Getting hard to defend USA Police

Davy

from msn

A black man shot dead by officers in Tulsa was unarmed, police in Oklahoma have confirmed.
Footage recorded by a police vehicle shows pastor Terence Crutcher walking towards his stalled SUV with his hands up, as a female officer walks behind him.
In further footage shot from a police helicopter above the scene, an unidentified man can be heard saying “time for a Taser.”
He then says: “That looks like a bad dude too. Probably on something.”
As Crutcher approaches the SUV, three male officers walk up and Crutcher appears to lower his hands and place them on the side of the vehicle.
The officers surround him, then Crutcher can be seen dropping to the ground. Someone on the police radio says, “I think he may have just been Tasered.” One of the officers near Crutcher backs up slightly.
Then almost immediately, someone can be heard saying, “Shots fired.” The 40-year-old’s head then drops, leaving him lying prone in the street.
After that a voice can be heard on the police radio saying, “Shots fired. We have one suspect down.”
The officer who fired the shot that killed Crutcher on Friday has been identified by police as Officer Betty Shelby, who is on paid leave pending an investigation

The cops seem more than trigger happy.

According to this they have shot 21 people in the last 7 days http://www.killedbypolice.net/

I don't have the time or the stomach to wade through the reports to establish the race of each victim. From stats I have seen previously I remain unconvinced they are engaged in a racial extermination programme, and selective press coverage is bordering on inflammatory.

However I don't see how there can be any conclusion other than that there is a problem with police resort to lethal violence - at minimum. Whether their is a race dimension that skews beyond distribution of race in violent crime requires (and should get) more level headed analysis than is likely in the current climate; journalists are trigger happy in their own way I think.

According to this they have shot 21 people in the last 7 days http://www.killedbypolice.net/

I don't have the time or the stomach to wade through the reports to establish the race of each victim. From stats I have seen previously I remain unconvinced they are engaged in a racial extermination programme, and selective press coverage is bordering on inflammatory.

However I don't see how there can be any conclusion other than that there is a problem with police resort to lethal violence - at minimum. Whether their is a race dimension that skews beyond distribution of race in violent crime requires (and should get) more level headed analysis than is likely in the current climate; journalists are trigger happy in their own way I think.

Though there may have been incidents of US Police shooting on skin colour, the vast majority seem to be utter imcompetence, and/or outright fear.

Everyone seems to be a gungho knob head in America. And fat.

Good article here of stats and as has been alluded to, incompetence and fear are probably big drivers but these stats do show a bias towards racial prejudice...in the case sited in OP, it is difficult to get away from the racial element.

Aren’t more white people than black people killed by police? Yes, but no. - The Washington Post

and here is stats on how many Police have been killed

How many police officers have been killed in 2015?
According to new national statistics, 42 police officers were shot and killed in 2015. Four percent more law enforcement officers at the federal state, territorial and local levels died in the line of duty in 2015 than in 2014, according to a preliminary report from the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

In this case the video shows the guy reaching in to his pocket before being shot. Is it a good enough reason for the cops to open fire?

In my opinion, no, no and absolutely no!

[MENTION=2703]Davy[/MENTION] - not that impressed by that article. While it alludes to the subject and then hurries on, for a statistics focussed article it's odd that it doesn't provide stats on demographics of violent crime. That would show that white people are killed disproportionately frequently to their rates of perpetration of homicide. Killing of blacks vs white by cops is subject to ratios being provided but not killing of cops by blacks vs whites and so on. In fact for a 'fact check' flavoured article it's pretty poor and on purely rational grounds, hard to explain.

But we're not on rational ground - Lies, damned lies an all that, but the liberal media is part of the problem. The range of acceptable truth is boundaried by them, so to the problems that can and cannot be explored. Many many have died and will die as an indirect consequence. On certain subjects the west views the world and indeed legislates through a faith based lens, as much as any benighted corner of the world we look down on.

Though there may have been incidents of US Police shooting on skin colour, the vast majority seem to be utter imcompetence, and/or outright fear.

Your point about outright fear may have semblance to it.
A few months ago we were'treated' to a recorded incident by the girlfriend passenger of a guy shot during a traffic stop. I remember the moment right after the driver got shot where the girlfriend calmly (that was surreal in itself) asks why the officer shot her boyfriend and the cop's response was "I told him to put his hands up where I could see them." She then says that her boyfriend was reaching for his drivers license as he had been asked by the officer to produce it. Again the cop repeats what he said initially.
What was disconcerting about it was the officer was not in control of the situation and his voice was shrill. This was a guy on the edge who's perception was that everyone was going to pull a gun on him. He's got a gun out, pointing it at a person who, he has convinced himself, is going to shoot at him.
The US police need to review their training methods on how a situation should be de-escalated and get away from sending their officers out on the streets shitting themselves.
Having said all that, their society is to blame ultimately. They may speak the same language as we do but the Americans are as foreign to us as anyone else.

Your point about outright fear may have semblance to it.
A few months ago we were'treated' to a recorded incident by the girlfriend passenger of a guy shot during a traffic stop. I remember the moment right after the driver got shot where the girlfriend calmly (that was surreal in itself) asks why the officer shot her boyfriend and the cop's response was "I told him to put his hands up where I could see them." She then says that her boyfriend was reaching for his drivers license as he had been asked by the officer to produce it. Again the cop repeats what he said initially.
What was disconcerting about it was the officer was not in control of the situation and his voice was shrill. This was a guy on the edge who's perception was that everyone was going to pull a gun on him. He's got a gun out, pointing it at a person who, he has convinced himself, is going to shoot at him.
The US police need to review their training methods on how a situation should be de-escalated and get away from sending their officers out on the streets shitting themselves.
Having said all that, their society is to blame ultimately. They may speak the same language as we do but the Americans are as foreign to us as anyone else.

Have seen it Beags.... the girlfriend was completely calm. Very brave. She watched him die in front of her, Mental. Seen a few of these uncut on the web.

I'm fairly lean for a 47 year old and don't have any desire to own / shoot a gun.

There is a massive culture of fear here. I don't know what, where, when, or how it started but people seemed worried about absolutely everything from natural disasters all the way through violent crime, non violent crime, government plots to poison us all, wild dogs eating us all alive, and most important of all the fact that if you touch anything in public without first using a hand sanitizer then you and your entire family will die from the Black Death within a week. I'm really looking forward to Halloween cos I will hear all the dipshits warning me that drug addicts have decided that rather than consume their drugs have in fact decided to lace sweets with drugs to hand out to any 5 year olds that might come trick or treating.

Having said that I did meet plenty folk back in Scotland who were equally as scared of everything. Difference is a lot less Scots have guns

I'm fairly lean for a 47 year old and don't have any desire to own / shoot a gun.

There is a massive culture of fear here. I don't know what, where, when, or how it started but people seemed worried about absolutely everything from natural disasters all the way through violent crime, non violent crime, government plots to poison us all, wild dogs eating us all alive, and most important of all the fact that if you touch anything in public without first using a hand sanitizer then you and your entire family will die from the Black Death within a week. I'm really looking forward to Halloween cos I will hear all the dipshits warning me that drug addicts have decided that rather than consume their drugs have in fact decided to lace sweets with drugs to hand out to any 5 year olds that might come trick or treating.

Having said that I did meet plenty folk back in Scotland who were equally as scared of everything. Difference is a lot less Scots have guns

mon vasco... that photae ye used tae sport on the bounce, wi you walking on the beach clearly shows ye as mair fairly fat rather than fairly lean. :camera:

And I'd suggest that there is a fucking gungho attitude to trick or treat sweety distribution :tuttut:

To quote Richard Pryor "police don't shoot cars, they shoot ni*****"

Good book on the Yank Penelope's is "rise of the warrior cop" by Radley Balko, bit of an eye opener.

To quote Richard Pryor "police don't shoot cars, they shoot ni*****"

Good book on the Yank Penelope's is "rise of the warrior cop" by Radley Balko, bit of an eye opener.

Then again cars don't shoot cops far more than everyone else. Making this into a race narrative soothes the brows of the American upper class, who can ignore the catastrophic effects of their own policies and stick the boot into the proles with badges. The latter meanwhile, clearly do have to sort their shit out but then they have the nightmare task of keeping a lid on some of the hellholes in US society...which brings us back to the elite and their policies. And of course on top of that the fandannery of US gun culture.

A first class mess.

Then again cars don't shoot cops far more than everyone else. Making this into a race narrative soothes the brows of the American upper class, who can ignore the catastrophic effects of their own policies and stick the boot into the proles with badges. The latter meanwhile, clearly do have to sort their $#@! out but then they have the nightmare task of keeping a lid on some of the hellholes in US society...which brings us back to the elite and their policies. And of course on top of that the fandannery of US gun culture.

A first class mess.

You might find this interesting

The Economics of Ferguson: Emerson Electric, Municipal Fines, Discriminatory Policing - The Atlantic