Indyref 2

Doc Shrink

Curmudgeon Radge
No go.

Trapped in an abusive relationship.

No other way?

This is the kind of thing that could end up causing serious violence

No other way?
Was there not talk of the SNP making the next General Election a de facto Indy referendum by campaigning on a single manifesto pledge of Independence?

That’s the plan I believe.

So another two years then?

That’s the plan I believe.
The Tories and Labour will both put in their election manifestos no to another referendum so we even if we can get 50% (and it’s a big if) they will still say no. Sturgeon should have done this in 2019 whist still in Europe but she bottled it. Indy is fucked now!

March on Carlisle.

In any normal country this would see the majority of the population going absolutely tonto but I'd bet there is a sizeable percentage of the unionist population ripping the absolute tap aff it at being told by someone down south they can't do something.

Anything other than an agreed upon referendum will result in an absolute mess.

We had our chance .
Never ever let the No voters forget that . Every time a Tory shafts us. Every time they rape our land for all its worth. Every time they send our soldiers to die for some American war. Every time they laugh and smirk at us , while we follow the rules while they stick two Eton fingers up to us .
Never ever let the *&*^ forget . They voted for this pish .

We had our chance .
Never ever let the No voters forget that . Every time a Tory shafts us. Every time they rape our land for all its worth. Every time they send our soldiers to die for some American war. Every time they laugh and smirk at us , while we follow the rules while they stick two Eton fingers up to us .
Never ever let the *&*^ forget . They voted for this pish .
It’s not worth the bother.
Most of them are of a view that it was still the correct result.
Same with the Brexiteers. Despite all the evidence to the contrary, Boris getting Brexit done was a great move.

It’s not worth the bother.
Most of them are of a view that it was still the correct result.
Same with the Brexiteers. Despite all the evidence to the contrary, Boris getting Brexit done was a great move.
Fair do' s
But anytime you hear them moan about the state of the country, just tell them to fcuk off then 😠

Declare UDI,if it's good enough for Rhodesia,Somalia, Turkish Cyprus,and Palestine, then it could work for us.Ok none of those countries are probably around now but it worked for the USA.

Salmond showing himself up to be an absolute buffoon on the radio as per. Claiming that taking the case to the Supreme Court was a terrible strategic error but the situation can be turned to Scotland's advantage if only people listen to his cunning plan. Aye ok bawbag, have you considered that perhaps the reason it was taken to the Supreme Court was precisely because the rebuff could be turned to our advantage?

Weird state of affairs when not a single broadcaster in Scotland can state such plain and obvious truths yet the London Broadcasting Company can manage it.

This is the kind of thing that could end up causing serious violence
The Irish had the right idea, this peaceful stuff just isn't going to cut it, Scotland is a prisoner of England.

Why wait for then? Why do it through a UK GE? Why won't the SNP leadership within the Scottish Government not dissolve the Scottish Parliament today and call a Scottish Government election and let all pro independence candidates stand on a platform stating that a vote for them is a mandate for immediate independence negotiations?

The Irish had the right idea, this peaceful stuff just isn't going to cut it, Scotland is a prisoner of England.
At the end of the day Scotland voted by a majority to stay in the union so we're hardly prisoners and violence is never the answer

Why wait for then? Why do it through a UK GE? Why won't the SNP leadership within the Scottish Government not dissolve the Scottish Parliament today and call a Scottish Government election and let all pro independence candidates stand on a platform stating that a vote for them is a mandate for immediate independence negotiations?

I don’t think the SNP actually want a vote like that right now, as they know the result is far from assured.

They should do that, as a single issue campaign in a general election is a massive concern. I understand why independence is always going to be a top line agenda item, but I do wish it wasn’t to the detriment of everything else.

To me the SNP tactic is to show how shite the UK is, by making the Scottish Parliament ineffective at delivering on many issues, the result being the declining standards. It would have been better if they’d showed how great Scotland can perform within the confines of the UK, giving confidence that they could do even better with the freedom of independence.

(I’m neither pro Indy nor pro Union, as it stands the case for either looks shite to me).

For me the SG election should always be fought on wider policies (although including the question of independence), whereas a general election could easily be fought on a single policy by the SNP.

I understand that point to a degree, however how does an MP represent and serve their constituents on any other issues?

The SNP gaining an overall majority (in the Scottish popular vote) in a GE is by no means a gimme. Even though they romped the 2019 GE and returned loads of MPs, if you toted up the Indy-leaning party votes it only amounted to I think 46-47%

I understand that point to a degree, however how does an MP represent and serve their constituents on any other issues?
Does it make any practical difference at Westminster?

An MP’s job isn’t only what happens at Westminster, so yes I’d say it matters greatly to the constituents.

After the Supreme Court's ruling Stewart McDonald's main concern is that we all talk nicely with nicey nice language.

I think a lot of the SNP cohort at Westminster are happy to rake in 86k plus juicy benefits while talking about how nice their movement is.

After the Supreme Court's ruling Stewart McDonald's main concern is that we all talk nicely with nicey nice language.

I think a lot of the SNP cohort at Westminster are happy to rake in 86k plus juicy benefits while talking about how nice their movement is.

I agree, it’s become a very cushy number for many of them in that regard.

However I’m sure many if not all of them do plenty of good work in their individual constituencies. Hopefully anyway…

Don't you think they'd be likely to stand for seats in an independent Scottish Parliament?

I appreciate that all the current MPs and MSPs would be vying for fewer seats, just one parliament, however I'd hope it would mean an improvement of the quality of our representatives.

Don't you think they'd be likely to stand for seats in an independent Scottish Parliament?

I appreciate that all the current MPs and MSPs would be vying for fewer seats, just one parliament, however I'd hope it would mean an improvement of the quality of our representatives.

It would be interesting if any would "jump ship" to other partes after independence.

Initially I imagine not, maybe longterm?

It would be interesting if any would "jump ship" to other partes after independence.

Initially I imagine not, maybe longterm?

Of course they will, the SNP is a means to an end. Look at Alba, they broke ranks too early and now are meaningless to almost everyone and run about greeting about being irrelevant.

I am a paid up member of the SNP and when we do become independent, I would leave immediately and would look to join a Scottish Socialist/ Labour Party that looked like nothing that the abortion that is current UK Labour Party.

Of course they will, the SNP is a means to an end. Look at Alba, they broke ranks too early and now are meaningless to almost everyone and run about greeting about being irrelevant.

I am a paid up member of the SNP and when we do become independent, I would leave immediately and would look to join a Scottish Socialist/ Labour Party that looked like nothing that the abortion that is current UK Labour Party.
Well said.
:54:

That particularly MP loves a war. Just of an imperialism nature.

I’m sympathetic to this notion that a majority of constituencies voting SNP equals a de facto indy vote - after all Thatcher was too.

But it’s obviously a way to game your way over the line without a quorum and you’ll have to declare independence without ever having had a majority demonstrably in favour.

Can that really work? Not a rhetorical question, I’m v interested in the thinking behind this.

I’m sympathetic to this notion that a majority of constituencies voting SNP equals a de facto indy vote - after all Thatcher was too.

But it’s obviously a way to game your way over the line without a quorum and you’ll have to declare independence without ever having had a majority demonstrably in favour.

Can that really work? Not a rhetorical question, I’m v interested in the thinking behind this.

I think they are planning on saying that 50% of the votes is the criteria and not 50% of constituencies, in any case they are having a special conference early next year to outline their (SNP) plan.

I think the highest they've got in Westminster elections is around 46 or 47%.

I think they are planning on saying that 50% of the votes is the criteria and not 50% of constituencies, in any case they are having a special conference early next year to outline their (SNP) plan.

I think the highest they've got in Westminster elections is around 46 or 47%.
Ah ok I thought it was to take the number of constituencies as the measure - a majority being enough to declare independence.

As I say I can appreciate the logic. After all, my ‘side’ used to say that all the time when they were secure in the comforting knowledge that the snp might nick only one or two seats at the GE. And now of course we’re moving the goalposts as fast as we can.

But I do think it will be incredibly difficult to secure a proper mandate for independence if an obvious majority aren’t in favour.

This thread has been viewed 1597 times.