Hibernian v the Gorgie Guffies | General Hibs Chat | HibeesBounce

• Anyone that shops on amazon... do us a wee favour and help us earn some cashola...

Use this link to help us earn... As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases!! CLICK HERE

It's cool if you don't wanna... just click the X to dismiss this notice... ya bam!!! 🤣

Hibernian v the Gorgie Guffies

I don't think I have dreaded a derby as much in many a year. Them on the up, us struggling. A full house to boot, which shows you that the Hibs fans are the stars, the club are miles off that. Last Saturday was a right boot in the Rab Haws, Hibs were the better team and threw it away and it showed up all our weaknesses, no taking chances, poor decision making on and off the park, dreadful rights backs, a duffer of a goalie and a melt down with 10-15 to go. We also have as it turns out at least two Hibs players who cannae be arsed playing for us in Doyle Hayes and Elie Youan. Fuck sake.

I spoke with a Guntish pal today as he got out his Toly coloured Rover 65, resplendent in a maroon cardigan and freshly creased cream slacks, he removed his driving gloves, passed the Daily Mail and his Sash to his adoring if pig ugly wife and he told me the last two games they have looked like the George Burley team of yore. They pummel teams from the start and get themselves into an early lead, players previously played out of position now starring in their right position (Penrice, Spittal and Baningime all being mentioned), height and ball winners in midfield for the first time in years and the manager has them playing like they want to do well for him. Fuck sake.

With the daft Sky TV 12 o'clock kick off it will be a couple of bacon rolls in the hoose before heading into the game. If it is as dreich as today, I may treat myself to a Bovril at the ground.

All in, I am dreading this. Still, if we beat the bastards, it makes for a great few weeks.

So, a team to beat the puddledrinkers. Fuck sake.

Jordan Smith in goal. Bursik is a duffer.

Miller at right back, only because I suspect Cadden in injured and won't play.

Ekipeta, who has actually been ok.

O'Hora, who I expect to be captain.

Obita, who is average at best but does very occasionally get a good ball in and can actually tackle.

The welcome return of Nice Triantis, just try and no get booked unless you take out a gunt pal.

Kwon, see if he can give us more than an hour before vanishing.

Rudi, the only Hibs fan who can start.

Boyler wide and going at them.

Hoilett, wide and going at them.

Gayle up front giving them hell.​

Thoughts?

Huck the Farts!

Fuck sake.

After their last 2 performances and wins I'm absolutely sh!ting it to be perfectly honest. We are a complete mess at the moment and whilst form can go out the window in Derby matches I think our self destruct button is a huge danger again.

I'd start Moriah-Welsh instead of Rudi(sub) as this game will suit him.

Id also start Myko now Boyle's back, the service he has been getting was terrible.

Big Kent is obviously all about in the air, saw him falling over his own feet standing on the ball and his passing shite, he needs targeted from the first whistle.

We simply have to put our chances away and ensure Craig Gordon doesn't get the chance to make it all about him.

I feel angry, excited and pumped up for Sunday. I'd fuckin love to see us beat that lot I really would.

If we genuinely had a squad with aspirations to achieve top 3 this season (as we should and yet again we don't) then I reckon we would see 5 or 6 changes in personnel from last week.

I also think in SDG we have a manager who is too loyal to certain players and I reckon he can also be at times too cautious. Therefore, I don't think we will see the changes or team most would expect.

So I'm going for him to pick:

Bursik

Miller
Ekipeta
O'Hora
Obita

Boyle
Triantis
Kwon
Campbell
N Cadden

Kukharevych

Wouldn't be my team but how I feel he'll go.

I don't think I have dreaded a derby as much in many a year. Them on the up, us struggling. A full house to boot, which shows you that the Hibs fans are the stars, the club are miles off that. Last Saturday was a right boot in the Rab Haws, Hibs were the better team and threw it away and it showed up all our weaknesses, no taking chances, poor decision making on and off the park, dreadful rights backs, a duffer of a goalie and a melt down with 10-15 to go. We also have as it turns out at least two Hibs players who cannae be arsed playing for us in Doyle Hayes and Elie Youan. Fuck sake.

I spoke with a Guntish pal today as he got out his Toly coloured Rover 65, resplendent in a maroon cardigan and freshly creased cream slacks, he removed his driving gloves, passed the Daily Mail and his Sash to his adoring if pig ugly wife and he told me the last two games they have looked like the George Burley team of yore. They pummel teams from the start and get themselves into an early lead, players previously played out of position now starring in their right position (Penrice, Spittal and Baningime all being mentioned), height and ball winners in midfield for the first time in years and the manager has them playing like they want to do well for him. Fuck sake.

With the daft Sky TV 12 o'clock kick off it will be a couple of bacon rolls in the hoose before heading into the game. If it is as dreich as today, I may treat myself to a Bovril at the ground.

All in, I am dreading this. Still, if we beat the bastards, it makes for a great few weeks.

Obita, who is average at best but does very occasionally get a good ball in and can actually tackle.

The welcome return of Nice Triantis, just try and no get booked unless you take out a gunt pal.

Thoughts?

Huck the Farts!

Fuck sake.
Heading along with the usual crew, shotgun a couple in the Harp to calm the nerves, and ….. nae idea what version of Hibs we’ll see 🤷🏻‍♂️
We can knock the ball about ok and (at times) look like a team, then,more often than not sh@t our pants, I think this game in particular will show if the players give a toss about SDG or not, he’s history if we get royally humped imo,
If they do give a fuck we’ll see a team with determination that doesn’t hide, and maybe , just maybe ……

Thoughts?

Huck the Farts!

Fuck sake.
We need a real attacking threat against them so I totally agree with starting Boyle, Hoilett and Gayle. Hoilett is strong aswell so can mix it aswell.

I feel angry, excited and pumped up for Sunday. I'd fuckin love to see us beat that lot I really would.

If we genuinely had a squad with aspirations to achieve top 3 this season (as we should and yet again we don't) then I reckon we would see 5 or 6 changes in personnel from last week.

I also think in SDG we have a manager who is too loyal to certain players and I reckon he can also be at times too cautious. Therefore, I don't think we will see the changes or team most would expect.

So I'm going for him to pick:

Bursik

Miller
Ekipeta
O'Hora
Obita

Boyle
Triantis
Kwon
Campbell
N Cadden

Kukharevych

Wouldn't be my team but how I feel he'll go.
I think he will play Junior before Cadden.

Dreading this one too. This team has the worst combination possible - can’t keep the ball out of our net and can’t score many goals.

None of the goalkeepers fill me with any hope, but Bursik simply cannot continue after his horrific start to the season.

I don’t think Ekpiteta or O’Hora have been good at all, both are far too easy for opposition forwards to play against. Both seem to be second to anything that drops in the six yard box, Ekpiteta in particular. No idea what Iredale is like, but neither of those two look an upgrade on Rocky… yikes. Gray needs to find a way of making the back four far more solid, the utterly hapless Miller is a big problem as the laddie cannot defend at all. Cadden’s not much better defensively.

At the other end both Kukharyvich and Gayle look the type of strikers who need a partner, yet Gray has generally gone one up front…

Kwon and Triantis at least have the the height and physicality to match up in midfield. Triantis simply cannot get booked early and Kwon has to show out for the full game.

So I’ll guess a team that 100% won’t start, but might address some of the problems listed above…

Smith
O’Hora Ekpiteta Iredale Obita
Boyle Kwon Triantis Hoilett
Gayle Kukharyvich

In goal either Rocky Bushiri, Barrie Wilkins (more a creative midfielder when I played in the same team) or @egb_hibs

Lewis Miller and Cadden have consistently been fucking rotten in general but also the guntos so I would go

Iredale O'Hora Marv Obita - its fucking criminal we not only have one LB but no cover for the LB in front of him.

Boyle Kwon Triantis Hoilett

Myko Gayle

Need the energetic boys in midfield in the middle to fucking turn up, I still think there's a chance we could get torn apart down the flanks and with the loan goalie who will actually play. I'm hoping as Boyler hates them he turns up, Hoilett is the best player we have and Gayle and Myk hit it off. Desperation and not confident like.

Fuck the gunts.

Davie Gray needs to change something in the way we are set up in games...what we have seen so far this season from Hibs just hasn't worked.
Hearts have a new manager who probably had to be told what the Edinburgh derby was when they interviewed him, and they played on Thursday night in Europe.
So they are beatable...it's just that this Hibs team doesn't look capable of beating anyone just now. It's like we have forgotten how to win football matches.

Derbies are first and foremost battles. Have we got the warriors in the team to win the battle ?
For once, please start this match on the front foot and take the game to them.
They should be shiting themselves coming to play Hibs at Easter Road, but they are probably relishing the prospect, with Hibs in such a fragile state at the moment.

As I said, I think David Gray has to try something different. First of all I have a feeling Jordan Smith might be brought in to replace the nervy and indecisive Bursik.
I would then go three at the back with Rocky, Ekpeteita and Iredale...with Miller and Obita pushing up on them down the flanks.
Midfield...Kwon, Triantis and Hoillett. I haven't given up on Dylan Levitt yet either
That then gives you the option of two up front...Myko and Gayle.
Boyle a good impact player to bring on these days.

Our derby record has been shite since the early 1980's...one of the worst in world football.
It's a total disgrace the amount of matches we have lost to Hearts over the years.
IMO we have to take something out of this game...and I wouldn't be too upset with a draw.
Reason being this game starts our relegation battle for this season, and our struggle to get off the bottom of the league. ..and even a point will give us a solid base to begin a recovery.
Defeat to Hearts on Sunday would be disasterous..and will likely see the manager come under huge pressure.
This has to be avoided at all costs.
Don't lose this game Hibs.

Personally I'd try a 3-5-2 but you just know it's going to be the same old 1 up front. You also know that if we go in front, that either a defender or extra midfielder will be brought on to supposedly shore it up,rarely works for us. We know this because it's what DG does,even in his previous stints as temp manager it's what he basically did.
I still think we can beat them but we're going to have to combat their guaranteed quick press,even if it means going long more often than we'd like.
100% effort,keep the head and take our bloody chances.

I don't know if Jordan Smith is considered match fit but if he is I'd get him in. The lad Bursik is probably struggling with his confidence currently. Smith has played in plenty of big games and has good experience to offer. His kicking is not his strong point but Hibs just need someone who can do the basics reliably at this time. Having seen him a few times, I think he can.

Thoughts?

Huck the Farts!

Fuck sake.
We beat Burley's team. Fuck the Gunts.

We had the best team that day since the 6-2 game and no better since then and Burley was sacked by then. Get your point though.

Am I right in saying that was the last Saturday afternoon 3pm we have played them? Possibly Benji winner same season fuck fuck knows.

I'll probably get some stick for this but I think I would start Youan and hope he plays at his best.But I doubt it will happen.I'd also like to see Gayle and Kukareychiv up front.Also I think I'd drop Bursik for A.N.Other.

I think if we lose on Sunday nobody should be surprised. My bookie was joking he wouldn't accept if I bet Jambos to win! We need a bit of magic, one thing in our favour is Herts played in Europe this week. I actually predict a draw, think we'll play ok but 1-1....

We had the best team that day since the 6-2 game and no better since then and Burley was sacked by then. Get your point though.

Am I right in saying that was the last Saturday afternoon 3pm we have played them? Possibly Benji winner same season fuck fuck knows.
It was a Saturday 3pm a couple of years ago at the Pink pit when that wanker Halliday scored a double

Good player as he is on his day, the boy has stopped trying. Not acceptable.

Agree, but this game might be one he fancies. Big game, put him in the limelight for a move. This is where SDG needs to earn his crust. Pull him aside, big him up, tell him he'll get a move, especially if he's producing the goods. He's definitely got the ability.

Keeper has to be dropped.
I would have Rocky back in defence.
Smith
Miller(nobody else) Rocky Ekpiteta Obita
Boyle Triantis Kwon Rudi Hoillet
Gayle

As per normal. My bet that very rarely comes up is on.
The bookies prices seem unrealistic, however I honestly think that great run (two games FFS) can easily brought to a shuddering halt on Sunday. It is often said that they historically want to win against us than we against them. I think that's an urban myth. See our record at Tynie for 7 years on another thread. I thing we can agree to disagree on starting lineups, formations etc. however Gray has been there and knows the significance of Derbies. I hope since our last game he has constantly hammered and hammered this home to the majority of our players who have not.
Hibs win.

As per normal. My bet that very rarely comes up is on.
The bookies prices seem unrealistic, however I honestly think that great run (two games FFS) can easily brought to a shuddering halt on Sunday. It is often said that they historically want to win against us than we against them. I think that's an urban myth. See our record at Tynie for 7 years on another thread. I thing we can agree to disagree on starting lineups, formations etc. however Gray has been there and knows the significance of Derbies. I hope since our last game he has constantly hammered and hammered this home to the majority of our players who have not.
Hibs win.

Gordon, I salute your courage, your strength, and your indefatigabilty.

I wish I could share it.

Whatever, bring them on.

Not much SDG can do regarding the back four, Miller HAS to stop his fannying about ( vital ) but the keeper has to be dropped, Smith cannot possibly be worse 😩
Don’t suppose there’s another clause in the loan deal where we have to play him, surely not .
4-3-3 for me Triantis, Kwon and Rudi.
Boyle, Gayle and Hoilett forwardish .
If he plays one up top I can’t see us winning . Def Rudi over Josh for me.
Go at them and we can win , wee Double from a pain free Boyler, he has history there. 💚🇳🇬😜

Not much SDG can do regarding the back four, Miller HAS to stop his fannying about ( vital ) but the keeper has to be dropped, Smith cannot possibly be worse 😩
Don’t suppose there’s another clause in the loan deal where we have to play him, surely not .
4-3-3 for me Triantis, Kwon and Rudi.
Boyle, Gayle and Hoilett forwardish .
If he plays one up top I can’t see us winning . Def Rudi over Josh for me.
Go at them and we can win , wee Double from a pain free Boyler, he has history there. 💚🇳🇬😜
I think we'll need a 4 man midfield

MW for me i think , liked him when he first arrived . Must admit i'm hopeless with these formation things
Me too, football is so boring isn't it? I'd like to see all out attack against teams we think we should be beating and a defence and midfield capable of stifling and frustrating the opposition when under pressure. Simple? In my head it should be 😀

Support The Bounce

£0.00
Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  0.0%