L.A. Wildfires

It has been dreadful. I have never known winds this strong. The smoke is just awful.
Cali used to be known and feted in song for its lack of rain. Ironic now...

Hard to compare to anything I have ever experienced, wishing you safety and a swift change of weather from grey, cold Holland.

It has been dreadful. I have never known winds this strong. The smoke is just awful.
I feel for you mate. I've witnessed the colossal effect it can have in Kelowna in Canada. The danger, losing homes and possessions, breathing in the acrid air. I know that one unusual apect of these fires is that they can 'jump' distances, missing out homes and other buildings and onto the next properties.

I hope that international help will come to you, if it hasn't already. Take care of yourself.

Near you I take it? Is your home in danger?

There is a major fire about 15 miles west from my home in Burbank, the fire is spreading east due to the fierce winds and has reached Pasadena and I've heard people are being evacuated from it's potential course. FD can't get a handle on the fire because the winds prevent water drops from the air so it marches on. Same in the Palisades. But the smoke is going to be a problem, air quality has a few schools in the area closed, people being sent home. The fire has a long way to go before it threatens my home but fires like this can occur just anywhere now. I have seen fires quite close to my house before, people a few streets from me being evacuated. The wind has been really fierce and will remain for another 12 hours or so.

Doesn't help the water has been shut off.

There's a couple of videos online of firefighters trying to fight the blazes,but stating....The water is shut off.

Guaranteed they need that part of land for a 15 minute city,minerals that are in the ground...or something of the sorts.

Same story as the fires in Hawaii and Chile.

There is a major fire about 15 miles west from my home in Burbank, the fire is spreading east due to the fierce winds and has reached Pasadena and I've heard people are being evacuated from it's potential course. FD can't get a handle on the fire because the winds prevent water drops from the air so it marches on. Same in the Palisades. But the smoke is going to be a problem, air quality has a few schools in the area closed, people being sent home. The fire has a long way to go before it threatens my home but fires like this can occur just anywhere now. I have seen fires quite close to my house before, people a few streets from me being evacuated. The wind has been really fierce and will remain for another 12 hours or so.
I’m sure you are keeping an eye on it but stay safe all the same👍

Keep an eye out too in the aftermath of things that are blue.

In Chile they all started painting their houses blue after the fires....as nothing that was blue burnt.

Which is very bizarre for a natural fire.

In Chile they all started painting their houses blue after the fires....as nothing that was blue burnt.

Better than that the government could use that cloud seeding shite you were on about a few months ago.

There's your next conspiracy theory right there. Why don't they do it?

ToBe continued ... click here

There's a couple of videos online of firefighters trying to fight the blazes,but stating....The water is shut off.

Guaranteed they need that part of land for a 15 minute city,minerals that are in the ground...or something of the sorts.

Right so how does that happen then ???
The authorities send firefighters out , risking their lives, but at the same time, shut off the water supply. ?How many people are involved , even say percentage wise of the council, who knows the water is getting shut off? Do they just shut off the hydrants manually, or is it the complete water supply to the area ?
You’re a fuckin flat earth zoomer , and I seriously think you have mental issues . To the point where I am somewhat concerned. Help is out there if needed Ryan . I really think you could do with some.

I don’t think LA is ever going to be a 15 minute city. I stand to be corrected by @BurbankHibee but my understanding is that it is designed around the car.

Cali used to be known and feted in song for its lack of rain. Ironic now...

Hard to compare to anything I have ever experienced, wishing you safety and a swift change of weather from grey, cold Holland.
Aye, the current Dacia advert, California Dreaming, seems a little out of place.

I don’t think LA is ever going to be a 15 minute city. I stand to be corrected by @BurbankHibee but my understanding is that it is designed around the car.

Los Angeles is very car centric. Just too many people live here so the roads are really congested. And the idiot planners insist on putting bike lanes in and making it worse. They take pleasure in making drivers' lives miserable. I think it is the same in Edinburgh with all this 20mph speed limit nonsense.

Watching a plane spotter live stream from LAX and the guy coincidentally just filmed what he said was the first plane load of powder? Red water? to be loosed from above on the hills beyond the airport.

Jad just seen the weird plane land first and wondered what it was, 10m later there it was doing its thing because the wind had died sufficiently for it to do so. No doubt due to what I think you were saying in your post...

So hopefully wll cut down on the sudden spreading a bit 🤞

That's good if they can drop water from the air. It's probably colored water, so they can see where it lands but it could be a fire retardant.

Looks like 2 big burnt or burning areas you can see on the north side of the airport, one of them was where the plane sprayed down.

A perfect storm of overgrown vegetation, dry conditions and uncharacteristic winds are responsible for whipping up the most devastating wildfire Los Angeles has ever seen with more than 20 square miles razed to the ground in less than 48 hours.

The stunning time-lapse, stitched together from various live webcams, showed how a small plume of grey smoke began rising in a 'back garden' on the city's outskirts on Tuesday morning.

I was just reading as well that the Joe Rogan lad had a firefighter on his show just last year who said that LA had been lucky because of the wind direction before. This time it's changed. Poor fuckers.

Your best yet you absolute zoomer

Excellent! I'm gonna paint my Carrick Knowe abode blue this weekend.

Fucking trumpet.

Just seen this thread and thought to myself "I wonder if Ryan can conjure a bonkers conspiracy theory out of this?" and I've not been disappointed :popcorn3:
I thought it was wholly inappropriate to spraff that from him whilst we had bouncers who live in the vicinity, the potential risk to life, and the fires were still out of control

While appropriateness has never seemed a barrier to our esteemed colleague, tbf in this case he possibly believes he is giving useful advice. I’m not quite sure I would attempt to confidently stride through the flames upon donning my protective blue Jeans and jumper, but perhaps the bold yin might :;):

Aye, I did think down that line too, so I held my wheesht. Just thot to myself ffs, burbank is actually living through it, and whilst not in immediate danger, that could have changed at anytime. Last thing he wanted to read was his authorities were trying to kill him and his neighbours, by shutting water off or whatever shit was going through ryans bonce at the time.

Watched the live coverage of the fires all night. Maybe I shouldn't have because it really is stressing and causing anxiety even although I am not facing any threat of damage but the vibe this event creates is felt by everyone. During the evening a fire broke out in the Hollywood Hills area which caused quite a ruckus. There were evacuations in the area. The streets in the Hollywood Hills are extremely narrow and winding and parking on he street is not allowed but quite a few people do. It is so dangerous because if the street is blocked, you are going to have to hoof it to safety. I was just up there a couple of weeks ago and as we drove up there we remarked how hard it would be to get fire trucks up there! It was chaos in the area, absolute gridlock on the surrounding streets. That danger seems to have abated as evacuations have been lifted. I skirt round that area on my way to work and the place was very quiet. Perhaps because today is a federal holiday due to Jimmy Carter's funeral.

Just as well that global warming believer Trump is about to step up 🤐

Watched the live coverage of the fires all night. Maybe I shouldn't have because it really is stressing and causing anxiety even although I am not facing any threat of damage but the vibe this event creates is felt by everyone. During the evening a fire broke out in the Hollywood Hills area which caused quite a ruckus. There were evacuations in the area. The streets in the Hollywood Hills are extremely narrow and winding and parking on he street is not allowed but quite a few people do. It is so dangerous because if the street is blocked, you are going to have to hoof it to safety. I was just up there a couple of weeks ago and as we drove up there we remarked how hard it would be to get fire trucks up there! It was chaos in the area, absolute gridlock on the surrounding streets. That danger seems to have abated as evacuations have been lifted. I skirt round that area on my way to work and the place was very quiet. Perhaps because today is a federal holiday due to Jimmy Carter's funeral.
I seen the areas that are on fire on a tv program Million Dollar Listings. Some of the houses as you would expect are top drawer. I'd imagine they cost a pretty penny tae insure and I'm sure the owners can afford it. The insurance companies will take some hit I imagine.