Just back and that was magnificent Hibernian.....

Can you imagine if we had actually upped a gear there, we gave the miscreants a doing and it could have been much much more. After a false start with Mrs Humphries laddering her tights after two minutes, the tactical masterstroke of introducing Shinniesta so early was the turning point, after a full two minutes of fitba Hibs decided to give the Dumbos a right good tanking. A great keeper, a solid defence, a masterclass in midfield and the best performance I have seen of the Holt and Cummings pairing. Neil, you got it spot on, players you gave your all, fans you filled the stadium and silenced the gunts. WE ALL ARE HIBERNIAN FC TONIGHT!

We started with two wide players, Marv slotting in in front of Daz and Fonts, John more of a play maker, Holt causing absolute carnage and Jase's game coming together in a manner we had hoped we might one day see, he scored, he laid off, he protected the ball, he passed, he ran the raggety erse of the maroon balloons, he was a terror, the terror of the Hearts.

Cathro was punch drunk (he had a can of Topdeck shandy after detention today), Granny McPhee had his hair in his eyes and the gunty players bickered with each other as the silent section in the Dunbar End offered the odd boo and an auld song or two that barely raised a chorus. They took their captain Bobby Bathroom off at halftime, making Jamie Walkers sisters pants captain second half, a football first I think, shit stained frilly skiddies captaining a supposed football team and one time war winner. Whatever next, one of their players girlfriends on the phones of the most of the men in the Hibs end?

As I sip a cold Peroni, considering my thoughts on the teams performance, can I just say, I am a very Happy Hibby tonight, along with thousand of others! I like Wednesdays now.

The Team

I thought Marciano had very little to do, but had a couple of confident clearances and a fantastic parry at the end of the game.

David Gray, winning goalscorer and captain of Hibernian when they won the Scottish Cup on the 21st of May 2016 had a smashing game tonight, best he has played in a long while.

Tonight something strange occured in my football life, Darren McGregor was only average, still hard as nails, still HIBS through and through, but he had a tough shift against the 77 who has mare names than Jimmy Savilles note book.

Fonts had a great first half, but wobbled second half, when he started to try and be Pique not Liam. Did well though.

Mixed opinions in my wee group about Lewis, I thought he done well, others thought he was a bit out of sorts. Who cares, he was in a winning team over that shower of shite.

Big Marv was solid, he was hard, he got us going with his bone shuddering challenges. He did tire, but had a cracking game.

SJM was superb in glimpses, easily lost the ball at other times. He done well enough though, and helped create our third goal.

Although Humphrey started he was off in two shakes of Cathros school blazer. Shinnie replaced him and gave us his best game in a Hibernian jersey, Ok him and SJM are casual and lose the ball too much, but Shinnie talking a gunt on, playing a simple pass and getting tore right in tonight was a joy to watch. His pass for Jases goal was inch perfect, his goal was wonderful, what a peach, drifting through their defence before unleashing a pearler.....brilliant.

Boyler tries awfy hard, can regualrly beat a man but should have done so much more. Needs some upper body work.

Now, Grant Holt. Well I have never taken to him. Tonight I finally did. I thought he had been decent at the Guntery, tonight he was superb. He ran those gorgie bastards ragged, he harried, shoved, pushed, kicked and got right in their faces. It worked, their defence was frazzled. Add to that fine touches and knock ons, a wonderful strike home for Jason's great pass, tonight I wished he was 10 years younger, imagine that in a Hibernian shirt. Well played Grant, have a lie doon pal.

Jason tonight had for me his best performance for Hibernian. As one who defends the laddie, I have watched him develop this season. Yes he is a goal scorer, that is his job, one he does with aplomb, especially against his old employers, the ones that sacked him, the dafties. His touch, his link up play, his shooting, his all round game has improved so much. I thought he was unplayable at times tonight, I know the guntish defenders did. His pass for Holts goal was sublime too, this laddie is going places, with a big cheesy smile plastered across that daft laddie mug of his. Jase, the Broomhouse Pirlo, I salute you son. Have a muffin on me.

The Subs

Graham came on for Holt and showed why Holt is picked ahead of him. Graham scores goals but does little else, Holt is the opposite.

Fraser came on for a cream crackered Jason Cummings and shored us up well, even for the few minutes he was on he got himself right into them.

I thought Neil Lennon and Gary Parker got it spot on, given the original game plan was changed so early. They had those laddies pumped up, the gunts were never going to beat us with Neil in charge. He hates them as much as us. Thanks guys, that was much appreciated.

I though the supposed best ref in Scotland was poor tonight, no hesiation in booking Shinnie and McGinn, but he used the invisible yellows the gunts kept waving when Walker kept diving and 77 and 4 in bloodied stool coloured shirts kicked and shoved all game. No a good day at the office for the man who refereed that glorious day in May.

Hearts, lets call them that, well they are shite. Maroon and white shite.

Man of the match at the game was given to John McGinn, I am guessing plucked oot the hat by the sponsors guide dug? For me the contenders were Holt, Marv and Shinniesta, however the winner was for me, Jason Cummings, I thought he was magnificent.

Better shoot off, on the 6.45 to Leeds in the morning, trust me to no be in the office the day after we beat that lot, I see a conference call sing song coming the morn at some point, if anyone can find any guntoids under a desk!

Finally, a special thank you to fellow bouncer Robert Barone, cannae beat a joyous manly hug and a beardy kiss on the forehead when Shinniesta scores a pearler against the filth.

See you all on Saturday.

Can't argue with much of that all, as usual.

Only gripe I have is that you didn't say 'fuck the Hearts' enough.

[emoji1184][emoji471]

Can't argue with much of that all, as usual.

Only gripe I have is that you didn't say 'fuck the Hearts' enough.

[emoji1184][emoji471]

Nae need, Hibs did that for us.

Very, very true.

cd01e3bbba7a9c03e6602fb047ab2418.jpg

Finally, a special thank you to fellow bouncer Robert Barone, cannae beat a joyous manly hug and a beardy kiss on the forehead when Shinniesta scores a pearler against the filth.

See you all on Saturday.

It was an absolute pleasure to share that moment with you brother..I admit to completely losing it! My old Mum (who despises the filth more than most) predicted a 3-1 win for the good guys tonight before the game. I thought she was overambitious but she's got Cathro's number in much the same way as Lennon has.

I thought Easter Road was a bear pit tonight and they shat it. We destroyed them end of story.

We've got in their heads and they fucking hate it...fuck them.

Here we go
Two in a row

Or SEVEN in a row....

I'm not a religious man but god bless this fucking club.

It was an absolute pleasure to share that moment with you brother..I admit to completely losing it! My old Mum (who despises the filth more than most) predicted a 3-1 win for the good guys tonight before the game. I thought she was overambitious but she's got Cathro's number in much the same way as Lennon has.

I thought Easter Road was a bear pit tonight and they shat it. We destroyed them end of story.

We've got in their heads and they fucking hate it...fuck them.

Is he allowed his own phone at his age?

Great team performance, great win. Two pluky jambos whooping it behind me on Easter Road celebrating Holt being in the Hibs starting eleven.
They just don't seem to understand, bed early tonight boys. We gave them a doing and didn't deserve to lose the goal.

Great report as usual and always appreciated. Thought the ref was ok. GGTTH

Agreed JC was my motm...Gray was also havin a great game for me.

As an aside, we prob will never see JC match Robbos tally of 27 against us. But any statistician out there got stats for games played by both and what JCs tally against them is for now. Weid each of them supported the teams they eventually scored so many against

Thanks Mark. Excellent report . We were tremendous tonight . With a couple of better choices of passes we could have done the fuckers 5-1

A fine performance , excellent report , a very good evening at the office. Thoughts Fonts was very commanding first half , don't over play it Liam.
Didn't really see anyone in Green & White have a poor game. MoM Grant Holt they don't like it up them :applause:

Happy Hibee the night.

This cup tie was the first time in my life I have wanted such a cup draw and been confident going into both games. The worm has turned now for sure. I always thought getting the upper hand in derbies was key to anything bigger and I am sure it was a necessary precursor to 210516. This cemented it. They shat it top to bottom, fans included, and we out muscled them in a way that for long fucking decades they did to us - while also out footballing them once we got into an actual football pitch.

Love the write up - surprised a little at your take on super who I thought was immense. I'm with you on Lewis who I think tonight demonstrated he has become a much tougher actor than the amiable laddie we have all loved, but was at times just a little too nice, I don't know if I wasn't paying attention somewhere along the line but he also just seems physically bigger these days - not quite the panzer tank that is Darren Mc but a formidable physical presence nonetheless.

Jason I agree was fantastic tonight, I've often been a critic but when he shines, he fucking shines. And he's turning into the anti-robbo which is a solid gold pleasure to see.

Holt was gladiatorial, an old lion, whose best days are gone but can still take all comers when the cubs need a bit of protection. Shinnie somehow acquired a pair and was a joy to watch.

And as alluded to on another thread, Marv have me out of my seat snarling like my teenage self when he halved that lump on the left wing, doing what the feckin ref should have done in protecting our talent from their increasingly blatant hacking.

Lastly, hats off to Lennon; a threadbare squad and a game plan fecked after 120 seconds, and yet we bossed it from start to finish, winning on every level, physical, tactical, footballing. Well done Neil, well fecking done.

A wee bit harsh on Humphrey, who seems to have a nasty injury, but otherwise spot on. I've always liked Grant Holt. So pleased for the big man.

We let them off lightly.

Magnificent Hibernian FC.

Just seen the hapless Cathro interviewed on Sky 'performance unacceptable'.

I'll be there Saturday in a rare foray..

I was raging earlier. Never even got away from Cardiff let alone to Edinburgh due to work going tits up today. Worse: I didn't even know the score till 10.30.

BUT I just did something I rarely do and just took a peek at kickback and it was pleasing - very pleasing.

So all things considered a great night.

A fantastic performance and a well deserved victory. I thought Holt and Cummings were terrific!

I'm not sure about their penalty? I personally thought it was out the box. Hard to tell though.

Thanks for the report Mark ! Nailed it as usual mate!
Not a failure in any player in green !
Special mention to all THREE home stands for contributing
To a superb atmosphere
here we go .....

A fantastic performance and a well deserved victory. I thought Holt and Cummings were terrific!

I'm not sure about their penalty? I personally thought it was out the box. Hard to tell though.

I didn't even think it was a foul, but Lennon said it was a pen, so I'm happy to accept that it was.

Stonewaller, halved the gunt in two, well inside the box, chuffed he only got a booking.

Superb night. The squad seems to get how much it matters to us these days while the Hertz just don't understand.

It wasn't a pen. Challenge is made outside the box. Just watched it again.

Sitting in the East terrace bang on line with it, Owen and i agreed pen and lucky not to be sent off. They didn't deserve the goal and thought Rocky was really unlucky. My eyes are not the best in truth. I'll have to watch it again.

I was raging earlier. Never even got away from Cardiff let alone to Edinburgh due to work going tits up today. Worse: I didn't even know the score till 10.30.

BUT I just did something I rarely do and just took a peek at kickback and it was pleasing - very pleasing.

So all things considered a great night.

Just home from the pub. Kickback is absolute gold tonight. Absolute gold. :approve:

Stonewaller, halved the gunt in two, well inside the box, chuffed he only got a booking.

Apparently can't get a red and a penalty now, rule change this season. Maybe could have been red if it was outside the box so penalty a decent result.

A little bit of a snippet of their hurt...:

Under estimated how good a side Hibs are, like last year as well. Focused purely on playing to our strengths and never once thought about stopping Hibs strengths. McGinn and Bartley don't need to put their kit in to be washed, a Hearts player hasn't been near them in 4 derby matches. Bartley has dominated every minute of the last 4 derbies and not Cathro or Neilson has done anything about it.

After 45 minutes last Sunday Cathro could see our issues and tried to change it at half time, basically admitting he set up wrong. A week later and we set up in the same way, same tactics, same formation, same result. Martin/kitchen/the Greek boy all could've been subbed after 10 minutes, it was clear we'd set up wrong, AGAIN.

We've turned into Hibs. Complaining last week cause they kicked us off the park. They knew they'd smash us at home. Their fans knew it as well. We tried to laugh at them for celebrating a draw but they knew they were through. Trying to play nice passing football in a game that's all about blood and thunder. Not a single player won any individual battle and that's the key to any derby, something we used to focus purely on. Hartley would've put Bartley on his arse, first opportunity he could. Let him know he was there. Presley would've put him on his arse just to show the others it could be done. We have no leaders. No one putting their body on the line. Walker tried but it was too little too late and he never started the game with the same drive.

We don't have the mentality anymore to win those types of games. It's going to take a massive shift to right this and I honestly don't think we have the players, the back room staff and or atmosphere at the club anymore to win these battles. Out sang in the stands, out fought on the park and touch line. Very low moment for me tonight.

Can you just feel it?

Can you FEEL IT?!! :bbb::bbb::bbb:

Just home from the pub. Kickback is absolute gold tonight. Absolute gold. :approve:

Can't bring myself to go on that shit, bad enough listening to them walking down Easter Road. Reality has well and truly kicked in, EGB has sussed it. The Edinburgh football axis has shifted well and truly towards Leith. Not felt as confident since the seventies. We rocked the stadium and east stand concourse at HT. Great for all who have persevered.

Apparently can't get a red and a penalty now, rule change this season. Maybe could have been red if it was outside the box so penalty a decent result.

Thanks for that not aware of the rule change, shit my breeks for second and the walking stick wobbled.

Its a veritable fucking hoot. :rollfloor They are suicidal !!
We fucking have them.

Im Very very happy tonight. :thumbgrin

We were superb. That doesn't do us justice. It needs a word better than superb. We destroyed the Gorgie scum.

I love Hibernian and I hate Hearts. And we f***ed them proper. Magic :applause::bbb::applause::bbb:

Thought we were a class above tonight so frustrating when you compare to the last 2 league games!
as I've said not a big fan of fonts but he had a good game although I feel when he plays Daz isn't as strong as he's worrying about what he's gonna do compared to the assured Hanlon.
shinnie was different class what a player he could be if he could et a bit stronger and learn to time a tackle.
jc was immense best all round performance was just so hungry
had a feeling last Sunday would be the day holt should his class and added a goal to his tally was a bit wrong but tonight he was bang on.

personally happy that's them out the way and now we can focus on the main priority, the league. Massive 7 days coming up for us with 9 points available whilst Dundee only have 1 league game, we could put real day light and a massive psychological boost for us if we can win all 3 games and look at the points difference

It was a great tackle from my viewpoint Darren and started outside the box too?

I doubted them, they proved me wrong BIG time.

I did wonder who we were playing today when I read how much the decent pitch would suit THEM and how we had battled them into submission in Planet Gorgie!

The Gorgie Guardiola seems to have fooled everybody based on one decent performance against a horribly inept Hundog eleven and his laptop was suddenly the holy grail of winning football formula with the Aunt Sally Austin Allegro sidekick cast as half pervert half motivational/tactical genius. The press done half the job for us I reckon with the reports over the last few days. Some Greek boy arrives as Corfu's version of Franck Sauzee to lead them onto cup winning glory. Jason, Grant and Andrew delivered a batch of homemade Tzatziki right onto his overrated napper before he could say y@mas ya bass.

Did The Cathro prepare these gorgie gimps for a team of cup winners getting stuck in about them from the first minutes in front of 16,500 passionate Hibs fans? Did he fuck. They were too busy looking at powerpoint presentations of pie charts, bar graphs and granny porn that Wee Jimmy Krankie had prepared.

Spot the Loonies:

They are aggressive with a lot of fight. I don’t think they play good football. They know how to fight and that’s good but I don’t think this is playing football,” said the Portuguese striker"

Don Cowie has expressed the hope that Hibs “play a bit more football”
They are a good footballing team and hopefully on Wednesday we will see a bit more of that.”
I just feel that if we play to our best, we've got better players."

In summary, 7 undefeated to these clowns. The cup holders march on. Their season is over bar the 4th place finish.
We are superior.

I doubted them, they proved me wrong BIG time.

I did wonder who we were playing today when I read how much the decent pitch would suit THEM and how we had battled them into submission in Planet Gorgie!

The Gorgie Guardiola seems to have fooled everybody based on one decent performance against a horribly inept Hundog eleven and his laptop was suddenly the holy grail of winning football formula with the Aunt Sally Austin Allegro sidekick cast as half pervert half motivational/tactical genius. The press done half the job for us I reckon with the reports over the last few days. Some Greek boy arrives as Corfu's version of Franck Sauzee to lead them onto cup winning glory. Jason, Grant and Andrew delivered a batch of homemade Tzatziki right onto his overrated napper before he could say y@mas ya bass.

Did The Cathro prepare these gorgie gimps for a team of cup winners getting stuck in about them from the first minutes in front of 16,500 passionate Hibs fans? Did he fuck. They were too busy looking at powerpoint presentations of pie charts, bar graphs and granny porn that Wee Jimmy Krankie had prepared.

Spot the Loonies:

They are aggressive with a lot of fight. I don’t think they play good football. They know how to fight and that’s good but I don’t think this is playing football,” said the Portuguese striker"

Don Cowie has expressed the hope that Hibs “play a bit more football”
They are a good footballing team and hopefully on Wednesday we will see a bit more of that.”
I just feel that if we play to our best, we've got better players."

In summary, 7 undefeated to these clowns. The cup holders march on. Their season is over bar the 4th place finish.
We are superior.

LIKE.

I'm totally burst, but I'm pretty sure I'll wake up tomorrow and still think this is an excellent post.

DSC01929 by Darren Healy, on Flickr

DSC01902 by Darren Healy, on Flickr

Thought we were a class above tonight so frustrating when you compare to the last 2 league games!
as I've said not a big fan of fonts but he had a good game although I feel when he plays Daz isn't as strong as he's worrying about what he's gonna do compared to the assured Hanlon.

I think Daz will be suspended from the QF? Didn't he get booked at the PBS?

This cup tie was the first time in my life I have wanted such a cup draw and been confident going into both games. The worm has turned now for sure. I always thought getting the upper hand in derbies was key to anything bigger and I am sure it was a necessary precursor to 210516. This cemented it. They shat it top to bottom, fans included, and we out muscled them in a way that for long $#@!ing decades they did to us - while also out footballing them once we got into an actual football pitch.

Love the write up - surprised a little at your take on super who I thought was immense. I'm with you on Lewis who I think tonight demonstrated he has become a much tougher actor than the amiable laddie we have all loved, but was at times just a little too nice, I don't know if I wasn't paying attention somewhere along the line but he also just seems physically bigger these days - not quite the panzer tank that is Darren Mc but a formidable physical presence nonetheless.

Jason I agree was fantastic tonight, I've often been a critic but when he shines, he $#@!ing shines. And he's turning into the anti-robbo which is a solid gold pleasure to see.

Holt was gladiatorial, an old lion, whose best days are gone but can still take all comers when the cubs need a bit of protection. Shinnie somehow acquired a pair and was a joy to watch.

And as alluded to on another thread, Marv have me out of my seat snarling like my teenage self when he halved that lump on the left wing, doing what the feckin ref should have done in protecting our talent from their increasingly blatant hacking.

Lastly, hats off to Lennon; a threadbare squad and a game plan fecked after 120 seconds, and yet we bossed it from start to finish, winning on every level, physical, tactical, footballing. Well done Neil, well fecking done.
I think EGB has called this so right. As an 'ahem' older fan, I've had years of us paying well against them and losing, playing badly and losing, and throwing away apparently unassailable leads. They wanted it more, bullied us more and won matches by sheer force of will. What surprised me yesterday was just how listless Hearts were. You could see Walker was up for it, but the others? I heard from someone who knew Hearts youth set up that it was drummed into them that they had to beat us. Where was that yesterday?I was dreading the game and was amazed when l saw people on here almost demanding Hearts in the draw. But maybe I've just had too many bad days at derbies. The thing is, while Hearts will of course beat us in future, that crushing inferiority complex and the dread it brings has gone. Not before time.

Finally, let's not fall into the trap of making this about Hearts. Last night we pressed them, got in their face, got the tactics right and played good football. That's an irresistible combination. On to Saturday!

I think Daz will be suspended from the QF? Didn't he get booked at the PBS?

Unfortunately, I think you are right.

Can't remember the last time we looked like hammering them from first minute to last. They must hate the sight of Cummings:applause::bbb:

I think EGB has called this so right. As an 'ahem' older fan, I've had years of us paying well against them and losing, playing badly and losing, and throwing away apparently unassailable leads. They wanted it more, bullied us more and won matches by sheer force of will. What surprised me yesterday was just how listless Hearts were. You could see Walker was up for it, but the others? I heard from someone who knew Hearts youth set up that it was drummed into them that they had to beat us. Where was that yesterday?I was dreading the game and was amazed when l saw people on here almost demanding Hearts in the draw. But maybe I've just had too many bad days at derbies. The thing is, while Hearts will of course beat us in future, that crushing inferiority complex and the dread it brings has gone. Not before time.

Finally, let's not fall into the trap of making this about Hearts. Last night we pressed them, got in their face, got the tactics right and played good football. That's an irresistible combination. On to Saturday!

The necessity to beat Hibs may well be drummed into the hearts youth squad, but if you have a look at their squad last night, half of them are foreign journeymen.

This thread has been viewed 6673 times.