Jacobite history book recommendations

Braehead Cabbage

Baldy radge
My eldest is currently doing a project on the Jacobites for school which has piqued my interest in the subject.

I'm sure there are a few history buffs on here so can you anyone recommend a good book on the subject please

Dunno about actual history books, but you could do worse than pick up Walter Scott's Waverley. Centred around the Jacobite uprising of 1745, and the book that basically invented the genre of the "historical novel".

Be warned though, Scott needs a wee bit of perseverance - he can be kinda dull!

Dunno about actual history books, but you could do worse than pick up Walter Scott's Waverley. Centred around the Jacobite uprising of 1745, and the book that basically invented the genre of the "historical novel".

Not only dull but the guy who started the horrendously bizarre, kilts and bagpipes shite, to please his subservient pleasuring of Royalty. He has a lot to answer for.

Yup. Can't say I've got a lot of time for him, personally.

Attempted Ivanhoe a few years ago and it's scunnered me off him for life

My eldest is currently doing a project on the Jacobites for school which has piqued my interest in the subject.

I'm sure there are a few history buffs on here so can you anyone recommend a good book on the subject please

You could do worse than tweeting IanColquhounMA and asking for some pointers.

Ian's Drumossie Moor isnae a bad read, you can borrow my copy if you want?

@Braehead Cabbage was asking M. Although I wouldnt mind a read at it myself. I'm going to have to search my bookshelfs because I'm almost sure I bought a copy of that book but never read it.

recommend a visit to the visitor centre at culloden moor if you can - was there recently and its top notch imo sure some of the staff there would have a comprehensive overview of the multitude of books written about the 45 if you asked too.

Thanks for the replies.
[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION] good thinking I forgot Hail hail was a history expert.