Multiple merged threads about Daily Retard articles. by Duncan and Cowan on the SCF

Davy

Not one for buying the record, however wanted something to read with a cuppa and the evening news wasn't in. Anyway just read an article by Colin Duncan..(yeh whoever he is). Wondered what other bouncers views were on it.

He states that there is something wrong with the mentality of players..and in particular manager Fenlon when t hey are content to be walked over by Celtic. He is particularly critical that no defenders held their hand up individually but just said we defend as a unit and share the responsibility. Only LG gets any credit as he aparantly was hurting too much to come out for a post match interview.

Ok so lets look at some things. Yes I do believe that over the last few years Hibs have had a poor us attitude and seem content at times with mediocracy. While it was difficult to compete with our city rivals and the gruesome twosome from Glasgow, there have been times when we use money as an excuse for losses. Yes we may have inferior players but lack of money should never be an excuse for lack of endeavour and grit. But on Sunday I am not convinced this was the case and that I believe is why the Hibs supporters stayed at the end. Yes we lost two poor goals but the players did seem to give a damn, but they were simply outplayed at times. We talk a lot about Hearts wage bill but Celtic can pretty much buy and pay whoever they want (real top players excluded). They take the best players from Scottish teams and cream off good talent from England while teams like Hibs often rely on journeymen mixed with some youth who end up leaving us well before their prime years. We were beaten but I saw the players giving what they had, which sadly wasn't enough as there is a real lack of talent at Hibs right now.

Perhaps we are also guilty of expecting too much too soon. We got off to a flyer and may'be that was part of our downfall. Expectations rose through the roof but long before halfway through the season the cracks were there for all to see. I am not in the least surprised Celtics two first goals were from crosses, we have been murder at defending them all season and that needs sorted. But we have also been a poor poor team for a lot of seasons now, and yet qualified for two SC finals in two seasons.

Yes St.Mirren beat celtic in the LC, but St,Mirren have had more time to gel together and it is always easier playing celtic earlier in the season, as the 1-0 win at ER proves. They also rested the last few weeks while we were slogging it out for 7th place and much credit to the players for managing the feat considering how we usually finish seasons. But progress has been made. PF has also learned his lesson and changed his formation and in recent weeks given youth a chance.

I am seriously doubting I'll ever live to see a SC win, but I do see improvement and we need to keep moving forward. We have made our way a lot of semis and finals in the last 20-30 years in both competitions, but then seem to break teams up and have to start again. We need consistency both with the manager and players. If we are guilty of complacency then that has to change and I do not believe PF is under any illusion that progress has to be made year on year until we reach a level of consistency with no fear. But lets also be realistic. Celtic have zero debts and money coming in from all angles. They must have made over 10m from the Euro campaign alone. How much to Hibs pull in during a whole season? But as I said we need to continue progressing and I hope Tom Farmer and others can get some serious investments coming our way. But the first thing is we have to show we are a team wanting to win. The news that players are opting for teams such as St Mirren and St Johnstone etc is sad indeed. Hibs were a big enough team in the past getting Gordon Smiths signature from under hearts nose, when he was a self confessed Jambo and keeping the likes of Stanton way longer than we had any right to. But times have changed and money is king, but we do need to continue to show desire and ambition to make the right signings.

The fans this season have made a massive contribution to the atmosphere and sense of family team. This also needs to continue and hopefully we will not get to the point where we go quiet when we are winning simply because we expect to, but that a winning team will make us louder and happier.

I don't think we do but I think we are overly aware of the realities of Scottish football. Certainly Pat didn't seem to set the team out to beat Celtic in the pre-split game.

But I think there are players in the squad who won't be intimidated and who play with a bit of abandon which is a joy to watch.

I think we're all heading in the right direction.

I don't think we were massively outplayed tbh. We lost the first goal at a time when we were on top. The first two goals were from brutally bad defending, and admittedly two exceptional crosses. Celtic weren't exactly cutting us open at will, but they were more clinical than we were with the chances they had. We just couldn't break them down when we were having a good spell in the second half cause they defended well.

One thing which I haven't seen mentioned was Griffiths chance in the first half where he went round Forster but ended up without the angle to put it in. Could have quite easily went down under Forsters challenge which would have gave us a penalty and playing 10 men including their reserve keeper for the next 50 or so minutes... Fine margins between "accepting mediocrity" and "comeback kings".

two things

...one mans mediocracy is another mans , well , more than mediocracy....and mediocracy to excellence has a lot of notches on the way

other thing

...this seems a slightly guntly argument that i've seen spouted on social media (not a dig at the OP), but to me the argument isn't sustainable unless proven at a level more granular than a brash generalisation.

for example - is it accepting of mediocracy to offer a contract to lewis stevenson?, i hate to single him out as i like him but he hasn't fulfilled his potential....to answer the question in that case no, his consistency and versitility have a place in a progressive SPL club.

OK one last thing, I don't think Pat Fenlon wants to stagnate it is all about realism and progression.

The ambition of the fans is not matched on the pitch. What I mean by that is we need quality to match the energy and drive the team showed on sunday. What we need is some quality quality players. Not any old rubbish that comes along on the free market.

Fenlons tactics are to blame for Sunday in my opinion. I think Wotherspoon should have at least been on the bench as on a wide pitch he would have been useful. Doyle was awful as per and I also thought Thompson had a bad game.

To be honest, I think it's a bit of an argument going nowhere. I think the players and management were absolutely up for it on Saturday, but were beaten by the better team on the day. As Wee 162 says, with a slight tweak of events, it might have gone differently.
I suppose you could say that Hearts are not accepting mediocrity, by actively choosing not to live within the same stratosphere as sustainability, but hopefully that's going to blow up in their faces fairly soon.
I think we're heading in the right direction. It's going to take time, and there will be set-backs, but I think some patience at the moment will be rewarded.

Where does the word mediocracy come from? Is it a deliberate coinage, mediocracy being a state formed by and for mediocrities just as a democracy is a state formed by and for the people?

Or do we just mean mediocrity? I think mediocracy should be added to the language. Good word with lots of potential.

I am not sure either mediocrity or mediocracy applies to Hibs though. I just think the club has no money or is unwilling to spend what little it has, which adds up to the same thing, and is reflected in the side the put on the park on Sunday. We were also a bit unfortunate. Maybury was signed to provide cover but he ends up playing in a Scottish Cup final. There was a young laddie at centre half. Loan players in key places all over the team. Another young laddie as our key creative player. A crocked midfielder playing for nothing (and out of position incidentally). When you think about it Hibs overachieved just getting to the final. Whether they are realising their actual potential is another argument.

I don't think we were massively outplayed tbh. We lost the first goal at a time when we were on top. The first two goals were from brutally bad defending, and admittedly two exceptional crosses. Celtic weren't exactly cutting us open at will, but they were more clinical than we were with the chances they had. We just couldn't break them down when we were having a good spell in the second half cause they defended well.

One thing which I haven't seen mentioned was Griffiths chance in the first half where he went round Forster but ended up without the angle to put it in. Could have quite easily went down under Forsters challenge which would have gave us a penalty and playing 10 men including their reserve keeper for the next 50 or so minutes... Fine margins between "accepting mediocrity" and "comeback kings".

Dude, I'm no sure we needed to be, if that makes any sense.

The soapys strolled that game imho. Yep, we huffed n puffed, but we were fairly shit. No one wanted to shoot. We saw quite often the passing back inside, or for example, Mcgivern stopping any forward run, and passing the ball backwards, quite a few times Hibs "worked the ball" back to the keeper who launched it upfield to the soapies defence.

Scott broon controlled the game from the half way line.

Paddy knew our defence isnae the best, so the full backs were tucking in tight with the centre backs.... obviously this gave e.g. Ledlay all the space in the world down our left in the first half.

Moot point, but I'd hedge my bets that if griffith had gone down in the box as you mention in your post that ref would have booked him. We got fuck all from him all day (not that it would have mattered).

They dominated us all over the park, they didnt give one foul away round their box knowing fully that our best chance of a goal would come from a leigh freekick.

...not at all doom and gloom from me. We had a young team out there in the end.

Hibernian didnae do me proud but the support certainly did.

Think we are fairly relaxed about this cup now. We get to the final next year and we will win it.

Paddy needs backed in the close season.

The soapys strolled that game imho. Yep, we huffed n puffed, but we were fairly shit. No one wanted to shoot. We saw quite often the passing back inside, or for example, Mcgivern stopping any forward run, and passing the ball backwards, quite a few times Hibs "worked the ball" back to the keeper who launched it upfield to the soapies defence.

Paddy knew our defence isnae the best, so the full backs were tucking in tight with the centre backs.... obviously this gave e.g. Ledlay all the space in the world down our left in the first half.

Moot point, but I'd hedge my bets that if griffith had gone down in the box as you mention in your post that ref would have booked him. We got fuck all from him all day (not that it would have mattered).

They dominated us all over the park, they didnt give one foul away round their box knowing fully that our best chance of a goal would come from a leigh freekick.

Think we are fairly relaxed about this cup now. We get to the final next year and we will win it.

I agree EG. This is exactly how i saw it. The support was magnificent and we outplayed theirs from the kickoff leaving them speechless at the end.

The team had some decent individual performances, Taiwo particularly, who was my Hibs MOTM incidentally. They never added up to a whole though and i thought it was a very flat and disappointing team performance.

A great deal of work still to be done and Pat MUST be backed fully in the summer.

Our Attitude And Performance Slated.....Is there a degree of realism in this report?

• [*=right]Comments
    [*=right]http://i3.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag/incoming/article942025.ece/ALTERNATES/s98/Colin-Duncan_1000x1000.jpg
    [*=right]ByColin Duncan

Colin Duncan: Hibs face long wait for glory if getting cuffed by the champions is deemed a decent performance

<time itemprop="datePublished" datetime="2013-05-28T08:15:23" class="published-date" style="position: absolute; top: 0px; right: 0px; border-left-width: 1px; border-left-style: solid; border-left-color: black; padding-left: 5px;">28 May 2013 09:15</time>THE losing Scottish Cup Finalists seemed to think anything other a hammering by their biggest rivals constituted a decent showing, COLIN says.

<iframe frameborder="0" role="presentation" scrolling="no" allowtransparency="true" scrollbars="no" src="http://ct1.addthis.com/static/r07/tweet026.html#href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23.UaTPaLX_fOw.twitter&dr=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2F&conf=data_track_clickback%3Dtrue%26username%3Dmirror%26pubid%3Dmirror&share=url_transforms%3Dclean%253Dtrue%2523%2540!shorten%253Dtwitter%25253Dbitly%2523%2540!defrag%253D1%2523%2540!remove%253D0%25253Dsms_ss%252523%252540!1%25253Dat_xt%252523%252540!2%25253Dat_pco%252523%252540!3%25253Dfb_ref%252523%252540!4%25253Dfb_source%23%40!shorteners%3Dbitly%253Dlogin%25253Ddailyrecord%252523%252540!apiKey%25253DR_a24f13571198c3334a884d0accfd894e%23%40!imp_url%3D1%23%40!url%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23%40!title%3DColin%2520Duncan%253A%2520Hibs%2520face%2520long%2520wait%2520for%2520glory%2520if%2520getting%2520cuffed%2520by%2520the%2520champions%2520is%2520deemed%2520a%2520decent%2520performance%2520-%2520Colin%2520Duncan%2520-%2520Daily%2520Record%23%40!passthrough%3Dpinterest_share%253Dmedia%25253Dhttp%2525253A%2525252F%2525252Fi2.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2525252Fincoming%2525252Farticle1915029.ece%2525252FALTERNATES%2525252Fs2197%2525252FJS17490824-1915029.jpg%252523%252540!url%25253Dhttp%2525253A%2525252F%2525252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2525252Fsport%2525252Ffootball%2525252Ffootball-news%2525252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%252523%252540!description%25253DColin%25252520Duncan%2525253A%25252520Hibs%25252520face%25252520long%25252520wait%25252520for%25252520glory%25252520if%25252520getting%25252520cuffed%25252520by%25252520the%25252520champions%25252520is%25252520deemed%25252520a%25252520decent%25252520performance%23%40!smd%3Drsi%253D%2523%2540!rxi%253Dundefined%2523%2540!gen%253D0%2523%2540!rsc%253D%2523%2540!dr%253Dhttps%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.facebook.com%25252F%2523%2540!sta%253DAT-mirror%25252F-%25252F-%25252F51a4cf685b787177%25252F1&tw=url%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%2523.UaTPaLX_fOw.twitter%23%40!via%3DDaily_Record%23%40!text%3DColin%252520Duncan%25253A%252520Hibs%252520face%252520long%252520wait%252520for%252520glory%252520if%252520getting%252520cuffed%252520by%252520the%252520champions%252520is%252520deemed%252520a%252520decent%252520performance%23%40!related%3Ddailyrecord.co.uk%23%40!count%3Dhorizontal%23%40!counturl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23%40!hashtags%3D%23%40!width%3D110" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border-width: 0px; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; width: 110px; height: 20px;"></iframe><iframe id="f3c06d7a68" name="f3359aa6a4" scrolling="no" title="Like this content on Facebook." class="fb_ltr" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?api_key=365562850134053&locale=en_US&sdk=joey&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D24%23cb%3Df310bfac4c%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Ff371e7d328%26domain%3Dwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%26relation%3Dparent.parent&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215&node_type=link&width=150&font=trebuchet%20ms&layout=button_count&colorscheme=light&action=like&show_faces=false&send=true&extended_social_context=false" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border-style: none; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; position: absolute; overflow: hidden; height: 19px; width: 133px;"></iframe>

<figure class="clearfix" style="margin: 0px 0px 10px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; position: relative; zoom: 1;">http://i3.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag/incoming/article1915029.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS17490824-1915029.jpg<figcaption style="color: rgb(90, 100, 102); float: left; bottom: 10px; left: 10px; position: absolute; max-width: 96%; vertical-align: bottom; font-size: 1.077em; padding: 2px;">Pat Fenlon</figcaption></figure>
Bill Murray/SNS Group

THERE was something strangely surreal about the attitude of the Hibs players in the aftermath of Sundays Scottish Cup Final defeat.
One by one Pat Fenlons team trooped through the Hampden mixed zone, quite content with the fact theyd avoided a repeat of last seasons 5-1 humiliation at the hands of Hearts.
Incredibly, despite having just being hammered 3-0 by a Celtic outfit who didnt need to get out of second gear, they viewed their afternoons work as a triumph.
It was almost as if everything in the garden was rosy just because they hadnt been thumped by their biggest rivals.
Credit to the Hibs supporters who stayed to the bitter end and provided their team with terrific backing at the national stadium.
But if this is the extent of the clubs ambition on the park then it will be a long time before they have anything to really cheer about.
It is a sad day when abject suddenly becomes acceptable within the dressing room.
Every player who addressed the media after the match trotted out the same lines about what a decent performance it was and of how proud they were.
Proud of what exactly? Of passing up a glorious opportunity to make a fist of it against the SPL champions who didnt need to be anywhere near their best?​
Of meekly rolling over and thinking that anything better than a four-goal margin of defeat was something to be celebrated?
Maybe that attitude stems from the manager because Pat Fenlon didnt seem too upset afterwards, claiming the defeat didnt hurt as much as 12 months ago.
Like most of his players the Irishman shrugged off the setback as if his team had just lost a kickabout down the local park.
Can you imagine Neil Lennon or any of his charges adopting the same approach in the wake of such a comprehensive doing?
Of course you couldnt. No, it simply wouldnt be allowed to happen under his watch.
The Celtic manager would have gone through his men like a dose of salts if they had performed so lamentably and rightly so.
Instead of waxing lyrical about how they didnt crumble even more spectacularly the Hibs players would have been better served telling it how it really was.
In the build-up to the match, the recurring theme from the Leith camp was of how this group were filled with leaders and were unrecognisable from the squad who capitulated against Hearts last May.
Yet, there was absolutely zero evidence of people willing to take control on the park and it was the same story afterwards with nobody willing to take any responsibility off it.​
The defending at the first two goals was nothing short of diabolical with Alan Maybury, Paul Hanlon and goalkeeper Ben Williams all at fault.
But was anyone man enough to put their hands up and admit culpability afterwards?
Dont be so daft. They were either hiding behind a collective cloak of we defend as a unit or too busy patting themselves on the back for only losing 3-0.
Leigh Griffiths was just about the only Hibs player not to address the media afterwards, the official line being that he was too distraught to speak.
The double Player of the Year award winner was also the only one who actually seemed to be suffering.
Injury prevented a half-fit Griffiths from making any worthwhile impact on the game and as he trooped off the pitch when substituted six minutes from time he was clearly hurting, both physically and mentally.
Unfortunately for the long-suffering Hibs supporters not enough of his team-mates appeared to be sharing any of his pain.
And while this attitude remains at Easter Road it could be another 111 years before the fans have a Scottish Cup win to celebrate.

Team tried hard and can't really be faulted for their effort but not good enough on the day plain and simple.
One thing for sure WE WILL WIN THE SC ONE DAY. sadly for me when that day comes I will be dead.

In the meantime knowing our luck Hearts will in all probability win it again afore we do.

Yes a young team but will we keep them long enough to bare fruit. Going on our past record the answer is likely to be NO!.
Our best chance was probably 2007 when but for the dressing room fiasco we would have won the cup double IMO.

:coffee:

danni
danni

:pf:

I really don't see how, for instance, Ben Williams saying "aye, it was my fault" is meant to achieve anything. The game is over. Even when I played football at school and in the BBs, it wasn't the done thing to single anyone out. Win as a team, lose as a team. I've no problem with that. Comments on individual culpability should be reserved for the dressing room. Or arses in the media like this bloke.

As for saying it didn't hurt as much this year - well it didn't, did it? I couldn't go out for about a week after last year. It's just a fact.

As for on the park - well, it was disappointing, definitely. We lost an awful goal which knocked the stuffing out of us. That's football. We always needed to score first. After that, Celtic's players could relax and start to play their game, at which point the fact that they possess quality like Brown, Stokes, Hooper, Ledley, Commons told. Perhaps if our one player of real quality was up to it, we'd have got a different result. I'm not blaming Doyle, but LG, or for that matter Hooper or Stokes would have buried that chance. That's the difference.

What is anyone meant to say? - we've not played well, and neither, really, have Celtc. However, their sub-par is better than our sub-par. End of.

Wonder if the same hack gave the Gunts a hard time for not flaying themselves in public when they lost to a WORSE team than them? Nah, thought not.

He can go and fling shite at himsel, as far as I'm concerned.

Actually, now I've read the article, I'm a bit pissed off about it. And as for suggesting Neil Lennon is any kind of role model in defeat.....:boxing:
Basically, he appears to have written off Hibs because the players and management didn't throw the toys out the pram, or self-immolate after the game. Personally, I'd rather they behaved with a bit of dignity. So there.

We can't really win with the media here

When Hibs sack managers we get slagged off for not giving them enough time. When fans leave when the team is 3-0 down our loyalty is up for question

When the team act with dignity admitting we simply got beat from the better team on the day, and the fans pull together and show some support then we are behaving like some kind of soft touch losers
No mention of course about the medley of rebel songs coming from the other end

I wish they would make up their fucking minds. Smeltic and sevco have been applauded off the park many a time
This of course is reported as the greatest fans in the world proving their worth yet again

For their information, this Hibs fan and many others are hurting. I can't speak for the players or manager, but they were hardly dancing a jig on Sunday. Our captain was out and our top scorer was injured. We live by our means and give youth a chance
What exactly do they want us to do?

Cheat :detective:

• [*=right]Comments
    [*=right]http://i3.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag/incoming/article942025.ece/ALTERNATES/s98/Colin-Duncan_1000x1000.jpg
    [*=right]ByColin Duncan

Colin Duncan: Hibs face long wait for glory if getting cuffed by the champions is deemed a decent performance

<time itemprop="datePublished" datetime="2013-05-28T08:15:23" class="published-date" style="position: absolute; top: 0px; right: 0px; border-left-width: 1px; border-left-style: solid; border-left-color: black; padding-left: 5px;">28 May 2013 09:15</time>THE losing Scottish Cup Finalists seemed to think anything other a hammering by their biggest rivals constituted a decent showing, COLIN says.

<iframe frameborder="0" role="presentation" scrolling="no" allowtransparency="true" scrollbars="no" src="http://ct1.addthis.com/static/r07/tweet026.html#href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23.UaTPaLX_fOw.twitter&dr=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2F&conf=data_track_clickback%3Dtrue%26username%3Dmirror%26pubid%3Dmirror&share=url_transforms%3Dclean%253Dtrue%2523%2540!shorten%253Dtwitter%25253Dbitly%2523%2540!defrag%253D1%2523%2540!remove%253D0%25253Dsms_ss%252523%252540!1%25253Dat_xt%252523%252540!2%25253Dat_pco%252523%252540!3%25253Dfb_ref%252523%252540!4%25253Dfb_source%23%40!shorteners%3Dbitly%253Dlogin%25253Ddailyrecord%252523%252540!apiKey%25253DR_a24f13571198c3334a884d0accfd894e%23%40!imp_url%3D1%23%40!url%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23%40!title%3DColin%2520Duncan%253A%2520Hibs%2520face%2520long%2520wait%2520for%2520glory%2520if%2520getting%2520cuffed%2520by%2520the%2520champions%2520is%2520deemed%2520a%2520decent%2520performance%2520-%2520Colin%2520Duncan%2520-%2520Daily%2520Record%23%40!passthrough%3Dpinterest_share%253Dmedia%25253Dhttp%2525253A%2525252F%2525252Fi2.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2525252Fincoming%2525252Farticle1915029.ece%2525252FALTERNATES%2525252Fs2197%2525252FJS17490824-1915029.jpg%252523%252540!url%25253Dhttp%2525253A%2525252F%2525252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2525252Fsport%2525252Ffootball%2525252Ffootball-news%2525252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%252523%252540!description%25253DColin%25252520Duncan%2525253A%25252520Hibs%25252520face%25252520long%25252520wait%25252520for%25252520glory%25252520if%25252520getting%25252520cuffed%25252520by%25252520the%25252520champions%25252520is%25252520deemed%25252520a%25252520decent%25252520performance%23%40!smd%3Drsi%253D%2523%2540!rxi%253Dundefined%2523%2540!gen%253D0%2523%2540!rsc%253D%2523%2540!dr%253Dhttps%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.facebook.com%25252F%2523%2540!sta%253DAT-mirror%25252F-%25252F-%25252F51a4cf685b787177%25252F1&tw=url%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%2523.UaTPaLX_fOw.twitter%23%40!via%3DDaily_Record%23%40!text%3DColin%252520Duncan%25253A%252520Hibs%252520face%252520long%252520wait%252520for%252520glory%252520if%252520getting%252520cuffed%252520by%252520the%252520champions%252520is%252520deemed%252520a%252520decent%252520performance%23%40!related%3Ddailyrecord.co.uk%23%40!count%3Dhorizontal%23%40!counturl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Fsport%252Ffootball%252Ffootball-news%252Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215%23%40!hashtags%3D%23%40!width%3D110" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border-width: 0px; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; width: 110px; height: 20px;"></iframe><iframe id="f3c06d7a68" name="f3359aa6a4" scrolling="no" title="Like this content on Facebook." class="fb_ltr" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?api_key=365562850134053&locale=en_US&sdk=joey&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D24%23cb%3Df310bfac4c%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%252Ff371e7d328%26domain%3Dwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%26relation%3Dparent.parent&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fcolin-duncan-hibs-face-long-1917215&node_type=link&width=150&font=trebuchet%20ms&layout=button_count&colorscheme=light&action=like&show_faces=false&send=true&extended_social_context=false" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border-style: none; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; position: absolute; overflow: hidden; height: 19px; width: 133px;"></iframe>

<figure class="clearfix" style="margin: 0px 0px 10px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-style: inherit; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; position: relative; zoom: 1;">http://i3.https://www.dictionary.com/browse/rag/incoming/article1915029.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS17490824-1915029.jpg<figcaption style="color: rgb(90, 100, 102); float: left; bottom: 10px; left: 10px; position: absolute; max-width: 96%; vertical-align: bottom; font-size: 1.077em; padding: 2px;">Pat Fenlon</figcaption></figure>
Bill Murray/SNS Group

THERE was something strangely surreal about the attitude of the Hibs players in the aftermath of Sundays Scottish Cup Final defeat.
One by one Pat Fenlons team trooped through the Hampden mixed zone, quite content with the fact theyd avoided a repeat of last seasons 5-1 humiliation at the hands of Hearts.
Incredibly, despite having just being hammered 3-0 by a Celtic outfit who didnt need to get out of second gear, they viewed their afternoons work as a triumph.
It was almost as if everything in the garden was rosy just because they hadnt been thumped by their biggest rivals.
Credit to the Hibs supporters who stayed to the bitter end and provided their team with terrific backing at the national stadium.
But if this is the extent of the clubs ambition on the park then it will be a long time before they have anything to really cheer about.
It is a sad day when abject suddenly becomes acceptable within the dressing room.
Every player who addressed the media after the match trotted out the same lines about what a decent performance it was and of how proud they were.
Proud of what exactly? Of passing up a glorious opportunity to make a fist of it against the SPL champions who didnt need to be anywhere near their best?​
Of meekly rolling over and thinking that anything better than a four-goal margin of defeat was something to be celebrated?
Maybe that attitude stems from the manager because Pat Fenlon didnt seem too upset afterwards, claiming the defeat didnt hurt as much as 12 months ago.
Like most of his players the Irishman shrugged off the setback as if his team had just lost a kickabout down the local park.
Can you imagine Neil Lennon or any of his charges adopting the same approach in the wake of such a comprehensive doing?
Of course you couldnt. No, it simply wouldnt be allowed to happen under his watch.
The Celtic manager would have gone through his men like a dose of salts if they had performed so lamentably and rightly so.
Instead of waxing lyrical about how they didnt crumble even more spectacularly the Hibs players would have been better served telling it how it really was.
In the build-up to the match, the recurring theme from the Leith camp was of how this group were filled with leaders and were unrecognisable from the squad who capitulated against Hearts last May.
Yet, there was absolutely zero evidence of people willing to take control on the park and it was the same story afterwards with nobody willing to take any responsibility off it.​
The defending at the first two goals was nothing short of diabolical with Alan Maybury, Paul Hanlon and goalkeeper Ben Williams all at fault.
But was anyone man enough to put their hands up and admit culpability afterwards?
Dont be so daft. They were either hiding behind a collective cloak of we defend as a unit or too busy patting themselves on the back for only losing 3-0.
Leigh Griffiths was just about the only Hibs player not to address the media afterwards, the official line being that he was too distraught to speak.
The double Player of the Year award winner was also the only one who actually seemed to be suffering.
Injury prevented a half-fit Griffiths from making any worthwhile impact on the game and as he trooped off the pitch when substituted six minutes from time he was clearly hurting, both physically and mentally.
Unfortunately for the long-suffering Hibs supporters not enough of his team-mates appeared to be sharing any of his pain.
And while this attitude remains at Easter Road it could be another 111 years before the fans have a Scottish Cup win to celebrate.

Aye, cause mind when Lennon went tonto about Celtic getting skelped off Juventus (a club that Celtic have around a third of the budget of)? Oh right, he didn't.

So a huge massive surprise that Hibs with around a 7th of the budget of Celtic didn't have everyone going mental? Baws. Written by a wanker.

Just like the Gunts, someone telling us how we should be feeling about something because it fits their agenda or story.

We will decide how we feel about Sunday, next season, the season after that and so on. Not Red Top hacks, not the Gunts and certainly not anyone who sails in them.

That is all.

Do we accept mediocracy?

I don't think we do at all. We are just realistic. Was always going to be tough against Celtic. Our team finished bottom 6 for a reason. As has been said we would have a far better chance against a team worse than us. We seem to be unlucky in always playing a better team in the Final.

I think some people are getting the fans support mixed up with acceptance.

Actually i deeply regret not damaging some cars and smashing a few shops up on the way back to the bus now . Seems to be the more acceptable way to behave when you lose a final

What this two bit journey fails to realize is, we are still building a team, and recovering from the last 5 years. We almost got relegated last year, and were humiliated in the cup final.

The players let us down massively last year, and the fans were not happy to accept mediocracy. Easter Road was not a nice place to be last year. This year has been different. The fans can see there's a light at the end of the tunnel, and we are showing signs of improvement. We are now in Europe, and can look forward to the future.

I can sort of see his point. I left Hampden on Sunday gutted at getting beat but happy we did not get humiliated.
Then when i watched the game again yesterday i realised how poor we actually were. The defending was abysmal and the midfield and strikeforce non existent.
Now you have to ask yourself how Dundee Utd who are no better than us took this same Celtic team to extra time in the semi last month and were very unlucky to lose and St Mirren who are worse than us actually beat them in the League Cup semi yet they completely steam rollered over the top of us.
Now i come on hear and read about how Leith Walk was bouncing on Sunday Night and congas around Robbies and god knows what else.
So the answer has to be yes on that evidence we do accept mediocrity and the reporter does have a point.

I only know who he is due to the OP, but 3 words say it all........daily retard hack:coffee:

Nothing more to be said imo

I can sort of see his point. I left Hampden on Sunday gutted at getting beat but happy we did not get humiliated.
Then when i watched the game again yesterday i realised how poor we actually were. The defending was abysmal and the midfield and strikeforce non existent.
Now you have to ask yourself how Dundee Utd who are no better than us took this same Celtic team to extra time in the semi last month and were very unlucky to lose and St Mirren who are worse than us actually beat them in the League Cup semi.
Now i come on hear and read about how Leith Walk was bouncing on Sunday Night and congas around Robbies and god knows what else.
So the answer has to be yes on that evidence we do accept mediocrity and the reporter does have a point.

We beat Celtic not long ago and Utd were routed by them in the last league game , it happens

Im talking about facing them at Hampden

It doesn't happen often so it's hard to say . We didn't play well obviously but are we expected to boo the team and skulk off back to ER to protest ? We had a tough run to get to Hampden , manys the time we'd have fallen short a lot earlier

Who never played that semi but totally ran the show for them at the weekend and who also played when they pumped Utd at Tannadice 4-0:hmmm

Imagine Celtic losing to Bayern or similar in the CL final and TGFITW behaving like us at the end , journos like the tosser named above would have hard ons whilst gushing praise from every orifice

Who never played that semi but totally ran the show for them at the weekend and who also played when they pumped Utd at Tannadice 4-0:hmmm

:hiya: Oooh me me me!!

Is it Neil Lennon jr :detective:

Guys a prick!

Enough said....

What a shite article, you'd read something less biased on a Celtic forum.

You could ask the hack why he`s not writing for The Times or The Washington Post, where`s his journalistic ambition , maybe The Retard`s his level .

Comparisons are easy for a few throw away lines, up down ,black white ,if you give Hibs the same money to spend on players then be judgemental about our performance for the record (no pun intended ) Im a still angry at many things about Sundays match but I understand the reasons why , only peeing with what you`ve got is the bottom line .

The bookies had Hibs @7/1 on Sunday so its no rocket science to work out where the cup was going to go ,
we had to be very very good with no mistakes and they had to be awful ,what actually happened we were no very good and they were good or as good as they had to be .

I agree that there is a losers mentaility at Easter Road...as there has been for decades, and it was the reason Eddie Turnbull broke up the Tornadoes...but the journno uses the wrong example of Sundays match to try to prove his point. Every Hibs player who took to the field on Sunday wanted to win that cup..as did the fans and the manager. The team tried as hard as they could but they were beaten by a better, more experienced team. Most of the Hibs fans were realistic enough to know that the odds were stacked against us because Celtic very, very rarely lose Scottish Cup Finals at Hampden. Using the examples of Celtic's recent Hampden games against St Mirren and Dundee United is also wrong because these games were not cup finals and that is the crux of the matter..a cup final is a very different game from any other and Celtic know exactly whet they have to do to win them. Killie's League Cup success last seaosn is the exception but they got a lot of good fortune that day. This is the reason I wanted Hibs to get Celtic in the semi rather than Falkirk, I wanted them out of the cup and my feeling was that we would have a much better chance of beating them in a semi-final rather than a final and I stand by that.

Yes, as I say there is a long running losers mentaility at the club, it's ingrained i'm afraid and there is no point denying it, and it all comes from the top. We also i'm afraid now have a generation of Hibs fans who see success as putting one over the jambos or my favourite "outsinging the opposition". I really do wish we would start acting like the big club in Scotland that we really are. Celebrating defeat is not something personally I want to do...I left the game on Sunday as soon as the final whistle blew. We need to take a leaf out of John Blackley's book...after the 6-1 hammering from Celtic in the 1972 cup final he threw his losers medal away across the car park saying it was no use to him. A losers medal just tells you that you are a loser.

I agree that there is a losers mentaility at Easter Road...as there has been for decades, and it was the reason Eddie Turnbull broke up the Tornadoes...but the journno uses the wrong example of Sundays match to try to prove his point. Every Hibs player who took to the field on Sunday wanted to win that cup..as did the fans and the manager. The team tried as hard as they could but they were beaten by a better, more experienced team. Most of the Hibs fans were realistic enough to know that the odds were stacked against us because Celtic very, very rarely lose Scottish Cup Finals at Hampden. Using the examples of Celtic's recent Hampden games against St Mirren and Dundee United is also wrong because these games were not cup finals and that is the crux of the matter..a cup final is a very different game from any other and Celtic know exactly whet they have to do to win them. Killie's League Cup success last seaosn is the exception but they got a lot of good fortune that day. This is the reason I wanted Hibs to get Celtic in the semi rather than Falkirk, I wanted them out of the cup and my feeling was that we would have a much better chance of beating them in a semi-final rather than a final and I stand by that.

Yes, as I say there is a long running losers mentaility at the club, it's ingrained i'm afraid and there is no point denying it, and it all comes from the top. We also i'm afraid now have a generation of Hibs fans who see success as putting one over the jambos or my favourite "outsinging the opposition". I really do wish we would start acting like the big club in Scotland that we really are. Celebrating defeat is not something personally I want to do...I left the game on Sunday as soon as the final whistle blew. We need to take a leaf out of John Blackley's book...after the 6-1 hammering from Celtic in the 1972 cup final he threw his losers medal away across the car park saying it was no use to him. A losers medal just tells you that you are a loser.

I don't think a single person there celebrated defeat on Sunday. What I think they did was proclaim themselves still Hibbies, still there, and still proud. I personally thought that was the best Scottish Cup run we've had in my lifetime, and it was something to take a bit of pride in, even if it didn't end the way we wanted it to.

BTW we should maybe get Garry O'Connor back in the side, he threw his medal away last year... He's always had a winning attitude as was displayed by his last contribution in a Hibs shirt being shooting from the centre we took having went 3-1 down last year.

I'd agree about the winning mentality thing if we had players better than others who were letting inferior sides beat them. But I think the only point recently where that's been happening was under Mowbray funnily enough. It isn't lacking a winning mentality that stops us winning things, it's having worse players than those we're competing against for the most part.

We are soft as shite. OK we outsung them at the end but not when it really mattered i.e. after they scored.

Doyle epitomises what I mean. Huffed and puffed, good header at the start but didnae win a tackle all day. We have been consistently outfought by teams on lower budgets for a decade.

So many games I've been to where we've bottled it in front of a big Hibs crowd. This meek acceptance starts at the top. Can you imagine any other Chsirman being happy with the statements being trotted out.

Great infrastructure, sound ownership model, decades of underachievement.

Gash.

Last year, we ended up in the Arty, and everyone was pretty down. That comes of playing a team in the Cup Final who we really should have at least given a game, and where the gulf in quality of player was a lot less than Sunday. In that instance, we were let down by the guys representing us.

However, on Sunday, as someone has pointed out, we were talking about a gulf that made us massive underdogs. Not a single media person really gave us a chance, and even we admitted we had a puncher's chance. Without our club captain on the pitch, and our talismanic "puncher" critically hampered, it was never gonna happen.

For that reason, after a good day out with my mates, I was able to be philosophical about it and go and have a laugh with my good pals, and new pals I'd met on the day.

Anyone unable to get football in perspective enough to do that, and thinks that everyone should have been crying into their pints or otherwise they're "losers" is for me just an arse - or really has not seen much adversity in real life.

I really do wish we would start acting like the big club in Scotland that we really are. Celebrating defeat is not something personally I want to do...I left the game on Sunday as soon as the final whistle blew. We need to take a leaf out of John Blackley's book...after the 6-1 hammering from Celtic in the 1972 cup final he threw his losers medal away across the car park saying it was no use to him. A losers medal just tells you that you are a loser.

Aye barry. The comparison between the players at Hibs and Celtic in 1972 to today is so ridiculous it's just funny.

In over forty years since 1972, only six other clubs have won it outside the old firm, 13 times.

Fully five of those were accounted for by the great Aberdeen side of the 80s.

Out of the other 5 clubs, St Mirren, Motherwell and Kilmarnock won it once - none of them had to play either of the Old Firm in the final.

Dundee Utd won it twice - beating the Huns once in 1994, and Ross County.

The Gunts, three times, but only beat Rangers in 1998. The other three they beat a stinking Hibs side, and fucking GRETNA.

So, outwith the great Aberdeen side, only two sides have ever beaten the Old Firm to take the Scottish Cup, nobody for almost a decade.

Beating the Old Firm in a SC Final is a freak occurence - anyone else's best chance is to play another medium sized club or smaller. The fact is, they can spend on one player what the rest of us can on a fucking squad.

So I'm sorry, but this "big club mentality" is a spurious nonsense peddled by people living in the past. The Huns and Mhanks have it simply by virtue of their playing squads. The Gunts much vaunted one is based on nothing more than an abject run in derbies for us.

Didn't see anybody laying into them when they got turned over by St Mirren.

It isn't lacking a winning mentality that stops us winning things, it's having worse players than those we're competing against for the most part.

Basically this, in a nutshell.

Really? I saw a group of players acting with dignity in defeat. That's something that is sadly lacking in our beautiful game at present.

No, you're missing the point gadgey. We weren't abject. We were second best, but not abject.

Proud of what exactly? Of passing up a glorious opportunity to make a fist of it against the SPL champions who didnt need to be anywhere near their best?

So all the Hibs players and management are wrong and you're right? Hmmm. Maybe it's the case that you're a cocksocket trying to start a fight in an empty house? I know where my money is.

No, he would have blamed everybody except himself. I refer to to the tonking they took from Juve where he blamed refereeing decisions, a physical Italian team, blah ,blah, blah. Everything but his team and himself.

Know what, I'm coming round to the view that you really are a knobjockey, Colin.

Yet, there was absolutely zero evidence of people willing to take control on the park and it was the same story afterwards with nobody willing to take any responsibility off it.

Ah, so the real reason you're disappointed that the manager never washed his dirty linen in public? Nae 'we wuz rubbish' story for you to report on? Diddums.

Ah, so we've got to see tears and snotters from players following a defeat for their pain to be real? Maybe, just maybe, as I suggested earlier they really did act with a touch of class and dignity.

It'll happen a lot sooner than your horrible rag stops believing every last word of drivel you get fed from the bigot brothers media management. Sort out your own lack of objectivity before questioning others.

Colin, I conclude that you're a wanker. Now fuck off back to your other duty of offering McCoist fellatio on demand.

The guys a fucking knobjockey. We weren't good enough but kept battling. That's why it wasn't a humping. Did he choose not to see that? Also the players looked well gutted as they walked round and thanked us. Prick

Now you have to ask yourself how Dundee Utd who are no better than us took this same Celtic team to extra time in the semi last month and were very unlucky to lose and St Mirren who are worse than us actually beat them in the League Cup semi yet they completely steam rollered over the top of us.
Dont know how i missed this earlier but...
Total pish
FFs lets go home and sit in a dark cupboard
Or go out and get pished and say fuck it....its a game of fitba, we all want to win but ffs life goes on:banger:
I went straight home after last years game, wasnt doing it this time, if you think that is because i accept mediocrity then you are way of the fuckin mark

The guys a fucking knobjockey. We weren't good enough but kept battling. That's why it wasn't a humping. Did he choose not to see that? Also the players looked well gutted as they walked round and thanked us. Prick

Williams made one save worthy of the name in the game. The side who won 3-0 didn't even win a fecking corner in the game!

I'm no remotely saying we deserved to win the game, but it's being presented as though we got slaughtered, and we didn't. I personally thought 3-0 was harsh in terms of the final result at the time. I've watched it again and nothing has changed my opinion of that. Celtics first goal was a killer, but it came from about 5 mistakes (some worse than others) from various Hibs players (Claros, Maybury, Williams, Hanlon, and McGivern in roughly that order) and not exactly a team clinically dismantling us.

Turns out the 1st goal was crucial, we barely looked like scoring after it as Celtic just contained everything we did. That was something they done against Barcelona successfully, it's no like they just opened up and played.

Williams made one save worthy of the name in the game. The side who won 3-0 didn't even win a fecking corner in the game!

I'm no remotely saying we deserved to win the game, but it's being presented as though we got slaughtered, and we didn't. I personally thought 3-0 was harsh in terms of the final result at the time. I've watched it again and nothing has changed my opinion of that. Celtics first goal was a killer, but it came from about 5 mistakes (some worse than others) from various Hibs players (Claros, Maybury, Williams, Hanlon, and McGivern in roughly that order) and not exactly a team clinically dismantling us.

Turns out the 1st goal was crucial, we barely looked like scoring after it as Celtic just contained everything we did. That was something they done against Barcelona successfully, it's no like they just opened up and played.
Totally Al. And we were still going forward at the end. I remember us having a corner with 5 minutes to go and our centre halves were still up for it. Wee boozy kept running at them and Taiwo had a shot blocked late on if I remember correctly. Shite journalism at it,s worst

This thread has been viewed 12441 times.