Hibernian v Peterhead

The Blue Toon are coming doon to the big toon, for a game that might be described as High Noon if we want into the next roon. Or something like that. Fucking it up last Saturday means we have a must win on our hands, last weekend in July. No two ways about it, we need to pump the fishermen pronto and hope results and the draw go our way.

With that in mind, nae fannying around, play the best team we have available, whatever their individual foibles might be. Dinnae expect a big crowd, Hibs urnae making the moves they need to make in the transfer market, there is fall outs in the boardroom and dark clouds and gulls over the the pitch at ER.

So, with all that in mind, my team if fit would be....

Bursik

Miller, Marvin, O'Hora, Obita

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

The Blue Toon are coming doon to the big toon, for a game that might be described as High Noon if we want into the next roon. Or something like that. Fucking it up last Saturday means we have a must win on our hands, last weekend in July. No two ways about it, we need to pump the fishermen pronto and hope results and the draw go our way.

With that in mind, nae fannying around, play the best team we have available, whatever their individual foibles might be. Dinnae expect a big crowd, Hibs urnae making the moves they need to make in the transfer market, there is fall outs in the boardroom and dark clouds and gulls over the the pitch at ER.

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

The gulls are Blue Toon scouts and have submitted their dossier on Hibs but we’ll happily send more. If Greencol hadn’t retired early he would have run them down in his council van (literally).

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

Thats probably the strongest 11 available. Mibbes Levitt for Moriah-Welsh, he needs tae show more though.

Whatever team starts on Saturday, it's really important that we start the game at a good tempo, and it would help us hugely to get early goals.
Peterhead are just going to sit in and try to stifle the play, but if we hit them early as we did against Elgin and Queens Park, then we should win the game comfortably IMO.
What we we don't want is another Kelty Hearts situation with loads of chances going abegging, and the game still at 0-0 going into the second half. The Hibs crowd will just become more agitated and that leads to desperation from the players.....although i'm confident enough we won't see a repeat of that.

Winning will very likely mean we win the group, but we are not going to be seeded for the next round thanks to our inability to score even once in 90 minutes against part-time League one opposition last Saturday.

Whatever team starts on Saturday, it's really important that we start the game at a good tempo, and it would help us hugely to get early goals.
Peterhead are just going to sit in and try to stifle the play, but if we hit them early as we did against Elgin and Queens Park, then we should win the game comfortably IMO.
What we we don't want is another Kelty Hearts situation with loads of chances going abegging, and the game still at 0-0 going into the second half. The Hibs crowd will just become more agitated and that leads to desperation from the players.....although i'm confident enough we won't see a repeat of that.

Winning will very likely mean we win the group, but we are not going to be seeded for the next round thanks to our inability to score even once in 90 minutes against part-time League one opposition last Saturday.
This is incredible to think we're talking about playing Peterhead and attempting to get out of a diddy league cup group

I'd go with that team Obita played well against Watford although him and Boyle were guilty of overhitting crosses into the box which was frustrating.
Only one I might change would be McKirdy for Vente, not because he scored in a friendly but because he seemed more robust and didn't get pushed off the ball so much.Vente didn't impress me that much against Watford but he's scored a helluva lot more goals than McKirdy so he probably gets the nod to start.

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

I'd go slightly different

Bursik

Megwa
Miller
Ekpiteta
O'Hora
Obita

Newell
Welsh
Campbell

Vente
Boyle

The gulls are Blue Toon scouts and have submitted their dossier on Hibs but we’ll happily send more. If Greencol hadn’t retired early he would have run them down in his council van (literally).
Ah. The good old days.
Now I have to resort to throwing bread out in the back garden for the bastard things.
Laced, of course....

Oh, 0-1 on Setirdi....

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

That team is our best although I could be tempted to play McKirdy instead of Molotnikov.
I don't think McKirdy is much of a player but he can shoot and we will get lots of chances.

Hibs will fly out the traps and keep going until safe. Hibs win then fingers crossed for the draw given our non seeding.

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

I 100% agree that’s our strongest team for Saturday but it scares the life out me for the season ahead.

That team does well to avoid relegation, and I go into every season thinking we will be third and win the Scottish Cup, it’s obviously our year etc.

I fear for SDG, Jose Mourinho would struggle to turn that into a top six side 🥲

I 100% agree that’s our strongest team for Saturday but it scares the life out me for the season ahead.

That team does well to avoid relegation, and I go into every season thinking we will be third and win the Scottish Cup, it’s obviously our year etc.

I fear for SDG, Jose Mourinho would struggle to turn that into a top six side 🥲

What about those 11 aren't you convinced we could avoid the drop?
Just the 11, I'm not impressed with what they've got in reserve so I'll no argue any of their cases. Except Youan and Cadden. They both make that 11 when fit.

I think the 11 isn't too bad.
Need to get Boyle on form. Molotnikov is young and raw but there's a lot to like. Wee bit youthful arrogance could carry him a wee way yet. No full back likes players running at them.

Vente we obviously need competition and to get more out of him.

But I do actually think those 11 players, with Cadden, Youan and some better back up, or starting players to drop any of them to the bench.

Playing properly,
It's a decent foundation to build on.
Not popular, but I think it's true.

Just the 11, I'm not impressed with what they've got in reserve so I'll no argue any of their cases. Except Youan and Cadden. They both make that 11 when fit.

Need to get Boyle on form. Molotnikov is young and raw but there's a lot to like. Wee bit youthful arrogance could carry him a wee way yet. No full back likes players running at them.

But I do actually think those 11 players, with Cadden, Youan and some better back up, or starting players to drop any of them to the bench.

Playing properly,
That 13 plus 3 more of the right quality in would get us through to a January reassessment

Playing properly,
Not popular, but I think it's tru

Playing properly,
I’ve seen nothing from the majority of that eleven to show that if a game comes to any sort of battle they will stand up to it. Which is where my concern is, there’s some nice football players in there but I’ve seen no evidence they are streetwise enough to grind out results.

I hope I am spectacularly wrong….

there’s some nice football players in there but I’ve seen no evidence they are streetwise enough to grind out results.

There's an argument there,
Not one worth fighting against anyway.

I think looking at the 2 CB's it shows a desire to bring leaders into the club, leaders want to win.
I think a couple more signings with what appears to be their mental strength, will see us in good stead.

There's an argument there,
Not one worth fighting against anyway.

I think looking at the 2 CB's it shows a desire to bring leaders into the club, leaders want to win.
I think a couple more signings with what appears to be their mental strength, will see us in good stead.
O’Hora certainly looks a leader. He’s impressed me most of the 4 so far. Him and big Marv hopefully continue to form a good partnership at CB

Bursik

Newell

Moriah-Welsh, Campbell

Boyle Molotnikov

Vente​

Thoughts?

Probably our strongest team, which isnae really a complement given the quality of the rest of the players available.

When do the reinforcements arrive? League kicks off next weekend.

Can’t see us not winning this game, I said the same about the wee Gunts, but I really hope for a performance that we can take to St.Mirren.

No McKirdy or Kenneh.
Reckon they are having to manage McKirdy carefully due to his health problems.
Kenneh must be on the way out.

hibeesbounce

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%