Someone better.For all those who think Smith isnt good enough, who do you want as our first choice goalkeeper?
Use this link to help us earn... CLICK HERE
It's cool if you don't wanna... just click the X to dismiss this notice... and NO this isn't an April Fool ya bam!!! 🤣
Someone better.For all those who think Smith isnt good enough, who do you want as our first choice goalkeeper?
A few of the 'experts' on TV disgreed with you, as do I. Even if he could have done better, I don't think another goalkeeper will bring the perfection or absense of mistakes that you desire - especally on the wages Hibs' pay.A better goalkeeper saves one of the Hun goals and the Motherwell goal on Saturday.
He's done great overall and given much confidence but he won't be our number 1 next season.
MJ husnae played for Airdrie since October..I think Smith has actually made some pretty decent saves.
And he was really quite close to the Hunco goals.
He might be a decent keeper yano.
Why on earth did we send Murray to Airdrie? They're rank.
Character building or confidence sapping experience?
MJ husnae played for Airdrie since October..
Aye, sitting at 39 goals against, only won once this season.Confidence sapping then
I only looked to see he's played more than half their games and they're stranded shipping 2 goals a game.
Shite place to send him.
Bowie is about fit to return
We still need a substantially new defence. However, the need for panic buys has subsided.
I am keener on proper targets being signed in the summer but I would be pleased to see some strengthening of the defence this month.
Fair. I don't think we can live with the mistakes both Rocky and Miller are prone to. It's one or the other for me, and I'd keep Rocky. I agree on Iredale too.Iredale is decent. I'm happy with him. Rocky and O'Hora/Miller are doing fine too so any upgrade would need to be substantially better. Marv and O'Hora could be surplus to requirements by end of the season. Its a tough decision for Gray on whether to build a future defence around either Miller and Rocky who are both relatively young. I reckon he'll give them their chance from now to end of the season.
Me too. Smith has played an integral role in Hibs’ resurgence. He’s earned the gloves IMHO and any GK signing should be for back-up/competition for Smith.We disagree, I think he's fine.
Me too. Smith has played an integral role in Hibs’ resurgence. He’s earned the gloves IMHO and any GK signing should be for back-up/competition for Smith.
Bowie is about fit to return as is Myko both will be like new signings. Vente could be brought back if needed.
Levitt showed he can step up and defensively we weathered the injury storm and discovered Iredale can play a bit. We brought back a couple of the youngsters too. If anything we need a decent back up keeper or a recalled Murray Johnson. After that unless there is an outstanding player who can cover a utility type role we might be better going with the squad we have and recruit in the richer fishing ground of the summer window rather than netting other teams winter rejects
My humble opinion is that the major upturn in form and the impending return of injured players has allowed the recruitment team to focus on one or two better players, rather than maybe five panicky buys when the results were bad. Even a couple of decent standard loans for five months would, perhaps, push the whole squad to higher levels and secure a European place.
We need a centre half, a goalie and a striker capable of competing for a start. We're an injury or two from a crisis in all those positions.
Iredale is decent. I'm happy with him. Rocky and O'Hora/Miller are doing fine too so any upgrade would need to be substantially better. Marv and O'Hora could be surplus to requirements by end of the season. Its a tough decision for Gray on whether to build a future defence around either Miller and Rocky who are both relatively young. I reckon he'll give them their chance from now to end of the season.
Does anyone think there's any positions that need reinforcing even if it was someone who was not as good as what we already have? Any positions that if we have an injury then we're in serious trouble? It sounds like a silly question but definitely happened to us last year and we lost quite a few games just due to weak positions. I think now, perhaps, goalkeeper? If Smith is injured and we go back to Bursik and his confidence is still gone then that could be nasty. Apart from that, I think we're fairly well covered everywhere. We lack a bit of creativity in midfield without Newell/Triantis... or I thought we did, but perhaps that's Levitt back in form again after Motherwell game. Also we've got our attacking players back, so unless we lose them to transfers then I think we have enough. Maybe we could do with one more.
But anyway, so that's to say that I'm glad we're not needing to just sign anyone for the sake of having someone who can do a job in a position, only signing people if the right person comes up who can improve the team, as SDG said. Obviously there are some injuries that could really ruin our team because the players have been so good, but I think we'd not collapse, more than can be said for the squads over the last couple of years.
If it is going to happen, then it is possible to do it now with the two Chelsea games gone.What’s the chances of getting Dennis in this window?
If it is going to happen, then it is possible to do it now with the two Cheslea games gone.
Let’s hope it happens.
Might be old news but reading today triantis, although he's enjoying his time at Hibs, wants tae go back to sunderland
Sorry but it is a ridiculous headline on Hibs Observer... What do you expect him to say as a player under contract at Sunderland? The lad is a talent and has obviously got self-belief. Why shouldn't his target be to be a first team player at Sunderland? Anything else simply isn't on the agenda. If Hibs were to agree a fee to buy the boy from Sunderland and the contract on offer was sufficiently tempting then he might feel different and subsequently say something entirely different. Bottom line what he's said is what ALL on loan players say about their parent club.
Plenty time left.I'm starting to think the board is using our upturn in form as an excuse not to sign someone.
Plenty time left.
Hope not. I’m going on the basis that quality takes time.. that said would be pretty frustrating if we end up with another Luke McCowan type outcome. Hopefully won’t be the case! Still plenty of timeI'm starting to think the board is using our upturn in form as an excuse not to sign someone.
To not do any business, in or out, would signify the heirarchy are happy with a mid - table positionI'm starting to think the board is using our upturn in form as an excuse not to sign someone.
Or that we couldn’t get players better than we have.To not do any business, in or out, would signify the heirarchy are happy with a mid - table positionso long as the financials are ok .
Possibly and no, we’ve had enuf over paid, over contracted huddiesOr that we couldn’t get players better than we have.
Would you rather we signed a few numpties and wasted more wages?