Klidje

blue toon hibby

Randers manager not expecting them to exercise their right-to-buy option. Fresh start for him in pre-season?

Bit of an enigma is Klidge. 4 goals isnae much of a return for the money he reportedly cost.

But the 4 he got, isn't all that bad when compared to his opportunity.

Agree, weird one.

Think they mentioned him at the AGM, still expect his return, injury etc stopped his progress here, holding his game time back. Not that I agree with the excuse, because we sold a forward and shipped him out in the same window, making game time non existent.

The worry is us still expecting something from him, purely because we spent that money. If he's no up to it we need to make that decision sooner than later.

Gray was forever reluctant to use him. Not only to not select him to start but to introduce him from the bench with a genuine opportunity to play to his strengths. Gray has his system and he isn't going to change it to accommodate any player. I start to think we need fresh thinking from a coaching and tactical perspective to utilise what players we have....

Seems pretty quick could he play as a winger work on crosses?

I agree, said earlier I think he could make a right winger.
Don't play with wingers though. Can't see it happening any time soon either.

At the AGM Mackay seemed to imply Klidge would be back and playing his part in the first team next season.

I still think he is a good player with pace and an eye for goal. His goal against Livi at home was probably the best goal i've seen from Hibs this season so far, with the exception of Bowies against Partizan Belgrade. It showed what he was capable of. In his meagre seven starts, he got three goals which is quite a good return.

I think he was brought in with the long term aim of replacing Martin Boyle.

Gray was forever reluctant to use him. Not only to not select him to start but to introduce him from the bench with a genuine opportunity to play to his strengths. Gray has his system and he isn't going to change it to accommodate any player. I start to think we need fresh thinking from a coaching and tactical perspective to utilise what players we have....
Yup, or buy players he's going to play!

At the AGM Mackay seemed to imply Klidge would be back and playing his part in the first team next season.
What was the context to this? Randomly brought up or part of a bigger discussion about the squad? Were other players named?
I'd like to think Mackay knows there's rumblings about Gray and his choices and this may have been a subtle message that Gray won't be allowed to continue his stance with Klidje.

What was the context to this? Randomly brought up or part of a bigger discussion about the squad? Were other players named?
I'd like to think Mackay knows there's rumblings about Gray and his choices and this may have been a subtle message that Gray won't be allowed to continue his stance with Klidje.

I've a wee hunch that Klidje is just not good enough.
Maybe one of our 'costly mistake' signings.

The confusion over the terms of his loan deal, and the word coming back that he's not doing much there either makes me think Sir David may be spot on.

No Boyle next season… does that open up an opportunity for him?

I'd really hope to see us sign someone with a track record to replace Boyle.

That's our longest serving, most experienced and most efficient forward.
Gone.

Can't be replaced with a guy who couldn't get minutes here or on his loan spell away. Not confidently. Surely.
And that's no even to say Klidje doesn't have a future, potential or good points to his game.
Just a huge ask to replace Boyle at this stage.

As much as I'm no sure about Sir Dave anymore, he has to be allowed to do the job his own way. If that means no picking folk then that's up to him.
Malky or anyone else getting involved in that is the beginning of the end.

The confusion over the terms of his loan deal, and the word coming back that he's not doing much there either makes me think Sir David may be spot on.
Could be, but many might say he needs more time in games to show one way or the other. How bad do you have to be in training for a manager to effectively write him off.
Oh for a reserve league.

Could be, but many might say he needs more time in games to show one way or the other. How bad do you have to be in training for a manager to effectively write him off.
Oh for a reserve league.
Aye, I've not seen enough of him to properly give an opinion, but that's two managers who don't seem overly impressed.

He was replying to a specific question from a shareholder regarding Klidge and his future at the club.

Gone.

Can't be replaced with a guy who couldn't get minutes here or on his loan spell away. Not confidently. Surely.
And that's no even to say Klidje doesn't have a future, potential or good points to his game.
I get what you’re saying. But how many ready made Boyle replacements are there? And if we could identify one, what would they cost?

I’m not ready to give up on Klidje yet. Boyle took a while to establish himself as the player he became. Maybe with a bit of confidence, a run in the team and some goals at the right time Klidje can really improve. I thought he showed flashes of being fast, direct and some good finishing.

I could be wrong like. But I wouldn’t want to consign him to the same scrapheap Vente went on

I get what you’re saying. But how many ready made Boyle replacements are there? And if we could identify one, what would they cost?

I’m not ready to give up on Klidje yet. Boyle took a while to establish himself as the player he became. Maybe with a bit of confidence, a run in the team and some goals at the right time Klidje can really improve. I thought he showed flashes of being fast, direct and some good finishing.

I could be wrong like. But I wouldn’t want to consign him to the same scrapheap Vente went on

They'd have to grow into being Boyles replacement, anyone would. But they'd have to be signed as our main striker.
Klidje hasn't been considered even remotely close to our main anything. So if there's no trust to make him that, then he's not that.

We have to bring in someone who becomes our starting forward from the get go. We can't afford not to have a main striker.

I'm not consigning him to the scrap pile either, there's tools there and he done well in the games he done well in. I just hope we actually replace Boyle with someone rather than relying on hope.

They'd have to grow into being Boyles replacement, anyone would. But they'd have to be signed as our main striker.
Klidje hasn't been considered even remotely close to our main anything. So if there's no trust to make him that, then he's not that.

We have to bring in someone who becomes our starting forward from the get go. We can't afford not to have a main striker.

I'm not consigning him to the scrap pile either, there's tools there and he done well in the games he done well in. I just hope we actually replace Boyle with someone rather than relying on hope.
It would need to be a real statement signing in those circumstances then. Nothing to say we won’t do it though considering the money that was spent on both Klidje and Vente. We really need someone to sign and hit the ground running though

Even if it was someone like Bowie. Not properly established, but had played plenty games and proven himself. He was clearly signed to play.
Physically up to par, capable of mixing it in the Scottish league straight away. (injuries a different conversation)

Looking at most of Malkys business though, I think he gets it.
Mulligan, McGrath, Bowie etc were all signed as first team players. And have shown to be.
As long as there's more of that alongside some of the maybe players I think we'll be alright.

I'll miss Boyle though. He had been the most dangerous player in the league system outside the bigots for half of his time doing it for us. That's a tough act to follow. That's why we have to bring someone in.

Just remembered we have Elding though. I think that lads got the goods. Could get behind him being the main man. But he's young and it's a long hard season.

He seemed to have a bit about him when he eventually got a wee run in the team. The physicality of the SPL appeared to throw him off a bit, but hopefully another pre season with us will benefit him. The odd bit of class he has shown doesn't just disappear .

Seems pretty quick could he play as a winger work on crosses?
Maybe he could but we've got plenty crosses in from both wings Beardy and Obita on the left Passlack on the right but we rarely seem to capitalise on it. All the other teams know how we play and defend accordingly. I'd much rather see something happening through the middle sometimes Klidje could be suited to that position and for a wee guy he certainly can jump.

Gone.

Boyle came to Hibs not being able to find game time at Dundee….

It appears that there was a problem getting him a work permit because of issues caused by brexit.

Didn't turn out too bad did he?

That's not the argument though?
I'm talking about the need to replace a first team pick. THE goal scorer, THE main threat in the team, THE most dangerous player outside of Glasgow. That's what we lose when Boyle leaves. Maybe not so much nowadays, but he still produces and his presence still carries weight with the opposition.

Anyway, I stepped back because I believe in Elding, Shockingly forgot about him when talking about a first team forward. Sounds like he showed it today too.
I'm less stressed on replacing him because we should give Elding as much football as possible.
All in from the first moment I saw him. Cracking signing.

Had the pleasure of watching Elding on Saturday
He was everywhere if he lost it he hunted it down unbelievable performance

I think the spine of the team is brilliant chaiwa mulligan McGrath and Elding through the middle is as good as you get
GG2TH

Had the pleasure of watching Elding on Saturday
He was everywhere if he lost it he hunted it down unbelievable performance

I think the spine of the team is brilliant chaiwa mulligan McGrath and Elding through the middle is as good as you get
GG2TH

Agree. If only Hanley was a year or two younger.