Full Time: - Livi 2 v 2 Hibs | 1875's Hibs Chat | HibeesBounce

Full Time: Livi 2 v 2 Hibs

Tomorrow, we're away to Livi. Hang about - didn't we just play them?

This will be a short preview, as I'm leaving for Livi shortly to show my respects and say goodbye to Mark. I hope to see a few of you today.

As far as the team goes I suspect a few changes:

Sallinger
Rocky - Hanley - Iredale
Mulligan-Barlaser-Chaiwa-Obita
McGrath
Boyle-Klidje

Bench looks to have plenty on it, that was another good effort from Hoilett last night

I'd like it if Hibs didn't concede in the 45th+ or 90th+ minutes

A confidence boosting win please, or I may be forced to talk about green socks again

As always though, that's my thoughts, I'm more interested in hearing yours

Hibernian Forever
For Mark

Sallinger
O’Hora. Hanley. Iredale
Chaiwa. Mulligan. Barlaser. N Cadden
McGrath
Bowie. Klidje
Chaiwa as a rwb Mulligan in the middle with Barlaser
McGrath behind the front two who play as a two, not KB as an outball . Apparently SDG has said why Chris was subbed on hibs observer which I don’t subscribe to, so he could well be in the starting line - up, which would put the kybosh on most people’s predictions I would’ve thought 🤔
Boyle,Hoilett and Youan to come on if needed, doubt it with that starting line up .
Pls dont protect a lead WHEN we get it David 🤞

Thoughts with Marks family and friends on this very sad day 🥲

If Gray can't set the team and tactics up to get the best out of Bowie then there's no point him starting. Here's a thought...Campbell centre forward.
Klidje inside right or left, wherever he's comfortable. Boyle right wing.

Tomorrow, we're away to Livi. Hang about - didn't we just play them?

This will be a short preview, as I'm leaving for Livi shortly to show my respects and say goodbye to Mark. I hope to see a few of you today.

As far as the team goes I suspect a few changes:

Sallinger
Rocky - Hanley - Iredale
Mulligan-Barlaser-Chaiwa-Obita
McGrath
Boyle-Klidje

Bench looks to have plenty on it, that was another good effort from Hoilett last night

I'd like it if Hibs didn't concede in the 45th+ or 90th+ minutes

A confidence boosting win please, or I may be forced to talk about green socks again

As always though, that's my thoughts, I'm more interested in hearing yours

Hibernian Forever
For Mark
I think he will start the same as Wednesday. Cadden will be back in and Mulligan back in the middle.
I think we should wear socks it’s tae be a bit chilly the morning.😊
Wife has a hospital appointment this morning so hoping tae get tae through once she’s out.

We've beaten Livi comfortably twice already this season. It's not going to be a walk in the park this time is it?

I'd play Boyle and Klidge up top. Might be time to ditch the 352 anaw, it worked well last season but teams have us sussed.

If Gray can't set the team and tactics up to get the best out of Bowie then there's no point him starting. Here's a thought...Campbell centre forward.
Klidje inside right or left, wherever he's comfortable. Boyle right wing.
Can the other coaches not see the problem either, do they not advise, or are they all of the same mindset as David . It’s pretty obvious IMO

What are you expecting of Bowie?
He has hardly been a goal machine so far in his career.
A goal every 5-6 games while on loan at Northampton.
Better at ER granted, but i dont expect him to be banging in 25 goals a season.

We've beaten Livi comfortably twice already this season. It's not going to be a walk in the park this time is it?

I'd play Boyle and Klidge up top. Might be time to ditch the 352 anaw, it worked well last season but teams have us sussed.
Question 1 answer, It should be .
Boyle - Klidje will only work if MB passes the ball .
Three priorites
1 stop having a target man
2 stop fannying about at the back
3 front two work together ( KB and TK atm are building a relationship, getting the ball to them ( not with hoofball ) is the key . We now have the players in Mulligan and McGrath to get us forward to support a front two, whoever they are 🤔
As others have said, it’s the best squad we have had for a while, we need to play to their strengths

And sign a rwb IF we are playing a back 3 or a rb if playing a back 4 🤞

Do you think the system plays to his strengths?

His goals per game were better before he was asked to play the target man, not his game 😩. As part of a two he WILL score more . Who was the last striker we had who scored 25 goals a season?🤷‍♂️ . I’d be looking for 12 - 15 from KB AND TK if played correctly . Just my opinion mind 👍

We beat Livi comfortably very recently, and played well against Aberdeen, so don’t think we need to be concerned even though it was really poor against the Huns. That said it’s 3 games in 6 days so expect a couple chances.

I hope O’Hora is fit as Rocky doesn’t move the ball quickly enough from that right centre back role. McGrath looked burst maybe a sub for this one, and the best thing for Chris Cadden would be to get back out there and get over Wednesday night. Bowie hasn’t done enough for a while now, I understand the point some have made about what he’s being asked to do, but a striker needs to help the team in the build up and get into the box - Bowie isn’t doing that right now.

My team would be:
Salinger
O’Hora Hanley Iredale
Cadden Mulligan Barlaser Cadden
Campbell
Boyle Klidje

Big improvement required from Wednesday night...which was as insipid a Hibs home performance as I have seen for a long time.
Different kind of challenge tomorrow, and even though we have comfortably beaten Livingston twice already this season, I have a feeling this one is going to be a lot harder.

I'm beginning to come round to Hammi's suggestion that Josh Campbell should be played as an auxiliary striker until such time as we get a proper target man in during January.
He's a tough lad, good in the air, can hold the ball up and has an eye for goal.
Bowie and Klidge supporting him, or maybe coming on later to affect the game.

Martin Boyle also has to play. I can never quite take the criticism of him seriously.
He's a Hibs legend and has scored over 100 goals for us despite not being a natural striker...a diamond of a player IMO, and still the one forward our opponents fear the most.
We must start taking more of our chances, and please no more late goals conceded in time added on.

1-0 Hibs.

Don’t get the requirement for a target man myself . We have four strikers, three with pace and one with tactical awareness . We only need a target man if we’re playing hoof , with the skill players we have we should be able to get the ball forward and create chances without a target man 🤷‍♂️
Play to our strengths we should dispatch livi comfortably 2/3-0 with no sitting back pls .

Don’t get the requirement for a target man myself . We have four strikers, three with pace and one with tactical awareness . We only need a target man if we’re playing hoof , with the skill players we have we should be able to get the ball forward and create chances without a target man 🤷‍♂️

What we should, and what we do aren't the same.

Didn't we already play Campbell as cf last year during our crap form or end of season before?

Got a feelin we did and it was an unmitigated disaster as no crosses ever reached him ir ge wasn't in the right spot when they did arrive?

So no, I just don't think we have the personnel for that experiment. But I am struggling to see a better setup with what we have at present.

Didn't we already play Campbell as cf last year during our crap form or end of season before?

Got a feelin we did and it was an unmitigated disaster as no crosses ever reached him ir ge wasn't in the right spot when they did arrive?

So no, I just don't think we have the personnel for that experiment. But I am struggling to see a better setup with what we have at present.

That's his position? Attacking midfield supporting the forwards. Played there almost every appearance last season, including during our run?

Not up front, not a striker.
But behind them. Doing the grunt work so they can work on getting in behind. Super important when Mykola wasn't available.

Actually
I think he did play up front one game, wanna say against Hunco early in the season.

I reckon David will start with the same 11 that started against the huns. I would (if he’s available) put O’Hora back in instead of Rocky. I am very unsure what I’d do with Chris C, give him this game to redeem himself or bench him. He was a bombscare in the 20 minutes he got v huns.

Agree on all points apart from cc, we need to rest him now and try other options, even shape change 👍

I think we'll maybe end up with Mulligan out there and Chaiwa in midfield.
But it's not the move.

I really want us to change shape.

That's his position? Attacking midfield supporting the forwards. Played there almost every appearance last season, including during our run?

Not up front, not a striker.
But behind them. Doing the grunt work so they can work on getting in behind. Super important when Mykola wasn't available.

Actually
I think he did play up front one game, wanna say against Hunco early in the season.
Hmm I seem to recall more than once as a striker, esp when sub or we were struggling. But maybe I am getting mixed up wi someone else. Agree his best pos is supporting strikrrs.

DG looking tae freshen things up tomorrow so there will be nae same again.

I'm no sure if Chris Cadden has fully recovered from his long term injury. He seems to run and change direction awkwardly. I think we'll win narrowly 1 nil. Agree with benching Bowie, there might just be a wee bit fatigue there.

I think we'll maybe end up with Mulligan out there and Chaiwa in midfield.
But it's not the move.

I really want us to change shape.
Mulligan has to be in middle , I’ve already suggested Chaiwa at rwb but you may be right about changing shape, giving Megwa a try , he could change back mid - game if not working, something David seems reluctant to do, too set in his ways, as with certain players 🤷‍♂️

We have correctly kept the same team for the last few games as it had got us results, obviously on Wednesday, that wasn't the case, so while I don't think the performance was as bad as some made out, there definitely needs to be changes to the team as a result of it, personally I would go for :

Sallinger
Rocky
Hanley
Iredale

Megwa (we will never know what he can do if we don't try him, and if he can't perform against Livi with an otherwise full strength Hibs team, then he's not good enough, but let's give him a shot)
N Cadden

Mulligan
Barlaser (he wasn't outstanding on Wednesday, but when he went off, nobody from midfield was demanding the ball, and 90% of his passes were forward to try and keep us going the right way)
Campbell (McGrath needs a rest)

Klidje
Boyle (Bowie needs a rest, and the Livi defence are so slow, these two will terrorise them).

Bench :

Smith
O'Hora (if fit, if not then young Mitchell)
Hoilett
Bowie
Youan
Chaiwa (unlucky not to be starting if I'm honest)
C Cadden
Obita
McGrath

That bench gives us loads of options.

I'm not feeling hugely confident today. Or indeed for the rest of the season. Maybe I'm overreacting to Wednesday evening but I found us very very poor to the point I've lost the real hope i had for this season. I usually get these things wrong and I'm hoping I have again....

You're getting like yon gadgie fae Manchester man! :lollol

Many are feeling the same mate. Thing is we aren’t a bad team, we are not playing to our strengths. I am not sure anyone was aware of our tactics the other night. We never learned anything from the last game we played them. The most frustrating part is, they are shite and was there for the taking in both games. What happened to get into their faces and stopped them from playing. There was no press from us at all and this long ball nonsense needs to stop as well as the pissing about at the back with square passes. We are more effective playing our football on the deck. God knows what has happened to Bowie, but he isn’t that type of player which we are lacking badly. Another window not too far away and we are linked with another midfielder when we are screaming out for right wing back, right back and a striker that can fill that void that we are lacking.

You have 😜

Many are feeling the same mate. Thing is we aren’t a bad team, we are not playing to our strengths. I am not sure anyone was aware of our tactics the other night. We never learned anything from the last game we played them. The most frustrating part is, they are shite and was there for the taking in both games. What happened to get into their faces and stopped them from playing. There was no press from us at all and this long ball nonsense needs to stop as well as the pissing about at the back with square passes. We are more effective playing our football on the deck. God knows what has happened to Bowie, but he isn’t that type of player which we are lacking badly. Another window not too far away and we are linked with another midfielder when we are screaming out for right wing back, right back and a striker that can fill that void that we are lacking.
Good points but I’m not concerned atm 🤔

We have lost 2 league games this season, both by 1-0 to Hearts and the Huns.
We could have won both and at least deserved a point on each occasion.
I accept we are not flowing as well as we would all like, but we are not far away.
Well said, all this trepidation is weird 🤷‍♂️