Greatest TV show ever

Hibees-Mad

Decided to watch The Sopranos again recently. Watched it back in the day but wanted to see if it held up.

Spoiler- it does.

I loved sons of anarchy, the wire, breaking bad, better call saul.

Tony and his guys still top them all. TV that all television is gauged.

Spectacular

Decided to watch The Sopranos again recently. Watched it back in the day but wanted to see if it held up.

Spoiler- it does.

Spectacular
You watched Gomorrah? I put it up there with The Sopranos

If you haven't already, give Fargo a spin. The TV series and the film are great.
Watched Sons Of Anarchy fully for the first time recently, really enjoyable. Ashame about the spin off Mayans which isn't so good.

Spoiler- it does.

Spectacular
Weird you should post this. This morning I've just watched the first episode of The Sopranos never having watched it before. I'll give it a chance. Couldn't get past series 2 of Breaking bad and have no intentions of watching better call saul.

The Sons lol the only biker gang in history who don't sell drugs.

It was a good wee bit of escapism though.

I've never seen Fargo. I'll give it a gander over the weekend

Weird you should post this. This morning I've just watched the first episode of The Sopranos never having watched it before. I'll give it a chance. Couldn't get past series 2 of Breaking bad and have no intentions of watching better call saul.
Your in for some good telly mate. Binge watch and you'll end up with a New Joisy accent

The Sopranos passed me by. It's one I've always wanted to catch up on. Is it streaming anywhere?

Better Call Saul could well become my favourite show ever. It is down to it's final episode next week and it has been superb. For a while there I was wondering if it really was better than Breaking Bad or I just felt that way because it was what I was currently watching, but seeing more Breaking Bad characters pop up in BCS recently only highlighted how much more complicated and nuanced characters like Jimmy and Kim are... Jesse and Walt seem cartoonish by comparison.

We are living through a golden age of TV just now though. I'm not sure I could go back to watching stuff like The X Files that I thought was great back in the day. In fact comedy shows are about all I rewatch from the 80s and 90s

Watch The Sopranos

In this classic drama, James Gandolfini stars as the iconic Tony Soprano, a mobster and family man confronted with the threat of violence, betrayal and exposure around every corner.

Spoiler- it does.

Spectacular

I agree, the Sopranos is the best.

Loved Breaking Bad also, haven't watched Better Call Saul yet.

I'd add Narcos and Ozark to the list of great watches.

For me it's The Wire - just feels authentic and the storytelling and characters are exceptional. That said I'm going to try to rewatch The Sopranos. Going back in time some Play For Todays were absolutely brilliant - Edna The Inebriate Woman starring Pat Hayes always stayed with me.

Star Trek TNG
Breaking Bad
Better Call Saul
I'm Alan Partridge

There's been other great shows but none were as consistently good as the ones listed above (usually they had a weak ending e.g. Game of Thrones).

For me it's The Wire - just feels authentic and the storytelling and characters are exceptional. That said I'm going to try to rewatch The Sopranos. Going back in time some Play For Todays were absolutely brilliant - Edna The Inebriate Woman starring Pat Hayes always stayed with me.
I would've said the Wire but from memory it had a bit of a nonsense final season involving the press with Jimmy McNulty fabricating murders etc? May have to re-watch it though TBF. But it definitely raised the bar and set the high benchmark which others followed.

Aye that last series storyline was a bit yad.
I read the geezers book who wrote The Wire. David Simon i think it is (he also done the more recent We Own This City).

He was embedded with Baltimore bizzies for a year.

See if you watch it again search some of the characters and it tells you who they are based on .

Avon Barksdale....

Like several other characters on "The Wire," the inspiration for Avon drew from a real person from Baltimore.

According to the Baltimore Sun, the real Avon was named Nathan Barksdale, an infamous head of a violent heroin operation in Baltimore's Murphy Homes public housing complex in the 1980s.

His nickname was "Bodie," which was given to one of Avon's crew members in the show.

Also like Avon, Nathan was arrested and sentenced to prison (15 years in his case), released and then arrested again for drug-related crimes in 2014.
The Real-Life Inspiration For The Wire's Avon Barksdale - /Film

I agree, the Sopranos is the best.

Loved Breaking Bad also, haven't watched Better Call Saul yet.

I'd add Narcos and Ozark to the list of great watches.
Last ever episode of Saul next week so you'll be able to binge till the end. If you liked Breaking Bad you should like this as well.

The Sons lol the only biker gang in history who don't sell drugs.

It was a good wee bit of escapism though.

I've never seen Fargo. I'll give it a gander over the weekend
I know, I'm sure most biker gangs wouldn't be distributing candy floss 😂. Ron Pearlman and his Mrs in it were great.

Fargo IMDb rating is 8.9. First 3 seasons are brilliant. Season 5 coming soon.

Also away to watch the Sopranos and the Wire.

Here this is worth a watch. Seeing as how we are talking criminals.

The main gangster trusted Mike Dowd more than most of his own crew.

Very fascinating documentary about 'good' cops and 'bad' cops.....

The trailer

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

The Seven Five

Former NYPD officer Michael Dowd tells how he and his partner committed a long list of crimes, including running their own cocaine ring, while on the job in the 1980s and early '90s.

75th Precinct NYPD Gangsta Cops

Boys from the Blackstuff.
As relevant now in 2022 as it was in the early 80's .

It's more than relevant G.
It will seem like a walk in the park in comparison to the shit show which is getting shittier with every passing Prime Minister.

It's more than relevant G.
It will seem like a walk in the park in comparison to the shit show which is getting shittier with every passing Prime Minister.
Watched Boys From The Black Stuff again recently. I've always loved it and have to say it has lost none of it's impact. It's still as powerful as when it first showed.

Portraying such grim times for working people, it is creditable how it finds the pathos to make you laugh at times in amongst the distraught, hopeless times ofthe characters. Amazing and memorable piece of work.

Edna the Inebriate Woman

I remember that fantastic.

I

Got a bit tae go tae beat Fargo, the Sopranos probably does. GOT was a good watch spoiled at the end. All the Narcos were good tae. Foreign stuff that was good was Gomorrah , Corleone and Braquo.

First season with Martin Freeman and Billy Bob Thornton was different class! Second season was also good but had a weird ending? Third season I never finished - think it had Ewan McGregor playing 2 roles?

Fourth season is good too. Hope season 5 continues as good.

Good find. I will watch this later. Thank you.

David Simon who wrote The Wire also wrote the storyline for Generation Kill which i enjoyed a lot - bit of an anti-climax at the end but worth a watch

A classic manipulator eh? See if you want a real life version watch that documentary about Michael Dowd i put up.

Same scenario.

If you were a decent citizen then Strike Team down nowt wrong.

But.....

In no particular order;
Sopranos
Our friends in the north
The Wire
MASH
Snowfall
The original Auf Wiedersehen Pet
Boys from the black stuff
Minder
When the boat comes in.
Sherlock Holmes (ITV Jeremy Brett)
Criminal Minds

I have watched all these a few times over.

Sopranos is a show that passed me by too, I must try to watch that some time.

Kev mentioned Star Trek TNG, I started re-watching this on Netflix from episode 1, currently series 2 episode 4. Some ‘early instalment weirdness’ in the first series* but the character development and depth for a ‘space opera’ over the course of its run pisses all over the lame and lazy characterisation seen in the many Marvel/DC spin offs over the last few years. A YouTuber called “the critical drinker” is well worth a watch for his views on TV and films.

Honourable mention to Blakes Seven, a bleak, power-corrupted dystopian future, not so far-fetched when looked through a 2020s viewpoint. The sets and special effects were a bit iffy, but the storylines and characters were brilliant.

The Thick of It is another favourite, surreal as it was when it was made, it has now become a true to life documentary.

The Office (U.K. and US) were both great too in their own ways.

I have also got back into watching Frasier, despite some high society wine/opera/music references falling flat it is funny and well made. I’m currently on series 6, and discovering that Frasier has progressively become a prick towards everyone around him. character charm only goes so far, I certainly didn’t view the character that way when I watched it first time round.

*Lt. Tasha Yar: What I want now is gentleness. And joy... and love. From you, Data; you are fully functional, aren't you?
Lt. Cmdr. Data: Of course, but...
Lt. Tasha Yar: How fully?
Lt. Cmdr. Data: In every way, of course. I am programed in multiple techniques. A broad variety of pleasuring.
Lt. Tasha Yar: Oh! You jewel, that's exactly what I hoped!”

Star Trek predicted sex dolls 😄

Sopranos is a show that passed me by too, I must try to watch that some time.

Kev mentioned Star Trek TNG, I started re-watching this on Netflix from episode 1, currently series 2 episode 4. Some ‘early instalment weirdness’ in the first series* but the character development and depth for a ‘space opera’ over the course of its run pisses all over the lame and lazy characterisation seen in the many Marvel/DC spin offs over the last few years. A YouTuber called “the critical drinker” is well worth a watch for his views on TV and films.

Honourable mention to Blakes Seven, a bleak, power-corrupted dystopian future, not so far-fetched when looked through a 2020s viewpoint. The sets and special effects were a bit iffy, but the storylines and characters were brilliant.

The Thick of It is another favourite, surreal as it was when it was made, it has now become a true to life documentary.

The Office (U.K. and US) were both great too in their own ways.

I have also got back into watching Frasier, despite some high society wine/opera/music references falling flat it is funny and well made. I’m currently on series 6, and discovering that Frasier has progressively become a prick towards everyone around him. character charm only goes so far, I certainly didn’t view the character that way when I watched it first time round.

*Lt. Tasha Yar: What I want now is gentleness. And joy... and love. From you, Data; you are fully functional, aren't you?
Lt. Cmdr. Data: Of course, but...
Lt. Tasha Yar: How fully?
Lt. Cmdr. Data: In every way, of course. I am programed in multiple techniques. A broad variety of pleasuring.
Lt. Tasha Yar: Oh! You jewel, that's exactly what I hoped!”

Star Trek predicted sex dolls 😄