Hearts and their union flags

Lochend Shamrock

Can anyone explain? I counted 17 union Jack flags and one red hand of Ulster in the Dunbar end at last weeks game at Easter road. Why and is this new?

Wee fannies who want to be mini Huns.
Sadly we have their opposite numbers in our support too.

Can’t explain why though, and as Eck points out, well........ yes.

In the 80s and 90s I never saw hearts with union flags. Are we seeing a knock on effect from populism and Brexit?

Pisses me off the whole thing relating football to politics and religion. I am pretty sure there is unionists and seperatists and even dont care muchs on both sides, and Catholics and Protestants and aethiests and Sikhs and Muslims etc etc ..apologies for spelling mistakes..just support what team you wanna support, and if the team doesn't specifically state..we stand for this or believe in that...keep it to football!

Some people want to talk about politics and make a statement and some people don't.I think the prominance of Union flags is partly to do with populist politics,it's also to do with the economic situation,we've been suffering from austerity measures since the bankers crash in 2008.Some folk are turning towards nationalism as a potential solution to their problems.There has been a gradual move towards Unionism over at Tynie probably since the indy ref and just before.The Brexit debacle isn't helping.

Can anyone explain? I counted 17 union Jack flags and one red hand of Ulster in the Dunbar end at last weeks game at Easter road. Why and is this new?
My theory is that they look on Hibs as an Irish Catholic team, sure it's got connections to St.Patricks and Ireland but we don't call it a Catholic team (and I'm glad) they therefore want to go the opposite way because they are our city rivals hence the union flag and red hand of Ulster flags.
Load of pish and if those in our ranks want to sing republican songs to counter act their loyalist songs ask themselves this were they joining in with the great unwashed today with their songs. If the answer is yes then look at yourselves and have a word. If no then shut the fuck up and don't sing them at other matches. We are Hibs and we sing Hibs songs.

It’s fuck all to do with politics. You honestly think the 16-25 year olds that will normally be the ones that have these flags really give a fuck about politics? For some reason they think it’ll wind the opposition up much like when the huns sing ‘rule Britannia’

Been gradually creeping in for the last decade or so,Brexit and the rise of the right may have moved it on a touch.But it's always been there as far as I recall.
Bizarrely the number of UFs on Hibs fans twitter handles is growing

Is it wrong to be a unionist and a Hibby at same time? Some people favour separation. .some don't. Shouldn't matter much when watching a game. Granted if I was a unionist I wouldn't fly the flag at Easter Road simply because it's the wrong colours

A lot of young people will Express themselves politically through football. To suggest otherwise would be wrong. Being involved in a football culture develops political tribalism and associations. Perhaps some on here will enlighten me however I don't see a high percentage of Irish political stuff at easter road. A few rogues perhaps but a very very small amount. I think I've said this before on here that there is a difference between celebrating irish traditions and advocating hatred.
Original question was, are we seeing a growing and developing right wing at Tyncastle as a result of Boris?

Is it wrong to be a unionist and a Hibby at same time? Some people favour separation. .some don't. Shouldn't matter much when watching a game. Granted if I was a unionist I wouldn't fly the flag at Easter Road simply because it's the wrong colours
Or because of its associations with Rangers and them..

Seperation? How unionist talk is that? Why not call it what its all about? Independence.
Or do you prefer us to be colonial?

A lot of young people will Express themselves politically through football. To suggest otherwise would be wrong. Being involved in a football culture develops political tribalism and associations. Perhaps some on here will enlighten me however I don't see a high percentage of Irish political stuff at easter road. A few rogues perhaps but a very very small amount. I think I've said this before on here that there is a difference between celebrating irish traditions and advocating hatred.
Original question was, are we seeing a growing and developing right wing at Tyncastle as a result of Boris?

I very much doubt it.

Wee dafties probably influenced by a small number of dodgy bastards that have little to do with football.

I seem to remember a group of right wing types trying to influence our younger supporters when the East opened. Until they got chased!

It’s fuck all to do with politics. You honestly think the 16-25 year olds that will normally be the ones that have these flags really give a fuck about politics? For some reason they think it’ll wind the opposition up much like when the huns sing ‘rule Britannia’
In this case you're probably right it's a case of they say sugar we say shite.
However don't dismiss the youth of today concerning politics remember the indie campaign and the 16 year olds who debated admirably about the pros and cons of independence. Also the young Norwegian school girl campaigning against global warming and the unjustified abuse she is receiving. As in football our future depends on the young.

In this case you're probably right it's a case of they say sugar we say shite.
However don't dismiss the youth of today concerning politics remember the indie campaign and the 16 year olds who debated admirably about the pros and cons of independence. Also the young Norwegian school girl campaigning against global warming and the unjustified abuse she is receiving. As in football our future depends on the young.

The Swedish people will doubtless be miffed with that statement in bold :53:

Hee haw wrong in being a unionist if that's your thing.
But the UF is associated with the loyalist/hun cause in scotland and I cant understand Hibs fans using it.

Greta Thunberg is Swedish.Her Norwegian counterpart and fellow campaigner is Melter Iceberg
Look. Never mind if she's Sweedish, Danish, Norwegian or fucking Gleswiegian the point I was trying to make (and I wish ah hudnae bothered now) is she's only 16(please God let that be right before some smartarse barsteward picks me up on that)and she's serious about politics and the way the world is heading.
That's all now fuck off wi yer geography lesson it was all one country at one time before Abba won the Eurovision song contest and Waterloo happened and the Big Bang split the 2 countries apart!!!!!!!!!
Ahgggggghhh:sm061:

Look. Never mind if she's Sweedish, Danish, Norwegian or fucking Gleswiegian the point I was trying to make (and I wish ah hudnae bothered now) is she's only 16(please God let that be right before some smartarse barsteward picks me up on that)and she's serious about politics and the way the world is heading.
That's all now fuck off wi yer geography lesson it was all one country at one time before Abba won the Eurovision song contest and Waterloo happened and the Big Bang split the 2 countries apart!!!!!!!!!

Don't take it to heart buddy. Everyone gets the same treatment because there's a couple of right buggers posting on this forum. @Sir Shrink and some other bloke.

She’s no 16 until tomorrow.

Been gradually creeping in for the last decade or so,Brexit and the rise of the right may have moved it on a touch.But it's always been there as far as I recall.
Bizarrely the number of UFs on Hibs fans twitter handles is growing
What's a UF ?

Don't take it to heart buddy. Everyone gets the same treatment because there's a couple of right buggers posting on this forum. @Sir Shrink and some other bloke.
Ah cheers pal s'awright.
I much prefer the 70's though when football fans were a much simpler beast. You had a few too many pints ,you went to the match, sung very un PC songs got into a skirmish with opposing supporters maybe got lifted by the polis or an ambulance and nobody new or cared where f'kin Norway or Sweden was.!!!!!!!!!
Right all better now. Took a few deep breaths and I'm good to go. Let's have no more talk of Norway, Sweeden or 16 year olds.