freakin out in keekback about songs

Davy

Some of the threads are great reading if your bored :laff: Gettin a bit worked up they are, some do recognise of course that most supports have difficulty singing at home...but in a derby?? Anyhow nice to see the infighting. Funny though they think some Hibs supporters wont be at ER cos they are banned??? Erm how would they get tickets to the pigsty then??

Atmosphere - The Terrace - Jambos Kickback

Had a right good laugh at the mayhem on keekback Davy cheers bud
We certainly have them infighting and feeling a tad inferior to say the least
Big team my hole!!!

Don't always find time to see anything from Keechback, but another member recommended it to me last night.In a post called 'Atmosphere' it turnned out to be pure comedy gold.The fans going at each other like the end of their club had just been announced! One guy saying us coming to Tynecastle was like a jambos away day to White Heart Lane or Anfield! Another guy was saying our drummer had done his heid in and the fact that our end was totally bouncing was an enbarrasement to us and how it would all be so much differant on Wednesday. Their deluded fuddery knows no bounds.One guy amusingly suggested that they should get a glitter ball.He was summerly told to 'f' off to a theatre.The whole thing is still going and is now well into it's 12th page. Go there for a laugh!:applause:

They seem to have real problems with homophobia, racism and sectarianism over there.

not read their thread but this is not a new phenomenon, their fans always been boring ***** imho..

Don't always find time to see anything from Keechback, but another member recommended it to me last night.In a post called 'Atmosphere' it turnned out to be pure comedy gold.The fans going at each other like the end of their club had just been announced! One guy saying us coming to Tynecastle was like a jambos away day to White Heart Lane or Anfield! Another guy was saying our drummer had done his heid in and the fact that our end was totally bouncing was an enbarrasement to us and how it would all be so much differant on Wednesday. Their deluded fuddery knows no bounds.One guy amusingly suggested that they should get a glitter ball.He was summerly told to 'f' off to a theatre.The whole thing is still going and is now well into it's 12th page. Go there for a laugh!:applause:

Is in fact the thread I posted :giggle:

They seem to have real problems with homophobia, racism and sectarianism over there.

this is so true, I rather hoped that they would move on a bit as some of the mates I have that support them are sound enough but on Sunday in a local boozer one of their number called Bartley a (I've used an racist word) racist. I've never been more disgusted!

Add in sexism also. Some weirdo with a not inconsiderable following on some fans facebook page has launched into a bizarre rant against woman going to tynecastle.

I'd agree on the basis they're probably seen as prey by most of the deviants that populate the place, but he seems to think their mere presence dilutes the atmosphere and stops the support from their usual dubious songs, something he wants to stopped, by banning females from tynie.

this is so true, I rather hoped that they would move on a bit as some of the mates I have that support them are sound enough but on Sunday in a local boozer one of their number called Bartley a (I've used an racist word) racist. I've never been more disgusted!

I think if I heard that I’d be caught between being disgusted and pissing myself laughing at the sad wee Gunt.
I can’t remember the last time I heard the word used in a derogatory fashion – probably around the early 1970’s. The only time I’ve heard it in anything like recent memory is when it is used by ‘self-proclaimed niggers’ in a rather proud way.
The wee simpleton must have been struggling to come up with something to rile you, or is not just a complete cock, but a cock with a tardis. Even ‘pwoper racists’ will have more imaginative insults than that.

As a matter of interest – did the prick get a slap from his fellow Gunts or are you in need of a whole new set of mates?

Add in sexism also. Some weirdo with a not inconsiderable following on some fans facebook page has launched into a bizarre rant against woman going to tynecastle.

I'd agree on the basis they're probably seen as prey by most of the deviants that populate the place, but he seems to think their mere presence dilutes the atmosphere and stops the support from their usual dubious songs, something he wants to stopped, by banning females from tynie.

Saw that on twitter. The more I see of the utter guff that's spouted on their fans site, the more I'm convinced it's a site run for juvenile pre teen laddies and bigoted morons blinded with hatred much like those on the The Rangers forums. And yet there are still some who give it the 'supporter for 40 years' stuff.
Thing is, as someone just said, they can be your mates until they come out with a kickback line or start the big team pish and you see them in a whole different light.

I think if I heard that I’d be caught between being disgusted and pissing myself laughing at the sad wee Gunt.
I can’t remember the last time I heard the word used in a derogatory fashion – probably around the early 1970’s. The only time I’ve heard it in anything like recent memory is when it is used by ‘self-proclaimed niggers’ in a rather proud way.
The wee simpleton must have been struggling to come up with something to rile you, or is not just a complete $#@!, but a $#@! with a tardis. Even ‘pwoper racists’ will have more imaginative insults than that.

As a matter of interest – did the prick get a slap from his fellow Gunts or are you in need of a whole new set of mates?

He wasn't a mate of mine, I'd never met him before, I asked him about his views on the game and he complained about 'that (I've used an racist word) racist you've got in midfield', I challenged him, indeed I kept challenging him and 2 of his mates got aggressive with me. I didn't back down, I pulled them up individually later. If he had spoken like that in front of the mates I have back in Musselburgh (of that unfortunate ilk) he would have got a slap! This was Mid Calder. Anyway, one good thing, they're hurting! GGTTH

[/B]

He wasn't a mate of mine, I'd never met him before, I asked him about his views on the game and he complained about 'that (I've used an racist word) racist you've got in midfield', I challenged him, indeed I kept challenging him and 2 of his mates got aggressive with me. I didn't back down, I pulled them up individually later. If he had spoken like that in front of the mates I have back in Musselburgh (of that unfortunate ilk) he would have got a slap! This was Mid Calder. Anyway, one good thing, they're hurting! GGTTH

:shock:

It would have been tourists from Livingston I expect.

:lookaround:

:shock:

It would have been tourists from Livingston I expect.

:lookaround:

Mind Mid Calder got an ASBO all of its own?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1505729/The-Year-of-the-Asbo.html

Heard something on the radio the other morning (Call Kaye? Radio Scotland?) about football in general having problems with homophobia which is preventing professional players from coming out.

Some boy from an LGBT organisation quoted a survey of football supporters where 8 or 80% (I could have sworn it was 8% but Kaye quoted 80% before I left the car) of respondents had heard some kind of homophobic chanting at the football. An earlier guest had said she'd heard the word "I have a maggot" being used in derogatory fashion at a game down in England. John Nicholson MP was on as well saying it was a problem.

Most callers said they couldn't for the life of them remember ever hearing any homophobic abuse at the football and I would have sworn I couldn't ever remember hearing any homophobic abuse at the football either - that was of course until the penny dropped today that they'd sung 'oh the hibees are gay' to which we responded with 'Paul Hartley is gay'.

I'm not taking the moral high ground but with the exception of the instances above, I can't recall any homophobia at Easter Road or any other ground I've visited in Scotland. Is there a real problem with homophobia at tiny? Or is there an imagined problem with homophobia at football in Scotland?

Appreciate this is slightly off topic but I just thought I'd stick it out there for discussion.

Mind Mid Calder got an ASBO all of its own?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1505729/The-Year-of-the-Asbo.html

Heard something on the radio the other morning (Call Kaye? Radio Scotland?) about football in general having problems with homophobia which is preventing professional players from coming out.

Some boy from an LGBT organisation quoted a survey of football supporters where 8 or 80% (I could have sworn it was 8% but Kaye quoted 80% before I left the car) of respondents had heard some kind of homophobic chanting at the football. An earlier guest had said she'd heard the word "I have a maggot" being used in derogatory fashion at a game down in England. John Nicholson MP was on as well saying it was a problem.

Most callers said they couldn't for the life of them remember ever hearing any homophobic abuse at the football and I would have sworn I couldn't ever remember hearing any homophobic abuse at the football either - that was of course until the penny dropped today that they'd sung 'oh the hibees are gay' to which we responded with 'Paul Hartley is gay'.

I'm not taking the moral high ground but with the exception of the instances above, I can't recall any homophobia at Easter Road or any other ground I've visited in Scotland. Is there a real problem with homophobia at tiny? Or is there an imagined problem with homophobia at football in Scotland?

Appreciate this is slightly off topic but I just thought I'd stick it out there for discussion.

I don't think football or society in general has a homophobic tendency any more. Most terms used in the past to describe someone's sexual habits are use these days as a way to insult or hurt someones feelings rather than mean any detriment towards homosexuals. You've probably heard terms used at games designed to have a negative impact on an opposition player's performance during the match etc rather than personally insult that player's sexual orientation, but you would shug it off and easily forget it for the 'normal' abuse expected at a football match.
There are some people who have a real problem and they should be tackled by whatever means necessary but there is also a danger that we over analyse something that is essentially just trying to annoy someone in the hope it may affect their game.

You'd have thought Gary Mackay would have managed to get a ticket for the game :coffee:

[/B]

Mid/East Calder is hoaching with them!the worst examples of guntfuddery I've experienced have came from E/C residents seriously vile bigots almost at huns levels of stupidity

"We hate Jimmy Hill, he's a poof he's a poof"

Homophobic?

Mentioned by one caller as the only example he could think of and suggested that it had died out years ago.

Allan Preston was on saying he sees 3 or 4 games a week and doesn't hear any homophobic abuse - plenty sectarian and racist abuse though which seem to be getting dealt with.

I think if you were an openly gay player, the abuse might follow you from ground to ground.

Pretty much with @Beagle on this homophobia business. Much of it the "abuse" and chanting is purely aimed at unsettling a player whether their is any foundation in the content or not. Twas ever such.....Sadly their is and has in my memory always been substance to certain chants which definitely had a sinister edge to them. Fashanu had the minerals to come out and it was manna from heaven for supporters of all clubs , but ours in particular. Sorry to burst your bubble @ZemmamasBarnet but a substantial element of Hibbies were as racist and homophobic in our vitriol towards both this guys colour and sexual preference. "He's gay he's black he leads the Hearts attack Fashanu.....""He's black he's gay he plays for Airderay Fashanu....."Poor guy(even if he was a Gunt, a much more serious affliction) had this crap thrown at him no matter where he played. And if we are to be believed not just by the supporters !!"It's almost certain that a series of psychological shortcomings ensured he never met his potential; his adult life unfolded tragically; he was blackmailed by the press for years before he was outed. It was common knowledge amongst those who knew him that he was gay, he picked his friends according to those who could tolerate his sexuality - unfortunately he couldn't pick his team mates. He was often bullied in the dressing room, not least by Clough, who forced a couple of players out of the club on account of rumours regarding similar stuff."Part of a post lifted from Justin Fashanu A Nott's Forest forum. The thread makes for interesting reading.Cheers
Justin had a torrid time at Nottingham Forest. After a big money signing he was a huge disappointment on the pitch - much to Cloughy's chagrin. It finally culminated with a training ground incident where Brian ordered him off the pitch, if I recall. Justin refused to leave and the police were called. Before that time it had come to the notice of the Forest management that Fashanu was frequenting gay venues in Nottingham which Cloughie was reportedly unhappy about though not sure the truth of that. In a crass way, it would have been interesting to see if he'd been more 'accepted' if he'd been successful on the pitch instead of the very expensive flop he was.

Mentioned by one caller as the only example he could think of and suggested that it had died out years ago.

Allan Preston was on saying he sees 3 or 4 games a week and doesn't hear any homophobic abuse - plenty sectarian and racist abuse though which seem to be getting dealt with.
'Georgie Best Superstar! Walks Like a woman and he wears a bra!'

Pretty much with @Beagle on this homophobia business. Much of it the "abuse" and chanting is purely aimed at unsettling a player whether their is any foundation in the content or not. Twas ever such.....
Sadly their is and has in my memory always been substance to certain chants which definitely had a sinister edge to them. Fashanu had the minerals to come out and it was manna from heaven for supporters of all clubs , but ours in particular. Sorry to burst your bubble @ZemmamasBarnet but a substantial element of Hibbies were as racist and homophobic in our vitriol towards both this guys colour and sexual preference.

"He's gay he's black he leads the Hearts attack Fashanu....."
"He's black he's gay he plays for Airderay Fashanu....."

Poor guy(even if he was a Gunt, a much more serious affliction) had this crap thrown at him no matter where he played. And if we are to be believed not just by the supporters !!

"It's almost certain that a series of psychological shortcomings ensured he never met his potential; his adult life unfolded tragically; he was blackmailed by the press for years before he was outed. It was common knowledge amongst those who knew him that he was gay, he picked his friends according to those who could tolerate his sexuality - unfortunately he couldn't pick his team mates. He was often bullied in the dressing room, not least by Clough, who forced a couple of players out of the club on account of rumours regarding similar stuff."

Part of a post lifted from Justin Fashanu A Nott's Forest forum. The thread makes for interesting reading.

Cheers

No bubble from me [MENTION=15340]heid[/MENTION]

I was 11 or 12 when Fashanu played up here and not going to games as much as I would have liked due to my old man not being bothered his arse so I wasn't privy to the songs you mentioned. I do vaguely recall getting told off by Mrs Cotter at Mid Calder Primary School for calling another kid gay and she told me I didn't know what it meant. Same as when I called another kid a virgin.

As I said I'm not taking the moral high ground, I just couldn't recall many, if any, incidents of homophobic chanting at Easter Road or away from home in the time since I've been going to the football regularly (since I was about 15 with a few gaps in recent years) - the big exception obviously is 'the hibees are gay / Paul Hartley is gay'.

The big question I'm asking myself is whether I'm being selective in my memories or just honestly not remembering anything in particular.

In 2017, do we foster an atmosphere at Easter Road that would stop a gay player from coming out? I honestly don't think we do.

Actually, didn't / don't we have a gay supporters club? I wonder what their take on it is.

Here's a link to the show from 13/02/17. http://bbc.in/2lIcGed

Confronted a daftie behind me at tynie on Sunday for calling Goncalves 'a black bastard'. Our support is far from perfect. Can also recall two separate incidents when one of our own supporters said pretty much the same to Dom Malonga.

We've got homophobes, racists and to a lesser extent sectarian issues within our support. Fortunately whenever I've encountered it in the last decade, our own support has shouted it down, with the probable exception of the frankly embarrassing 'Skacel' song.

Confronted a daftie behind me at tynie on Sunday for calling Goncalves 'a black $#@!'. Our support is far from perfect. Can also recall two separate incidents when one of our own supporters said pretty much the same to Dom Malonga.

We've got homophobes, racists and to a lesser extent sectarian issues within our support. Fortunately whenever I've encountered it in the last decade, our own support has shouted it down, with the probable exception of the frankly embarrassing 'Skacel' song.

Agreed. Had the misfortune to sit in front of two racists in the West Lower about three seasons ago. Ended up moving halfway through the season. Mate said they were notorious thugs, well known around Bathgate area.

Can't abide racism. In my day folk who used the n word would get an immediate slap then sat down and explained where they'd gone wrong.

Sadly you still encounter the odd caveman - I remember an old fella sitting just in front of me in the east with his young grandsons calling Mehdi Taouil a 'f***in black c***' . I pulled him up on it particularly as it was in front of kids. Two guys behind me then had a go at me for giving an old fellae a hard time. In the end I had to move.

Truth be told ZB I don't think the majority of supporters give a fig about a players sexual preference, unless he's Richard Gough or A.N. Other of similar persuasion. K***s like them are perfectly acceptable targets and IMO fair game.

Whilst we may not overtly "foster" the idea of coming out, I think in society there is now, amongst the majority, football fans included, an acceptance that we are not all as God planned us. The vast majority of professional footballers I should imagine are aware of and prepared for much of the abuse hurled at them, much of which is unfounded, sometimes good humoured and as [MENTION=4709]Beagle[/MENTION] intimated, designed purely to unsettle specific players of the opposition.

Supporters in my view are unfairly tarred as racist, homophobic and sexist(an allegation which yonder fruit loop on Keechbak is doing a grand job of cementing). We are purely individual members of society who gather together to watch and support and identify with our team and fellow supporters. We do not gather specifically to harass, harangue or abuse any specific group or culture. Rather we seek to gain any advantage to benefit our team and this occasionally manifests itself in the form of homophobic or racist chants. I openly partook in them as have my boys from a young age despite having gay friends and friends from a variety of ethnicities.

If we are to believe the allegations surrounding Fashanu and his treatment by a manager who paid £1m for him and the bullying by fellow professionals then that surely is a problem to be addressed rather than diverting from it by pointing the finger at supporters. Sadly we have assholes who manage to get themselves heard on TV ... Richard Keys & fartface Gray, Ron Atkinson and Mark Mcghee who are the real culprits in fostering sexism and racism and homophobia within the sport.

Many moons have passed since I first saw on my lads playstation "Let's Kick Racism Out of Sport". Add homophobia and sexism to that and still nothing changes. I for one do not blame the majority of supporters but rather the self seeking sensationalist media who are only too happy to keep these issues alive and do nothing to eradicate the vile elements within their organisations who happily keep these topics simmering in the hope of some headline grabbing falsified story.

Cheers

P.S. [MENTION=2814]ZemmamasBarnet[/MENTION], aye, I think there was the "Gay Gordons" supporters club...set up by some students maybe in the last decade...not entirely sure as I was away living and working in Devon at the time....think I got a glimpse of [MENTION=13703]paigntonhibby[/MENTION] in his Hibs shirt on one of my sojourns :bouncy:

I've got a stinking flu and sick bug so apologies if I'm picking this up wrong. You think it's acceptable ( even if you don't consider yourself a racist or homophobe) to sing racist or homophobic chants if it gives the team an advantage on the park?

At no point southfield did I state that I found it acceptable. In an earlier post I think I made it clear that I thought hibs supporters treatment of Fashanu was indeed unacceptable. Similarly the treatment dished out to Mark Walters at Swinecastle was a total disgrace and a huge stain, IMO, on the reputation not just of the Gunts but of Scottish football in general at that time.

I can understand that an element of my post may have intimated that I adhere to the point of view that all is fair in love and war, particularly..." We do not gather specifically to harass, harangue or abuse any specific group or culture. Rather we seek to gain any advantage to benefit our team and this occasionally manifests itself in the form of homophobic or racist chants. I openly partook in them as have my boys from a young age despite having gay friends and friends from a variety of ethnicities".

In no way was this meant to advocate any of the issues involved. I made the comment as what I see to be a statement of fact. I, not once in 50+ yrs of following our club, set foot in ER or any away ground with the express intention of abusing any member of the opposition in a racist or homophobic manner. Admittedly I have been guilty of getting caught up in the atmosphere and have, as stated previously, joined in and sang derisory and offensive chants. If that makes me a racist or homophobe then the same applies to the thousands of others who sing along too. Can't recall ever performing solo :wink:

Cheers

So just as I initially thought then, cool.

Also; we are not all as God planned us :rollfloor

Confronted a daftie behind me at tynie on Sunday for calling Goncalves 'a black $#@!'. Our support is far from perfect. Can also recall two separate incidents when one of our own supporters said pretty much the same to Dom Malonga.

Went to a Falkirk away game last season and encountered some wee ratbags abusing Bartley, 'YNT Bartley ya fanny, we hate you dark...' 'black...should go home' no nice stuff and should be stamped out.

Remember Paul Elliott getting pretty bad abuse after he got a head knock and came back on with a bandage on his head with nonsense bring shouted about it being a turban.

Also various huns and visiting teams at friendlies being greeted with dirty English bastards

Went to a Falkirk away game last season and encountered some wee ratbags abusing Bartley, 'YNT Bartley ya fanny, we hate you dark...' 'black...should go home' no nice stuff and should be stamped out.

Did you pull him up and ask what YNT stands for Mandy?

Worst racial abuse I have heard at a game was from a group of Hibs casual types, one of whom was jailed after the central station rammy,directed at Sol Bamba while playing for Hibs in a derby at Tynecastle..we did try and pull them up but understand why others didn't given the threats that ensued.

Yup, I agree - worst by miles. Didnt realise one of the guys was jailed, not surprised. Nasty pieces of work.