Just been called and subtly threatened by "TV Licensing"

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
I cancelled my DD a couple of weeks ago. Just received a cold call from a company claiming to be TV Licensing. Conversation goes like this:

"Hello can you confirm there is a Mr X XXXXXX living at the address?"
"Who's calling?"
"TV Licensing. Is a Mr X XXXXXX living at the address?"
"No."
"Do you know a Mr X XXXXXX?"
"No."
"So, there's no Mr X XXXXXX living at the address?"
"No."
"Can you confirm the address and post code, please?"
"Hold on, who are you?"
"TV Licensing, you have to have a valid TV License."
"No, I don't."
"Yes you do. Do you have one?"
"Up until recently I did, yes."
"You have to have a valid TV license."
"No I don't."
"Can you confirm the address and post code?"
"No. I don't know you, I don't know who you are. I don't have to provide you any information over the phone."
"You have to have a valid TV license. If you think you don't need one, you have to apply in writing. You will have received this in the post."
"I haven't received anything of in the post."
"You will have."
"I haven't."
"If you want to stop these phonecalls and make your life a lot easier, give me your address."
"Open threats now? Very professional."

That was when I hung up. The Mr X XXXXXX he was referring to is a Ms. X XXXXX, my actual Ex. So, not content with being an utter twunt, he's also performing casual every day sexism with his assumptions.

I don't watch live TV. Until they update that law. They can sing for it.

TV License Threats And Intimidation - UK Indymedia

"...Like you, I got sick to death of all the threats. I hadn't had a TV for ten years at that point and resented the arsehats at TV Licensing writing to me at all. Eventually, I wrote a long and angry letter telling them that I detested TV and wouldn't waste my money on one, that I found their letters threatening and that I felt I was being harassed. If this continued I would report them to the police as being in breach of Section 5 of the Public Order Act - the bit they use against protestors that says they're causing 'harassment, distress or alarm' to someone.

Whether I could actually have done any such thing is doubtful but it certainly worked. I got a very apologetic letter back stating that it was not their intention to cause me any distress and that they would write to me again in two years to check that it was still me at that address. It's been about six years since then and I don't recall getting anything at all from them in that time..."

Another good bit of info...

"...Write a letter to the BBC (aka TVL) informing them that you have removed any right of access to your property which is implied by you having a path, front door, letterbox, doorbell and so on. This will apply to all of their employees and representatives. After this, their commission driven door visits will officially become harrassment.

There are several websites which deal with this, including "BBC resistance" . TVL is the BBC, only the logo is different, seen some good billboard images with the letters digitally changed... makes a big psychological difference.

The legislation changed a few years ago, the statutory 'crime' (revenue trigger) is now "watching or recording live tv broadcast". This includes any device, be it tv, phone, computer, mp3 player. *Think about how this affects a warranted search*. Warrants are rare, but also consider BBCTVL insisting that IP or cable tv providers hand over evidence of users receiving live broadcast. This would be under the authority of investigating and enforcing 'crime'..."

Some interesting, if a little polemic, stuff on here:

http://www.tvlicenceresistance.info/

TV License Threats And Intimidation - UK Indymedia

"...Like you, I got sick to death of all the threats. I hadn't had a TV for ten years at that point and resented the arsehats at TV Licensing writing to me at all. Eventually, I wrote a long and angry letter telling them that I detested TV and wouldn't waste my money on one, that I found their letters threatening and that I felt I was being harassed. If this continued I would report them to the police as being in breach of Section 5 of the Public Order Act - the bit they use against protestors that says they're causing 'harassment, distress or alarm' to someone.

Whether I could actually have done any such thing is doubtful but it certainly worked. I got a very apologetic letter back stating that it was not their intention to cause me any distress and that they would write to me again in two years to check that it was still me at that address. It's been about six years since then and I don't recall getting anything at all from them in that time..."

Another good bit of info...

"...Write a letter to the BBC (aka TVL) informing them that you have removed any right of access to your property which is implied by you having a path, front door, letterbox, doorbell and so on. This will apply to all of their employees and representatives. After this, their commission driven door visits will officially become harrassment.

There are several websites which deal with this, including "BBC resistance" . TVL is the BBC, only the logo is different, seen some good billboard images with the letters digitally changed... makes a big psychological difference.

The legislation changed a few years ago, the statutory 'crime' (revenue trigger) is now "watching or recording live tv broadcast". This includes any device, be it tv, phone, computer, mp3 player. *Think about how this affects a warranted search*. Warrants are rare, but also consider BBCTVL insisting that IP or cable tv providers hand over evidence of users receiving live broadcast. This would be under the authority of investigating and enforcing 'crime'..."

Some interesting, if a little polemic, stuff on here:

TV Licence Resistance

It is interesting but I also fear it is the path to foil-hat mentalness. Don't get me wrong, the big man being the bully sucks and we should stand up against it but there's a danger of it becoming a weird obsession.

I didn't pay the TV license for 21 years - some of the time I never had a TV and some of the time I didn't use the TV / Computer to watch live programmes. This didn't stop the constant barrage of letters and visits to my door. My approach on the whole was just not to engage with them and that seemed the most effective. I made the mistake of telling them I didn't have a TV at one point and that just unleashed all manner of invasion of privacy until I moved to another address. Once you talk to the bullies they seem to see that as some sort of admittance of guilt. The idea that you don't have a TV seems unimaginable to them.

Just dinny end up being that radge that posts videos on YouTube of all his battles against the man.:burnout:

I had a TV licence up until about a fortnight ago for somewhere in the region of 10 years and from day one they spelt my surname incorrectly.

Naturally, I called them up to rectify their error when I got the licence and asked them to update my name. I can't remember exactly what I was told but it was some shite along the lines of it being unnecessary.

If I were so inclined to give up any information at all when the inevitable knock on the door comes and they ask for a Mr. (Surname pronounced incorrectly due to their fucked up record keeping), I'd say "Sorry pal, doesnae live here, cheerio!".

The twats from TV licence department phoned my grandads house the other week chasing why there isn't a licence for the property, he only died a few weeks ago!! Also was over age so didn't need one. They pressed my mum for when the house will be sold and a new licence needed, we have no idea but they kept harrasing my mum and said they will contact us in 6 months.

The $#@!s from TV licence department phoned my grandads house the other week chasing why there isn't a licence for the property, he only died a few weeks ago!! Also was over age so didn't need one. They pressed my mum for when the house will be sold and a new licence needed, we have no idea but they kept harrasing my mum and said they will contact us in 6 months.

hope you and your mum told them where to go NIKKI .

PARASITES that they are .

Needs a lot of people toget together to lobby by whatever means to have the choice of buying a digi box that cant pick up bbc

It is interesting but I also fear it is the path to foil-hat mentalness. Don't get me wrong, the big man being the bully sucks and we should stand up against it but there's a danger of it becoming a weird obsession.

I didn't pay the TV license for 21 years - some of the time I never had a TV and some of the time I didn't use the TV / Computer to watch live programmes. This didn't stop the constant barrage of letters and visits to my door. My approach on the whole was just not to engage with them and that seemed the most effective. I made the mistake of telling them I didn't have a TV at one point and that just unleashed all manner of invasion of privacy until I moved to another address. Once you talk to the bullies they seem to see that as some sort of admittance of guilt. The idea that you don't have a TV seems unimaginable to them.

Just dinny end up being that radge that posts videos on YouTube of all his battles against the man.:burnout:

You're right, there's a fair amount of abject pish / David Ike-core bawbaggery floating around t'internet. And there's no' only one of those youtube internet warriors. I've seen loads of different guys. Wait, maybe there is only one, maybe these 'guys' are a set up by The Man?

It's a conspiracy, I tells ya!