Keir Starmer

He’s no feckin Labour!!!

All you Labour voters, you’ve been scammed 🤣
Dunno. Big announcement protecting kids yesterday. Big announcement today on planning reforms to help build houses across tenures quicker. Seems pretty Labour to me.

1.5 million homes eh. That'll just about house the immigrants that are coming in and where are they going to build them ?
Down here food producing fields are already being swallowed up by housing estates and new towns

I'm pleased about the blockers for bairns being withheld but I'm sceptical about the hoose building.

The target. Soundbite is good. Whether it happens is something else again.

If there are no social housing units being built then it's not a well thought out plan.

Well I know about the mid price houses in Edinburgh which priority was given to working folk.

But quite a lot of the folk in those houses still need benefits to live on as well as working.

Starmers 'pledge' sounds good for England and Wales but how many of his pledges get binned at the first opportunity?

Scotland is a disgrace as far as social housing goes.

Dunno. Big announcement protecting kids yesterday. Big announcement today on planning reforms to help build houses across tenures quicker. Seems pretty Labour to me.
Good they’ve seen off their sizable lunatic wing on the first. But it’s hardly ‘pretty labour’. Any sane party would have done it, or even not entirely sane but with sane leadership party, as it turns out.

The houses would be good, except they are promising to build at a rate of 1/3 to 1/4 the current annual addition of citizens. That is starting at the wrong end of the problem, clearly.

1.5 million homes eh. That'll just about house the immigrants that are coming in and where are they going to build them ?
Down here food producing fields are already being swallowed up by housing estates and new towns
Surely the hooses will be made available for all those military veterans who are destitute and living in cardboard boxes at the local cooncil dumps? Unless all those EDL types on X are exaggerating 🤔

Aye, but where
Well I would expect each council to have detailed information on housing demand, homelessness and other indicators that will help predict what the need will be. But we have situations where kids growing up in an area can't get houses. That can't be right.

Surely the hooses will be made available for all those military veterans who are destitute and living in cardboard boxes at the local cooncil dumps? Unless all those EDL types on X are exaggerating 🤔
There is a big issue about people coming out of the services totally unprepared for civilian life. I think support for ex-service personnel is a disgrace.

You’re right on both counts of course. The uk economy is fucked though and it’s high time whatever government is in power told the public and have everyone face up to the harsh realities. It’ll never happen mind you.

I look at my calendar every morning and remember I am still ruled by a parliament full of cvunts.
Then when I look at a calendar from 10 years ago, I remember we had a chance to change it. Then I get on with my day , cause I realise nobody gives a fuck .

Too many dinnae give a fuck. Many others still dream.

If you don't know it by now...the guy is a straight up Communist!

The sooner the guy is gone...The more chance you have.

they have to build social housing in new build estates by law up here jimmy. Been like that for years. Dont know if englandshire has the same though...
Doon here they say say there's gonnae be so many affordable, which when building starts is always reduced. The latest estate they're building up the road fae me,on green fields, promised a medical centre etc.
It turns oot they're getting away wi" just putting land aside for it so somebody else will have tae build it.

If you don't know it by now...the guy is a straight up Communist!

The sooner the guy is gone...The more chance you have.

Fuck me! It's Elon Musk that's Ryan69! Listen we will all agree he's a communist if you just buy Hibs and punt in a few hundred million.

So we shouldn't build houses?
The problem isnae a lack of houses, the problem is too many people.
Labour plan to build 370 ,000 houses a year.
Net population growth ,including immigration is 650 000 a year.
There are 1.3 million people already waiting on a house.

Student places are everywhere now in Edinburgh. Which will mean students won't be renting private flats I would think.

But the rents in Edinburgh are quite high so I can't see many homeless affording the places.

Plus loads of private rentals don't want unemployed or any benefit recipients.

I mind talking to a lad earlier in the year who had been in homeless accomodation for 2 1/2 years to get a hoose in Moredun flats.

But all they seem tae build is student accomodation
Students are somewhere around 10% of the population now, perhaps more. Which is ridiculous imho but explains the demand for this accommodation. Must be a right money spinner for developers as much denser population than regular housing.

I actually think we should consider student housing as a template for accommodation for homeless people, certainly young ones, with onsite crèche and life training facilities. Cheaper than giving them flats each, and balances safety and support with continued incentive to get on their feet and get out of shared living spaces in due course.

Student places are everywhere now in Edinburgh. Which will mean students won't be renting private flats I would think.

But the rents in Edinburgh are quite high so I can't see many homeless affording the places.

Plus loads of private rentals don't want unemployed or any benefit recipients.

I mind talking to a lad earlier in the year who had been in homeless accomodation for 2 1/2 years to get a hoose in Moredun flats.
It's a real business money spinner. The students pay good rates then beat it for the summer when they can be holiday let's. But they do little to address local housing need. And as you say, homeless people and low paid workers aren't going to afford Marchmont flats. I think it's really destabilising parts of the city.

Good suggestion there mate. Save the horror of homeless accomodation.

Where you MUST be in the place by 10.30 or 11. (I think it's 10.30)......

Ann and her three children were forced to sleep in the same room, which had a double bed and two singles. She claimed there were no laundry facilities or fridges and said occupants of the 70 rooms had access to only one filthy microwave.

Ann told how the family had to share a bathroom at the end of a corridor with other guests – many of them single men.

A spokesman for the ECAP said: “Instead of building homes to solve the housing crisis once and for all, the council persist in funding private profit through public money against public interest.

“The housing crisis has seen Edinburgh council paying out £120,000 a week to hostels and B&Bs. While the numbers of homeless continue to grow, Edinburgh council has been using rotten hostels and B&Bs as temporary accommodation.

Ps I know Edinburgh's homeless crisis isn't Starmers fault but the situation down in England must be much the same.

I wonder how many of the Edinburgh homeless people have a connection with the city or nearby or a right of some sort?

From Google

In 2023, Edinburgh had 7,202 long-term empty homes, which is 2.73% of the city's homes. This is higher than the 1.70% of long-term empty homes in Scotland as a whole.

I actually think we should consider student housing as a template for accommodation for homeless people, certainly young ones, with onsite crèche and life training facilities. Cheaper than giving them flats each, and balances safety and support with continued incentive to get on their feet and get out of shared living spaces in due course.
This sounds nice in theory, but in reality wouldn't the places be fucking bedlam? I'm just imagining a version of that bit on the corner of the Cowgate and the Pleasance, but inside.

Possibly. Maybe relies on a level of discipline not possible in the modern world. But I was thinking more for young single mothers than well established Jakes. Then again that would probably be discrimination and not allowed on that basis.

In short the components of the problem may work against a solution.