Foley speaks

cmon hammy, maist of the cash or their share dilution is to plug holes made by the gordon themselves!
Still spending money though. The idea they haven't is nonsense.
yet they are on the board hahammy
Yeah, they are.
As members, so they had an opinion, that was decided wasn't the way forward.
It happens.

Surely not every manager appointed is everyone on the boards preferred option. So why are we different?

I think it's a dick move saying you don't approve the head coach.
Daves in the job, one of your shareholders chatting shit so soon is poor

Pretty sure the Board were perfectly aware of the lack of depth in the squad.
Gray got it wrong.
Foley should have “shaken up the Board” privately if he felt he had to. It’s easy enough to do. He’s behaved like a wee brat who didn’t get the sweets he pointed at from his pram.
Pretty sure his suggestions (his choice of coach & director of football) were listened to, but just not accepted. Such is Boardroom life.
Whether his men would be better options or not we will never know, but his behaviour is clearly unacceptable in any professional world.
maybe The BK group has, repeatedely spoken in private. Whats wi the anti Foley stance. Theyve pumped a wedge intae the club! The gordons have been a shit show fitba wise. Hibs have bn fucking shite since they took over.

Yeah, they are.
It happens.

Surely not every manager appointed is everyone on the boards preferred option. So why are we different?

Cool. mon Ian n Ben.

Maolida and Marcondes were apparently identified by Montgomery (according to him) but the BK's possibly pulled a few strings to help get them here.
Maolida would of had nothing Todo with BK.
Marcondes was a huge waste of a jersey.
Was like playing with 10 men and a man child that was throwing his toys out.

Foley unhappy Hibs are not doing as he asks/ suggests?
Maybe if Bournmouth and Lorient had shown that his input is worth listening to, then maybe Hibs would sit up and take notice?
Bournmouth. 15th in the EPL. About equivalent to Hibs 8th in the SPL?
Lorient. Relegated.
Hardly world shattering 'look at what we've achieved ' stuff.
Bournemouth 15th in the EPL is a pretty phenomenonal achievement TBF!

It's no even that,
Just let Dave prove himself before spouting out.

In fighting at board level publicly.
Rubbish image.
no problems wi Dave (thats right eh, weve no tae call him Sir David Gray now). The Gordons and Kenesel are a fucking shit show and clearly, clearly have nae idea. I think its quite ok for pressure (if you like) to be put on them. I dont think Foley is saying anything wrong at all.

Rubbish image you say.... oh i think a worse image is getting beat off Kelty mate.... and there have been many many more since the Gordons and BK have had anything to do with our club. Dinnae worry too much about this causing a rubbish image 😆

maybe The BK group has, repeatedely spoken in private. Whats wi the anti Foley stance. Theyve pumped a wedge intae the club! The gordons have been a shit show fitba wise. Hibs have bn fucking shite since they took over.
And let's get perspective... We were good 2016 - up until the Gordon family bought us 2019 but we were pretty turgid 2007 - 2016.

Lorient have only started listening to his recommendations post-relegation I believe. He is a minority shareholder there, same as Hibs. Bournemouth have just achieved their best points tally in the premier league era. If it's a straight choice between Foley and the 2 donuts calling the shots at Hibs, I'd rather we listened to him. Can't be any worse.
I agree.

There's multiple threads pointing out just how crap IG and BK have been at leading the line on the football side of things. IG is still there on recruitment we think, we don't know for sure because the club is deliberately vague on who does what, deflecting blame from whoever happens to be in the firing line at the time.

Whoever the BKG suggested for manger/1st team coach I'm glad we went for SDG. It's bought IG and BK time. But that's the only football related thing they've bought.

And it will mean fuck all if SDG isn't backed and with a couple of weeks till the start of the season we are seriously lacking. I don't think the players that have been brought in are anywhere near the quality we need (they are in for the fright of their lives when the season kicks off). Add that together with the serious lack of quality still here that should have never been here in the first place running about like headless chickens. We are in trouble.

We need quality players in now. I'd rather have the BKG with their resources doing that than IG with his certificate pressing F5 yet again on football manager.

And let's get perspective... We were good 2016 - up until the Gordon family bought us 2019 but we were pretty turgid 2007 - 2016.
Well, that would depend on how far back we go.... but aye, we won the league cup then ran the team doon, and got a cracking wee team the gether and won the scottish, and have bn running it doon ever since

It's no even that,
Just let Dave prove himself before spouting out.

In fighting at board level publicly.
Rubbish image.
No a hibby oot there is no wanting/letting dave prove himself.

...but if your only worried aboot a rubbish image, youre tripping. Theres bn loads since the gordon and kensell which have put the hibs is a worse image than a board room spat. Cmon hammi, get a wee perpective on it! Just last saturday trumps it enormously ffs 😆

Question; Why do people think Malky MacKay has been brought in to run the whole football operation and then given the authority and power he has at the football club ?
Answer; Because he is a football man with a proven record who knows how the game works in Scotland.

Mackay is now in charge of the whole football operation at Hibs. A long overdue appointment, but one which had to be made and he has begun the process of making the football operation more efficient and run more professionally. Mistakes have been made....but that's now in the past. We've moved on. We are in the process of rectifying these mistakes with big changes this summer. Can we not now get onboard with what the club are trying to do without all this harking back to the past and scapegoating individuals ? None of us know exactly what went on before. Gray and Mackay have a difficult enough job ahead of them without all his shite going on especially from Foley and his ilk.

Question; Why do people think Malky MacKay has been brought in to run the whole football operation and then given the authority and power he has at the football club ?
Answer; Because he is a football man with a proven record who knows how the game works in Scotland.

Mackay is now in charge of the whole football operation a Hibs. A long overdue appointment, but one which had to be made and he has begun the process of making the football operation more efficient and run more professionally. Mistakes have been made....but that's now in the past. We've moved on. We are in the process of rectifying these mistakes with big changes this summer. Can we not now get onboard with what the club are trying to do without all this harking back to the past and scapegoating individuals ? None of us know exactly what went on before. Gray and Mackay have a difficult enough job ahead of them without all his shite going on especially from Foley and his ilk.
The voice of reason as ever. And also forever far more football savvy than me.

With that in mind GM can you reassure me against my own instincts; that without some serious further additions, this team is bottom six and very possibly fighting relegation?

It seems to me we were pish last year and are now;

- likely weaker in GK dept
- stronger in defence when first picks are available
- marginally weaker in midfield
- weaker in attack

Mackay is now in charge of the whole football operation a Hibs. A long overdue appointment, but one which had to be made and he has begun the process of making the football operation more efficient and run more professionally. Mistakes have been made....but that's now in the past. We've moved on. We are in the process of rectifying these mistakes with big changes this summer. Can we not now get onboard with what the club are trying to do without all this harking back to the past and scapegoating individuals ? None of us know exactly what went on before. Gray and Mackay have a difficult enough job ahead of them without all his shite going on especially from Foley and his ilk.
what shites that likes?.... You dinnae want tae say anything after pumping £6odd million quid? You think the BK representatives on the board havnae been dingied by Golrdon and Kensel? Id like to see more of this no less. FFS we have thread after thread going on the bounce about "silence" frae Hibs about this that and the other. A major staholder, a biollionnaire nae less, should STFU? Whos happy about the Gordons and Kensel? Nae one I can see.
Good post otherwise;))

With that in mind GM can you reassure me against my own instincts; that without some serious further additions, this team is bottom six and very possibly fighting relegation?

- likely weaker in GK dept ❌
- stronger in defence when first picks are available :xyes:
- marginally weaker in midfield:xyes:
- weaker in attack:xyes:

I would say we are the same as we were with the goalie. Bursik looks fine and is younger than Marshall.

- weaker in attack

Goalkeepers - remains to be seen on that front.

Defence - agreed that the first choice centre backs look to be an upgrade, however we still need a better option than Rocky and competition for Obita.

Midfield - far too many similar types, a proper all action defensive midfielder is desperately needed and would transform our midfield.

Forwards - Boyle and Youan are as good as anything we’d be able to sign, I like both and we’ll need them to be on form. McKirdy and Jair are a massive drop off but I doubt we’ll be able to shift them, so Cadden and Molotnikov may well be the alternative options out wide. Vente doesn’t look like the answer as a first choice centre forward, so we need to go a sign one… ideally a physical type that can run the channels, bully defenders and actually score goals.

Yeah, they are.
It happens.

Foley didn’t say he didn’t approve the head coach.
The Hibs observer who are club friendly and get their info from “sources” in the club were the ones that published that. The clubs pushed that narrative not Foley who only said they haven’t listened to the BKs.

Why was Brian McDermott brought in to run the footballing operation with wee Lee? What changed in the club then? I’m unsure how it’s long over due when McDermott was meant to be the saviour and all was forgiven and the board had changed this time last season. It’s like some just completely forget about what’s happened already. I’ll be astonished if Mackays allowed to make much of a difference.

He already is.

Hope he does make a difference but until we see it on the field it's yet to be seen. Needs time ofc but looking at those before him they weren't given a great deal of that.

I think Foley’s £6M has been spent on keeping the lights on. My guess is that the club have been verging on bankruptcy exacerbated by paying off three previous management contracts. I’ll be very surprised if Hibs are in a financial position to buy anyone for a six figure fee this season. If, by the time the transfer window closes, and we have brought in little more than loan players, then alarm bells should be ringing.

Hope he does make a difference but until we see it on the field it's yet to be seen. Needs time ofc but looking at those before him they weren't given a great deal of that.
Yep. We have heard all the sound bites and kip service before off Johnson, McDermott how Monty knew all the under 16s first names waffle waffle waffle. We have signed a goalie on loan who Ian Gordon scouted (however he does that) and two lower league players on frees, I fail to see much of a difference if any at the moment. Our squad is worse than last season and that’s the most important thing.

Goalkeepers - remains to be seen on that front.

Defence - agreed that the first choice centre backs look to be an upgrade, however we still need a better option than Rocky and competition for Obita.

Midfield - far too many similar types, a proper all action defensive midfielder is desperately needed and would transform our midfield.

Forwards - Boyle and Youan are as good as anything we’d be able to sign, I like both and we’ll need them to be on form. McKirdy and Jair are a massive drop off but I doubt we’ll be able to shift them, so Cadden and Molotnikov may well be the alternative options out wide. Vente doesn’t look like the answer as a first choice centre forward, so we need to go a sign one… ideally a physical type that can run the channels, bully defenders and actually score goals.
Maybe true re Boyle and Youan on their day but Boyle’s best days are behind him and Youan’s too infrequent. Maolida’s departure is a significant downgrade to our attacking options. I fear really really significant.

All those quotes from corporate Malky about how brilliant a job Ben did bringing in the BKs now seem a bit of a car crash interview.

I don’t think it’s been great that this disagreement has been done publicly, but I can’t get my head around how the Gordons and the BKs can be so fundamentally far apart in running the club in no time whatsoever.

Especially after extra shares being allotted just a few weeks back.

Please at some point can we just get things moving forward again

- weaker in attack
I'm no expert believe me. Just been watching Hibs for over 50 years who occasionally has an opinion.
I also learned a lot about how a football club is run and how it is structured back in 1990/1991 with Hands off Hibs....now that really was a crisis.

The team as it stands. Bearing in mind I haven't seen Hibs play since the end of last season and the Peterhead game on Saturday will be my first match of the season.

Goalkeeper; Heard from good sources that Bursick is excellent. It's a pity he is only here on loan. Smith, I have no idea how good he is, but we had to address the goalkeeper situation with Marshall gone and we have done. Btw i'm glad Marshall is still involved with Hibs and working with Mackay.

Defence; Depends if Gray prefers a back three or a back four, but we have good cover at right-back, but we need back up for Obita, preferably someone who can also play left-side central defence. Three central defenders at the moment is fine and we have at long last addressed the central defence situation, but we could do with a left sider.

Midfield; We might get another creative midfielder in, but only if we move on at last two and possibly three. Too many fringe midfielders on good contracts, but I do think Gray is going to have to persevere with one or two of them as we won' be able to solve all our squad problems in one summer transfer window.

Forwards; We need two more strikers in...and I mean strikers not wingers. Not flavour of the month at the moment, but I still rate Vente. Scored a hat-trick when being played where he should be and missed a few in the last two games (all strikers have games like that). I still think he will be an asset this season. We really need a big physical striker who can hold the ball up and be good in the air. Another striker alongside him so we have Vente plus two others. that should give us some options in that area. If Youan goes we definitely need to replace him.

We need signings, but they will come. I'm confident we can get the quality in so we can at the very least be top six next season...which should be a given for Hibs every season. However St Mirren and Killie both overachieved last season and there is no reason why we can't finish above both of them. Hearts will have a big Euro league schedule to negotiate which will affect them. I expect Aberdeen to be much better than last season. If we get the recruitment right and we are lucky with injuries, then no reason why fourth cannot be achieved. No-one really knows though. I do think we will have a significantly better season than last, that's as much as I can realistically predict !

All those quotes from corporate Malky about how brilliant a job Ben did bringing in the BKs now seem a bit of a car crash interview.

I don’t think it’s been great that this disagreement has been done publicly, but I can’t get my head around how the Gordons and the BKs can be so fundamentally far apart in running the club in no time whatsoever.

Especially after extra shares being allotted just a few weeks back.

Please at some point can we just get things moving forward again
What it's me is the context they use B. "game changing" and the like. We get this talk that is just not backed up. Tempering expectations would be much better, but they're always just trying to sell it to us

The Hibs observer who are club friendly and get their info from “sources” in the club were the ones that published that. The clubs pushed that narrative not Foley who only said they haven’t listened to the BKs.
Pretty sure it was the EEN.

The "sources" are cocks too

I think Foley’s £6M has been spent on keeping the lights on. My guess is that the club have been verging on bankruptcy exacerbated by paying off three previous management contracts. I’ll be very surprised if Hibs are in a financial position to buy anyone for a six figure fee this season. If, by the time the transfer window closes, and we have brought in little more than loan players, then alarm bells should be ringing.
Something isn't right obviously Kensell with his "Game changing " in the transfermarket spouting, is all alot of shite .
Sooner the club is bought over the better .

Pretty sure it was the EEN.
Liam Bryce of the Hibs Observer, of course they have close links/came from the EEN.

The plant about it being MM or SDG that the BKs weren't approving of or wasn't being listened to came from the football club and not Bill Foley. They would rather hide behind the newspapers it seems than communicate directly with the support.

Thats a past tense statement. If you take the Gordons tenure in its entireity, it doesnae hold up
I started paying attention to Hibs 26 years ago and in that time we've spent four seasons in the second tier, had three 3rd place finishes, eight top 5 finishes, and 22 cup semi/final appearances. One of those 3rd place finishes, two of the top 5 finishes, and nine of those cup games have come under the Gordons. From my POV we're comfortably overperforming these last five years. Grim as that might feel.

hibeesbounce

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%