If you could | General 'Fitba' Chat | HibeesBounce

If you could

Davy

Elevate a team to SPL status who would it be? Forget about crowds for a minute but base the elevation on previous glory OT just because you have a soft spot for them. Just a bit of fun as obviously our monies would go to Hibs, but they are already an SPL club

For example.ple Queens Park who won 10 Scottish cups and are still 3rd highest winners of this trophy

Dunfermline. One of the few teams with a good history that can attract a good sized crows

East Fife..once proud competitive team

Albion Rovers. Constantly living in the shadow of larger teams around them

Dumbarton/ Ayr. Other teams with good core support but have found life hard since the inception of Premier league

You get the idea.

Stenhousemuir I might have if they weren't wearing colours so close to hearts.
East Stirling..just because I feel sorry for them. Clydebank?

Partick..be good to have a Glasgow team that is a little acceptable

I'll lump today for. Clyde . Get them back to Shawfield. Pump money into them and challenge the dominance in Glasgow

Actually that's just today. I might switch allegiance tomorrow.. Maybe third Lanark. 😆

The Pars.

Apart from family history with one of their legends they've provided us with some great players, like Alex Edwards. Who is old enough not to appreciate the fine skills of Roy Barry? And more recently Sol Bamba?

A few other notables including Huffy Nisbet.

Always a nice wee away trip when I was younger.

St Johnstone for me.

Born and brought up in Perth. (Left for Sussex 39 years ago, but it will always be my home)

Spent many a great day at football watching Willie Ormonnds fantastic team in the late sixties and very early seventies (till I fell in love with the Hibees on 8th April 1972)

Old Muiton Park had a great atmosphere when it was full.

Lots of old mates who follow the Saints so always look out for their results (except against us in cup finals!!!).

Only been to their new ground once when Big Christian scored a hattrick after Paul Heckingbottom was emptied and Eddie May was in charge. Dinnae like their new ground

Definitely agree that Plastic Whistle should be in the top tier. Queens Park on the condition they move back to Hampden. Then as a highlander, I think there needs to be a highland team in the SPL - not Caley/Thistle though. So if it’s not going to be the Staggies it would have to be the mighty Clachnacuddin FC who were my local as a kid.

My cousin Margaret used tae sell the pies at clach many years ago

If I ever won mega millions on the euro lottery I'd be tempted to invest in Albion Rovers.
Not a crazy amount but just enough to make sure they were always ahead of Airdrie.

My wife and her family are from Coatbridge and we've been together since 1992.
They're all celtc glory hunters - but I despise airdrie so much it would definitely be worth a few quid if I was minted.

Dunfy and the Dandy Jags for me. My first ever Hibs game was against PTFC in 1978. Had good away trips to East End Park back in the day and Dunfy always bring a good away support to ER.

I'm well disposed towards Dunfermalino.

I've a soft spot for The Maryhill Magyars and the Hi-Hi feel intriguing.