Longbangers episodes

Great pod lads. I think his time is most definitely up, I don't see us improving under this guy next season he's clearly not got a clue, anyone with half a brain can see tavares should be nowhere near our club yet this guy not only keeps putting him on the bench he fucking brings him on most games when we're chasing games so he obviously rates him and if thats the kind of players he rates I wouldn't trust him with another transfer window 😂
Pretty sure you’re wrong.

Picking Jair would indicate to me that you have only half a brain.

Great pod lads. I think his time is most definitely up, I don't see us improving under this guy next season he's clearly not got a clue, anyone with half a brain can see tavares should be nowhere near our club yet this guy not only keeps putting him on the bench he fucking brings him on most games when we're chasing games so he obviously rates him and if thats the kind of players he rates I wouldn't trust him with another transfer window 😂
Cheers. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a manager turn it around from this stage. There are very few folk backing him (from what I can see, anyway) and no real opportunity to turn that around between now and the end of the season.

Aye I'll be surprised if this regime sticks by him as they've fired managers for less. If he is sacked whoever is touting these last 3 managers should walk also. Massive clear out needed from top to bottom this summer mate

Ep264 Falling Apart Again

We pick the bones out another embarrassing result in Monty's tenure as we go straight to your talking points.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Monty Fired/Malky Hired!

You can listen to our phone in now!

Brilliant addition to the longbangers format this lads. Good to hear some sensible views on all things Hibs this week totally agree with everything that was said the only thing i would add is mckay is more than qualified to do this job as he's worked at the highest level

I spoke to a couple of folk at the SFA independently when his name was first rumoured - mostly, because I went "ffs" when I heard his name.

They couldn't have been more complimentary about him and his credentials and they thought he would do a great job, if you could get past the baggage that comes with him.

Biggest issue for me with Malky's appointment is that he's pals with Malcolm McPherson. Crazy that our selection process, out of everyone available, pointed to a close personal friend of the chairman as the best man for the job.

It stinks of jobs for the boys and genuinely makes me question whether folk at the club are taking any of this seriously.

Would love to know who else we spoke to and ruled out and what the selection process was.

Biggest issue for me with Malky's appointment is that he's pals with Malcolm McPherson. Crazy that our selection process, out of everyone available, pointed to a close personal friend of the chairman as the best man for the job.

It stinks of jobs for the boys and genuinely makes me question whether folk at the club are taking any of this seriously.

Would love to know who else we spoke to and ruled out and what the selection process was.
We appointed our last manager on a similar basis.
That worked well.
:cover:

I spoke to a couple of folk at the SFA independently when his name was first rumoured - mostly, because I went "ffs" when I heard his name.

They couldn't have been more complimentary about him and his credentials and they thought he would do a great job, if you could get past the baggage that comes with him.
Aye a thought as much. For me if he was good enough to be employed by a fellow premiership club and our football association then he's good enough to be employed with us but aye a never knew he was pals wi malcolm until you said that on the phone in, that does reek of jobs for the boys which is shite patter and the timing of this announcement and the way its been done is absolutely amateur as fuck as well and it does look like it's been done to take the heat away from Kensell

Football is all about contacts though. Every time a new manager is appointed there’s chat about hoping he uses his contacts to unearth some good players… yet when the chairman uses his contacts to help find a Sporting Director it’s “jobs for the boys”? I don’t see it that way. Now Ron appointed Iain as Head of Recruitment, that was jobs for the boys!

Enjoyed yesterday's podcast Matty, first one I have listened to all the way through. Agreed with a lot of the points made; to me it is an appointment lacking in ambition and also one that probably rules out a lot of the guys I had in mind for next manager. Also, knowing the divisive firestorm it would unleash amongst our support, was it really worth all the hassle for Malky. Fuckin. Mackay?! Time will tell. Mark McGhee for next Hibs boss...

Football is all about contacts though. Every time a new manager is appointed there’s chat about hoping he uses his contacts to unearth some good players… yet when the chairman uses his contacts to help find a Sporting Director it’s “jobs for the boys”? I don’t see it that way. Now Ron appointed Iain as Head of Recruitment, that was jobs for the boys!
I get that football, like loads of jobs, is about contacts but this role is hugely important at this time for Hibs and it surely should have gone through a proper recruitment process to find the best candidate, rather than giving it to a pal.

Might be being unfair, they maybe did that and Malky was the best candidate, bit without knowing what the process was then it does look like a bit of nepotism (although not family).

Our final match review episode of the season is out now, we take a look back at the draw at Livi, go through the talking points and also discuss Malky Mackay's appointment.

We are a day late with our phone in this week, but you can catch it here (and on podcast players in the next few minutes)

We cover the hunt for a new head coach, highlights of the season, and what Tiago Pinto's appointment at Bournemouth means for the Hibees.

We are a day late with our phone in this week, but you can catch it here (and on podcast players in the next few minutes)

We cover the hunt for a new head coach, highlights of the season, and what Tiago Pinto's appointment at Bournemouth means for the Hibees.
Enjoyed the pod, one thing I would say about the BK investment - you mentioned how they would have a blueprint for success that each team in the group should follow. That to me is dangerous as one size never fits all, Scotland is different from France which is not the same as England. I see it more that Pinto will be overseeing but each sporting director must be able to use local knowledge.

Yeah I agree, though I think the basics will be the same you need someone local to understand what works for that club, which I guess is where Mackay comes in.

We had a cracking phone in tonight, some great views from Hibs fans on the Head Coach, Youan, and what positions need strengthened:

Podcast versions will be out shortly.

We had a cracking phone in tonight, some great views from Hibs fans on the Head Coach, Youan, and what positions need strengthened:

Podcast versions will be out shortly.
Missed it again, will catch up on podcast

Don’t do phone ins mate.
When these *&*^ at Samaritans hung up on me, I thought “What the fuck”.

Then I thought they probably didn’t really hang.

*&*^.

Give them enough rope…..

And they probably didn’t.
Hahaha amazing :grinning-smiley-045:

Ep 267 An Exhibstential Crisis

We talk about short term thinking at Hibs, ask questions of those running the club and consider if we are about to see the start of better times.

If Hibs have indeed mothballed the indoor training area at East Mains then I think that is a very bad decision.
It's much needed, and should have been built long before now.

If Hibs have indeed mothballed the indoor training area at East Mains then I think that is a very bad decision.
It's much needed, and should have been built long before now.
I thought it was part of the terms of the pitch of the black knights coming on board tbh. Worrying even they are indecisive when I was clinging on to hope they had a clear plan for the club.

We had heard from a couple of sources that Kensell had said that the infrastructure projects were getting put on the back burner to focus money on the team, @baldy foghorn confirmed it on .net along with another poster.

Thanks Matty, that's not the best news imo. We do need a quick fix but building for the future and attracting potential signings with the best facilities as vital if not more important long term.

I wonder if paying off the management team had an impact on the budgets.

Seems to me to be very short sighted to not improve the training centre

We dinnae play games indoors, we dinnae need an indoor pitch. We went tae Dubai tae get used tae playing in the heat. The nearest we got tae playing in the heat was the League Cup games... we got put out in the first round! Waste of money.:42:

The club thought we needed an indoor pitch as recently as February, and most clubs that have the means to have one to train on, have one - they don't play indoors either! If you've been out to HTC and experienced the wind out there especially, then an indoor pitch would be a huge benefit. For the days when training outside would be an issue due to the weather, having a facility bigger than the wee barn that is there at the moment allows for training to go unaffected and would give the players more effective time on the training pitch.

As for Dubai, imagine how bad we'd have been without that trip! :grinning-smiley-045:

Thanks Matty, that's not the best news imo. We do need a quick fix but building for the future and attracting potential signings with the best facilities as vital if not more important long term.
I totally agree. I get the argument about spending it on the team but my gut feeling is that it's an easy thing to say that we'll spend more on the first team when in fact, we're not going ahead because doing so would make the accounts look bad again after Kensell said they would be better.

I hate the short term thinking, we bounce about from one strategy to the next and it just leaves a shambles behind.

I wonder if paying off the management team had an impact on the budgets.

Seems to me to be very short sighted to not improve the training centre
Paying them off, no Scottish Cup run of note, and finishing 8th would all have impacted the budgets. The season was a disaster.

I totally agree. I get the argument about spending it on the team but my gut feeling is that it's an easy thing to say that we'll spend more on the first team when in fact, we're not going ahead because doing so would make the accounts look bad again after Kensell said they would be better.

I hate the short term thinking, we bounce about from one strategy to the next and it just leaves a shambles behind.

Paying them off, no Scottish Cup run of note, and finishing 8th would all have impacted the budgets. The season was a disaster.

The Gordon’s don’t let any of these long term strategies breathe, and that’s because they don’t put short term plans in place to facilitate them.

It’s a sequence of poor decision after poor decision: starts with binning Graeme Mathie rather than defining what his role actually should be and giving him a couple of people around him to make it work, then deciding we don’t need a Sporting Director and Ian Gordon can be head of recruitment.

Then there’s the chucking money at a development squad plan, brining in Steve Kean to build it, with the long term goal of creating first team players… while also spend big money on players who aren’t ready for the first team, yet not playing them in the development squad or sending them out on loan… all while not properly backing Jack Ross or Shaun Maloney in the transfer windows. Piss poor results and performances inevitably follow, managers are sacked, Steve Kean mysteriously departs, the development squad financial burden remains but it’s no longer really part of the plan, and none of Ian Gordon’s project players make any impact on the first team.

Then there’s Lee Johnson… less said the better.

Then Brian McDermott is given the DOF role, but that isn’t really his role and he’s just an overpaid scout? It’s unclear if he even has a place at the club less than a year after starting his DOF role…

Now we’re back to a Sporting Director, which we had when the Gordon’s bought the club, and we’re now having to pin our hopes that Malky Mackay can get us back on track.

The Gordon’s have put so much money in and have spent it so badly, it’s frightening. I hate to say it, but their tenure has been a complete and utter shambles.

100% mate.

The club thought we needed an indoor pitch as recently as February, and most clubs that have the means to have one to train on, have one - they don't play indoors either! If you've been out to HTC and experienced the wind out there especially, then an indoor pitch would be a huge benefit. For the days when training outside would be an issue due to the weather, having a facility bigger than the wee barn that is there at the moment allows for training to go unaffected and would give the players more effective time on the training pitch.

As for Dubai, imagine how bad we'd have been without that trip! :grinning-smiley-045:
PISH! And dinnae get me started on the weather, fuckin pishin rain, freezing could and snow, why dae we no get weather like Real Madrid? See how good they are.
For the avoidance of any cvnt that might think otherwise, I was kidding... Apart fae the weather bit!
Fuckin ridiculous God or Ben or Ian, whoever's in charge.

hibeesbounce

Support The Bounce

£38.75
Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  38.8%