Grassing

wee 162

Most people I know think grassing is a sine die no talking to you offence. I kindae agree with that. But there's certain lines I dinnae think I'd cross and would be fine with dobbing people in with. What ones would you grass someone for?

Me
Rape
Murder (depending on who it was killed)
hurting someone defenceless

Think that's it tbh. Am I a complete grass, or a sociopath? Think I've thought of myself as both considering these things, but nae idea if I'm right when I come up with different answers. I feel like I'm splitting atoms with this shite cause there's probably a line I'm no comfy with but it's so thin I've no idea what even sits on either side of it. Should there even be a line or should it just be "no grassing" or "grass"? No necessarily just talking polis here fwiw.

Talking to and trusting the polis are one of the big issues here IMHO. Funnily enough me and the wife were chatting about this last night and we are both non grassers but I have an ongoing conflict in my head that tells me this is a completely nonsensical stance. I know where my stance comes from btw it's from my mum drilling into me never to do anyone a bad turn.

If someone is committing benefit fraud I wouldn't shop them, but I should, because ultimately they are stealing off me. But they aren't stealing anything near as much as those that avoid and evade tax legally - another facet. How can right and wrong be so complex?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I think these things are fluid, I wouldn't grass for the sake of it, but I won't not talk to the polis. Al, your list is spot on. B, I agree with you re benefit fraud vs. tax evasion. I'd NEVER even consider cliping on someone for something like that, it just seems so petty & vindictive, and achieves nothing other than causing the culprit bother and making the grass, well, I don't know what they feel. I can't imagine doing that or what the motivation could really be of feel like. It's a shitty thing to do.

Conversely, I'd be happy to an extent if Vodafone were taken to task and done for their sneaky millions/billions of tax avoidance. But I'd almost see them getting caught as a victory for all of society.

Oddly enough, I was thinking about grassing yesterday, in the case of bullying. How not grassing could be your only option. In a situation where you or someone you love is stabbed but not killed by someone from a family of bampots, would you tell the polis who it is and run the risk of recriminations or would you accept that it's not worth it?

Even if you got a conviction, the crime wasn't fatal, and you're still at risk anyway. You essentially just cause you and your family more bother and a likelihood of years of watching over your shoulder. Bampots are bampots, the law don't make no difference.

I think the only folk safe from being shopped by me are the folk I know ... and like. But even then there's limits like those for wee162.

There's far too much crap going on these days that's fucking up a nice easy life within society.

They're going on about knife crime on the news just now. Would I contact the police if I saw someone with a knife? I would, unless it was beside a fork. How would I feel if I found out later they had stabbed someone, worse someone I know.

And benefit cheats better stay out my way too. Its a crime against society. There's got to be a line somewhere, it might as well be at zero tolerance.

Most people I know think grassing is a sine die no talking to you offence. I kindae agree with that. But there's certain lines I dinnae think I'd cross and would be fine with dobbing people in with. What ones would you grass someone for?

Me
Rape
Murder (depending on who it was killed)
hurting someone defenceless

Think that's it tbh. Am I a complete grass, or a sociopath? Think I've thought of myself as both considering these things, but nae idea if I'm right when I come up with different answers. I feel like I'm splitting atoms with this $#@!e cause there's probably a line I'm no comfy with but it's so thin I've no idea what even sits on either side of it. Should there even be a line or should it just be "no grassing" or "grass"? No necessarily just talking polis here fwiw.

Add to your list , housebreaking, cruelty to animals, drink driving, class A dealers, vandalism, fly tipping. I think it is our duty as citizens to bring these crimes to the attention of the polis.

A now retired inspector of the CID once said to me , the only criminals who don't grass each other up are the stupid ones. Biggest myth known to man he reckoned this " honour among thieves " mantra.

Grassing to me firstly Implies 'telling tales' ie dobbing someone in for something that you are related to even directly. Of course it can be used to mean plain old reporting of something. The former is a bit grubby I think, the second covers the also grubby to the absolutely morally essential.

Society depends on both people rubbing along and trusting one another, and also on standing up to the predators that exist within all human groups. The first of these demands a limit on people running off tattling, but that also means people need to challenge one another. But the second absolutely necessitates reporting of serious things - the alternative is vigilante violence of no society at all. It's a sign of cultural sickness when people don't 'grass' these things - consider clerical abuse for example. It's a nifty and devilish trick the bad guys have pulled, if people are troubled that reporting a rape or murder reflects negatively on them.

Grassing to me firstly Implies 'telling tales' ie dobbing someone in for something that you are related to even directly. Of course it can be used to mean plain old reporting of something. The former is a bit grubby I think, the second covers the also grubby to the absolutely morally essential.

Society depends on both people rubbing along and trusting one another, and also on standing up to the predators that exist within all human groups. The first of these demands a limit on people running off tattling, but that also means people need to challenge one another. But the second absolutely necessitates reporting of serious things - the alternative is vigilante violence of no society at all. It's a sign of cultural sickness when people don't 'grass' these things - consider clerical abuse for example. It's a nifty and devilish trick the bad guys have pulled, if people are troubled that reporting a rape or murder reflects negatively on them.

100% agree. First time this year! :giggle:

On a mildly related point, did anyone know McCabe?
No but I heard he was a grass.

Without putting your liberty at risk the only way to protect the innocent victims of crime is to stick the criminals in, go down the vigilante route and they won't think twice about helping get you convicted.

If anyone knows the **** who chored my bike outside Scotmid on ER while I popped in to top up my gas and leccy grass the **** to me please !!!!
It was a top bike and didn't deserve to be stolen again ffs :-)
I had not long rescued it from a pharmaceuticaly challenged looking bloke barely a month ago for an undisclosed fee

If anyone knows the **** who chored my bike outside Scotmid on ER while I popped in to top up my gas and leccy grass the **** to me please !!!!
It was a top bike and didn't deserve to be stolen again ffs :-)
I had not long rescued it from a pharmaceuticaly challenged looking bloke barely a month ago for an undisclosed fee
That's the circle of life :giggle:

And this one is champions league class and well within my wage structure had to splash out more than I wanted on a new u lock tho !!!!

Dont tell me they where stolen doc the pharmaceuticaly challenged bloke who sold me it said it was un wanted xmas present haha

Thats how naive and trusting I am wanna
It didn't cross my mind that 'my' bike I purchased was stolen in the first place but now I think about it you could be correct !! Haha

You never buy anything on the cheap from anyone learned that a coupla years ago when my brother in law sold me 'his pals old bmx' thought I had got a great deal until the police stopped me on my way back from the shop and I found out the bike had been nicked from a coppers pals garden.

Don't be fooled peeps. StantonSpence can't even go a bike. Never has done.

Wouldn't think twice about stickin in some wee scumbags from down here who get up to all sorts of 'anti-social behaviour'.

'grassing' is an urban myth that was conceived by scumbags as a 'code of honour' to protect them from getting jailed by other scumbags

Even La cosa nostra ended up grassing each other up just to save their own arses.