen - we go together
the reflections - like adam and eve
little anthony & the imperials - going out of my head
johnny johnson & the bandwagon - breakin' down the wall of heartache

SKA

symarip - skinhead moonstomp
pioneers - longshot kick de bucket
toots & the maytals - funky kingston
harry j allstars - liquidator

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS

ian dury & the blockheads - reasons to be cheerful part 3
elvis costello & the attractions - pump it up
deaprtment S - is vic there
the vapours - turning japanese
the knack - my sharona
public image limited - this is not a love song
the ruts - babylon is burning

50's ROCK N ROLL/50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES

big bopper - chantilly lace
bobby darin - splish splash
bobby lewis - tossin' and turnin'
danny & the juniors - at the hop
the trashmen - surfin' bird
the wanderers soundtrack album, every track is a belter

90s BRITPOP

supergrass - i should coco (album)
pulp - his n' hers & different class (both albums)

DISCO

the world is full of married men - soundtrack album worth a listen

FUNKY SOUL

james brown - in a jungle groove (album)
war - why cant we be friends (album)
funk inc. - chicken licken (album)
isaac hayes - the look of love
blaxploitation volumes 1-4, compilation albums of maist popular stuff

HIP HOP

de la soul - 3 feet high and rising (album)
doug e fresh - oh my god (album)
guru - jazzmatazz vol.1 (album)
boogie down productions - by all means necessary (album)
digital underground - humpty dance

MANCHESTER

james - stripmining (album) village fire (EP)
black grape - great when yer straight (album)
king of the slums - dandelions (album)
stone roses - second coming (album)
happy mondays - squirrel and G man (album)

MOTOWN/NORTHERN SOUL

i could bore you rigid wi a list but as a starter for ten check oot the double CD soundtrack of the film northern soul there is plenty on them

also ( i cannae help it :surp@)

the capitols - dont say maybe baby
kiki dee - magic carpet ride
august & deneen - we go together
the reflections - like adam and eve
little anthony & the imperials - going out of my head
johnny johnson & the bandwagon - breakin' down the wall of heartache

SKA

symarip - skinhead moonstomp
pioneers - longshot kick de bucket
toots & the maytals - funky kingston
harry j allstars - liquidator

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS

ian dury & the blockheads - reasons to be cheerful part 3
elvis costello & the attractions - pump it up
deaprtment S - is vic there
the vapours - turning japanese
the knack - my sharona
public image limited - this is not a love song
the ruts - babylon is burning

Master-class performance.

super_fly_01.jpg

Jockney's fine effort has encouraged me to have another go at the late 80s / early 90s era:

A Guy called Gerald - Voodoo Ray
Silver Bullet - Bring forth the guillotine
Bizarre Inc - Playing with Knives
Carter the unstoppable sex machine - Sheriff Fatman
Humanoid - Stakker
Spaceman 3 - Revolution
King of the Slums - Vicious British Boyfriend
Faith no More - Out of Nowhere
Rhythm Device - Acid Rock / 808 State - Cubik (compare and contrast)
Paris Angels - Perfume
Public Enemy - Fight the Power
House of Love - Christine
Soup Dragons - Mother Universe
S1000 - Flatliners
New Fast Automatic Daffodils - Big
A Homeboy, a Hippie and a Funki Dread - Total Confusion
Circlesquare Remix - Wonder Stuff
Spiritualized - Anyway that you want me
Human Resource - Dominator
Ride - Vapour Trail
Stone Roses - Mersey Paradise
Renegade Soundwave - Biting my nails
Goodbye Mr Mackenzie - the Rattler
Botany 5 - Nature Boy
Mc Tunes - Tunes splits the atom
Dinosaur Jr - Freak Scene
Erik B and Rakim - Paid in Full (7 minutes of madness mix)
Liquid - Sweet Harmony
Curve - Horror Head
Cypress Hill - Hand on the pump

Can't thank you enough lads, will keep me going for the next week or so. I'll report back with any crackers that I've fallen for, loads there I've never heard of.

I've actually got an 80s playlist too but don't touch it much, least favourite musical decade by miles, but I'll fire thru that list egb.

Aggie, with Beady Eye splitting up Andy Bell has reformed Ride. Dunno if recording new stuff but definitely touring.

Can't thank you enough lads, will keep me going for the next week or so. I'll report back with any crackers that I've fallen for, loads there I've never heard of.

I've actually got an 80s playlist too but don't touch it much, least favourite musical decade by miles, but I'll fire thru that list egb.

Aggie, with Beady Eye splitting up Andy Bell has reformed Ride. Dunno if recording new stuff but definitely touring.
It's not really am 80s list s, it's very late 80/ early 90 - the madchester era, but not limited to those bands. If you want an 80s list proper, just say the word!

The,list contains everything from melodic pop, to acid house, to hip hop, to mornged out one chord guitar drug music, so if you don't like some stuff you may hopefully like others.

50's ROCK N ROLL
Eddie Cochrane

50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES
The Ronettes, The Crystals, The Chordettes

90s BRITPOP
Monaco - What Do You Want From Me
The Supernaturals (first album)
Cast (first 2 albums)
Echobelly - King of the Kerb
Menswear - Sleeping In
Ash - 1977

MANCHESTER
Mock Turtles - Can You Dig It
Inspiral Carpets - Saturn 5

SKA
The Beat - Mirror in the Bathroom / Tears of a Clown
The Mighty Might Bosstones - The Impression That I Get
Can recommend loads of other stuff but it's verging into ska/punk

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS
Squeeze - Up the Junction (best pub jukebox tune ever)

50's ROCK N ROLL

50s/60s GOLDEN OLDIES

90s BRITPOP

DISCO

FUNKY SOUL

FUNKY HOUSE

HIP HOP

MANCHESTER

MOTOWN

NORTHERN SOUL

SKA

SOUND OF THE SUBURBS

Cheers guys.

50's Rock n Roll/RnB... Little Willie John's 'I'm Shaking' is a must others would be the likes of Eddie Bo - Every Dog has it's Day, Bo Diddley I can Tell and Arthur Alexender A Shot Of Rhthem & Blues. Lot's of stuff from the King RnB label is just superb.

60's 'pop bands like Dave Clark 5, The Mindbenders, Swinging Blue Jeans and The Moody Blues first albums are worth a listen, so much better than the commercial pap of latter years.

Motown, i'd have a look for their early stuff from the likes of Gino Parks- For This I Thank you, Barrett Strong - Misery, Henry Lumpkin - Mo Jo Hanna, Sammy Ward - Don't Take It Away, and Freddie Gorman Just For you all recorded artists pre 1962.

Manchester: would recommend two great bands from the 60's St Louise Union and The Richard Kent Style.

I'll get back later with some obscure NS and Ska when i get back to work.

HIP HOP

Ugly Duckling, Blackalicious, Souls Of Mischief, A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul, EPMD, Eric B & Rakim, Mos Def & Talib Kweli, Slum Village, ANYTHING that J Dilla has touched, Pete Rock & CL Smooth, Main Source, KMD, Masta Ace, BDP, KRS-One, pretty much the entire StonesThrow back catalogue,

MANCHESTER

Northside.

have to add the roots to that but good stuff chester

Here is my very own personal playlist that I "shuffle" every day on my way to-and-from work.

My eclectic 80s taste should not surprised those who know me!

Enjoy.

hits on Spotify

Here is my very own personal playlist that I "shuffle" every day on my way to-and-from work.

My eclectic 80s taste should not surprised those who know me!

Enjoy.

hits on Spotify
Top lad, didn't know you could share your playlists. Here's my stale ones. Listened to some top recommendations on my commute so far.

Rock n Roll
50s Rockin an a Rollin on Spotify

Oldies
50s/60s Golden Oldies on Spotify

Britpop
90s Britpop rock on Spotify

Disco
Disco Inferno on Spotify

Funk
Funk Soul Brothers on Spotify

Funky House
Funky House from the old skool on Spotify

Hip Hop
Hip Hop on Spotify

Manchester
Manchester City on Spotify

Motown
Motown Soul on Spotify

Northern Soul
Northern Soul - KEEP THE FAITH on Spotify

Ska
Ska on Spotify

Top lad, didn't know you could share your playlists. Here's my stale ones. Listened to some top recommendations on my commute so far.

Rock n Roll
50s Rockin an a Rollin on Spotify

Oldies
50s/60s Golden Oldies on Spotify

Britpop
90s Britpop rock on Spotify

Disco
Disco Inferno on Spotify

Funk
Funk Soul Brothers on Spotify

Funky House
Funky House from the old skool on Spotify

Hip Hop
Hip Hop on Spotify

Manchester
Manchester City on Spotify

Motown
Motown Soul on Spotify

Northern Soul
Northern Soul - KEEP THE FAITH on Spotify

Ska
Ska on Spotify

am no on spotify though i wouldve liked tae see yours & zondervans playlists :banger:

since its friday heres my early-1980s-gettin-ready-for-the-weekend-playlist in an electro-dance theme, am listenin tae these versions now, mibbe you might be interested

The Players Association - Turn The Music Up! (1979) 12 inch - YouTube [MENTION]Players Association - Turn The Music Up[/MENTION]

Indeep - Last Night A DJ Saved My Life - YouTube[MENTION]Indeep - Last Night A DJ Saved My Life [/MENTION]

Shannon - Let The Music Play (Extended) - YouTube[MENTION]Shannon - Let The Music Play[/MENTION]

Xena - On The Upside - YouTube[MENTION]Xena - On The Upside[/MENTION]

Freeez - I.O.U. 1983 - Original Version - YouTube[MENTION]Freeez - I.O.U. 1983 - Original Version [/MENTION]

Loose Ends - Magic Touch (12") - YouTube[MENTION]Loose Ends - Magic Touch (12") [/MENTION]

this yin was a saturday mornin before the fitba choice back then :wink:

Paul Hardcastle - Nineteen (Destruction Mix) - YouTube[MENTION]Paul Hardcastle - Nineteen (Destruction Mix) [/MENTION]

---------------------------------------------------------------EDIT----------------------------------------------------------------------------

an earlier belter fae freeez, i forgot how good this is its gettin put in my playlist fae now on right after indeep

Freeez - Southern Freeez - YouTube[MENTION]Freeez - Southern Freeez [/MENTION]

Freeez IOU. Still have the 7-incher of that stored in GGTTH attic! Absolute belter of a tune.

Cheers for the suggestions lads, been listening to these all week. Loads of stuff I've never heard before but really, really liked....

Pp Arnold - voice of honey, beautiful.

Sam and Dave's other hits - know their big tunes but their rest is better than most of motowns best.

toots and the maytals - deserves to be more famous, classic ska sound.

freeez - sexy 80's disco.

Little Willy John - absolutely superb. heard some covers but not the originals, will be hunting out some vinyl.

Henry lumpkin not much on spotify but excellent.

St Louis Beat - only 3 songs on it but sound interesting hunting more out.

Eddie and the hot rods - immense pop rock, melodies like the early oasis demos.

king of the slums - never heard before but great wee baggy band. I'm a sucker for manc accent singing.

The capitols - polished velvety doo wop pop amazing harmonies.

Old School Hip Hop - found a few compilations and playlists featuring the artists suggested. Couldn't believe how many of these songs were sampled by the most cheesey of pop acts like Blue, Shakira, Britney.

Thanks for taking the time to reply to this guys, much appreciated.

HIP HOP

MANCHESTER

Northside.

you've got me singing Shall we take a trip!

Forgot about the bluetones - slight return will be right up proccie street if he's not heard it

am no on spotify though i wouldve liked tae see yours & zondervans playlists :banger:

since its friday heres my early-1980s-gettin-ready-for-the-weekend-playlist in an electro-dance theme, am listenin tae these versions now, mibbe you might be interested

The Players Association - Turn The Music Up! (1979) 12 inch - YouTube [MENTION]Players Association - Turn The Music Up[/MENTION]

Indeep - Last Night A DJ Saved My Life - YouTube[MENTION]Indeep - Last Night A DJ Saved My Life [/MENTION]

Shannon - Let The Music Play (Extended) - YouTube[MENTION]Shannon - Let The Music Play[/MENTION]

Xena - On The Upside - YouTube[MENTION]Xena - On The Upside[/MENTION]

Freeez - I.O.U. 1983 - Original Version - YouTube[MENTION]Freeez - I.O.U. 1983 - Original Version [/MENTION]

Loose Ends - Magic Touch (12") - YouTube[MENTION]Loose Ends - Magic Touch (12") [/MENTION]

this yin was a saturday mornin before the fitba choice back then :wink:

Paul Hardcastle - Nineteen (Destruction Mix) - YouTube[MENTION]Paul Hardcastle - Nineteen (Destruction Mix) [/MENTION]

---------------------------------------------------------------EDIT----------------------------------------------------------------------------

an earlier belter fae freeez, i forgot how good this is its gettin put in my playlist fae now on right after indeep

Freeez - Southern Freeez - YouTube[MENTION]Freeez - Southern Freeez [/MENTION]

Shannon Let The Music Play is a fantastic song. I love the 80's!