Forum expressions and what they really mean

HaarlemShuffler

Coffeeshop Radge
Genuine question - troll question of the year to follow...

I'm just curious to know... - will you just jump into the intellectual fúckin trap I'm setting for you and be done with it!

With all due respect - The amoebic respect due to pondlife.

"mate" - someone you have never met, you do not want to meet, you probably never will meet, but just for a nanosecond they said something you agree with. Either that or someone you do actually know :Embarassed:

Obviously - borrowed from footballers' slang, precedes something only the writer could know.

This - where the fúck's the 'like' button?

Just my opinion likesay - I swear to kill you if you disagree.

Anymore for anymore? Genuine question?

Deary me - the negative bedfellow of "this". Use when you can't be arsed typing up a response justifying your objection.

In my opinion or worse...IMHO...means that is how I see it and my opinion settles this

End of - please don't hit me with another comeback, I cant be arsed arguing anymore.

Nae text speak! Means "I am an old fart who doesn't understand what the shortened word is/means"

Could do a job - reference to the possibility of signing a fading, underachieving journeyman that the club would shell out the equivalent of a fish supper on and would play half a decent game before an inevitable mediocre slide into retirement.

Fact - simply an opinion without any empirical evidence to back it up but which if you disagree with, makes you a fcukin moron.

Tin hat on - I'm about to say something fairly uncontroversial that 75-90% of the board will agree with but it's guaranteed to press the OPs buttons.

Genuine question - troll question of the year to follow...

With all due respect - The amoebic respect due to pondlife.

Or no offence mate - Im about to say something offensive and I'm trying to kid you on I'm not

"mate" - someone you have never met, you do not want to meet, you probably never will meet, but just for a nanosecond they said something you agree with. Either that or someone you do actually know :Embarassed:

Posters calling everyone mate, mate. They don't know you, they're not your mate, mate. It's feckin annoying, mate.

Just my opinion likesay - I swear to kill you if you disagree.

In my opinion or worse...IMHO...means that is how I see it and my opinion settles this

Or the converse, where you give an opinion and someone says "in your opinion". Aye, obviously...:giggle:

Or no offence mate - Im about to say something offensive and I'm trying to kid you on I'm not

Posters calling everyone mate, mate. They don't know you, they're not your mate, mate. It's feckin annoying, mate.

Or the converse, where you give an opinion and someone says "in your opinion". Aye, obviously...:giggle:

In your opinion of course mate.

Or you are simply dismayed/ disgusted.

I pulled a "deary me" out the bag the other night when discussing the subject of hun sectarianism with a hun pal. After swatting aside the usual "Aye but fans of other clubs do it as well" we got down to discussing why sectarianism persists in Glasgow while it has been all but wiped out elsewhere and he came up with [and was being serious] "It's the catholics fault because they send their kids to catholic schools rather than just going to normal schools like the rest of us"

End of (sometimes "End off"). What I just posted cannot be disputed so you need not post a response you slavering git.

...so this is my last post on these forums, good luck to you all - so it is, until the next ten on this thread alone

I like the "admin, feel free to delete this post" Like they need permission should they see something they don't like :yeah:

And" there is a player in there" which means I seen him score a goal/ beat a man /find a pass once:hiya:

Bolt! or Telt! The Internet equivalent of getting telt to bolt. Must be shouted out with gusto though as you type it. As close to the real world as it gets.

In Lennon/Stubbs/Butcher/Fenlon/Calderwood/Hughes/Paatelainen/Collins/Mowbray we trust - clearly, some of these Managers should not have been trusted.

GIRFUY? and

GGTHH whatever it is?

Please
All this time and you don't know what they mean? :giggle: Poor Jock, have you been too embarrassed to ask and just played along? Like me as a kid talking about clitoris's with mucho bravado till someone pulled me up and ridiculed me to death cos it was obvious I didn't know what or where it was. Stuck to my guns though and said "I did but i'm just no tellin' ye!" Then ran away in tears. :cry

So dear sir...Get It Right Fuckin Up Ye and Glory Glory To The Hibees is the answers you seek. :thumbgrin

:wink: