Mother's Ruin

blue toon hibby

Any gin drinkers in the house? . . . makes a change from a whisky/wine thread . . . they say that gin is the new whisky anyway.

A couple of months ago I treated myself to a bottle of Rock Rose Gin on a recommendation. It was also recommended that I drink it with Fever Tree Tonic. Well, I just opened the bottle today and have to say it is excellent stuff. Fortunately for me the wife doesn't like gin so that's an added bonus. I also passed on the recommendation to a lady who is opening a gin bar in her West Coast hotel and had 36 varieties on order - 37 after I mentioned Rock Rose.

Anyone else have any gin suggestions/recommendations?

Partial to a Bombay Sapphire, or the local stuff in Minorca which is 'unperfumed' - it was the smell of gin that used to put me off.
The Edinburgh Raspberry gin is pretty tasty, and if you top up a glass of icy cold Cava with the raspeberry stuff it makes a delicious wee cocktail.

I may start trying different gins now too - it's a whole new world of alcoholic blackouts awaiting me!

Fockin gin, Spanish supermarket special.

It's a name you can't forgot and when you're on your balcony after a good night out looking for a wee snifter watching the sun come up you're beyond fockin caring. It all tastes the fockin same :-)

Hendricks is my gin of choice but have recently taken a liking to Tanqueray Rangpur.

Another thing I would recommend is the Edinburgh Gin distillery tour. Excellent value at ÂŁ25.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk 2

I never considered drinking gin before I went to a bar on howe Street to watch Scotland v Oz in the rugby wc
Me and her noticed that there was another couple getting what looked like vip treatment and had a fancy looking food platter each served on slates they also had a rack of drinks put down to them and various types of tonic waters
We waited until the bar lady left them alone and inquired what that was all about
It was a gin tasting and fancy food acomplements to go with it
It was one of them itson deals and were told that it cost ÂŁ15 for two
So when we got back home the missus looked online and bought the offer and we went back to Stockbridge for the Oz v Argentina semi final
I have to admit that I could get used to drinking gin and the offer was pretty good value even more so for me because she couldn't drink it
We got what I think was five large gins with different types of tonic water along with a different garnish that was supposed to compliment the type of gin
The bar women was very clued up on anything gin and they all had a different taste
Don't ask me what one I preferred tho, in fact it was this thread that just reminded me that I was there
If you like gin and the deal is still on then I suggest you give it a bash
I'm sure it's called gin float

I never considered drinking gin before I went to a bar on howe Street to watch Scotland v Oz in the rugby wc
Me and her noticed that there was another couple getting what looked like vip treatment and had a fancy looking food platter each served on slates they also had a rack of drinks put down to them and various types of tonic waters
We waited until the bar lady left them alone and inquired what that was all about
It was a gin tasting and fancy food acomplements to go with it
It was one of them itson deals and were told that it cost ÂŁ15 for two
So when we got back home the missus looked online and bought the offer and we went back to Stockbridge for the Oz v Argentina semi final
I have to admit that I could get used to drinking gin and the offer was pretty good value even more so for me because she couldn't drink it
We got what I think was five large gins with different types of tonic water along with a different garnish that was supposed to compliment the type of gin
The bar women was very clued up on anything gin and they all had a different taste
Don't ask me what one I preferred tho, in fact it was this thread that just reminded me that I was there
If you like gin and the deal is still on then I suggest you give it a bash
I'm sure it's called gin float
Funny you should mention 'It is on' deals, Gaz as me and Kels were up the Bridges on Sat using same deal. Not for gin but for cocktails. Though gin was in some of the cocktails and my story later on. ÂŁ15 for a brisket pizza, sauerkraut bagelburger & 2 cocktails in the 'Whistlestop Barber Shop'. Nice place, nice grub, barry choons(reggae/ska) and lovely cocktails. Ended up having about 5 each with a few jars anaw.

We had another deal to go to later. A 'Groupon' yin which was 2 cocktails & sharing nachos for 9 blabs. (these deals are barry) in the 'Pilgrim' bar doon the Cowgate, so to kill some time we went to the Captains Bar across the road. First time I've been in there. A foosty auld pub, quite pricey but with live folk music on. Standing at the bar tanning our whiskies, my mild form of tourettes kicked in again as I seemingly said out quite loud "Tanquerary!". "You ken you just did it again?" says she laughing "Eh?....What did I say now?" So she explains and I'm like I've never heard of it before? Then spot it on the gantry and read that it is a gin. So there ya go, my brain must read things and come out my mouth without me knowing about it. I dunno what it is that makes me do this? but the first time it happened involved a "Megabus!"

The musicians were good but I had to leave as I was pissin myself at a wee Irish woman who after the lads had just finished Van Morrisons - "And It Stoned Me" said "What a lovely song. What's that one called then?"

And it stoned me to my soul
Stoned me just like Jelly Roll
And it stoned me
Stoned me just like goin' home
And it stoned me

Jeezo Mrs! :doh

Just as I was leaving I bumped into Mr Hibs. In the Captains Bar! Really?.. Sir Patrick Of Stanton?...No No No!

Well, when I say Mr Hibs I really meant Mr H. Ibbs. :dents

DSC_0280_zpszyrhx7wy.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Back on thread. There is gin joints aw over Embra now but I'm not a big fan of the stuff unless it's in cocktails really.

Cheers!

:drinking:

Funny you should mention 'It is on' deals, Gaz as me and Kels were up the Bridges on Sat using same deal. Not for gin but for $#@!tails. Though gin was in some of the $#@!tails and my story later on. ÂŁ15 for a brisket pizza, sauerkraut bagelburger & 2 $#@!tails in the 'Whistlestop Barber Shop'. Nice place, nice grub, barry choons(reggae/ska) and lovely $#@!tails. Ended up having about 5 each with a few jars anaw.

We had another deal to go to later. A 'Groupon' yin which was 2 $#@!tails & sharing nachos for 9 blabs. (these deals are barry) in the 'Pilgrim' bar doon the Cowgate, so to kill some time we went to the Captains Bar across the road. First time I've been in there. A foosty auld pub, quite pricey but with live folk music on. Standing at the bar tanning our whiskies, my mild form of tourettes kicked in again as I seemingly said out quite loud "Tanquerary!". "You ken you just did it again?" says she laughing "Eh?....What did I say now?" So she explains and I'm like I've never heard of it before? Then spot it on the gantry and read that it is a gin. So there ya go, my brain must read things and come out my mouth without me knowing about it. I dunno what it is that makes me do this? but the first time it happened involved a "Megabus!"

The musicians were good but I had to leave as I was pissin myself at a wee Irish woman who after the lads had just finished Van Morrisons - "And It Stoned Me" said "What a lovely song. What's that one called then?"

Stoned me just like Jelly Roll
And it stoned me
Stoned me just like goin' home
And it stoned me

Jeezo Mrs! :doh

Just as I was leaving I bumped into Mr Hibs. In the Captains Bar! Really?.. Sir Patrick Of Stanton?...No No No!

Well, when I say Mr Hibs I really meant Mr H. Ibbs. :dents

DSC_0280_zpszyrhx7wy.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Back on thread. There is gin joints aw over Embra now but I'm not a big fan of the stuff unless it's in $#@!tails really.

Cheers!

:drinking:
Must have a look at that one beef sounds like it good be worth a bash
We were the same think I had five or six jars before the gin float so my pallet was probably goosed even though they supplied us with a fancy bottle of water to rinse with
They sell a lager called innis something it's a Scottish one maybe Edinburgh my memory is faded
We then ripped through the cocktail menu which was also very good
It's not the cheapest place to frequent but that mothers bar is defo worth a visit mate

Must have a look at that one beef sounds like it good be worth a bash
We were the same think I had five or six jars before the gin float so my pallet was probably goosed even though they supplied us with a fancy bottle of water to rinse with
They sell a lager called innis something it's a Scottish one maybe Edinburgh my memory is faded
We then ripped through the cocktail menu which was also very good
It's not the cheapest place to frequent but that mothers bar is defo worth a visit mate
You do that 'Mothers' is a gay bar aye? :giggle: Not that it matters. I used to get my poppers fae the auld 'Blue Moon Cafe'. :giggle:

Lol it's no now I used to get poppers fae there myself yonks ago
It's full of what looked like heterosexual male and females when I was in, mainly students and thespian looking types
I've nothing against gay bars either and I would say that I probably looked the campest guy in there especially amongst those big strapping rugby blokes with the now obligatory ott facial hair that's all the rage the now

Lol it's no now I used to get poppers fae there myself yonks ago
It's full of what looked like heterosexual male and females when I was in, mainly students and thespian looking types
I've nothing against gay bars either and I would say that I probably looked the campest guy in there especially amongst those big strapping rugby blokes with the now obligatory ott facial hair that's all the rage the now

Make yer mind up
:shock:

Were they heterosexual or thespians :dunno:

Gin is fuckin bangin.

Ever tried a gin & red bull?

Classless but classic.

Gin Martini. Best way to get a party started and no mistake.

Gin & Tonic cannot actually be beat by any other drink. Always have one on flight, tradition as fuck.

Will be consuming one on the way back up the road in about 30 minutes.

Gin Martini. Best way to get a party started and no mistake.

This has me curious, i have to try it. Thats my friday sorted.

And a Supersonic in a can is a cracking train drink. :thumbgrin

Tanqueray for me. I'm partial to my mate's gin cocktail - gin, bramble liqueur and tonic over ice.

Sent by telepathy.

Wasn't a big gin drinker until I tried this Galician gin called Nordes when I was in Santiago de Compostela for a mate's 50th last year. It's absolutely delicious but quite hard to get hold of over here so I get my mate to bring me a bottle whenever he's back. If you're in Spain or Portugal it's well worth picking up a bottle. Only about ÂŁ20. Large measure of that in a tall glass with lots of ice, filled up with Fever Tree tonic and a slice of lime. Mmmm, nice!

:thumbgrin

Tanqueray for me. I'm partial to my mate's gin $#@!tail - gin, bramble liqueur and tonic over ice.

Sent by telepathy.

Thanks for that - I bought some bramble liqueur in the summer and haven't opened it yet - will do tonight though :yeah:

Sumerhall arts centre has a boozer called royal dicks insife it and its got gin on tap. It's pickering gin which is distilled downstairs and has copper pipping so that it can be served on tap, would recommend

Sumerhall arts centre has a boozer called royal $#@!s insife it and its got gin on tap. It's pickering gin which is distilled downstairs and has copper pipping so that it can be served on tap, would recommend
Which sums up gin drinking in 2015 perfectly. Hipster art house craft gin. Dear oh dear.

Every man goes thru a G&T stage in life tho so not criticising anyone for drinking a birds tipple favoured by man-bun bearded wankers.

Gin making has been creative (well in my eyes) of recent times but the prices are extortionate in comparison with it's Whisky cousins. Both males and females drinking it will no doubt influence that. Canny see a burd hurling back a shan Auchentoshan or a shite White & MacKay any time soon.