Mobile signal/data in UK

kaimendhibs

Fucking disgrace. Absolutely woeful. I live in central belt, work in Edinburgh. The number of times I lose a call or look at phone to see date is 'E' or 'H' is off the scale. Imo its a national scandal. Was watching one of those fly on the wall hospital documentaries, guy kept getting cut off from paramedics phoning in vital info.
I got better service in an elephant sanctuary in Thailand.
This is a scandal which will/probably has cost lives

Fucking disgrace. Absolutely woeful. I live in central belt, work in Edinburgh. The number of times I lose a call or look at phone to see date is 'E' or 'H' is off the scale. Imo its a national scandal. Was watching one of those fly on the wall hospital documentaries, guy kept getting cut off from paramedics phoning in vital info.
Too right. I’ve been at the top of mountains in the Alps and get a full power signal. Cannie even get that in my house that’s a mile away from the mast

I’ve been working in chester st, midway between west end and haymarket… big business, financial, lawyer as in lots money and very expensive housing.
Not only the house im working in but on the street is absolutely ridiculously bad.
Just as an example of the cost to stay or work there, is £7.40 an hour to park your car!!
It’s actually pathetic, centre of the capital city and you absolutely struggle to connect to a mobile service.
But as long as the council charge more to park than some people earn in wages for an hour 🙈 then council are ambivalent.
Is it the set up? Council permits for masts or anything like that?
I’ve not got a clue but it’s ridiculous
Is it our city problem or mobile services?
Does any other city suffer as bad 🤷‍♂️

Were you making a trunk call?

I’ve been working in chester st, midway between west end and haymarket… big business, financial, lawyer as in lots money and very expensive housing.
Not only the house im working in but on the street is absolutely ridiculously bad.
Just as an example of the cost to stay or work there, is £7.40 an hour to park your car!!
It’s actually pathetic, centre of the capital city and you absolutely struggle to connect to a mobile service.
But as long as the council charge more to park than some people earn in wages for an hour 🙈 then council are ambivalent.
Is it the set up? Council permits for masts or anything like that?
I’ve not got a clue but it’s ridiculous
Is it our city problem or mobile services?
Does any other city suffer as bad 🤷‍♂️
Poor infrastructure for sure, but also rock solid stone buildings in the Georgian parts of town. Signal killers par excellence.

North Berwick is a near blackout on O2
As well as coverage there is physics involved. Don’t know about O2 but EE I’m told, uses a bandwidth that gives it long reach - ie can still get a signal miles from a mast - but low penetrability, stand behind a piece of tissue paper and it won’t get through. All to do with wavelengths and stuff that I don’t understand well.

Stone really fucks things up anaw. When I used to work away, I’d have google maps open on personal android phone and work iPhone and both would be sending me in opposite directions - and not cos of route planning, cos they didn’t know where the feck I was. That’s prolly gps rather than 4g but similar principles I suspect.

Only time I cannae get on my phone is at Easter Road. Probably lost a fortune when I couldnae get on tae cash oot bets. I’m thinking of upgrading tae an iPhone 3:coffee1:

I have difficulty there too, at the back of the FFU.
If you turn off 4G and switch to 3G……..

Hey Presto!!!

Still shite, but a bit better.

I have difficulty there too, at the back of the FFU.
If you turn off 4G and switch to 3G……..

Hey Presto!!!

Still shite, but a bit better.
I'll try that next season. Any shite is better than nae shite.