Granton, Pilton...

beefy

Leith and Royston....Muirhoose and Pennywell, Hibs supporters club.

That was the song we sang. Loudly & Proudly. And fuckin rightly...But then, this was oor bag. And TBH it was a fuckin blast!

It looks grim but it really wisnae. "Slums" the cheeky bastards...

[video=youtube_share;qQQD2Q_Vy9g]https://youtu.be/qQQD2Q_Vy9g[/video]

Leith and Royston....Muirhoose and Pennywell, Hibs supporters club.

That was the song we sang. Loudly & Proudly. And fuckin rightly...But then, this was oor bag. And TBH it was a fuckin blast!

It looks grim but it really wisnae. "Slums" the cheeky bastards...

[video=youtube_share;qQQD2Q_Vy9g]https://youtu.be/qQQD2Q_Vy9g[/video]
133522c2248ea100291512e7c87b5116.jpg
http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/5914f860130a3/_20170512_001344.JPG

Yes. That does actually say "You're now entering the planet rock of the intergalactic funk" Dinnae bother aboot the spells mistakes, yeah?

My Yoof! grandpa

Video has been made to look like something outa a bad movie. I grew up in Pilton and it really wasn't that bad. It did get worse in the 80's for sure, I was gone by then...1968-79. At the time everyone knew it was a working class (sometimes not working) council scheme but the neighbours were very friendly and had some great times. Unfortunately like everywhere there are always idiots who wanna pick a fight but by and large I had little complaint being brought up there. The pics of the ramps being knocked down, hardly really point to a slum area, but some unfit for purpose flats that are being cleared to make way for more suitable housing. Anyway's it was Muirhouse that was the dump :coffee:

:rascal:

I worked as a scaffie from 1984-91 and North Edinburgh was Pirrie St.'s patch.Fortunately I wasn't on the SSV that covered the West Granton run,we did Pennywell ,Blackhall and Telford.Anyway my workmates did the run, and we were always hearing stories of pishy mattresses,needles and deid dugs.Anyway one day all the crews were called out to west granton,the whole fucking block had blown up!
The story was that someone had tried to commit hari kiri, by puting his head in the oven.Don't know if this was true, but the resultant mess was something to behold.We must have been at that job for a good shift and a half.I think for the cooncil, that was the straw that broke the camel's back,the whole lot had to be done away with.

I worked as a scaffie from 1984-91 and North Edinburgh was Pirrie St.'s patch.Fortunately I wasn't on the SSV that covered the West Granton run,we did Pennywell ,Blackhall and Telford.Anyway my workmates did the run, and we were always hearing stories of pishy mattresses,needles and deid dugs.Anyway one day all the crews were called out to west granton,the whole $#@!ing block had blown up!
The story was that someone had tried to commit hari kiri, by puting his head in the oven.Don't know if this was true, but the resultant mess was something to behold.We must have been at that job for a good shift and a half.I think for the cooncil, that was the straw that broke the camel's back,the whole lot had to be done away with.

I remember that happening, I always thought someone had tried to turn the gas meter round to stop it running/charging, and didnt do a good job

I worked as a scaffie from 1984-91 and North Edinburgh was Pirrie St.'s patch.Fortunately I wasn't on the SSV that covered the West Granton run,we did Pennywell ,Blackhall and Telford.Anyway my workmates did the run, and we were always hearing stories of pishy mattresses,needles and deid dugs.Anyway one day all the crews were called out to west granton,the whole fucking block had blown up!

I remember that happening, I always thought someone had tried to turn the gas meter round to stop it running/charging, and didnt do a good job
Remember it well, it was right across from my pal Beany's hoose.

00011110000_zps2f014516.jpg

Here's the story...

000111100001_zpsf68bb452.jpg

Wow 203,000 for the whole block,my mum could get that for her semi detached villa now.

p.s. the ssv's were just outside of that picture honest! we were waiting on the firemen to give the all clear to clean up.